http://www.bbc.com/news/world-us-canada-43627769

Trump-Russia inquiry: Dutch lawyer Alex van der Zwaan sentenced to 30 days

Image copyright AFP
Image caption Alex van der Zwaan worked for an international law firm in London

The first person has been jailed as part of the FBI inquiry into alleged collusion between Donald Trump's presidential campaign team and Russia.

Dutch lawyer Alex van der Zwaan, 33, was sentenced to 30 days in prison for lying to investigators about contacts with ex-Trump aide Rick Gates.

He struck a plea deal in February.

Van der Zwaan is the son-in-law of one of Russia's richest men and was the 19th person to be charged by special counsel Robert Mueller.

The indictment against him did not refer to the 2016 election campaign. Mr Trump has not been accused of any wrongdoing.

In March, the US imposed sanctions on 19 Russians, including 13 people charged by Mr Mueller's inquiry, over accusations of interference in the 2016 election and alleged cyber-attacks.

In court on Tuesday, Van der Zwaan was also fined $20,000 and sentenced to two months of supervised release.

Who is Van der Zwaan?

The Dutchman is a London-based lawyer who formerly worked at international law firm Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom.

The firm, which is co-operating with the investigation and which fired him last year, worked with former Trump campaign chief Paul Manafort and his ex-colleague Mr Gates at a time when they were both political consultants in Ukraine.

Van der Zwaan, who speaks French and Russian and graduated from King's College London in 2006, is married to the daughter of Russian billionaire German Khan.

His wedding to art critic Eva Khan featured in Russian Tatler magazine last year. German Khan controls Alfa Group, one of Russia's largest investment groups, and Alfa Bank, which he co-founded, is the largest non-state owned bank in Russia, according to Forbes.

Van der Zwaan admitted to making false statements to the special counsel's office in November 2017 as part of a plea deal reached in February.

What were the accusations?

According to court documents, Van der Zwaan "wilfully and knowingly" made false statements to investigators while answering questions about a report prepared in 2012 by his former law firm for the Ukrainian Ministry of Justice on the trial of Yulia Tymoshenko.

Ms Tymoshenko, a former Ukrainian prime minister, was jailed in 2011 over a gas deal with Russia, in charges she said were politically motivated.

The report prepared by Skadden was used to defend Ukraine's then pro-Russia President Viktor Yanukovych from international criticism over the jailing of Ms Tymoshenko.

Mr Mueller's indictment said Van der Zwaan "deleted and otherwise did not produce emails sought by the special counsel's office" and made a false statement about when he was last in contact with Mr Gates and "Person A", who has not been identified. Person A is noted as a long-term business associate of Mr Gates and Mr Manafort.

Mr Gates and Mr Manafort have been hit with a number of charges, including conspiracy to launder money and acting as as "unregistered agents" of Mr Yanukovych and his party.

Mr Yanukovych was a bitter rival Tymoshenko and defeated her to become president in 2010. He was later ousted.

Mr Manafort has denied all charges against him. Mr Gates has admitted conspiracy and lying to investigators in a plea deal.

How many people has Mr Mueller charged?

Nineteen people - including Mr Manafort and Mr Gates - have been indicted by the special counsel:

Mr Trump has said there was no collusion. Moscow has rejected US intelligence claims of interference.

What's next for the inquiry?

The investigation into alleged collusion between Russia and Mr Trump's team is ongoing. Mr Trump attacked the process on Twitter last month, prompting warnings from fellow Republicans against any interference by the White House.

Shortly afterwards In March, the president's lead lawyer for the inquiry resigned.

There were reports at the time that John Dowd, 77, felt that Mr Trump was increasingly ignoring his advice, while other reports suggested that the president had lost confidence in his lawyer. It is not clear who will replace him.

The president also nominated two lawyers to join his team handling the Russia inquiry, but "conflicts" prevented their hiring.

After expelling Russian diplomats from the US and around the world, the moron is now inviting Putin to his pad for coffee an a Big mac.

Trump trying to protect alyuh ungrateful people from dem new bad ass Satan missiles Putin got!!

Alyuh coolies and Blacks and putageeze suh ungrateful!

Listen banna, you can idolize Trump all you want and be taken by his bullshit but for most intelligent people, his name is mud. He is a twaddling fellow.

After expelling Russian diplomats from the US and around the world, the moron is now inviting Putin to his pad for coffee an a Big mac.

Trump trying to protect alyuh ungrateful people from dem new bad ass Satan missiles Putin got!!

Listen banna, you can idolize Trump all you want and be taken by his bullshit but for most intelligent people, his name is mud. He is a twaddling fellow.

He is not being given credit for the good things he is doing!   

What good thing did he do, did he step down?

Dude...there is no defense from those kinds of multiple warhead missiles. If there is a time when these are used it is an extinction event. The US will retaliate and the planet will be a toxic snow ball in a few months with no living thing surviving except those in the deep sea. Trump and Putin are arguing over who has the most matches in a room full of gasoline. Sorry, Putin is a monumental ******* and we seem to have one of matching personality.

He actually did a good thing finally Thursday afternoon on Airforce One, he threw his lawyer under the bus. Pressure is on and there is no (smart) lawyer who wants to work with Trump because as we have seen, many aides who worked for him are now up the creek without a paddle because the man is an ahole.

He said he knows nothing about the payment to Stormy yet he was threatening her for breach of contract...Baddam!..that has opened a can of worms for that maggot.

He actually did a good thing finally Thursday afternoon on Airforce One, he threw his lawyer under the bus. Pressure is on and there is no (smart) lawyer who wants to work with Trump because as we have seen, many aides who worked for him are now up the creek without a paddle because the man is an ahole.

He said he knows nothing about the payment to Stormy yet he was threatening her for breach of contract...Baddam!..that has opened a can of worms for that maggot.

Bai Cain, I bet President Spanky misses Stormy dangling her pair of racks in front of his face. Oh!!! How he wishes for that day to return. I am sure he is getting flashbacks and suffering withdrawals.

Trump is not going anywhere till 2020.  Alyuh relax!

We know you're waiting for next election for Trump to install the PPP, but if it's BJ being installed, it will be a NO NO. 

Well, as we dozz seh, when you nah gatt mamy, nurse granny.  I would go with the PPP regardless.  PNC too racist, always my issue, prove to be correct.

The total Africanization of Guyana is still THE strategic objective of the PNC.

Trump will be reelected!  He will win against China!  He needs to take the tariff monies and subsidize the farmers impacted.

We know you're waiting for next election for Trump to install the PPP, but if it's BJ being installed, it will be a NO NO. 

Well, as we dozz seh, when you nah gatt mamy, nurse granny.  I would go with the PPP regardless.  PNC too racist, always my issue, prove to be correct.

Trump will be reelected!  He will win against China!  He needs to take the tariff monies and subsidize the farmers impacted.

So why did you and your brother feed Granjuh doll puri and chicken curry? 

Bai Cain, I bet President Spanky misses Stormy dangling her pair of racks in front of his face. Oh!!! How he wishes for that day to return. I am sure he is getting flashbacks and suffering withdrawals.

Melania will whip him good and straighten him out.

Maybe he likes pulling his pants down and getting spanked. Seems like President Spanky enjoyed Stormy's spanking.

They saw an AKO (Ass Kissing Opportunity).

Nuh me gyaal.  Stop mekking trouble fuh me!

Bai you throwing your hero under the bus now????

They saw an AKO (Ass Kissing Opportunity).

Nah bai.  The base never involved in dem tings!  The people did thuings the way they saw it, and I understand some of their sentiments.

Everyone saw things differently and some Indians went PNC throwing caution to the wind!

As I said several times, the PNC have certain good policies which could be beneficial.  The PPP had a lot of failings.  In the end, some believed the race issue was not as big.  I not one of them!

Probably not. From all appearances, seems like Melania doesn't want to touch him. 

Probably Melania will say ...

"Eeh generally funkshuns like a turdteen year old child, sooo after anadah spanking, eeeh might learn sumpthing."

We know you're waiting 

Just talked with my brother about roti and curry.  In return dem getting milk and honey.  Rewards for backing the winning horse!  

This is one creepy photo. Which father closes his eyes when he is kissing his daughter. 

How did this son of a bitch cheat on this hot looking bitch? He needs to have his head examined. This was about the time he was messing with Stormy Double Ds.  and Karen M. Damn, those milk containers. 

He was probably on drugs.

This is one creepy photo. Which father closes his eyes when he is kissing his daughter. 

How did this son of a bitch cheat on this hot looking bitch? He needs to have his head examined. This was about the time he was messing with Stormy Double Ds.  and Karen M. Damn, those milk containers. 

He was probably on drugs.

He had to be. My wife is always the prettiest woman in the room and that is even when I am on drugs. 

Really!

Look at THE MAN. 

Does he look worried?

Only you fellas seems to have breakdowns over the man women, his money, what, who and where he grabs, his vocabulary. And it has been close to two years now.

Try another angle of life, otherwise by 2020 you will have blanked your mind out, because Trump will win again. This time the Russians will help him for sure.

Between the Russians and the Chinese, America needs a Trump like character. Good thing America has the real guy. 

It will be buddup, boops, badang, bang yet again.