In retrospect, notwithstanding what claims are levied against Jagdeo, all Guyanese have to admit that he moved Guyana by leaps and bounds into the 21st century. It took true grit and toil to recover from the dumps that the PNC had dragged us down to. I left Guyana when there was no bread on the table. If you managed to clandestinely obtain a loaf, you were looking at jail time. Today, not only is bread available, but there are supermarkets stocked with food, something foreign in that dark era.
I say kudos to the man.
TI
Indeed Jagdeo's leadership was decisive amidst all the naysayers and doomsday predictors. He moved the country forward into the 21st century with the numerous upgrade to infrastructure and sustained prosperity of the people. Today Guyana is in a much better position than when the PNC destroyed the nation back in 92 and Jagdeo was a huge part of that improvement. He steered the country towards economic prosperity and tamed the evil PNC with phantomizing methods. No longer is there fear of mo fiah slow fiah as they will get phantomized as fast as they can strike a match.
Originally posted by BGurd_See:
Indeed Jagdeo's leadership was decisive amidst all the naysayers and doomsday predictors. He moved the country forward into the 21st century with the numerous upgrade to infrastructure and sustained prosperity of the people. Today Guyana is in a much better position than when the PNC destroyed the nation back in 92 and Jagdeo was a huge part of that improvement. He steered the country towards economic prosperity and tamed the evil PNC with phantomizing methods. No longer is there fear of mo fiah slow fiah as they will get phantomized as fast as they can strike a match.
I bet you had to bite your lips to say that with conviction.
its the 21st century if you live in guyana,from where i am sitting in my home in canada its the most backward country in the caribbean
Originally posted by TI:

In retrospect, notwithstanding what claims are levied against Jagdeo, all Guyanese have to admit that he moved Guyana by leaps and bounds into the 21st century.

It took true grit and toil to recover from the dumps that the PNC had dragged us down to. I left Guyana when there was no bread on the table. If you managed to clandestinely obtain a loaf, you were looking at jail time.

Today, not only is bread available, but there are supermarkets stocked with food, something foreign in that dark era.

I say kudos to the man.

There are indeed those who not only remember but also view issues in perspective.

Nice summary for individuals to consider.

One has to be dumb not to say that Guyana has not moved forward, in some ways, under President Jagdeo. President Jagdeo had a good work ethic and was a man in control.

Now, one has to be blind not to notice that under his Presidency drugs and drug lords took control and brought death and destruction upon the Guyanese people. President jADGEO ALLOWED A PHANTOM GANG TO MURDER PEOPLE AT RANDOM. This will forever stain his reputation as President. It is left to be seen if indeed he had personal contact with Roger Khan and other big time drug Lords who are now in US Jails.
At this time when his term is comming to an end, Guyanese need to replace him with a President who can bring back some sense of trust, that the Gov't is not just there for a few people but for veryone. Time tio vote the PPP outof office.
Nehru only you and you alone know why you are crying so much when you read the speech.
Originally posted by Demerara_Guy:
Originally posted by TI:

In retrospect, notwithstanding what claims are levied against Jagdeo, all Guyanese have to admit that he moved Guyana by leaps and bounds into the 21st century.

It took true grit and toil to recover from the dumps that the PNC had dragged us down to. I left Guyana when there was no bread on the table. If you managed to clandestinely obtain a loaf, you were looking at jail time.

Today, not only is bread available, but there are supermarkets stocked with food, something foreign in that dark era.

I say kudos to the man.

There are indeed those who not only remember but also view issues in perspective.

Nice summary for individuals to consider.
TI just forgetting the context. Even if the communist PPP was in power sanctions would be in place against them as well. The US shut town all loans to the PNC not because they were tyranical but because they played the communist game! Note they nurtured dictators all around the world where it suit them. We got no bread because there was no free flour from the US as there is now. The jagdeo government is not buying the wheat. It is gratis from the US so we can manage our HIV infestation. The opening of the market allowed for remittances to contribute and the local underground economy is still as big as the normal one. A significant portion of it is fostered by our narco trade and facilitated by lax controls in the state. Yes we have progressed but we have with the benefaction of the lending agencies not existing under the PNC. And yes, the PNC was bad but the glossing over of the present regime on fictive growth in the economy is not going to cut it. We hardly produce one half of what we spend and like in the PNC era we are yet to balance a budget on earnings. We do so on begging.
Keep reading:

"Health Minister Dr Leslie Ramsammy said that corporate businesses’ active participation in the National Week of Testing helps to demonstrate the ‘take charge’ attitude that the country has adopted with regard the HIV/AIDS epidemic.
Minister Ramsammy made this observation today whilst engaging members of the Guyana Business Coalition (GBC) at their office at Orange Walk, Bourda. Accompanying the Minister was Programme Manager of the National Aids Programme Secretariat, Dr Shanti Singh.

In addition to being one of the testing site, members of the GBC, took the initiative, to be tested as a way of encouraging others to follow suit.
Speaking with the members, Minister Ramsammy said, “the fact that I could walk around on a day like this and join senior members of corporate entities of our country, join ministers of Government to get tested shows that we take knowing our HIV status seriously.”
Minister Ramsammy would have earlier in the day visited several businesses and Government ministries including Local Government and Amerindian Affairs and engaged the employees who had as well taken the initiative to publicly answer the call for testing in the presence of the minister.
“When a country can demonstrate that all its stakeholders are taking responsibility for a challenge that they confront on a daily basis, then that country can be reasonably assured that we will win that battle,” Ramsammy said.

The amount of testing that is realized during the week of testing is phenomenal and speaks to the country’s awareness of the epidemic, he said.
A total of 35,771 people were tested last year during the National Week of testing.
This year the ministry hopes to exceed 36,000 and to facilitate this, has made available testing services at several private sector companies at strategic locations countrywide. About 8,000 have been tested to date.

In excess of 218 temporary testing sites and 78 fixed sites were made available countrywide.
Minister Ramsammy said that the ministry’s effort with regards to HIV testing has had significant success in the country’s collective fight against the virus.
“When you look at the last decade and the improvement that we have made and the improving statistics then you know we are winning the battle,” he said.
On an annual basis Guyana used to record 150-200 children born with HIV now that number has dropped to 4-6, Ramsammy said.

In addition, annually, 1000 Guyanese died from AIDS in the past, that number has dropped to under 150 per year and as well, the number of new AIDS cases has dropped from 400-500 annually to 24-40 per year, Ramsammy said.
“These figures best demonstrate how far we have come,” he said, “these statistics tell the phenomenal success story of the country’s battle against the virus.”
The Minister praised the members of the GBC and the business community for their active participation in testing. “When all is said and done what we do in business is about making people’s life better and we cannot make people’s life better by just having successful businesses we can only make people’s life better if people are healthy,” he added.

Chairman of the GBC, David Bhola said that the members voluntarily chose to be tested as an example for others to follow and the members of the coalition are working at various locations that have sites set up and helping with testing.
National Week of Testing 2011 is being observed under the theme “Confidential and reliable, get tested now.” The activity began in 2006.
This initiative is an annual activity that has as its mandate, to encourage more people to know their HIV status and help erase stigma attached to getting tested.
Originally posted by Apollo:
Keep reading:

"Health Minister Dr Leslie Ramsammy said that corporate businesses’ active participation in the National Week of Testing helps to demonstrate the ‘take charge’ attitude that the country has adopted with regard the HIV/AIDS epidemic.
Minister Ramsammy made this observation today whilst engaging members of the Guyana Business Coalition (GBC) at their office at Orange Walk, Bourda. Accompanying the Minister was Programme Manager of the National Aids Programme Secretariat, Dr Shanti Singh.

In addition to being one of the testing site, members of the GBC, took the initiative, to be tested as a way of encouraging others to follow suit.
Speaking with the members, Minister Ramsammy said, “the fact that I could walk around on a day like this and join senior members of corporate entities of our country, join ministers of Government to get tested shows that we take knowing our HIV status seriously.”
Minister Ramsammy would have earlier in the day visited several businesses and Government ministries including Local Government and Amerindian Affairs and engaged the employees who had as well taken the initiative to publicly answer the call for testing in the presence of the minister.
“When a country can demonstrate that all its stakeholders are taking responsibility for a challenge that they confront on a daily basis, then that country can be reasonably assured that we will win that battle,” Ramsammy said.

The amount of testing that is realized during the week of testing is phenomenal and speaks to the country’s awareness of the epidemic, he said.
A total of 35,771 people were tested last year during the National Week of testing.
This year the ministry hopes to exceed 36,000 and to facilitate this, has made available testing services at several private sector companies at strategic locations countrywide. About 8,000 have been tested to date.

In excess of 218 temporary testing sites and 78 fixed sites were made available countrywide.
Minister Ramsammy said that the ministry’s effort with regards to HIV testing has had significant success in the country’s collective fight against the virus.
“When you look at the last decade and the improvement that we have made and the improving statistics then you know we are winning the battle,” he said.
On an annual basis Guyana used to record 150-200 children born with HIV now that number has dropped to 4-6, Ramsammy said.

In addition, annually, 1000 Guyanese died from AIDS in the past, that number has dropped to under 150 per year and as well, the number of new AIDS cases has dropped from 400-500 annually to 24-40 per year, Ramsammy said.
“These figures best demonstrate how far we have come,” he said, “these statistics tell the phenomenal success story of the country’s battle against the virus.”
The Minister praised the members of the GBC and the business community for their active participation in testing. “When all is said and done what we do in business is about making people’s life better and we cannot make people’s life better by just having successful businesses we can only make people’s life better if people are healthy,” he added.

Chairman of the GBC, David Bhola said that the members voluntarily chose to be tested as an example for others to follow and the members of the coalition are working at various locations that have sites set up and helping with testing.
National Week of Testing 2011 is being observed under the theme “Confidential and reliable, get tested now.” The activity began in 2006.
This initiative is an annual activity that has as its mandate, to encourage more people to know their HIV status and help erase stigma attached to getting tested.
you sound like a ppp crime family with a long long long crimical record
President Jagdeo's farewell address is most statesmanlike.
The areas of progress Mr Jagdeo mentions are largely due to his tremendous leadership as well as his clear and purposeful vision.
But the President has played down his personal role, choosing instead to praise the Guyanese people for ensuring continuous progress and prosperity during the past 12 years.
I'm impressed by Mr Jagdeo's humility.
History will evaluate his presidency most kindly.
Thank you, President Jagdeo.
B
Originally posted by cain:
You probably got lots of nice things to say about Hitler too, don't you Bookman?
Lets be real. Jagdeo is insufferably vindictive and pompous. His pettiness is superseded only by his crookedness, his willingness to bluntly lie and his compulsion to surround himself knee-deep with the worse of sycophants. Lacking in any virtuous skills means he needs these creatures to affirm his delusion he is the greatest.

He will be remembered most for his ignominious treatment of his wife, his 8 year long lie that he was married, and his callous and contemptuous attitude that the rest of us should forget this vile trampling on the most fundamental of human covenants... marriage vows.
Mr. Jagdeo is a man who can curse down and get on bad but he will be remembered as the President who paid off alot of Guyana's foreign debt. This is something we can never take away from him.

I still have the picture in my mind (1970s/1980s) of those hydro electric heavy juty jungle clearing equipment roting in the jungle unused while the interest on Guyana's debt used to buy those equipment kept adding up.
Wally
Originally posted by Chief:
Now, one has to be blind not to notice that under his Presidency drugs and drug lords took control and brought death and destruction upon the Guyanese people. President jADGEO ALLOWED A PHANTOM GANG TO MURDER PEOPLE AT RANDOM. This will forever stain his reputation as President. It is left to be seen if indeed he had personal contact with Roger Khan and other big time drug Lords who are now in US Jails.
At this time when his term is comming to an end, Guyanese need to replace him with a President who can bring back some sense of trust, that the Gov't is not just there for a few people but for veryone. Time tio vote the PPP outof office.
Nehru only you and you alone know why you are crying so much when you read the speech.

In fact when you speak to the average Guyanese you find that they are full of praise for those who funded and organized the phantoms. It was the only solution to the rising insurgency orchestrated by the PNC/AFC. Jagdeo allowed nothing as he had limited control of the police and army at the time. The PNC controlled those entities. If it was not for the business community that funded the phantoms, Guyana would be a very dark place today. Is how many years now RK in prison and you folks still harping about him and the phantoms. ahahhaha
Not only this speech but every one of his speeches are top notch. He represented us well at international meetings. his brilliance and leadership got him recognized by the world bank . Guyana is being represented internationally for the first time.
It will be difficult to find another leader who can represent us this well internationally .
Originally posted by alena:
Not only this speech but every one of his speeches are top notch. He represented us well at international meetings. his brilliance and leadership got him recognized by the world bank . Guyana is being represented internationally for the first time.
It will be difficult to find another leader who can represent us this well internationally .

Pity so many of us have to cheer from afar. Wink
YOU CHOOSE TO CHEER FROM AFAR. gO AND INVEST AND ENJOY THE sUNSHINE. wHAT IS STOPPING YOU??
Originally posted by Rahmah bin Jabr:

Chief seems to be one of those Indians who love to see their own suffer and brutally murder, just asking.
Originally posted by Chief:

In fact when you speak to the average Guyanese you find that they are full of praise for those who funded and organized the phantoms. It was the only solution to the rising insurgency orchestrated by the PNC/AFC. Jagdeo allowed nothing as he had limited control of the police and army at the time. The PNC controlled those entities. If it was not for the business community that funded the phantoms, Guyana would be a very dark place today. Is how many years now RK in prison and you folks still harping about him and the phantoms. ahahhaha
Originally posted by Nehru:
YOU CHOOSE TO CHEER FROM AFAR. gO AND INVEST AND ENJOY THE sUNSHINE. wHAT IS STOPPING YOU??

Interesting. You have not been back in 30 years. What does that make you? A buffoon? Wink
I AM cheering from afar cause I choose to. I am not the one who seem to have a problem with that. Talk to your Buddy Blackbeard. I am very comfortable cheering from whereever.
Originally posted by Sheik101:

You should be ashame of yourself to make a statement like this.
You rass have not touched foot in the republic in dankey years, so who's cheering from afar, eh? flag
I AM cheering from afar cause I choose to. I am not the one who seem to have a problem with that. Talk to your Buddy Blackbeard. I am very comfortable cheering from whereever.

You rass have not touched foot in the republic in dankey years, so who's cheering from afar, eh? flag
Come on now. A patriot like yourself should be in guyana ensuring a PPP victory. Your posts here are no factor. go to guyana. they need your undying support there, not here. flag
mAN aL yuH REALLY BACKWARD. How did you come to that conclusion??? Geeez is stupid Al YUh stuipd so??? Why am I asking.
Those of us who are exposed to the international community can certainly judge how one leader compares to another. Smile

lol

Guess that makes you and you alone uniquely qualified. Wink
That is the problem with Al YUh. A PPP VICTORY will be finalised by THE GUYANESE PEOPLE .

Come on now. A patriot like yourself should be in guyana ensuring a PPP victory. Your posts here are no factor. go to guyana. they need your undying support there, not here. flag
Multiple sources have expressed fears to Ambassador
that not only has Khan penetrated almost every level of
Guyanese government and society, but that he will exert ever
greater influence over the political scene beginning with
this year’s elections. Most respected commentators believe
that Guyana has already become or is well on the way to being
a narco-state. If Guyana is a narco-state, then Khan is its
leader. Ambassador has spoken with GoG to little avail about Khan’s drug activities and unaccounted wealth. The GoG has adopted a head-in-the-sand approach to Khan and narco-trafficking in general. The GoG asks for hard evidence and pretends not to know how Khan acquires his means. END
COMMENT.
BULLEN
Interesting indeed. partybanana partybanana yippie yippie
Multiple sources have expressed fears to Ambassador
that not only has Khan penetrated almost every level of
Guyanese government and society, but that he will exert ever
greater influence over the political scene beginning with
this year’s elections. Most respected commentators believe
that Guyana has already become or is well on the way to being
a narco-state. If Guyana is a narco-state, then Khan is its
leader. Ambassador has spoken with GoG to little avail about Khan’s drug activities and unaccounted wealth. The GoG has adopted a head-in-the-sand approach to Khan and narco-trafficking in general. The GoG asks for hard evidence and pretends not to know how Khan acquires his means. END
COMMENT.
BULLEN
you've captured the highlights of his presidency!
Originally posted by Wendy Holmes:
Not one institution from the UN to NGOs like transparency international has given the President high marks. Internationally, he is clearly seen as an opportunist, micro manager and seriously compromised by his tacit facilitation of extra judicial murders and narco trafficking. The last US ambassador said the same.
Originally posted by TI:
In retrospect, notwithstanding what claims are levied against Jagdeo, all Guyanese have to admit that he moved Guyana by leaps and bounds into the 21st century. It took true grit and toil to recover from the dumps that the PNC had dragged us down to. I left Guyana when there was no bread on the table. If you managed to clandestinely obtain a loaf, you were looking at jail time. Today, not only is bread available, but there are supermarkets stocked with food, something foreign in that dark era.
I say kudos to the man.
sometimes I think you're the only sane person on this forum.
you need to educate the Jagdeo bashers, PPP bashers, and other naysayers here.
Mn you are beyond dishonest. You are indeed SHAMELESS, Hoelike Shameless!!!
Originally posted by D2:
Not one institution from the UN to NGOs like transparency international has given the President high marks. Internationally, he is clearly seen as an opportunist, micro manager and seriously compromised by his tacit facilitation of extra judicial murders and narco trafficking. The last US ambassador said the same.
Mn you are beyond dishonest. You are indeed SHAMELESS, Hoelike Shameless!!!
Originally posted by D2:
I am not robbing the people; check who are assigned prime portions of pork in Pradoville!

I did not implant my children in cushy jobs when qualified candidates with experience were available or squat on two prime leech jobs doing nothing as one failed and the other robbed the nation; Ramorat did.

I have not given away Lenora or 4% of the nations land in shady deals, Jagdeo has.

They should be the target of your tirades. But you are a racist pig and want to remain at the trough. It is not about goodness and justice but the reflected glow of awee pon top.