Exxon’s country manager says ‘signing bonuses customary’ -Recommits to being transparent in the industry 

DPI, GUYANA, Sunday, December 10, 2017

ExxonMobil’s Country Manager, Rod Henson, downplayed claims of secrecy in the signing bonus it paid to the government.

“Let me say that signing bonuses are customary and normal in many petroleum agreements, not all, but in many around the world as part of the total financial agreement”, Henson told media, Sunday night, following a public lecture sponsored by Exxon and hosted by the Ministry of Natural Resources.

Rod Henson, ExxonMobil Country Manager.

Henson said the company paid US$18M, “not to any individual but to a government bank account designated by the Ministry of Finance.” He further pointed out, “ExxonMobil, as a commercial entity, we have no role whatsoever in the use or where those funds go. We operate with the highest standard of business conduct.”

On Friday, December 8, local media published a correspondence from the Finance Secretary, Dr.Hector Butts, to the Bank of Guyana Governor, Dr.Gobind Ganga, requesting the opening of an account for the signing bonus, received from ExxonMobil.

Minister of Natural Resources, Raphael Trotman stated on December 8, in the National Assembly, that the document’s publication was a deliberate attempt to humiliate the government. “Nothing that this government has done yesterday, today and will do in the future, is done except to preserve the lives of the people of Guyana”, he added.

Meanwhile, Henson said Exxon remains committed to transparency but noted it must be applied across the industry and not to any one company. “Transparency initiatives in order to be successful should protect proprietary and commercial information, should ensure that they don’t violate any countries laws and should apply to all companies in the extractive industry”, he explained.

The government has announced it will fully disclose its agreement with ExxonMobil this month, as part of its commitment to transparency and accountability in the oil and gas industry. ExxonMobil and its partners, CNOOC Nexen and Hess Corp, are currently developing the Liza Field in the Stabroek Block offshore Guyana for oil production by 2020.

Henson noted that as Guyana undergoes measures to become a full-fledged member of the Extractive Industries Transparency Initiative (EITI), “these types of payments will be made public as part of that process.”

Exxon is a founder of the EITI process which requires all extractive industries: oil, mining, and forestry, to disclose monies it pays to the government. Likewise, the government discloses monies received and an independent third party evaluates and validates the information and publishes it.

Guyana became the 53rd member of the EITI in October. The membership is a signal achievement for all Guyana as it strengthens the good governance framework that the APNU/AFC coalition government has committed to establishing for the extractive industries sector and beyond.

This is damage control on their part. He knew that the matter was in the public domain and could've have issued a statement of clarification if he believes in transparency unless there is a confidential clause in the contract signed between the two parties. 

Furthermore, he is responsible for EXXON and not other countries. Had he believed in transparency, the info should have been released regardless of the other players in the industry. Reminds me of the kids who do something wrong and explains that well, the other kids are doing it also. 

Also, I thought that guyana is now a full member of EITI. Or is it because this matter Was agreed on before we became a member?

a question- the USA withdrew from EFTI. How does this affect the operation of EFTI as it relates tonUS companies? 

Z

As this saga unfolds, it would be interesting to see the reaction of Exxon's shareholders.  Would the Board Members of this corporate giant allow it to continue to do business with a corrupt Govt?

Nah Exxon will pull out temporary.They will await until the past corrupted Government get in power,then resume their operations again.

Is not that what you prefer ? Are you aware how many Bank Accounts the past administration had ?

Bear in mind i am not condoning wrong doings by Government officials.

Exxon has a history of doing business with corrupt governments. Nigeria, for example. For Exxon de corruptest is de best.

Nah Exxon will pull out temporary.They will await until the past corrupted Government get in power,then start their operations again.

Is not that what you prefer ? Are you aware how many Bank Accounts the past administration had ?

Bear in mind i am not condoning wrong doings by Government officials.

It's amazing that you can see that far back as "the past corrupted government" but you cannot see the CURRENT CORRUPTED GOVERNMENT. Way to go "independent" observer. Looks like your short-term memory is failing you.

Exxon has a history of doing business with corrupt governments. Nigeria, for example. For Exxon de corruptest is de best.

Bhaiya, nah farget Equatorial Guinea. Dem pickney belly swell from starvation. Exxon allowed the dictator to open foreign personal and family accounts to deposit the oil money.

It's amazing that you can see that far back as "the past corrupted government" but you cannot see the CURRENT CORRUPTED GOVERNMENT. Way to go "independent" observer. Looks like your short-term memory is failing you.

My memory is intact,maybe you can't decipher where i stand.

what are you smoking

The consensus around here(GNI) is that you are a die-hard card-carrying PNC member. It is also suspected that you are on the PNC payroll.

So you are speaking for everyone on GNI ? your insinuation of being paid doesn't hold water.

May i ask are all the current posters card-carrying PPP members,taking into consideration you are in the know.

Caribj is correct with some of his observations on GNI.

Skelly, I don't think that Django is a card-carrying PNCite. And I don't believe that Django is on the PNC payroll. 

Now, read this carefully because I won't repeat it: It is Gilbakka's considered opinion, based on Django's comments, that Django prefers APNU+AFC to the PPP and so he is not genuinely INDEPENDENT as he claims. Me done.

I see Django as an independent and not hitched to any political party.  Even with this scandal, I don't see how the PPP will be voted back into power.

You guys should be welcoming him for speaking out against the PNC and not cussing and insulting him. Like Zed, he is neutral.

The personal attacks and insults are distracting from proper debating and scaring posters or others off the forum. 

I see Django as an independent and not hitched to any political party.  

Mits, I'll take you up on this one. Since 1992 I have not been a card-carrying member of any political party in Guyana. Not even now, even as I recently declared my SUPPORT of the PPP. So, in all honesty, having regard to my pro-PPP opinions, I cannot truly state that I am independent even though I reserve the right to criticize the PPP whenever necessary. Last night, for instance, I told Django that before 2015 APNU and AFC were right to protest against the PPP government on Baishanlin, Fip Motilall etc.

Now, Django ALWAYS attacks the PPP, even calling them "funny fellas" last night. But Django criticizes APNU+AFC SOMETIMES with some general statements like politicians from both parties are crooks. MOST TIMES, Django is favourable to APNU+AFC. To me, that does not qualify him as an independent commenter. I have a problem with the word "independent" and not with Django's political preference.

Thanks Mits.

Some of the guys have different take on where i stand,no problem to each his own.

The two videos i posted,one with Trotman and the other with Jordan,depicts clearly Jordan was lying about the Exxon deposit,damn and he spoke after Trotman admitted there was money received.They tried to cover up but failed.The board of BOG wasn't informed about the deposit.

Gill,

I have never carry any Party card,i have mentioned i supported the PPP.That have changed after the party was derailed,as such i call some  funny fellas,they are the one that fits a story "From rags to Riches" which can be achieved by being a Politician in Guyana.Blame some of the people who blindly follows.The current bunch in Gov't are going down the same road.

I am keeping tabs of their corruption.

Gill,

I have never carry any Party card,i have mentioned i supported the PPP.That have changed after the party was derailed,as such i call some  funny fellas,they are the one that fits a story "From rags to Riches" which can be achieved by being a Politician in Guyana.Blame some of the people who blindly follows.The current bunch in Gov't are going down the same road.

Music to Gilly's ears. Roll up de tassa! 

Henson said the company paid US$18M, “not to any individual but to a government bank account designated by the Ministry of Finance.”

So Jordon who is the minister of finance is a liar.

Gill,

What's the count? Can you give us your current list?

I see Django as an independent and not hitched to any political party.  Even with this scandal, I don't see how the PPP will be voted back into power.

You guys should be welcoming him for speaking out against the PNC and not cussing and insulting him. Like Zed, he is neutral.

The personal attacks and insults are distracting from proper debating and scaring posters or others off the forum. 

Mits, I  do not think that Django is independent. In one post some time back, he posted that he was glad that the APNU - AFC were in power. He hides any criticism of the present government in general comments on political behaviour and government. 

I have a problem with 'independent' or 'neutral'. I think that everyone here on gni have a position they are against and a position they support. There are some who will give jack his jacket, criticize when appropriate. Praise when appropriate.  There are some who are mindless in their support of particular position, like, " I support them through good or bad."

Z
Zed posted:

Mits, I  do not think that Django is independent. In one post some time back, he posted that he was glad that the APNU - AFC were in power. He hides any criticism of the present government in general comments on political behaviour and government. 

I have a problem with 'independent' or 'neutral'. I think that everyone here on gni have a position they are against and a position they support. There are some who will give jack his jacket, criticize when appropriate. Praise when appropriate.  There are some who are mindless in their support of particular position, like, " I support them through good or bad."

Your last sentence covers most of those on GNI who supported the PPP...they did no wrong.

Cain, the same can be applied to those who support the coalition. Because inam currently on holidays in Canada, I have been following social media on some of the major issues over  the past two weeks and judging from that, the mentality of both sets of supporters seem to be for better or worse.

The way things are going, people who view themselves as independent will have to make some hard choices. Maybe a decision of the better of two evils. Or, a pox on both their houses and stay away. Not a good situation for a country or people  to move forward.

Z
Zed posted:

Cain, the same can be applied to those who support the coalation.

No it cannot be. Many, if not most coalation supporters are unhappy with the way the Granger govt is going about business. They have spoken out when there is wrong doing, the same cannot be said for those backing the PPP all they saw it as .."is abie time now" and they turned a blind eye never questioning their PPP.

This is why as much as I am angry at what this govt is doing I am also angry at PPP supporters for not taking the PPP to task. Had they done so perhaps the PPP would have done better at the polls and not have the country in the mess it seems to be in.