Did Nascimento deliberately disrespect KN reporters?

APRIL 3, 2015 | BY  | FILED UNDER LETTERS 

Dear Editor,
According to John Pilger in Hidden Agendas, “It is not enough for journalists to see themselves as mere messengers…”
And if I can add to that, journalists must also see themselves as being resolute and objective individuals who should demand respect and defend the title of their entity, regardless of who they come up against.
On Wednesday, well known “communications specialist,” Kit Nascimento, attempted to disrespect Kaieteur News and its reporters who turned up for a press conference at the National Communications Network, Channel 11 following an invitation.
Five reporters from this entity arrived there before it got started as it was intimated that GPL, GuySuCo and NICIL officials would be present. At that time, last minute preparations were still being done for the televised programme.
After taking our seats in the studio, Nascimento engaged a KN reporter, Leonard Gildarie in what started out as “teasing and idle banter”.
The others, like me watched on, but things got a bit intense very quickly when Nascimento asked over and over about the number of reporters present from Kaieteur News. He did not do the same for other media entities but merely asked if they were present.
I have seen many things but never someone descending into the trenches the way Nascimento did when he said that the reason KN sends so many reporters to a press conference is because there isn’t one competent enough to ask a question.
It is usually a norm that more than two reporters would attend a press conference depending on the nature of the topic and the persons hosting it.
He even said that he would send a “warning” to KN on air and we are free to ask whatever questions we please when he was done.
The repulsive and distasteful comment, prompted me to immediately ask my colleague, Gildarie to demand clarifications from Nascimento on his statements.
In fact, which self-respecting media house would have sat down and tolerated the sort of disrespect shown by Nascimento and not demand answers?
He of course *****-footed around the demands we made and we left the press conference before it got started for it was unanimously agreed that such levels of disrespect was not going to be tolerated.
When I had my first encounter with the “communications specialist,” I was told by a senior reporter in the media fraternity that he is passionate about journalism, well read, and trained in ethics and mode of conduct and certainly a refined man.
Boy did this image quickly faded to nothingness at NCN.
With the journalistic experience Nascimento should have acquired over the years, I surely expected better from him. It would not have surprised me had it been displayed by Winston Brassington, a few of our politicians in the People’s Progressive Party and even some from the opposition.
But from the granddaddy of journalism? Not at all! As a journalist, it was disheartening to hear such utterances from Nascimento. It was thoughtless, uncalled for, belittling and speaks volumes about the character of the individual.
I can’t force Nascimento to respect Kaieteur News but is it too much to expect him to extend common courtesy? To be professional? Besides, they were the ones that invited the media houses.
It would not be hard to deduce that Nascimento deliberately made his comments to evoke a particular response.
Kaieteur News Journalist 
Kiana Wilburg

Nascimento is a low class drunk. I've never ever seen a Guyanese public figure who is always soaked in liquor, which he obviously can't handle, as this fellow

I would call Kit a dog. If I do, I will be insulting my two dogs. So I will label him a maggot.

None of Nascimento friends ain't voting PPP and w wife sure as hell ain't voting PPP.

Don't get ahead of yourself.

This fella is as durtee as they come this is why he is now embraced and loved by the PPP.

Nascimento is a low class drunk. I've never ever seen a Guyanese public figure who is always soaked in liquor, which he obviously can't handle, as this fellow

I disagree most respectfully, sir.

I say: Nascimento is a top-class drunk.

Jagan wrote in unflattering terms about Nastymento in West on Trial how this man thwarted their efforts at freedom for Guyana.  Now Nasty, Lumumba, Jeffrey, Hamilton, Bynoe, Kwame, etc. are firmly in the PPP's bosom.  So who betrayed Indians and the legacy of Jagan?  PPP or Moses?

As if you are not..

Originally Posted by Mars:

PPP has all the thugs from Burnham days in their fold.

Keep your enemies closer..

Rama Tell de wha Kwame tell Yuh....

Keep de Olo....in Yuh Backside...

At least the man is doing his thuggish duties against the free press as his masters want him to do. His wife,Gem, has a corner on the tourism market.

They are cashing in like Lumumba and others.

As if you are not..

Definitely not, Rama. Occasionally I take a drink, not more than two shots.