chides AFC for undermining ethnic solidarity

Dr David Hinds, an Executive Member of the Working People’s Alliance (WPA), says the decision by the Alliance For Change (AFC) to send only African representatives to the protest organized by the A Partnership for National Unity (APNU) is “unhelpful and ultra-conservative”.

Hinds in a letter to the press expressed his concern over a decision by the AFC to send its Chairman Nigel Hughes and General Secretary David Patterson to mount the APNU’s political platform on Friday at the protest.

The AFC had promised to give “critical support” to the protest organized by the APNU, but its top spokespersons and party Executives did not even turn up to mount the platform.

Party Vice Chairman Moses Nagamootoo and Leader Khemraj Ramjattan, who are both of East Indian descent, surprisingly were no-shows at the protest.

The party’s leader had hinted earlier in the week that, while the AFC supports the rally organised by the APNU, it played no part in the planning or organisation of the event.

The AFC also maintained that it believed that it was necessary to join the APNU’s platform which was organised to protest the President’s decision to prorogue the Parliament.

The AFC has been send ing mixed signals about its relationship with the APNU, but earlier this month, clandestine meetings started between the two groups.

But the AFC continued to argue that it would not be part of any coalition with APNU.

Surprisingly, the two parties have admitted to forming an interim coalition to fight the President’s decision to prorogue the Parliament. They have also been strategising to cause the collapse of the Government through a series of parliamentary action and extra-Parliament advocacy.

Some analysts say that the decision not to send the AFC’s East Indian politicians was deliberate as the minority party is still not certain how to deal with the message that such a move would send to its support bases in Indo-Guyanese consistencies.

In fact, Hinds accused AFC of continuing to be unsure of how to deal with the sensitivities about alliance with PNC in the Indian Guyanese community and the readiness of the People’s Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C) to exploit this issue.

He said “despite Nigel Hughes articulate presentation, the decision not to send one of its top flight Indian Guyanese leaders to speak at the rally at the Square of the Revolution was ultra conservative and unhelpful.”

Hinds, believes that Nagamootoo speaking to the Indians at the APNU rally would have been a bold step in the direction of ethnic unity and reconciliation.

Again, Ramjattan is ashamed to be seen with (PNC) Granger on stage together. The word already get out that he and Moses were hiding, but the voters know the game they're playing. Ramjattan ah run like night till day catch am. 

Grasping at straws........Is the PPP ashamed that anil is thiefin tax payers money to buy sperm?

Originally Posted by Conscience:

Its clear to see, the top brass of the A.F.C are solely concentrating on a certain ethnic group in Guyana.

Khemraj and Moses are closet racists. They don't want to be seen with blacks. Why have they gone into hiding? Is APNU using them to split the Indian votes?

Anil nandlall is a thiefman who steals tax payers money to buy sperm.

Haas man, dis sperm bank belang to you. Wah you ah do wid sperm bank? You ah sell sperm?

Ask Anil he know everything bout buyin sperm....wid thiefin money from poor tax payers e rob.

Bai me ask you wah you ah do wid wan sperm bank. You must be selling a lot. Is this your AFC fund raising?

You need some new syrup.....ask Nandlall fuh buy yuh some brains instead of sperms.

You know, this thing about hoping for change and racial tolerance can't happen.

Why?

I will tell you.

You see David Hinds, Nagamootoo, Ramjattan, Granger and all dem other politicians-dem is visible people. Is like Guyana gat no more political commentators. The Newspapers publish plenty plenty letters by political commentators. APNU should be scouting. Those same regular face, have not moved the elecotrate in the deacdes dey been commenting.

APNU needs an Indian face. Roopnarine is fine, but been around for a while. APNU needs an articulate Indian. A charismatic Indian. An Indian who negotiates a deal with the possible APNU government that guarantees all the conditions that make the Indo electorate comfortable with the CHANGE. There are not too many demands the Indoes will make. Nagamoottoo or Ramjattan CANNOT give APNU that.  

APNU should be looking for that Indian. One who knows about the history of the country-the relationship between Indoes and Afroes. An Indian who lived it. Such a RECRUIT must be able to address Amerindian issues. 

Truly an elections of DEMOCRACY can occur. A government elected by Amerinds, Mixed People, Putagee, Afroes and Indoes.

Is that what for generations Guynaese been hoping for.

AFC can't do that. The PPP can't do that. But the possibility exists for APNU.

Only if and only if, Black Poiliticians stop looking only for the black electorate.

Suh, leh Naga and Ram be. 

You need some new syrup.....ask Nandlall fuh buy yuh some brains instead of sperms.

You know, this thing about hoping for change and racial tolerance can't happen.

Why?

I will tell you.

You see David Hinds, Nagamootoo, Ramjattan, Granger and all dem other politicians-dem is visible people. Is like Guyana gat no more political commentators. The Newspapers publish plenty plenty letters by political commentators. APNU should be scouting. Those same regular face, have not moved the elecotrate in the deacdes dey been commenting.

APNU needs an Indian face. Roopnarine is fine, but been around for a while. APNU needs an articulate Indian. A charismatic Indian. An Indian who negotiates a deal with the possible APNU government that guarantees all the conditions that make the Indo electorate comfortable with the CHANGE. There are not too many demands the Indoes will make. Nagamoottoo or Ramjattan CANNOT give APNU that.  

APNU should be looking for that Indian. One who knows about the history of the country-the relationship between Indoes and Afroes. An Indian who lived it. Such a RECRUIT must be able to address Amerindian issues. 

Truly an elections of DEMOCRACY can occur. A government elected by Amerinds, Mixed People, Putagee, Afroes and Indoes.

Is that what for generations Guynaese been hoping for.

AFC can't do that. The PPP can't do that. But the possibility exists for APNU.

Only if and only if, Black Poiliticians stop looking only for the black electorate.

Siggy, a political party has to work with whatever manpower it has. Regarding APNU, Gerhard Ramsaroop comes close to your criteria.

Originally Posted by kp:

How sperm becomes the subject, when the topic is about AFC and APNU.

AFC and APNU did not use tax payers money for sperm. Anil of the PPP/C did with  Ramotar's knowledge.

Originally Posted by kp:

How sperm becomes the subject, when the topic is about AFC and APNU.

Like the sperms bitting you KP a/k Mr nandalalala baba.

So Bai Kish, wah mek Moe and Khem nah jain de PNC ah freedum square? Dem ah klaset racist? Dem anh want koolie fuh see dem wid blacman? Tell abie nah. 

AFc chicken....

The article above greatly exaggerates what David Hinds. said.  It gives the impression that he was violently against what the AFC did.

He was mildly disappointed, and conceded, as I do that the AFC is trapped in trying to get Indian votes, but afraid of the racial paranoia that the PPP will unleash in its strongholds if Nagamootoo was seen at a "black man" protest.

WE see the PPP desperately trying to raise the race card.  Rupert Roopnarine was one of the speakers and was greatly accepted by the crowd, so where is the rabid anti Indianism?  They are against the PPP, and that section of the Indian elite who remain hostile to Afro Guyanese.  Those Indians like Roopnarine, Freddie Kissoon and others, who demonstrate support for the interests and aspirations of Afro Guyanese are accepted.

This fact is the PPPs greatest fear.

And despite the PPPs usual attempt to demonize Afro Guyanese as violent savages, they then proceed to accuse Nagamootoo and Ramjattan as being racists for not speaking to blacks.  Hinds said NO SUCH thing!

What he regretted was the AFC's inability/unwillingness to rise above the racial paranoia which so typifies Guyanese politics. He would have preferred that the AFC used some of Nagamootoo's popularity with segments of the Indian population, to attempt to forge a multi racial alliance.  Much as Rodney did when he forged alliances with Indian rights groups in the 70s (Roopnarine being part of that group).

Hopefully people will see that it is the PPP and no one else who is deliberately raising the race card.  The fact that the AFC might need to be aware of the racial context is in response to the PPP.  The AFC hasn't reached the stage where it can call the shots, despite the claims of some of its supporters.

Its clear to see, the top brass of the A.F.C are solely concentrating on a certain ethnic group in Guyana.

Khemraj and Moses are closet racists. They don't want to be seen with blacks. Why have they gone into hiding? Is APNU using them to split the Indian votes?

And so what if the AFC splits Indian votes.  They need an escape root of that evil PPP plantation.  The AFC is like Sojourner Truth guiding them to liberty!

Right now the most viable approach is for APNU to focus on mobilizing the black vote and getting it out, and the AFC splitting the Indian vote.

This is what will lead to the defeat of the PPP.  APNU isn't going to get Indian votes, so why waste time trying?  What it needs to do is to get the thousands of blacks, who are too disillusioned to vote, registered and out to the polls.

The AFC needs to establish its case to the rural Indian vote.  They need help in understanding that there is life beyond the PPP.  This is why the AFC needs an Indian face.  Indians remain too insecure about race to vote for a so called multi racial party. 

Blacks are extremely paranoid about their rapidly deteriorating position as well to understand a focus on the Indian vote.  They already feel neglected and excluded, and so if APNU marginalizes them in a foolhardy attempt to get the Indian vote then they will feel sold out.  Indians mightn't agree with this, but most blacks feel that Indians have Guyana under total lock down, and that they as Afro Guyanese are being reduced to being a colonized people.

APNU is as much a victim of Guyana's racial paranoia as is the AFC.  And this is exactly why the PPP is screaming that Nagamootoo is a racist because he refused to speak to a majority black crowd.

Indians need to begin to understand the high levels of frustration that currently exists within the grass roots black population.  I have said that often enough, but no society where 40% feel TOTALLY excluded will be a healthy society for too long.

Skelly, what do you really mean by splitting the Indian votes? In this year 2014, do you still believe the Indian votes belong only to the PPP? You think Indians en bloc are like a batch of goods consigned to Freedom House? Don't Indians have brains? Can't they think for themselves and make their own decisions? In these enlightened times, it is foolhardy to regard Indians as docile brainless creatures imbued only with ethnic instincts. Do not insult the intelligence of Indo-Guyanese, Skelly. If they decide on their own accord to vote for the AFC or APNU, there is nothing you or the PPP can do about it.

Bai me ask you wah you ah do wid wan sperm bank. You must be selling a lot. Is this your AFC fund raising?

Bai let me be very clear, mi nah sell mi sperm fuh upgrade all yuh low breed. Da ah haram thing fuh do. Mi promse mi would never help upgrade dem PPP low breed.

Right now the most viable approach is for APNU to focus on mobilizing the black vote and getting it out, and the AFC splitting the Indian vote.

This is what will lead to the defeat of the PPP.  APNU isn't going to get Indian votes, so why waste time trying?  What it needs to do is to get the thousands of blacks, who are too disillusioned to vote, registered and out to the polls.

The AFC needs to establish its case to the rural Indian vote.  They need help in understanding that there is life beyond the PPP.  This is why the AFC needs an Indian face.  Indians remain too insecure about race to vote for a so called multi racial party. 

Blacks are extremely paranoid about their rapidly deteriorating position as well to understand a focus on the Indian vote.  They already feel neglected and excluded, and so if APNU marginalizes them in a foolhardy attempt to get the Indian vote then they will feel sold out.  Indians mightn't agree with this, but most blacks feel that Indians have Guyana under total lock down, and that they as Afro Guyanese are being reduced to being a colonized people.

APNU is as much a victim of Guyana's racial paranoia as is the AFC.  And this is exactly why the PPP is screaming that Nagamootoo is a racist because he refused to speak to a majority black crowd.

Indians need to begin to understand the high levels of frustration that currently exists within the grass roots black population.  I have said that often enough, but no society where 40% feel TOTALLY excluded will be a healthy society for too long.

Wah u seying is, "Leh APNU get all the Black votes. And the AFC and PPP fight it out for the Indian votes." 

That is a recipe for corruption fuh sure.

The ultimate winner will be APNU with its strong contingent of PNCites. With that scenerio, either the AFC or PPP forms the government with APNU. APNU being the main partner.

The problems:

With a PPP partner-same old players.

With APNU, it will bring into the government the old guard of the PNC realm.

With AFC, it will frustrate APNU.

I still maintain, aim for an elected multi racial government. 

Some people does go to Church every Sunday hoping, praying, chanting for the KFC to split the Vote so an Indian will not be President.

Who is the presiding bandit since hubcap dead?

Skelly, what do you really mean by splitting the Indian votes? In this year 2014, do you still believe the Indian votes belong only to the PPP? You think Indians en bloc are like a batch of goods consigned to Freedom House? Don't Indians have brains? Can't they think for themselves and make their own decisions? In these enlightened times, it is foolhardy to regard Indians as docile brainless creatures imbued only with ethnic instincts. Do not insult the intelligence of Indo-Guyanese, Skelly. If they decide on their own accord to vote for the AFC or APNU, there is nothing you or the PPP can do about it.

I am not insulting the Indians. Indians vote for an Indian dominated party. Blacks vote for a black dominated party. It is Guyana's history. The PNC want the coolie votes to split between the AFC and PPP. The AFC is taking the the poison laced bait. They want to return to the days of Forbes and Desmond. Dem coolie might look ugly but dem nah dah sthupid.

The PPP is a criminal entity that must be stopped and Guyanese across the divide are waking up to that reality and as a result they are opposing the PPP from every section of society.

Those AFC and PNC supporters on this BB?

I am not insulting the Indians. Indians vote for an Indian dominated party. Blacks vote for a black dominated party. It is Guyana's history. 

Skelly, that nonsensical tradition has to end in this enlightened era. People must vote with their brains, not their skin.

I am not insulting the Indians. Indians vote for an Indian dominated party. Blacks vote for a black dominated party. It is Guyana's history. 

Skelly, that nonsensical tradition has to end in this enlightened era. People must vote with their brains, not their skin.

DO YOU DISAGREE WITH: Indians vote for an Indian dominated party. Blacks vote for a black dominated party. It is Guyana's history?

Wah u seying is, "Leh APNU get all the Black votes. And the AFC and PPP fight it out for the Indian votes." 

That is a recipe for corruption fuh sure.

The ultimate winner will be APNU with its strong contingent of PNCites. With that scenerio, either the AFC or PPP forms the government with APNU. APNU being the main partner.

The problems:

With a PPP partner-same old players.

With APNU, it will bring into the government the old guard of the PNC realm.

With AFC, it will frustrate APNU.

I still maintain, aim for an elected multi racial government. 

The AFC isnt focusing on the black vote and so APNU will continue to get most of it.

The AFCs focus is in the rural areas as they target the Indian vote.

Guyana remains mired in racial politics.  Maybe what you wish for will come in 2021, assuming that the PPP loses this next election.  Ironically an APNU victory will lead to what you wish.  They will be definition be a minority gov't.  While the PPP licks their wounds and wonders what happened to them two things will happen.

1.  The AFC wil switch its focus to confronting APNU, as they seek to build a profile.

2.  The PPP will understand that its sole focus on the Indian vote (using Amerindians to fill up the deficit) would be what contributed to their loss.  It would have left them vulnerable to an AFC attack on its base, while not challenging APNU for its base.  APNU has no idea of how to move beyond its base, so is capped as a minority gov't at best.

I am not insulting the Indians. Indians vote for an Indian dominated party. Blacks vote for a black dominated party. It is Guyana's history. The PNC want the coolie votes to split between the AFC and PPP. The AFC is taking the the poison laced bait. They want to return to the days of Forbes and Desmond. Dem coolie might look ugly but dem nah dah sthupid.

Some people might feel that they need to slay the more powerful dragon and then go after the weaker one later.  As the PPP weakens, and weaken they will if they lose, so will the PNC.  After all the onloy rationale they represent for their respective bases is the notion that while they are bad, they reprsent some protection against the other side.

What really is APNU doing to help their base?  NOTHING.  So remove the PPP and the ethnic panic that it generates among blacks and they have little reason to stay with them.

Kill the PPP dragon and the PNC dragon also dies off.

The problem is that most Guyanese dont think that the AFC has the ability to win an election, so they engage in defensive voting by running back to their ethnic based parties.

This is why it is important for the AFC to show STRENGTH.  Not projecting a notion of entitlement based on a supposed moral superiority over the larger two parties.

That is why Gerhard left, because he doesnt see the AFC on its own as having the clout to defeat the PPP. I challenge those AFCites residing in North America to scream that they know something that he doesnt.  Gerhard is an independent man so doesn't need soup from any party. We wants the PPP out of gov't and so decided to do what he did.