Granger touts government of national unity

May 27, 2014 | By | Filed Under News 

Brig David Granger, the Leader of the People’s National Congress Reform and of the Parliamentary Opposition, spent the 48th anniversary of Guyana’s independence, and the 50th anniversary of the 1964 campaign of racial violence, in New York and New Jersey meeting with Guyanese especially traditional PPP supporters.

Brig. Granger was greeted by PPP protestors in one venue at Queens, New York

He started with a dinner meeting at the Santoor Indian Restaurant in Queens on May 23, last. The following day, he had a television interview with Ms Tanuja Raghoo, a walk about on Liberty Avenue, lunch at Sonny’s Roti Shop, a town hall meeting at Richi Rich Palace, and dinner meeting at Mike and Indranie Persaud’s home.
On Sunday, Brig Granger had a lunch meeting at the home of Sandra and Fred Shivdat in New Jersey, and dinner and reception in Brooklyn in the evening.
At the meetings, Brig Granger fielded questions about the Wismar arson and rape which led to the evacuation of 3,000 Indo Guyanese from the area, elections rigging by the PNC, the Walter Rodney assassination, the 1980 Burnham constitution, and under the PPP Guyana’s descent to narco statehood, lawlessness, criminality, corruption, and dictatorship.
In one venue at Queens, Brig Granger was greeted by PPP protestors. He walked the picket line, shook hands with some, and engaged them in short discussions. The picketers were respectful and cordial.
At the meeting at Mike and Indranie Persaud’s home, some people argued for a political apology from the PNC for its excesses when it was in power, some argued against it, and a few argued that the PPP owed Guyanese an apology more than the PNC.
Mike Persaud, who over the years had consistently called on the PPP and the PNC to transform into multi racial parties, explained his thesis to Brig Granger who surprised many with his vast knowledge of the political and military history of post independence countries in Africa and Asia. Two PPP stalwarts later expressed respect and admiration for the Opposition Leader.
Brig Granger explained that he believed in inclusionary democracy in which all parties and groups are involved in the decision making process and governance so as to avoid antagonism and conflict. He believed in partnerships and that was why he had entered into alliances with the WPA, GAP, JFAP and others to create APNU. He, in 2013, had encouraged the start of the Pro Guyana Movement in which all groups can become involved in solving Guyana’s divisions.
He said that no one is required to change his political party, his social organization, or his ethnic identity. Guyanese can remain supporters of the PNC, PPP, WPA, AFC, GAP, ADCA, or ROAR, one can be an African, Indian, Amerindian rights activist, Hindu, Muslim, Christian, and still be part of the Pro Guyana Movement.
“We need to sit at the table and voice our concerns, to engage in dialogue, and forge consensus,” he said.
Brig Granger acknowledged the great harm that was done to Guyana and Guyanese during the early 1960s and vowed that he would never let Guyana slide into racial violence again.
In recognition of the deep desire of all Guyanese to live in peace and harmony, and to make all our pains worthwhile, Granger said that by the time Guyana marks its 50th independence anniversary, “we should have a unity government.”
Brig Granger said that if he were to be elected President in 2016 he would form a Government of National Unity and that he would invite the PPP to join.

alena06 posted:

So two years later, what is Granger doing to repay these people who hosted his ass 2 years ago. 

Mike and Indranie Persaud

Sandra and Fred Shivdat in New Jersey

You are too nosy,what you need to know?

Hate is a bad,does eat away your brains be careful.

alena06 posted:

So two years later, what is Granger doing to repay these people who hosted his ass 2 years ago. 

alena06, alena06.......such language...unbecoming of a QC Alumna....tch..tch...

QC produced many IDIOTS and Alena Is NOT ONE.  Alena graduated at the top of her class and is currently an Executive atb a major Corporation.  She dont brag like others do.

It boggles my mind about the edumacted.

QC produced many IDIOTS and Alena Is NOT ONE.  Alena graduated at the top of her class and is currently an Executive atb a major Corporation.  She dont brag like others do.

Your mind needs a very long and intricate study. Not to mention brain therapy.

seems you lost the ability to see tongue in cheek comment

relax bai...ah sure alena can manage

RiffRaff posted:

Relax on Independence???  Yuh Radd mad or what is Backball and wine and go sown low time.

And you are saying Kari is a wimp he cant handle things  you had to take over??????????

RiffRaff posted:

Dah bhai too uptight.

RiffRaff posted:

Dah bhai too uptight.

Remembering the Wismar Massacare is not easy.  May 26 will be forever be remembered!!!!

Why?  Do you know her?  She is a scholar.  And one of the most respected women in her field.  Not because people don't brag and boast they are not important.  We should cherish our Guyanese people who have walked where none of us have walked before.  

alena06 posted:

Please suggest that at what time did the PPP do outreach in a similar way to blacks.

During that period Jagdeo was engaged in bottom house rants that blacks were going to attack straight haired people (Indians and Amerindians) if the coalition won.

It takes two hands to clap.  And look at the demonizing by the PPP of the few Indians who tried to engage in this outreach. Neemakaram became a term that all Guyanese became familiar with in the last campaign.

Why?  Do you know her?  She is a scholar.  And one of the most respected women in her field.  Not because people don't brag and boast they are not important.  We should cherish our Guyanese people who have walked where none of us have walked before.  

Why should i be interested in knowing her ?,kudos for being a scholar,don't forget there are many around.

May i ask what is the purpose of this thread.

Why should i be interested in knowing her ?,kudos for being a scholar,don't forget there are many around.

Wait now you ketch yuh self?   What didn't you ask the purpose of this thread when you were the first to jump in and make a post???????

Don't know what to say about you,never the less i have respect.,read my response.

alena06 posted:

You are too nosy,what you need to know?

Hate is a bad,does eat away your brains be careful.

How is she a hater?  This is a public article on the Internet.

Same thing meh seh wha wrong with you,me done i gone.

alena06 posted:

Neemakaram became a term that all Guyanese became familiar with in the last campaign.

Actually, I think Moses introduced this term before the 2011 elections to demonstrate his disgust for the AFC.

I find it very disturbing that you keep targeting the women in this forum.  Why don't flex your muscles on the guys and let's see what happens.

Where am i targeting,you are the only one seem to think so,from now have a free ride talk to your selves.