Meet the eight final contenders

A shortlist of candidates chosen by TIME magazine’s editors for the 2015 Person of the Year was revealed on NBC’s TODAY show Monday morning. The eight contenders are, in alphabetical order:

Abu Bakr Al-Baghdadi, who as leader of ISIS has inspired followers to both fight in his self-declared caliphate of Iraq and Syria, and also stage attacks in countries like Tunisia and France.

Black Lives Matter activists, who have protested inequality towards African Americans, especially in their treatment by law enforcement.

Caitlyn Jenner, whose coming out as a transgender woman prompted widespread conversations about gender identity and issues of equality for the LGBT community.

Travis Kalanick, who as CEO of Uber drove his car-hailing company to a nearly $70 billion valuation, but also drew criticism about the downside of the sharing economy.

Angela Merkel, who as German chancellor has been at the center of major news events this year, from economic strife in the Eurozone to Europe’s ongoing migrant crisis.

Vladimir Putin, who as president of Russia has defied Western sanctions over his country’s military activity in Ukraine to play a critical but precarious role in the war on ISIS.

Hassan Rouhani, who as president of Iran is seeking to bring his country out of pariah status and repair its sanctions-crippled economy by pursuing a nuclear deal with the West.

Donald Trump, whose populist rhetoric has made him frontrunner in the race for the Republican presidential candidacy and stirred debate about the party’s future.

The 2015 Person of the Year will be unveiled on TODAY Wednesday morning, when the news will also be shared on Time.com. NBC is also asking readers to vote on which of the eight finalists should be named Person of the Year.

• blobid0

Donald Trump: Media King, 2015

(CNN)Six months out from Donald Trump's foray into American politics, the national media is finally coming to terms with a hard truth: It's Trump's world, and they're just covering it.

The Republican front-runner has dominated the media since he entered the race, in more ways than one: He has garnered far more coverage than his rivals. He has repeatedly proven the pundits wrong. He has bent the media to his will by driving daily, sometimes hourly, news cycles. He has determined the focus of the national debates, and redefined the parameters of acceptable discourse. And he has done all of this while sticking his finger in the eye of the media that has done so much to fuel his rise.

http://www.cnn.com/2015/12/28/...edia-king/index.html

• blobid0

A lot of Americans like what they hear from The Donald about refugees, illegal immigration and the economy. They just don't want to publicly acknowledge it. Deep down inside they would like to see him as the POTUS. He cannot win the POTUS without the Latino vote.

He may not win the White house, but certainly shifted the conversation.  He has awakened a GOP base long forgotten.  The successor has to incorporate their needs/views into the agenda while broadening reach to the moderate and independents.  Donald Trump has exposed a deep-seated undercurrent in the US that, if not addressed, will one day explode.

At this stage of the game, I can't see him not winning the White House, but we shall see.  Trump has addressed issues that every politician knew was a problem but they didn't have the gall to open their mouth and talk about it.  The people like the fact that he is not afraid to speak the truth.  And God knows America needs that.

I hope he wins. White Americans needs him, they loosing the grip on their country. Blasted Visitors are plain bullies. Trump recognizes the actions of these bullies and decided to use a bully campaign. Even Hilary Clinton considers him a bully. His strategy is working.

However, it is time for him to garner Black support. I would expect him, soon, to address all dem police shootings. I am sure he is going promise better controls of the Police Forces in America.

The Latinos could start their exodus. Blasted visitors want influence the politic of America. Let dem try deh in Mexico.  

I hope he wins. White Americans needs him, they loosing the grip on their country. Blasted Visitors are plain bullies. Trump recognizes the actions of these bullies and decided to use a bully campaign. Even Hilary Clinton considers him a bully. His strategy is working.

However, it is time for him to garner Black support. I would expect him, soon, to address all dem police shootings. I am sure he is going promise better controls of the Police Forces in America.

The Latinos could start their exodus. Blasted visitors want influence the politic of America. Let dem try deh in Mexico.  

People talk a lot of his so called racism, but I never heard him criticize immigrants, he criticize "ILLEGAL" immigrants.  He said he want the path for skilled immigrants to be make faster and simpler.  This hardly sound anti-immigration.

Many Blacks fall victim to illegal immigration as many jobs are taken by them due to cheap labor leaving Blacks out.  I see this for real.  I said before, I have a few Afro Guyanese friends who are always undercut by illegals.  The illegals have little vested interest, they live here in virtual logees, send all their money back home to their families who build homes and they eventually return to live relatively comfortable.  The people I know have family and homes to support right here in the USA.

However, a controlled guest-worker program would be appropriate and there is added-value in having these workers, some states more than others, but there is a need.  Trump supports this.

Trump opposes carting off many jobs overseas which will be of benefit to the skilled blue-collar worker base.  This will benefit both Whites and non-white folks, yet it seems only the Whites are supporting him.  I would expect, as Diamond and Silk said, Blacks need to put race aside and hop on board the Trump steamroller.

Regarding the issue of Muslims, well the West is at war.  His position on clamping down is understandable.  Reducing immigrants from certain countries is reasonable, clamping down on anyone who actively or passive aided and abetted terrorism is treason.  Apply those rules already on the books.  You cannot have people dancing in the streets and celebrating at death and destruction in the homeland.  Leave that to the desert bedouins, they will be dealt with in due course

Donald Trump declares Monica Lewinsky, Paula Jones 'fair game'

Washington (CNN)Donald Trump said Tuesday that Monica Lewinsky, Paula Jones and "many" other women who have accused Bill Clinton of having affairs with them would be "fair game" in his continuing fight with the Clintons.

"Well if you look at the different situations, of course you could name many of them, I could get you a list and I'll have it sent to your office in two seconds. But there certainly were a lot of abuse of women, you look at whether it's Monica Lewinsky or Paula Jones, or any of them, and that certainly will be fair game," Trump said on NBC's "The Today Show." "Certainly, if they play the woman's card with respect to me, that will be fair game."

http://www.cnn.com/2015/12/29/...ula-jones/index.html

• blobid0

That poor girl Monica L paid a high price, I really pity her.  Unable to get married, unable to find a proper job, 40 something and still unable to shake it, it follows her everywhere, yet Hillary, Bill and everyone moved on.

In his next, Trump should marry Monica and invite Hillary and Bill to the wedding.  After that, no one will mess with Monica!

baseman posted:

That poor girl Monica L paid a high price, I really pity her.  Unable to get married, unable to find a proper job, 40 something and still unable to shake it, it follows her everywhere, yet Hillary, Bill and everyone moved on.

In his next, Trump should marry Monica and invite Hillary and Bill to the wedding.  After that, no one will mess with Monica!

Hillary is trying to attack Trump from all sides, but Trump have ammunition to strike back with vengeance. Just when you think Monica Lewinsky is gone forever, think again. It's coming back to bite the Clinton's. 

Donald Trump up 4 points over Ted Cruz in Quinnipiac poll

Washington (CNN)Donald Trump's lead over Ted Cruz has shrunk to just 4 percentage points in the second national poll after last week's Republican debate.

Trump wins 28% support in a Quinnipiac poll released Tuesday, with Cruz nipping at his heels with 24%. Following that pair is Marco Rubio with 12% support, Ben Carson with 10%, Chris Christie with 6% and Jeb Bush with 4%. The survey was in the field entirely after CNN's debate in Las Vegas on Dec. 15.

• blobid0

DONALD TRUMP made short list of TIME'S person of the year 2015

You see a couple people dem on that list banna?

Dah list is like the one posted here lil while back where someone placed Mahman Stormy's name in among about four traitors to commonsense, morals, and a host of other words ah hope yall ketch the drift. Nehru, yugi were a couple names I recall.

Grandma's Clinton silent as Donald Trump escalates attacks, innuendo

Washington (CNN)Donald Trump's attacks against Hillary Clinton are entering a new, more personal phase in an already raucous election season.

The firefight started last week after Trump said Clinton "got schlonged" by President Barack Obama in the 2008 primaries -- taking the Yiddish word for penis and making a verb out of it, which shocked even Yiddish scholars

It's getting nasty!

• blobid0

Trump spokeswoman accessorizes with bullet necklace

(CNN)A spokeswoman for Donald Trump is sticking to her guns — and threatening another provocative pose — after being criticized for wearing a necklace of strung-together bullets during an appearance on CNN.

Katrina Pierson has become one of Trump's most prominent representatives, making the cable news rounds almost nightly, as she pushes the candidate's talking points and pokes at his assorted rivals.

After her segment ended on Tuesday, CNN host Jim Sciutto tweeted to Pierson, saying he'd noticed her unusual baubles and wanted to know, "Is there a message behind it?" Sure!  

http://www.cnn.com/2015/12/30/...-necklace/index.html