Guyanese Parliamentarians refuse Africa trip amid growing Ebola fears

September 30, 2014 4:28 pm Category: Politics A+ / A-

By Kurt Campbell

Parliament

[www.inewsguyana.com] –

Several Guyanese and other Regional Parliamentarians have refused to travel to Cameroon, located in in the west Central Africa region, amid growing fears surrounding the deadly Ebola virus.

House Speaker, Raphael Trotman told reporters today that a Guyanese Delegation ought to have been attending a Commonwealth Parliamentary Association conference in Cameroon, expected to commence on Wednesday, October 2 and runs until October 10.

β€œBut because of obvious public health issues with Ebola, the decision was taken not to send that delegation and all members will remain in Guyana,” the Speaker stated.

He said other Caribbean Countries that form part of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association have refused to send delegations to the conference too.

β€œEven though Cameroon is said not to be a part of Africa it is said to be close to Liberia and Sierra Leone to cause concerns,” Trotman said; adding that β€œit was not considered to be in the best interest to send a delegation to Cameroon.”

The Speaker explained that the concerns were not only with travelling to the region but the hassle anticipated when returning.

β€œComing back persons may be taken into room and examined and probably kept for a few days.”

The 2014 Ebola outbreak is the largest in history and the first Ebola epidemic the world has ever known β€” affecting multiple countries in West Africa.

Although the risk of an Ebola outbreak in Guyana is very low, the government and partners are taking precautions to prevent this from happening.

The World Health Organization says the situation in West Africa continues to deteriorate.

The WHO said recently that there had been 597 deaths in Sierra Leone and 1,940 Ebola cases, nearly a third of the total for the three West African countries most affected; the other two are Guinea and Liberia.

Over all, the WHO reported, there have been 2,917 deaths from Ebola. At least 2,909 people have died in Guinea, Liberia and Sierra Leone, with 6,242 reported Ebola cases over all, according to its latest report. Nigeria and Senegal have recorded a total of eight deaths and 21 cases of infection.

mAl YUh ever see the same post daily like this??? Laad Ah Marcy. Macy's hiring for those who dont have Wuk.

Bai, might be strange to you, but there are many African Students working and studying in Guyana, those that have been here, it is okay, have no worries about that, but those that go to Africa and then come back to Guyana, there might be some concerned, as I am seriously thinking 'quarantine' maybe two or three days, better to be safe than sorry.

Originally Posted by asj:

mAl YUh ever see the same post daily like this??? Laad Ah Marcy. Macy's hiring for those who dont have Wuk.

Bai, might be strange to you, but there are many African Students working and studying in Guyana, those that have been here, it is okay, have no worries about that, but those that go to Africa and then come back to Guyana, there might be some concerned, as I am seriously thinking 'quarantine' maybe two or three day,

better to be safe than sorry.

DR Berri is in full control of the situation. You need not to worry, Health Care in Guyana has improved beyond your imagination.

Bai, might be strange to you, but there are many African Students working and studying in Guyana, those that have been here, it is okay, have no worries about that, but those that go to Africa and then come back to Guyana, there might be some concerned, as I am seriously thinking 'quarantine' maybe two or three day,

DR Berri is in full control of the situation. You need not to worry, Health Care in Guyana has improved beyond your imagination.

If I know Brer Anancy and his gang, then God help Guyana, unto this day they cannot deliver safely pregnant woman at the PHG.

Every day people dies of Chikengunya, more prevalent in Berbice. The Health Centers that the PPP/C boasts about is most of the time without needed drugs,

someone going to those health centers has to be scared for their life, because they are dealing with Cuban doctors, most of whom knows no English.

Something is seriously wrong with the Medical Situation is Guyana.

If I know Brer Anancy and his gang, then God help Guyana, unto this day they cannot deliver safely pregnant woman at the PHG.

Every day people dies of Chikengunya, more prevalent in Berbice. The Health Centers that the PPP/C boasts about is most of the time without needed drugs,

someone going to those health centers has to be scared for their life, because they are dealing with Cuban doctors, most of whom knows no English.

Most of the Drugs and Supplies are STOLEN by employees in the Health Centres and Hospitals. That has been a problem for decades. They steal and sell to Private Pharmacy, neighbors and others.

This speaks volumes of the incompetence of the PPP/C and the Ministers. Drugs have DIN and batch numbers and can be traced. I know a family of five who just returned from Guyana with chikengunya. They are now being treated for internal bleeding.

mITS, i HAD FIRST HAND EXPERIENCE WITH THIS.  iT TAKES WILL POWER TO SOLVE.  THE UNIONS ARE A PROBLEM.  The Police can also be a problem. But yes I agree to an extent. Trap the Bastards and JAIL them!!!

Just heard that Panditji has a high fever. He recently came back from Guyana. Another Pandit will be reading tonight or we might just do singing and arti. Jai Mata Di!

You sure the panditji don't have a high fever from indulging in some unholy sexual behaviour with a 19-23 year old? Gotta watch dem pandits you no.