IMG_1604

GEA, GRA in showdown over fuel boat
Mar 23, 2017 News 

A major investigation has been launched into how a fuel boat was allowed to off-load thousands of gallons of fuel within the past 24 hours despite being sealed by the Guyana Revenue Authority (GRA).
The boat, Atlantica, reportedly a Panamanian registered vessel, is currently moored at the Guyana National Shipping Corporation (GNSC) wharf.
The fuel on board, estimated at over 700,000 gallons, has a street value of almost $500M.
According to officials who asked not to be named, the off-loading has raised serious procedural questions.
Kaieteur News was told that the vessel landed in Guyana five weeks ago with its crew claiming mechanical problems.
It has remained since then at the GNSC wharf.
About a week ago, the vessel requested permission to transfer its fuel to another vessel named Joobilee.
Officials suspected that it was the really the intention to move the fuel into the local market without the relevant taxes being paid.
The request raised eyebrows and the vessel was placed under the surveillance by the Guyana Energy Agency (GEA), the regulator of the fuel sector.
GEA inspectors reportedly found that Atlantica had no importing wholesale licence and therefore would have been breaching regulations by off-loading any fuel in Guyana.
With regards to the vessel, Joobilee, it reported did not have the requisite permits to receive the fuel.
On Monday, representatives of Joobilee reportedly made an application for what is known as Bulk Transportation Carrier Licence and was granted one within 24 hours.
Officials told Kaieteur News last evening that this was highly irregular as a permit like that normally takes about a month, because of the stringent checks and balances in place.
On Monday also, Atlantica for some unknown reasons was reportedly taken into custody and sealed by GRA officers.
However, officials were reportedly tipped off that Atlantica was pumping fuel to Joobilee in a late night operation.
GRA officials had reportedly not given permission and the fuel was not marked by GEA, a procedure that is used to ensure that taxes are paid.
Officials said that everyone relating to the issue of both vessels will have to answer.

• IMG_1604

Bhai Imran,

Nothing changed in the underground world,same players business as usual,wanna know something wan small population who mostly resides on a strip of vast land,yet no one knows what is happening around them.

"A major investigation has been launched into how a fuel boat was allowed to off-load thousands of gallons of fuel within the past 24 hours despite being sealed by the Guyana Revenue Authority (GRA)."

Hilarious!!

Bhai Imran,

Nothing changed in the underground world,same players business as usual,wanna know something wan small population who mostly resides on a strip of vast land,yet no one knows what is happening around them.

"A major investigation has been launched into how a fuel boat was allowed to off-load thousands of gallons of fuel within the past 24 hours despite being sealed by the Guyana Revenue Authority (GRA)."

Hilarious!!

The investigation would be a waste of time. You are investigating the devil in hell.

Bhai Imran,

Hilarious!!

The investigation would be a waste of time. You are investigating the devil in hell.

Crooks investigating Crooks.

Django Bhai,

This AFC/PNC administration is worse than Dog Shyte. The corruption under their belt for the past two years equals to what happened to the PPP durning their entire term in office.

This thieving and corrupt Dog Shyte AFC/PNC administration has three more years to go.

Do the math.

Django Bhai,

This AFC/PNC administration is worse than Dog Shyte. The corruption under their belt for the past two years equals to what happened to the PPP durning their entire term in office.

This thieving and corrupt Dog Shyte AFC/PNC administration has three more years to go.

Do the math.

"Overestimated"

well that depends who view is worth a grain of salt.

Django Bhai,

Do the math.

"Overestimated"

Django you are so Brazen to defend the Government... you have no shame banna 

The underground business goes on no matter who is in government there is a difference here though. Under the present government this has come to light, whereas under the previous...need I say more?

Incorect, there were many issues that came to light during PPP time but you have selective memory.  Remember the fuel marker crooks they were investigating and the smuggling from Venezuela?   You guys contine to bury your heads in the sand as you excuse PNC incompetency. 

Imran posted:

Django Bhai,

Do the math.

"Overestimated"

"Brazen"

Not pragmatic,22 mth old APNU/AFC have surpass the PPP 23 yrs in corruption.

You think you talking to lil chirren.

Django Bhai,

Do the math.

Watch your language, Maharaj yuji22. Not in keeping with your high stature.

Listen, you are one sided. Ask Guyanese who are now taking to the streets.

Suh the street talkers "audits the books" ??

Nah, you favourite paper SN did the reporting. Read up.

Point to the article which i may have missed,I trust Stabroek News a little more than KN,GC and the humongous other media sources.

Imran posted:

Django Bhai,

Do the math.

"Overestimated"

"Brazen"

Not pragmatic,22 mth old APNU/AFC have surpass the PPP 23 yrs in corruption.

You think you talking to lil chirren.

Na you is wan adult but behave like lil chirren conveniently  

Is your regime that say them will " FIX " all the problems in one year but looks like you have the adducation like them ... one year mean 60 months. 

Django Bhai,

Do the math.

I do not know who did this but I bet it is the connected business elite. Note the did the same with Buddy and Splashmins. Buddy got off with his illegal importing because the judge determined the prosecutions could not define diesel and petrol and whether they can be the same.

Django Bhai,

Do the math.

I do not know who did this but I bet it is the connected business elite. Note the did the same with Buddy and Splashmins. Buddy got off with his illegal importing because the judge determined the prosecutions could not define diesel and petrol and whether they can be the same.

There you go speculating again, blaming the business people. It could be that Granger and his cronies are siphoning off the fuel. 

Django Bhai,

Do the math.

There you go speculating again, blaming the business people. It could be that Granger and his cronies are siphoning off the fuel. 

"Tiefman never seh dem tief". Always somebody else.