Kuru Kuru couple on ganja trafficking charge

By

A husband and wife were remanded to prison yesterday after being charged with trafficking marijuana.

Tony Williams, 38, and Candace France, 33, were read a charge that stated that on April 8, at Kuru Kuru Mission, Upper Berbice River, they had 167 grammes of cannabis in their possession for trafficking.

Williams, a shopkeeper, and France, a housewife, both denied the charge.

Tony Williams
Candace France

According to the prosecutor, who objected to bail being granted, ranks went to the couple’s home, where they conducted a search and the drugs were found in their presence in a multi-coloured bag.

The couple’s lawyer, however, told the court that the accused stay in a guesthouse and at the time the search was conducted there were five other occupants. It was further stated that the cannabis was found in the kitchen in a tool bag. The attorney suggested that the bag may belong to one of the five guests, since they are loggers.

Both Williams and France, who are the parents of six children, were remanded to prison until today, when they will appear before the Chief Magistrate.

Guyanese man nabbed in NY hotel with excreted cocaine pellets

By

A Guyanese man, who authorities say admitted to smuggling cocaine into the United States by swallowing 39 pellets filled with the drug, has been remanded to prison in New York.

According to court documents seen by Stabroek News, Jermaine Smartt was found at the JFK Inn, located in New York, on April 6th, with 37 of the pellets already excreted.

The documents said that agents went to Smartt’s room as part of an ongoing narcotics investigation. It was searched as was a locked suitcase, with his consent.

In the suitcase, US agents found 37 pellets, which subsequently field-tested positive for cocaine. Smartt was then arrested and transported to the JFK medical facility to determine whether he had any foreign bodies in his intestinal tract.

He subsequently admitted that he believed that there were two additional pellets he had not yet passed. He also is said to have admitted that he travelled to the US from Guyana on April 5th and had swallowed the pellets discovered inside the suitcase. He said he had been paid US$3,500.

He was detained at the facility until he passed out the pellets.

Smartt has since appeared before Magis-trate Judge Cheryl L.

Seems like my work is cut out for me today. KP, where in that report is 'PNC'?

Do you know if they are not?? Ask any PNC supporter,they say that they have all the Blacks , mixed race , Amerindian votes. A picture speaks a thousand words.But, Gill I choose to ask Django and not you, so stick to your regular work.

Wha kind a question you asking ?? that trade have people of all colors,what the r@ss that got to do with PNC or PPP.

A buddy of mine knows them two in first story he said is Big time PPP peeps. They were probably in that group picture recently posted that went out to meet Jags.

Was your Buddy a customer.

Many here mentioned knowing that guy who recently opened a hotel he's called "Chiney" and his smuggling and drug dealings...you think because of that they were also into his runnings?

Do you know if they are not?? Ask any PNC supporter,they say that they have all the Blacks , mixed race , Amerindian votes. A picture speaks a thousand words.But, Gill I choose to ask Django and not you, so stick to your regular work.

Wha kind a question you asking ?? that trade have people of all colors,what the r@ss that got to do with PNC or PPP.

You are the politician, I am not.

Bhai kp,

i am not a politician,just an ordinary observer watching how people are being fooled,I am trying to enlighten the people to make choices to elect officials who will look after their affairs,they can take or leave it.

Bhai kp,

i am not a politician,just an ordinary observer watching how people are being fooled,I am trying to enlighten the people to make choices to elect officials who will look after their affairs,they can take or leave it.

So you in America knows best for Guyanese living in Guyana. I hope you know what is best for Americans

They are PPP supporters. That is well nown. You shoot yourself in the foot again. By the way how come you avoided getting caught with the cocaine smuggling trips you made to Guyana?

Django posted: i am not a politician,just an ordinary observer watching how people are being fooled,I am trying to enlighten the people to make choices to elect officials who will look after their affairs,they can take or leave it.

Enlighten me, master. Which officials should the people elect to look after their affairs?

According to Django. He already made up his mind as to where his support lies  and his sole purpose is to influence others. He does it in no Suttle manner.

Django posted: i am not a politician,just an ordinary observer watching how people are being fooled,I am trying to enlighten the people to make choices to elect officials who will look after their affairs,they can take or leave it.

Enlighten me, master. Which officials should the people elect to look after their affairs?

The ones that are not corrupted,don't tell none is around in the homeland.

According to Django. He already made up his mind as to where his support lies  and his sole purpose is to influence others. He does it in no Suttle manner.

Bhai you got me giggling.

The ones that are not corrupted,don't tell none is around in the homeland.

You use the word "enlighten". Is your ego so enlarged that you believe you can enlighten people in the homeland? Do people in the homeland look to overseas Guyanese for enlightenment? Pointedly, do they look to GNI Political for enlightenment? If you think so, you are making a fool of yourself. You're just a keyboard warrior like Gilbakka, nothing more nothing less.

Fastest growing industry under this PNC, coke & ganja. Kill sugar and rice.

Why are these poor people PNC and not simple hustlers? I have not seen you comment on Chiney building hotels on  cocaine loot. Is his massive spending a PPP enterprise?

These poor folks are remanded for 4 measly pounds of weed with their six adolescent kids left to fend for themselves amidst a cruel predatory society producing more hurt to the innocent. Worse, the police cannot prove possession.

I also did not hear you comment on the indo couple who the DPP collusion or idiocy let slip through the law despite being caught red handed with 25 lbs of the same stuff.

Every time I come here I feel as though I stepped into a swamp populated by inbreds with low IQ who cannot see beyond their shallow racist thinking.

I would ask D2.  He might know them.

I do not know every amerindian. I will ask my mother since she has property in the area she inherited from her sister and may know th e couple. I have not been in the area since I was 14.

The idea of jailing people for minor quantity of weed is not prudent. These people ought to be given bail, told to report to a local precinct weekly until their triam and if found guilty offered community service in  lieu of jail time while some one afford them some counseling.

By the way do you know Chiney...the drug kingpin now newly minted hotelier?

gogo posted:

a man kill his wife is PNC or PPP, someone commit suicide is PPP or PNC, car kill someone is PPP or PNC, shop get robbed is PPP or PNC, someone caught with drugs is PNC or PPP, this is how some of you BLOKES are conditioned like Pavlov's dog.

Go Gogo Go!

In matters of social ills like crime, spousal abuse or suicide we ought to keep party politics out. I hold strongly to this view.