“Two high ranking gov’t officials threatened Courtney Crum–Ewing” – Nigel Hughes willing to name them

March 13, 2015 6:14 am Category: Crime A+ / A-

By Jomo Paul

A section of the gathering at the wake.

[www.inewsguyana.com] – Nigel Hughes, Chairman of the Alliance For Change (AFC) and Attorney – at – Law for executed Political Activist Courtney Crum-Ewing says that he was threatened by two high ranking government officials and had lodged a report at the Brickdam Police station concerning the issue.

Hughes was at the time was responding to concerns raised by President Donald Ramotar about Crum-Ewing’s death being labelled as a political assassination.

Ramotar on Thursday said if the persons indicating that the crime was politically motivated are merely expressing an opinion, it can be considered as instigating social unrest.

But according to Hughes, if the President wishes for him to name the government officials, then he will do so.

“Courtney Crum – Ewing made two police reports about being threatened by two high ranking government officials…If the President wishes I can name the two government officials who Courtney Crum –Ewing reported to the police,” Hughes told iNews during an interview on Thursday evening at a wake held for Crum – Ewing.

The 40 – year –old father of three was gunned down execution style on Tuesday evening (March 10) while urging members of Diamond Housing Scheme to go out and cast their ballots on May 11.

At the wake, several persons turned out to pay their respects to the fallen activist and stand in solidarity with his family.

Meanwhile, Crime Chief Leslie James told reporters on Thursday that after reviewing Closes Circuit Television (CCTV) footage of the shooting, they have not been able to identify anyone.

“So far they have looked at some footage…and nothing useful so far,” James told reporters. He said that the police response time to the incident was good.

During an interview with iNews on December 23, 2014 Crum – Ewing had expressed fear for his life following the burglary of his Pit Bull bus.

For several months, the former soldier protested peacefully in front the office of Anil Nandlall, calling for him to resign, following the revelation of a taped telephone conversation between Attorney General and Legal Affairs Minister, Anil Nandlall and Kaieteur News’ Reporter, Leonard Gildarie.

Crum – Ewing had told iNews, “This is serious stuff and I’m beginning to worry for my life, my safety. You gotta gimme a gun, I’m trained to carry a firearm; I need personal protection. I need a licensed firearm. I have reasons to fear.”

Crum-Ewing was taken into police custody on December 11, 2014 at the Brickdam Police Station for allegedly breaching the ‘peace’ during one of his protests.

Originally Posted by Jay Bharrat:

Quite likely the govt/Party may be involved.

However, Mr. Ewing's Facebook rants are quite troubling and it's just a matter of time the govt will publicize those.

Can a coolie publicly say "the only good negro is a dead negro" and get by with it?

Yes,  this could backfire on the Opposition.  I agree with Ewing's protests against the terrorist Chat3 and campaigning for the Opposition. He gets A+ for that.

Although the Opposition did not tell Ewing to say that or to do what he did, the PPP can say that the Opposition's supporters are anti-Indian racists and terrorists.

I can't imagine Ewing would have issues with the airport being named after a democratically elected Dr. Jagan, a true man of the people and Father of the nation, and someone loved and respected by all.

Yes,  this could backfire on the Opposition.  I agree with Ewing's protests against the terrorist Chat3 and campaigning for the Opposition. He gets A+ for that.

Although the Opposition did not tell Ewing to say that or to do what he did, the PPP can say that the Opposition's supporters are anti-Indian racists and terrorists.

I can't imagine Ewing would have issues with the airport being named after a democratically elected Dr. Jagan, a true man of the people and Father of the nation, and someone loved and respected by all.

Looks like the man was focused against anything that was Indian.

Well the Caribjs of the World will embrace his ideology.

We all have prejudices, but not to this extreme. If he did not want to live among Indians, then he should have found an African country willing to take him. This dude believed in ethnic cleansing. Can we call him the "black KKK"?

But yuh see how Caribj and the usual GNI IDIOTS think he was the  next Mother Theresa. I cant blame them since hat is their standards.

The idiot Freddy puts this man in the category of the decent Rodney and terrorist Waddell.

I like what Ewing did in protesting the AG's terrorism, and his campaigning for the Coalition. But his belief systems are quite, quite troubling.

Those are the kinds of people the Coalition needs to keep at arms length or at least try to moderate them.  Guyana  needs moderates to find a political solution, not more extremists such as Sharma, Vanessa, Norton, etc.That is why the Moses/Granger/Ramjattan partnership holds much promise for moving Guyana forward.

Originally Posted by asj:

Did the PPP/C killed Crum-Ewing?

“Two high ranking gov’t officials threatened Courtney Crum–Ewing” – Nigel Hughes willing to name them, March 13, 2015 6:14 am Category: Crime A+ / A-, By Jomo PauL

1. Proof?

2. Speculations?

3. Wandering in the wilderness?

However, Mr. Ewing's Facebook rants are quite troubling and it's just a matter of time the govt will publicize those.

Can a coolie publicly say "the only good negro is a dead negro" and get by with it?

you just did....

Making a statement and asking a question are two different things.... 

Originally Posted by asj:

“Two high ranking gov’t officials threatened Courtney Crum–Ewing” – Nigel Hughes willing to name them

March 13, 2015 6:14 am Category: Crime A+ / A-

By Jomo Paul

A section of the gathering at the wake.

[www.inewsguyana.com] – Nigel Hughes, Chairman of the Alliance For Change (AFC) and Attorney – at – Law for executed Political Activist Courtney Crum-Ewing says that he was threatened by two high ranking government officials and had lodged a report at the Brickdam Police station concerning the issue.

Hughes was at the time was responding to concerns raised by President Donald Ramotar about Crum-Ewing’s death being labelled as a political assassination.

Ramotar on Thursday said if the persons indicating that the crime was politically motivated are merely expressing an opinion, it can be considered as instigating social unrest.

But according to Hughes, if the President wishes for him to name the government officials, then he will do so.

“Courtney Crum – Ewing made two police reports about being threatened by two high ranking government officials…If the President wishes I can name the two government officials who Courtney Crum –Ewing reported to the police,” Hughes told iNews during an interview on Thursday evening at a wake held for Crum – Ewing.

The 40 – year –old father of three was gunned down execution style on Tuesday evening (March 10) while urging members of Diamond Housing Scheme to go out and cast their ballots on May 11.

At the wake, several persons turned out to pay their respects to the fallen activist and stand in solidarity with his family.

Meanwhile, Crime Chief Leslie James told reporters on Thursday that after reviewing Closes Circuit Television (CCTV) footage of the shooting, they have not been able to identify anyone.

“So far they have looked at some footage…and nothing useful so far,” James told reporters. He said that the police response time to the incident was good.

During an interview with iNews on December 23, 2014 Crum – Ewing had expressed fear for his life following the burglary of his Pit Bull bus.

For several months, the former soldier protested peacefully in front the office of Anil Nandlall, calling for him to resign, following the revelation of a taped telephone conversation between Attorney General and Legal Affairs Minister, Anil Nandlall and Kaieteur News’ Reporter, Leonard Gildarie.

Crum – Ewing had told iNews, “This is serious stuff and I’m beginning to worry for my life, my safety. You gotta gimme a gun, I’m trained to carry a firearm; I need personal protection. I need a licensed firearm. I have reasons to fear.”

Crum-Ewing was taken into police custody on December 11, 2014 at the Brickdam Police Station for allegedly breaching the ‘peace’ during one of his protests.

Nigel can say anything, because the evidence is dead. Well, let Nigel name the two Government Officials, it would be to the opposition benefit, Talk is cheap, Nigel has no creditability, him and his wife are both crooks.

He has a right to rant if  he did and he also has a right to hold contrary opinion to all of us if he so chooses. That he did is no excuse for his murder.

Does he have a right to advocate violence against another race? I am not saying his murder was justified.

Originally Posted by kp:

Nigel can say anything, because the evidence is dead. Well, let Nigel name the two Government Officials, it would be to the opposition benefit, Talk is cheap, Nigel has no creditability, him and his wife are both crooks.

What the hell are you talking about? Where have they violated process? The AG squats on Guyana goldfields as a representative so what is he doing wrong? Ramotar squatted on OMAI and they robbed us blind. Where does that make him not credible?

The opposition had no quarrel with this man. He was actually working with APNU GOTV crew t he night someone capped him.

It is amazing how you folks suffocate your moral breath with respect to the obscene wealth accumulation in the ranks of the PPP yet you are quick to leverage the corrupt label to those who are legitimately on the job.

If this co mingling of working while being a gvernment official was problematic ( I think it is) then the PPP had 23 years to address it. They do no because it is a graft source for these rent seeing bastards.

Does he have a right to advocate violence against another race? I am not saying his murder was justified.

It is not a crime to be a racist or your bigotted ass would need to turn yourself in to the authorities.

Are you proud to be a racist???

Originally Posted by kp:

I think you can read English but If you cannot I can rewrite that  in France, Spanish, as well. 

Mr. Stormbond:

The PPP is a legally elected govt.  They have the right to put whomever they want to sit on boards and commissions, even though they may be square pegs. We know the PPP is short of talent and they put the same people in positions over and over. Look at Ramson having a new non-job as Information Czar.

What baffles me is that the Opposition has been unable to take those chaps to court and have the court rule against them for corruption as happens in Trinidad, for instance. We think they are thieving and their lifestyles show it, but no one has gone to jail yet.  Ramotar sits on the NCN Report and has done nothing.  How come the Opposition could not sue and get some action on the NCN matter?

So would you idiot. You racist moron, you constantly preach hate for Indians. You constantly drown us in a sea of verbose anti Indian hogwash.

It has to be the PPP that was involved in the killing Mr. Ewing because they are the ONLY one who had and any real reason. They fear this man and they wanted to send a message. This whole situation make me wonder about the Kaieteur News massacre several years ago. AG said it himself, that ythey had the guns and we (KN) should know who they're messing with. Go figure!

Originally Posted by kp:

I think you can read English but If you cannot I can rewrite that  in France, Spanish, as well. 

Racist fool, it means the same in French, Spanish.

I can.  To most Afro Guyanese Cheddi and his wife were racist ogres.

Would you want the airport names LFS Burnham international?

NO! Get it through your sick head.  The Afro Guyanese narrative is as important as the Indo Guyanese narrative is.  You cannot dictate to them what you wish their narrative to be, and you will get no where unless and until you open up your mind. 

Mr. Stormbond:

The PPP is a legally elected govt.  They have the right to put whomever they want to sit on boards and commissions, even though they may be square pegs. We know the PPP is short of talent and they put the same people in positions over and over. Look at Ramson having a new non-job as Information Czar.

What baffles me is that the Opposition has been unable to take those chaps to court and have the court rule against them for corruption as happens in Trinidad, for instance. We think they are thieving and their lifestyles show it, but no one has gone to jail yet.  Ramotar sits on the NCN Report and has done nothing.  How come the Opposition could not sue and get some action on the NCN matter?

stop your shit and stupidness!

you are not "baffled" . . . and none here, if they are honest, are either

u know damn well that Trinidad has a credible, functioning Justice System, while narco-state Guyana is enfeebled by joke DPP, joke courts, joke judges, joke police and a tribal mafiya ruling party riding the dictatorship Burnham Constitution . . . trampling democracy

your shyte is just not clever bai

Mr. Stormbond:

The PPP is a legally elected govt.

It was "legally elected" only because the Indian tribe is larger than the African tribe. It should be obvious even to a PPP apologist like you that the PPP did NOT enjoy broad based support.  In fact its current panic is mainly because the Indian population is now declining.

So those of us who object to the PPP because it is a racist black hating entity are entitled to our opinions, in the same way as you are free to express what ever you will about the Burnham regime.

Given AG's terror threats, it is plausible to believe the PPP has something to do with that.

With all the accurances and all the treats that was made in the Anil Gate Scandal one would even go  so far to say that maybe he is involved too.

It would seem that picketing his ass everyday that woulld have given him a motive to hate Crum-E-Wing or rather gotten rid of him, who knows?

Usually, you don't name things after hated dictators who stole people's votes to stay in power.  The entire Burnham/Hoyte regime were the illegal years.  They never won those elections.I would not have even put their pictures in the parliament, but the PPP is a forgiving Party.

Before 1992, people would imagine which trees on the Bourda Mall they would hang the PNC leadership on.  However, when Jagan came in, all was forgiven.  Great man, that Jagan.

Usually, you don't name things after hated dictators who stole people's votes to stay in power.  The entire Burnham/Hoyte regime were the illegal years.  They never won those elections.I would not have even put their pictures in the parliament, but the PPP is a forgiving Party.

Before 1992, people would imagine which trees on the Bourda Mall they would hang the PNC leadership on.  However, when Jagan came in, all was forgiven.  Great man, that Jagan.

The gospel according to Jay Bharrat:

when times are dire and things start to fall apart for the PPP, there is always the kabaka's rotted corpse to re-exhume and change the subject

To many of us Cheddi was a racist ogre.  The PYO in the 60s were a goon squad attacking black woman and children and burning black people out of their homes in the middle of the night, and waiting to chop up people as they attempted to flee.

Where was your "father of the nation" when people had to ensure this.

Jay if people like you are going into the coalition with the notion that your narrative is the only valid one I will give coalition six months to survive!

Understand something.  Cheddi is your daddy.  To me he was a racist communist ogre!

To many of us Cheddi was a racist ogre.  The PYO in the 60s were a goon squad attacking black woman and children and burning black people out of their homes in the middle of the night, and waiting to chop up people as they attempted to flee.

Where was your "father of the nation" when people had to ensure this.

Jay if people like you are going into the coalition with the notion that your narrative is the only valid one I will give coalition six months to survive!

Understand something.  Cheddi is your daddy.  To me he was a racist communist ogre!

What nonsense! where do you get off calling Cheddi Jagan a racist ogre

call him a communist, call him naive, even call him a poor leader who was slack in not purging the PPP of racists and thieves, but to label him a "racist ogre" is an outrage

Burnham certainly didn't think so!

dude, i don't think u speak for most Black Guyanese

g'wan daside with yuh bilious racial shit!

Well they certainly didn't vote for him.   Explain why he didn't stop his racist thugs from assaulting black people in the 60s if he was this angel.

2 things:

that Afro-Guyanese did not "vote for him" makes Cheddi Jagan a "racist ogre" ONLY in the reckoning of the vile and the stupid

and, sir, nobody claims Cheddi was an "angel" . . . when u locate some integrity and dismantle this particular pitiful strawman of yours, perhaps we can have an intelligent discourse on the racial violence of pre-independence British Guiana

smfh

and, sir, nobody claims Cheddi was an "angel" . . . .

smfh

Go tell the people who had to flee for their lives during the 60s when Cheddi's goon squads, trained in Cuba, were attacking black people.  He was Premier and could have stopped them.  He didn't.  

In 1964 there was  DELIBERATE plan by the PPP to destabilize Guyana in an attempt to prevent the 1964 elections, which the PPP feared that it would lose to a PNC/UF coalition. 

You can use what ever descriptions for him, but IMHO BOTH Forbes Burnham and Cheddi Jagan were racist ogres.  Don't know any other description when they BOTH encouraged a virtual racist civil war to suit their own ambitions.

And this is why Guyanese remain polarlzed even though these two man are dead.

that Afro-Guyanese did not "vote for him" makes Cheddi Jagan a "racist ogre" ONLY in the reckoning of the vile and the stupid

and, sir, nobody claims Cheddi was an "angel" . . . when u locate some integrity and dismantle this particular pitiful strawman of yours, perhaps we can have an intelligent discourse on the racial violence of pre-independence British Guiana

smfh

Go tell the people who had to flee for their lives during the 60s when Cheddi's goon squads, trained in Cuba, were attacking black people.  He was Premier and could have stopped them.  He didn't.

You can use what ever descriptions for him, but IMHO BOTH Forbes Burnham and Cheddi Jagan were racist ogres.  And this is why Guyanese remain polarlzed even after these two men have died.

your straw man argumentation impresses no one

the red herrings littering your shyte just make u look small

you just did....

also many times previously but he conveniently forgets.....Mr Crum said many things but what predominate is not his casual use of the term coolie in reference to administration types but  his constant mention of guyanese, meaning all, must work to remove the PPP. His writing is more concerned with that and with injustice against black people in general.

 have died.

REDUX IMHO Burnham and Cheddi were two racist ogres.  If you don't agree that is YOUR issue.  I can assure you that Guyana still suffers from t6he severe damage that those men did to that country FIFTY YEARS AGO when they deliberately encouraged a virtual racial civil war FOR THEIR OWN ENDs.

You don't agree that is YOUR business, but you will NOT shift me from my position.   So don't waste time continuing this discussion with me.

 have died.

REDUX IMHO Burnham and Cheddi were two racist ogres.  If you don't agree that is YOUR issue.  I can assure you that Guyana still suffers from t6he severe damage that those men did to that country FIFTY YEARS AGO when they deliberately encouraged a virtual racial civil war FOR THEIR OWN ENDs.

You don't agree that is YOUR business, but you will NOT shift me from my position

caribny, i am not at all interested in shifting you "from [your] position" . . . that would assume a level of respect on my part that does not exist for your kind of argumentation

it is a fool's errand my common sense refuses to undertake

all i did here is point to and spray some disinfectant on your rotting red herrings

that's all

So let's focus on 2015 and how, against the wishes of many, the AFC and APNU want to move the country forward in unity.

If we want to see Guyana heal, let's make this Coalition work for all Guyanese. Let's put in policies and practices such as diversity policies to make sure the workplace reflects the national composition.

Let's inspire people with hopes and dreams, not the fears and demons of three decades ago.

So go to the AFC/APNU websites and show your support for this new movement for national unity.  Can we agree on this as a minimum?