Originally posted by politikalamity:
there is a real possibility that President Obama may not be the democratic party's presidential candidate in the upcoming elections .....
Nonsense.

If that were the case the democrats would be holding a Primary as we speak.

If a democrat wishes to run against Obama at this point of the race he will have to be an independent, not a democrat.

I take it you guys are unfamiliar with US politics.
Originally posted by Nuff:
Nonsense.

If that were the case the democrats would be holding a Primary as we speak.

If a democrat wishes to run against Obama at this point of the race he will have to be an independent, not a democrat.

I take it you guys are unfamiliar with US politics.

he could decide not to run..or be asked behind the scene not to run...it has happened before so there is precedent..

My guess is he will decide to run, regardless. But as I said over 4 yrs ago even before he was the democratic candidate...he will not win a second term:

scapegoat Obama

if I am wrong and he does get reelected...expect another four yrs of a bad US ecomony.....
We are all entitled to our views.

But I don't see a Republican candidate who can currently beat Obama. All the polls show Obama soundly defeating all of the four potential GOP candidates if any one of them is elected.

Face the facts, the republicans themselves can't even decide on a leader, they are in disarry.

I vote democrat regardless of race, because my views are more in line with democrats. I say the democrats will give the republicans a sound trashing the first tuesday after the first monday in Nov 2012.

BTW ... Obama has to run, he is the incumbent and no other leading democrat is challenging him. He has the democratic party behind him.

You are watching too much Fox news and buying it. I watch Fox news, but I do so for a good laugh. I like to see biggots whine and cry on TV.
As idiotic as the Republican candidates may be, it is likely that between now and November Obama will start several new wars, and continue to dismantle the social safety net that just barely sustains millions of unemployed Americans. There will be widespread rage against the incumbent, and it might well result in the election of a new, Republican version of Obama.
I have often questioned the sanity of politikalamity, and this thread only underscores my suspicion that all is not well up there with him.

Obama is head and should above any of the current republican challengers, and the US economy is doing far better than Europe. Even GM that was bailed out by Obama has reported huge profits.

For any democrat to wish to stand against all of that, such a person would have to be really stupid.
Originally posted by Henry:
As idiotic as the Republican candidates may be, it is likely that between now and November Obama will start several new wars, and continue to dismantle the social safety net that just barely sustains millions of unemployed Americans. There will be widespread rage against the incumbent, and it might well result in the election of a new, Republican version of Obama.
Are you the Rev Al in diguise, or did you guys both attend the same school.

Your thought process is deranged.
Originally posted by ksazma:
What about Obama is bad for the US economy and what about any of the Republican challengers will be good for the US economy?

Even with all the bad politics surrounding Obama, the growth in the US economy at this moment in time is still greater than at any time during the Bush administration. So any suggestion by the republicans that they would have and can do better does not bare up to scrutiny.
there is a real possibility that President Obama may not be the democratic party's presidential candidate in the upcoming elections .....

It is a very slim possibility, but it is presently the only hope for the US.

I know you hope that Fidel Catsro or KIM North Korea idiot will run instead.
Originally posted by Mr.T:
What about Obama is bad for the US economy and what about any of the Republican challengers will be good for the US economy?

Even with all the bad politics surrounding Obama, the growth in the US economy at this moment in time is still greater than at any time during the Bush administration. So any suggestion by the republicans that they would have and can do better does not bare up to scrutiny.

Exactly. But since Poli seems to think so, I was hoping that he would share that with us but he seems busy right now.
Originally posted by caribj:

It is a very slim possibility, but it is presently the only hope for the US.

I know you hope that Fidel Catsro or KIM North Korea idiot will run instead.
They are hoping that happens. Yes there are indeed miracles.
Exactly. But since Poli seems to think so, I was hoping that he would share that with us but he seems busy right now.
How can Poli cry out about Obama when the stcck market is booming. The man wants it both ways. He's making money in the market and wants to blame Obama for nonsense.

The market hasn't been this high since Poli started investing. He is greedy. Smile
How can Poli cry out about Obama when the stcck market is booming. The man wants it both ways. He's making money in the market and wants to blame Obama for nonsense.

The market hasn't been this high since Poli started investing. He is greedy. Smile

It will do him some good if he don't take the FoxNews fringe machine so seriously. Smile
Nuff,,you are correct..I am making money..but I have done this most years regardless of which party was in power.. Wink and yes I took the advice you gave me a long time ago..I enjoy my money...after returning from vacation in India in Dec/Jan..I just now returned from Hawaii...and may be going to Oregon in the spring for skiing and hiking Smile

anyway back to the discussion...it does not matter who is in power for the next term..the ecomony will be bad...

if anyone considers a sound econony the same as a well run business based on its balance sheet..then the economy has never been worst...it is worse than it was 4 yrs ago..worse than it was yesterday and will be worse than it is now, a year from now, does not matter who is in power..

I just think that if the Republicans see no hope of a turnaround soon they will again run a weak campaign like they did prior to 2008..who in their right minds would have a duo of McCain and Palin?

Also, always remember that even though the Markets and ecomony do merge at points..they are not the same things..
Poli is takling about a "bad US economy" meanwhile Wall St and the Oil companies are making a killing. They are breaking all kinds of records ... yet he talks of this bad economy and the 1% are making out like bandits.

Also, always remember that even though the Markets and ecomony do merge at points..they are not the same things..

Exactly. Right now, the markets are making a killing, and it's the economy that they are killing. The "markets" are like a parasite; if the economy is intially strong, the parasite may be quite robust. But as the parasite continues to suck blood, at a certain point, the host dies.
anyway back to the discussion...it does not matter who is in power for the next term..the ecomony will be bad...

if anyone considers a sound econony the same as a well run business based on its balance sheet..then the economy has never been worst...it is worse than it was 4 yrs ago..worse than it was yesterday and will be worse than it is now, a year from now, does not matter who is in power..

Poli, you are a master of making assertions about the economy. You are very knowledgeable on economic matters. I seek your indulgence, oh enlightened one, and wish to hear specifically what is wrong with the economy today, and how will you fix it.

First though, I will try a Socratic exercise to give the impression that I have some ideas.

Do you not think that the unemployment situation has its genesis over 30 years ago when American labor had the following characteristics - (a) it became super productive (more output with less labor); (b) it became dispensable in most manufacturing sectors due to automation and technology; and (c) it became expensive vis-a-vis the over half billion new entrants in the global labor market?

Do you not think that the credit market froze up (had too much bad paper assets and not much liquidity to cover liabilities) in the fall of 2008 , and that this was the culmination of the previous 5 years of the unregulated shadow banking practices?

Do you not think that the US debt and current deficits were the result of two unfunded wars, tax spending (the tax cuts of 2001) by the previous Administration, and unfunded Medicare Part D?

So is it not that the current Administration stared an American economy with structural imbalances in its labor market, half of normal aggregate demand wiped out due to housing equity going south?

Now I ask thee if you answer in the affirmative to the above, then what would a brilliant mind do?

Would it seek to restructure education in the is country to gear up the labor market for the knowledge-based economy? Seek trading partners to pick up the aggregate demand slack? Restore a credit market so that business and entrepreneurship can resume? Take measures to revive home equity values that spur household capital spending (a major driver of any recovery)? Bring balance on the government finances by seeking to gain revenues through a combination of paying by the group whose incomes went up like like a rocket in the past 30 years, and also by growing the economy?

Which of these, if you agree that they are ingredients to recovery, that President Obama has failed to do?

Of course my Socratic endeavor could be a bunch of nonsense, and in that case I can learn from your responses on what ails the US economy and how to fix these.
Originally posted by Kari:

Poli, you are a master of making assertions about the economy. You are very knowledgeable on economic matters. I seek your indulgence, oh enlightened one, and wish to hear specifically what is wrong with the economy today, and how will you fix it.

I take your sarcasm in strideâ€Ķand I will indulge you

First though, I will try a Socratic exercise to give the impression that I have some ideas.

Do you not think that the unemployment situation has its genesis over 30 years ago when American labor had the following characteristics - (a) it became super productive (more output with less labor); (b) it became dispensable in most manufacturing sectors due to automation and technology; and (c) it became expensive vis-a-vis the over half billion new entrants in the global labor market?

Americans are still amongst the most productive in the world, however, one of the main reasons for jobs leaving is over regulation by the government. Ever wondered how come Germany is still doing very well and has a vibrant manufacturing industry with high salaries?

Do you not think that the credit market froze up (had too much bad paper assets and not much liquidity to cover liabilities) in the fall of 2008 , and that this was the culmination of the previous 5 years of the unregulated shadow banking practices?

You are wrong, this problem started almost one century ago and escalated in1971. The problem did not just start yesterday or 10 yrs ago

Do you not think that the US debt and current deficits were the result of two unfunded wars, tax spending (the tax cuts of 2001) by the previous Administration, and unfunded Medicare Part D?

See my answer above. This problem started a long time ago. The wars do not help. But if you think just the things you listed above brought us here, you are mistaken.

So is it not that the current Administration stared an American economy with structural imbalances in its labor market, half of normal aggregate demand wiped out due to housing equity going south?

You are telling me something I have stated years now will happen. Maybe you need to reread my blog.

Now I ask thee if you answer in the affirmative to the above, then what would a brilliant mind do?

Would it seek to restructure education in the is country to gear up the labor market for the knowledge-based economy? Seek trading partners to pick up the aggregate demand slack? Restore a credit market so that business and entrepreneurship can resume? Take measures to revive home equity values that spur household capital spending (a major driver of any recovery)? Bring balance on the government finances by seeking to gain revenues through a combination of paying by the group whose incomes went up like like a rocket in the past 30 years, and also by growing the economy?

Which of these, if you agree that they are ingredients to recovery, that President Obama has failed to do?

Of course my Socratic endeavor could be a bunch of nonsense, and in that case I can learn from your responses on what ails the US economy and how to fix these.

none of the above will solve the USA’s problems. For the US to resolve its financial problems and truly recover its economy it needs to do one of two things:

1) Default
2) Inflate.
#1 while it will be harsh would be the best thing to do
It has chosen #2 the only issue with this is that it may not work out as well since other countries are also inflating as fast as the US so as to maintain their pricing advantages. This is very dangerous for the world as whole because it can lead to one massive fiat currency crisis the world over.

I am not an economist, never read an economics text, do not care for economics, commonsense is all I need.

However, having answered, I realize that you believe you have the answers and is attempting to “educate” me Wink however, I indulged you anyway.
Americans are still amongst the most productive in the world, however, one of the main reasons for jobs leaving is over regulation by the government.

Wrong. Jobs are moved for cheaper labor.

The two are not mutually exclusive. The most accurate way to describe it is that there has been an overriding policy of rewarding financial speculation, while penalizing the production of tangible goods.
Americans are still amongst the most productive in the world, however, one of the main reasons for jobs leaving is over regulation by the government.

The two are not mutually exclusive. The most accurate way to describe it is that there has been an overriding policy of rewarding financial speculation, while penalizing the production of tangible goods.

The comment was not about speculation but about regulation. Only the Republicans himm and haw about regulation when the only regulations that we have are to protect peoples' lives and properties. That is needed because mankind have a weak record when it comes to policing themselves.

Up deh, alyuh ga too much hand in da cookie jar, donk hay, only cupple PPP bais gatt datt powah, soa abie gatt tings anda control.

Both parties were responsible for deregulating the financial system, which has been the single most damaging mistake in the past 50 years. And as I said, it had the effect of rewarding speculators. I think some kinds of manufacturing and construction activity may have been over-regulated, or regulated in stupid ways.