Please guys, I am pleading with you to re-examine your unconditional support for the PPP, at least please ask a few questions of them.

I do not think this is the kind of government Cheddi Jagan had in mind, from everything I hear he was an honorable man. Pay him respect by at least asking some questions of the current government.

The PPP party will only remain a party of any class or honor if they are held accountable - it is incumbent on you to hold them accountable

Originally posted by Billy Ram Balgobin:
The PPP is not perfect but they are still best choice among the many. Do you trust trust a man like Granger???

My concern is; we must hold them accountable...

we cannot give them carte blanche support..

right now it seems that they are accountable to no one and there is very little, if any, transparency
The scary part to all of this is...if the PPP should, by a slim chance, get back in office for another five years and Jagdeo style of government continues. It will be much more difficult to 'repair' Guyana when another government takes over,which eventually will happen. The ordinary folks will also be much worst than they are now and it will be hell for the people who can't protect themselves from crimes.
You AFC guys are a smear campaign against the PPP. You guys are try to give the impression that these guys are not accountable at all. This is a total lie. The gov't does report to the people and take up complaints seriously. We must demand that the opposition substantiate the ridiculous things they are saying about the gov't. One guy in Queens is going around telling Guyanese that Joey Jagan owns 26 houses in Richmond Hill and he got the money for these properties from Jagdeo. This is all part of the smear campaign currently going on.

The leader of the PPP is ah thief...what yuh expect from the rest
Originally posted by raymond:

Originally posted by Rahmah bin Jabr:

They are thiefing and yet the people of Guyana keep getting more housing schemes built, better water supply, electricity, roads, hospitals, increase in real income, and whole lot more of positive things?????
Originally posted by Rahmah bin Jabr:

They are thiefing and yet the people of Guyana keep getting more housing schemes built, better water supply, electricity, roads, hospitals, increase in real income, and whole lot more of positive things?????

Yes so positive that the line ups in front of the US embassy are getting longer.

Do really think poeple are that stupid to fall for this cock and bull story.. even Jagdeo is not so stupid to give 26 houses, maybe the fatted calf or just the promise of ppp milk would be more than enough for that crackhead prodigal son....here are the issuse that needs clarification:-

Billions wasted on white elephant Skeldon Estate

$3Millions in Mining Fund disappear

$3Billions Lottery funds unaccounted

$Billions CLICO unaccounted

$Millions prime Govt land given away to cronies (e.g, Pradoville 2) selling GT&T shares---- not necessarily selling to the highest bidder?

$Millions advance to Fip Mottilal

$400 Million -- Spernaam stelling collapse-

$100 Million disapperance in the Minstry of Health

$Millions - Charity Wharf scam

$Millions - Polar Bear scam

$Millions -Buddy Fuel Smuggling

$Millions - Buddy Hotel Give away

$Millions - Missing BMWs for World cup

$Millions - Guysuco to Directors

$Millions - Omai 3.8 million ounces Gold disappearance

$Millions - 2 Helicopter scam

$Millions - Children Christmas Fund

$100 Million overpaid at Mintry Education

$100s Millions Min of health illegal pharmcy

[/QUOTE]

Originally posted by sachin_05:

Do really think poeple are that stupid to fall for this cock and bull story.. even Jagdeo is not so stupid to give 26 houses, maybe the fatted calf or just the promise of ppp milk would be more than enough for that crackhead prodigal son....here are the issuse that needs clarification:-

Billions wasted on white elephant Skeldon Estate

$3Millions in Mining Fund disappear

$3Billions Lottery funds unaccounted

$Billions CLICO unaccounted

$Millions prime Govt land given away to cronies (e.g, Pradoville 2) selling GT&T shares---- not necessarily selling to the highest bidder?

$Millions advance to Fip Mottilal

$400 Million -- Spernaam stelling collapse-

$100 Million disapperance in the Minstry of Health

$Millions - Charity Wharf scam

$Millions - Polar Bear scam

$Millions -Buddy Fuel Smuggling

$Millions - Buddy Hotel Give away

$Millions - Missing BMWs for World cup

$Millions - Guysuco to Directors

$Millions - Omai 3.8 million ounces Gold disappearance

$Millions - 2 Helicopter scam

$Millions - Children Christmas Fund

$100 Million overpaid at Mintry Education

$100s Millions Min of health illegal pharmcy

[/QUOTE] these must be the other 'positive things' billy was talking about.

It is not the AFC supporters alone but a lot of diehard PPP supporters in NY who are voicing negative opinions about the clique which has hijacked the PPP....these die hards are making it known that they are not against the rank and file members of the party but against the Jagdeo/Ramouthar clique....
Originally posted by Churchill:

It is not the AFC supporters alone but a lot of diehard PPP supporters in NY who are voicing negative opinions about the clique which has hijacked the PPP....these die hards are making it known that they are not against the rank and file members of the party but against the Jagdeo/Ramouthar clique....
freed--dom house is worse then camp st jail,with inmates like bynoe and joe
Jagdeo is a gentleman. Go to an APNU rally if you want see what's uncivilized behavior

Here is the definition of a Gentleman, Jagdeo is nowhere close to this.

a man of noble or gentle birth
a man whose conduct conforms to a high standard of propriety or correct behavior
a man of independent means who does not engage in any occupation or profession for gain
Originally posted by Wally:
I may curse out the Jagans for their poor administration of the ppp party members and personal attack style of doing politics. But for the life of me I cannot see any of the Jagans or Burnham building themselves those houses or allowing their fellow party leaders to do the same.

I can see you were not acquainted with Burnham who took over half the Botanic gardens and race course to build his estate. When the great fellow rode by on his horse, all bowed in reverence.
TI
Originally posted by TI:
I may curse out the Jagans for their poor administration of the ppp party members and personal attack style of doing politics. But for the life of me I cannot see any of the Jagans or Burnham building themselves those houses or allowing their fellow party leaders to do the same.

I can see you were not acquainted with Burnham who took over half the Botanic gardens and race course to build his estate. When the great fellow rode by on his horse, all bowed in reverence.

Not always. One early morning in 1984, Bookman was walking through David Street and Burnham was approaching on his horse. He was handing out cassava sticks and pigeon pea plants to residents. Just as the horse was within arm's length, Burnham bowed to Bookman and said "Good morning." True-true story. Smile
B
Originally posted by TI:

jagdeo doing the same thing
Originally posted by politikalamity:
The PPP is not perfect but they are still best choice among the many. Do you trust trust a man like Granger???

My concern is; we must hold them accountable...

we cannot give them carte blanche support..

right now it seems that they are accountable to no one and there is very little, if any, transparency

Of course, any government must be held accountable for how they run the affairs of the country.

What makes you think that the PPP/C is not being held accountable?

Cheddi would want the country to be developed.

All evidence indicates that the PPP/C has done an amazing job - a marathon in away - to get rid of the excessive debt that they had to deal with when they took office, not to mention all of the other incompetencies and inequities and corruption (namely Customs) that were rampant. The PPP/C has done a lot of cleaning up apart from building and rebuilding the nation.

Too bad they did not establish a Truth and Reconciliation Commission to deal with those PNC / now APNU robbers!

Not everything need to be transparent, but some things do need to be. Don't just make a blanket statement. State your examples and let us examine these. The executive branch of government has certain prerogatives on passing legislation and enacting policies that are good for the country. Usually, the opposition likes to play their political games by not supporting many of these policies. Like the corporate world, the executive (as in government) must make decisions to ensure the well-being of the nation - what is good and just.
C
Originally posted by Catherine:

Of course, any government must be held accountable for how they run the affairs of the country.

What makes you think that the PPP/C is not being held accountable?

Cheddi would want the country to be developed.

All evidence indicates that the PPP/C has done an amazing job - a marathon in away - to get rid of the excessive debt that they had to deal with when they took office, not to mention all of the other incompetencies and inequities and corruption (namely Customs) that were rampant. The PPP/C has done a lot of cleaning up apart from building and rebuilding the nation.

Too bad they did not establish a Truth and Reconciliation Commission to deal with those PNC / now APNU robbers!

Not everything need to be transparent, but some things do need to be. Don't just make a blanket statement. State your examples and let us examine these. The executive branch of government has certain prerogatives on passing legislation and enacting policies that are good for the country. Usually, the opposition likes to play their political games by not supporting many of these policies. Like the corporate world, the executive (as in government) must make decisions to ensure the well-being of the nation - what is good and just.

Catherine, check 10 posts above yours, those are some examples.
Originally posted by politikalamity:
Please guys, I am pleading with you to re-examine your unconditional support for the PPP, at least please ask a few questions of them.

I do not think this is the kind of government Cheddi Jagan had in mind, from everything I hear he was an honorable man. Pay him respect by at least asking some questions of the current government.

The PPP party will only remain a party of any class or honor if they are held accountable - it is incumbent on you to hold them accountable

Cheddi jagan was a marxist and he apologised to the Americans and canadians for being wrong.

Time has changed and cummmunism is dead. The PPP is a different party now. The people of Guyana has an option to choose and they will choose the PPP again. That is their birth right.
The leaders of the other parties appear not to have what it takes to convince the masses to vote for their party. after all, why would they vote fopr the rejects? do you think that they are stupid??