Senior GPL Berbice Manager sent home for fraud

August 2, 2015 | By | Filed Under News 
Phyalyanjee Nandkumar

Mere days after Minister of Public Infrastructure David Patterson, stated that a more detailed probe is to be undertaken into the operations of the troubled Guyana Power and Light entity, a senior operative in the Berbice operation has been sent home. He was said to be at the centre of a number of fraudulent activities

Minister Patterson said that from what he envisaged a number of things are not right at the Guyana Power and Light (GPL) outlet. A more detailed investigation is to be undertaken. This was on the same day that it was revealed that two senior officials of the GPL were fingered in the conversion of over $28M to their own use.

Patterson had stated that the GPL will undergo a detailed review. He had said that he is aware of many issues which are affecting the entity. The operation of the Loss Reduction Department and the Berbice operations will be looked at keenly, Minister Patterson stated after numerous reports surfaced.

Last March, Loss Reduction Manager, Phyalyanjee Nandkumar, was sacked after investigations revealed fraud. Recommendations were also made for him to be charged and prosecuted. He was however reinstated within days following a visit to Freedom House. GPL’s Chief Executive Officer (CEO), Bharat Dindyal, had also confirmed that the contract of the official was terminated after complaints.

A report found a number of ‘fraudulent’ practices that could also have implications on the power company’s Georgetown Department. However with the intervention of Freedom House that report was swept under the carpet and the man reinstated. In one case, the investigators probed a complaint where the senior official asked for bribes amounting to $1.1M to install a 15KVA transformer at the business place of a customer.

GPL records showed that the cost of the transaction was a mere $292,513.
That customer operates a business but was issued a residential account, which allowed him to benefit from lower tariffs. In the first instance, it was alleged that $200,000 was paid at the home of the customer (name given) and the balance of $900,000 at GPL’s Loss Reduction Office where the sacked official operated. GPL’s records, oddly enough, showed that the cost of the transaction was a mere $292,513.

In statements made, the customer and his family also implicated operatives from the Sheriff Street Loss Reduction Main office. The Georgetown operatives had travelled to Berbice to investigate, but the matter seemed to have been covered up, according to the GPL’s internal documents seen by this newspaper. GPL operatives went so far to hook up the customers with a straight feed which bypassed the meter and which resulted in the customer using free power for more than seven months.

In another shocking case, investigators heard how one customer was discovered with a tampered meter. The sacked official reportedly instructed the customer to apply for a prepaid meter. This was all done in one day. It was alleged that the official received bribes from the customer, ensuring that he was not back-billed as would have been required in a tampering meter matter. Investigators found the concealed tampered report and other documents.

In another case, it was reported that another customer was found with a tampered meter. Instead of making the necessary report, the official submitted documents stating that it was defective. It was replaced. However, the Georgetown office was alerted to the fraud and after an investigation, the customer was back-billed for more than $1M. However, that amount was never paid and the customer continued to pay the normal monthly charges, and receive power.

The account was flagged to be disconnected for consecutive months but ‘stand-down’ orders were issued. A number of other issues of blatant corruption were highlighted but no action was ever taken. The investigating team also received reports that the sacked official had been leading a team, taking monies from customers found tampering with their meters. He would normally threaten to report the tampering to the police.

Kaieteur News understands that a three-man investigating team was sent to the Loss Reduction office, Berbice, to probe a number of irregularities.

Lets not go crazy here. If he is guilty he should go to jail. There is definitely ethnic cleansing taking place in other places. You think people should not be concerned and this would shut those up who raise their voices against racial discrimination?. The bulk of the people fired so far are Indians, this is a fact. I lived in Guyana during 1992. The PPP never practiced this kind of nonsense. Thiefing yes, but not this kind of cleansing we are seeing almost everyday. I know this sort of news gets you and Carib off.  

He should be thoroughly investigated and if found guilty, should receive punishment under the law.  Both the customer who knowingly committed and the GPL officer should be prosecuted for any wrongdoing.

Originally Posted by VishMahabir:

Lets not go crazy here. If he is guilty he should go to jail. There is definitely ethnic cleansing taking place in other places. You think people should not be concerned and this would shut those up who raise their voices against racial discrimination?. The bulk of the people fired so far are Indians, this is a fact. I lived in Guyana during 1992. The PPP never practiced this kind of nonsense. Thiefing yes, but not this kind of cleansing we are seeing almost everyday. I know this sort of news gets you and Carib off.  

you are a disgusting racial fraud and a mealy-mouthed liar

that "The bulk of the people fired so far are Indians" i have no doubt . . . but how is it the coalition's fault that the PPP crew of incompetent political appointees, tiefin and no-show fraudsters are mostly "Indian"?

i challenge u to document this  "ethnic cleansing" taking place outside the framework articulated in my previous paragraph . . . give us some names u ignorant klown!

the Guyana Times mek attempt with Raj Singh and some other PPP incompetents & politicos and couldn't get any traction . . . then promptly abandoned that 'strategy' and moved on to other lies and provocations

u talk about 1992 . . . ask some here with actual knowledge of that period to fill you in about Rohee's rampage through the Foreign Service - the carnage left behind from that little exercise was not even addressed until recently when the embarrassing numbers were revealed as evidence in the Kissoon/Jagdeo libel matter

you actually do need to shut up and hold your bray until u gather something credible and knowledge-based to contribute

"Last March, Loss Reduction Manager, Phyalyanjee Nandkumar, was sacked after investigations revealed fraud. Recommendations were also made for him to be charged and prosecuted. He was however reinstated within days following a visit to Freedom House. GPL’s Chief Executive Officer (CEO), Bharat Dindyal, had also confirmed that the contract of the official was terminated after complaints . . ."

why is it that both VishMahabir and baseman studiously avoiding this [the most IMPORTANT] part?

hmmmmm?

You are living in a dreamland. The PPP was never engaged in firing and sending people on leave like this government is doing. You can say all you want. I was there in Guyana when Jagan made it clear that there will be no revenge and no recriminations. So a lot of those people involved in crimes for the 28 years were never prosecuted. Where the hell were you??

I said if this guy is guilty he should go to jail ...and for a long time. You racists are part of the anti-PPP/anti-Jagdeo bandwagon...looking and gleefully hoping that another PPP bites the dust. Your friggin bias is so darn obvious by the fact that you highlight the part that he visited Freedom House...as if to imply, without evidence, that Freedom House was firmly behind him getting his job back. Maybe this is so, but that is not the gist of the article. AND...you told us in your twisted headline that the ethnic cleansers must have missed this??? Who the hell you think you fooling with your anti-Indian racist mind??? You are the one that need to cleanse your racist soul. And that other one too ...Carib. 

Not all of us are  a stupid coolie.

"Last March, Loss Reduction Manager, Phyalyanjee Nandkumar, was sacked after investigations revealed fraud. Recommendations were also made for him to be charged and prosecuted. He was however reinstated within days following a visit to Freedom House. GPL’s Chief Executive Officer (CEO), Bharat Dindyal, had also confirmed that the contract of the official was terminated after complaints . . ."

why is it that both VishMahabir and baseman studiously avoiding this [the most IMPORTANT] part?

hmmmmm?

We not ignoring it...we said the guilty must pay the crime.  This guy smells like a rat, but people are guilty until...you know what. You want to crucify him before due process, you knucklehead. You made sure of this when you posted the article...you knew fully well what you wus doing!

hmmmmm?

We not ignoring it...we said the guilty must pay the crime.  This guy smells like a rat, but people are guilty until...you know what. You want to crucify him before due process, you knucklehead. You made sure of this when you posted the article...you knew fully well what you wus doing!

hmmmmm?

You want to be Judge, Jury and Executioner all in one at the same time.

You are living in a dreamland. The PPP was never engaged in firing and sending people on leave like this government is doing. You can say all you want. I was there in Guyana when Jagan made it clear that there will be no revenge and no recriminations. So a lot of those people involved in crimes for the 28 years were never prosecuted. Where the hell were you??

I said if this guy is guilty he should go to jail ...and for a long time. You racists are part of the anti-PPP/anti-Jagdeo bandwagon...looking and gleefully hoping that another PPP bites the dust. Your friggin bias is so darn obvious by the fact that you highlight the part that he visited Freedom House...as if to imply, without evidence, that Freedom House was firmly behind him getting his job back. Maybe this is so, but that is not the gist of the article. AND...you told us in your twisted headline that the ethnic cleansers must have missed this??? Who the hell you think you fooling with your anti-Indian racist mind??? You are the one that need to cleanse your racist soul. And that other one too ...Carib. 

bai, i doan mind u calling me "bias" [i am] or any other names, as long as we stick to the facts and issues at hand

suh tell abee wuh u know bout the visit to Freedom House and how de bhai get he wuk back nuh

now, if u doan know jack and want the files on Rohee and 1992, ask Gilbakka . . . arite?

then check wha happen when Lunchman testified in the Kissoon libel trial

ok?

Dont have time to waste. You are dodging my points and questions. 

People like you feel powerful at this time because you feel the PNC (which snuck in through the back door) and the PPP is out of power...totally oblivious to the sentiments of the 200,000 people who did not vote for the coalition. There is no attempt at reconciliation, so the country will remain divided for a long time....and this is OK with you.

You cant find it within yourself to criticize the coalition handling of the crime wave (its still the PPP fault), you cant criticize the mammoth salary increase they give themselves (though they opposed this before the election), you cant raise your voice against the fact that the Cummingsburg Accord is violated and Moses and Ramjattan's power are eclipsed, with 7 more ministers in this government....need I say more....?

Most of all, you cant understand that the coalition campaigned on change. Where is the reconciliation? Where is the attempt to unite the country? Where is the attempt to address concerns of the majority of Indians....OOOH I FORGOT...is alyuh on top now. 

You hide behind a fake name and spread your vile anti-Indian nonsense on this site. Its disgusting.

Last edited by VishMahabir

Dont have time to waste. You are dodging my points and questions . . .

what exactly are your "questions" i did not answer, and your "points" i did not address?

thanks

"The PPP was never engaged in firing and sending people on leave like this government is doing. You can say all you want. I was there in Guyana when Jagan made it clear that there will be no revenge and no recriminations."

Mistake #1 made made by the PPP and Cheddi Jagan after winning the 1992 elections. By not doing anything, and remaining silent, Jagan embraced evil.

Originally Posted by Dondadda:

"The PPP was never engaged in firing and sending people on leave like this government is doing. You can say all you want. I was there in Guyana when Jagan made it clear that there will be no revenge and no recriminations."

Mistake #1 made made by the PPP and Cheddi Jagan after winning the 1992 elections. By not doing anything, and remaining silent, Jagan embraced evil.

are u two klowns actually denying what Rohee did in 1992?

i cite Rohee's rampage only because it is the best documented

The bulk of people fired were indians abecause they were aquatting on the job. Are you on record anywhere for any of theses numerous Indians in official capacity who were there becvause they were friends and family of the administration? I am waiting for Lizavita to be booted from the gold board because she is there because her father was the President and his brother screwed up a 34 million dollars loan to drag a cable from Brazil simply because he was a squatter on a post.

GPL has been running at 40 percent line loss and the blame was mainly on thief and non payment. The present instance is of a crooked official who is bleeding the system and whose corrupt practices were covered up despite his obvious unsuitable for the job in which he is the problem they are truing to solve.

I do not care who the but in office as long as they are competent. There is no need to ensure ethnic balance if the people who you can select from are part of the system of corruption. The entire lot of PPP hatch-lings among the support infrastructure that has failed us has to go.  You cannot rebuild with people who are not of the new administrative culture and who will if the could act tot he detriment of the new plans. Given that we are a racist society it is not unlikely that the ranks of the APNU staff will be black.  That has to be in the short term. The new administration needs time to breathe and it will not happen with the legacy supoport structures from the PPP who only used Indians.

Redux, you are evil, corrupted, blind and demented. A waste of your father's sperm. Go burn in hell.

How the hell do you think all of those indians got into office if the PPP were not in the business of friends and friends nepotism? Why is Raj SIngh there, Geeta Singh, Ramotar Kids, the entire GPA support staff coming from one family....the satteur family...how about the Plumpy pryia having her two of her close family on staff...robert persaud...anil and a whole host of other with the same habit of having their family deeply embedded in cushy jobs. The last PPP list had almost a dozen names that were there for no other reason except they were PPP friends and family. One Primpy fellow even had the gall to say it is family business so the complaints were inconsequential. I guess there was more to Rohee's fat ignorant daughter than we can grasp.

As for the PPP not weeding house when they came into office, surely you jest! They would not let the natural constitutional line of succession. Three times they fiddled with it so the PPP designated candidate can squat on the Presidency! And despite some 50% Of our people being other than Indian we had no ambassador of non indian ethnicity representing us until recently!

You folks would sit on your ass and lie for no reason except that you can. Yes...an inordinate number of non Indians are being put in positions of authority but that is who we are. We are a divided society and changes do not come by asking for quotas of indians or blacks. It has to come with reforms to the system from the bottom up....ie complete overhaul of the constitution. If the PPP does not want to participate in this in a race neutral way then screw them!!! let them see what happens when the other side do as they do! Lacking constitutional reform we would see a reverse back to the PPP nepotism in the event they return to office. They have not done any reform to their present list. It is the same bunch of assh.oles being presented to come forward!

Redux, you are evil, corrupted, blind and demented. A waste of your father's sperm. Go burn in hell.

Redux is correct...everyone with a clear historical perspective knows of the PPP's nepotism. I can give you a list of dozens of people who were booted to be replaced by PPP quacks. You would not believe my list. Ask Gil who is an old PPP functionary to give you his list. He posted them before.

The use of "ethnic cleansing" is misplaced when it comes to getting rid of personnel in charge of Government organizations - Ministries, corporations and quasi-governmental.

One has to look at the quality of the people being gotten rid of and not their ethnicity. If their replacements are not due to meritocracy and ends up being of one race to the exclusion of the other then one can claim some form of ethnic bias in hiring.

The well-documented Foreign Ministry hiring bent was submitted as was the case of Freddie Kissoon vs Jagdeo and there has been no admission on the part of Cobra and his pals of this.

Also discussed on its merits and not an allusion to racial equanimity was Cheddi Jagan's 1992 non-recriminations on obvious wrong doings by PNC personnel. It was posited that this was a fait-accompli arrangement with the Carter Center preceding the 1992 elections and concessions wrung from the Hoyte Administration. It was even suggested that this leaving in place a lot of PNC hires in place was a mistake sans any pre-election arrangement.

It does not help to hype or indulge in hyperbole if the many people fired as a result of corruption, malfeasance or incompetence happen to be Indians - because they happened to be the ones in positions in many failed entities whose investigations reveal a number of reasons for firing these, and in some instances bring legal action.

If posters here want an informed discussion on the replacements of people who have been fired or brought up in courts, then we have to abandon this notion of ethnic cleansing. It detracts from the issues at hand and belittle our intelligence.

Redux is correct...everyone with a clear historical perspective knows of the PPP's nepotism. I can give you a list of dozens of people who were booted to be replaced by PPP quacks. You would not believe my list. Ask Gil who is an old PPP functionary to give you his list. He posted them before.

There has been nepotism in the PPP. People voted for change and what they get is nepotism from the APNU+AFC. No change, just exchange. My problem with you is that your assessement of both parties lacks balance. They are the same. Take your veil off and see what is really happening.

The "Change" versus "Exchange" charge is worth discussing.....but ethnic cleansing has no part in this dialog. Let's examine if those replacing the departed are cronies, incompetents and are blocking worthwhile replacements of another ethnicity. This screams for the facts of those making this charge. Please indulge us.

There has been nepotism in the PPP. People voted for change and what they get is nepotism from the APNU+AFC. No change, just exchange. My problem with you is that your assessement of both parties lacks balance. They are the same. Take your veil off and see what is really happening.

methinks u are trying to have it both ways sir

didn't u just endorse this by VishM:

"The PPP was never engaged in firing and sending people on leave like this government is doing . . ."

huh?

Any incoming management will trust those it knows best and not pretend it can initiate its strategy by paying homage to what was there especially if it was corrupt. The PPP was corrupt. These people coming in is from the ranks of those who supported the APNU and these were not Indians so it is not unexpected to see them being predominantly of one color. It is expectations beyond reason to think that in our divided society the APNU will magically implement a system of ethnic parity when we have no history for it. We need to create that history by our system of local government and then let it be an example for our national government. It has to come from both sides deciding that merit over nepotism is the key and that institutional changes can be forged by combining their wits to do so in parliament. It has to be a cathartic experience of both not one or the other.

The "Change" versus "Exchange" charge is worth discussing.....but ethnic cleansing has no part in this dialog. Let's examine if those replacing the departed are cronies, incompetents and are blocking worthwhile replacements of another ethnicity. This screams for the facts of those making this charge. Please indulge us.

Kari, there is cleansing, no doubt about that. I support the changing of old worn out experienced corruptors for new energetic, qualified, competent people. However, there are corruptors in the cabinet of the APNU+AFC example Winston Felix and  and Basil Williams (planting drugs on a lady at CJIA). Making Hamilton Green a National Hero is corruption  to the highest. While ethnic cleansing maybe too strong a statement the way the current government is operating it is appearing that way.

Try telling that to the average Indo-Guyanese in Guyana.

The use of "ethnic cleansing" is misplaced when it comes to getting rid of personnel in charge of Government organizations - Ministries, corporations and quasi-governmental.

One has to look at the quality of the people being gotten rid of and not their ethnicity. If their replacements are not due to meritocracy and ends up being of one race to the exclusion of the other then one can claim some form of ethnic bias in hiring.

The well-documented Foreign Ministry hiring bent was submitted as was the case of Freddie Kissoon vs Jagdeo and there has been no admission on the part of Cobra and his pals of this.

Also discussed on its merits and not an allusion to racial equanimity was Cheddi Jagan's 1992 non-recriminations on obvious wrong doings by PNC personnel. It was posited that this was a fait-accompli arrangement with the Carter Center preceding the 1992 elections and concessions wrung from the Hoyte Administration. It was even suggested that this leaving in place a lot of PNC hires in place was a mistake sans any pre-election arrangement.

It does not help to hype or indulge in hyperbole if the many people fired as a result of corruption, malfeasance or incompetence happen to be Indians - because they happened to be the ones in positions in many failed entities whose investigations reveal a number of reasons for firing these, and in some instances bring legal action.

If posters here want an informed discussion on the replacements of people who have been fired or brought up in courts, then we have to abandon this notion of ethnic cleansing. It detracts from the issues at hand and belittle our intelligence.

Interesting.  Now let me give you my deep intellectual reflection of this, "lipstick on a pig", it's still a pig!!

well . . . lots of Guyanese believe in Jhumbie and womb cleansing

plenty charlatans mekking a good living off dat

what's your point?

Interesting.  Now let me give you my deep intellectual reflection of this, "lipstick on a pig", it's still a pig!!

Dat reminds me...How Priya doin?

....and???....

what's your point?

All I can say, and in good faith, don't make the same mistake the old PNC did by assuming, actions taken in good faith, are ok regardless of what others think.  Doing the wrong thing is just as bad of doing the right thing when many many believe its the wrong thing.  Both the PNC and the PPP made this monumental error.

You basically wasted a response - you said nothing......

I gave it what it was worth.

The PPP was never engaged in firing and sending people on leave like this government is doing. You can say all you want. I was there in Guyana when Jagan made it clear that there will be no revenge and no recriminations. 

Vish, I was also in Guyana in 1992, up to 1996. It is true that President Jagan said that there would be no revenge and no recriminations. And, indeed, no one was charged and hauled to the courts. However the PPP regime's actions did not match Dr Jagan's words in terms of employment practices. I can attest truthfully here that many Afro-Guyanese public servants lost their jobs or left the service in frustration. The Chronicle, Guyana Broadcasting Corporation, Office of the President, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Ministry of Finance/Customs and Excise Dept were among those affected. I knew some of the casualties personally. I already posted about two dozen names on this BB. After I left Guyana I learnt through the online news media that more and more Indo-Guyanese were taking up key positions in government offices and state boards.

One of the hallmarks of the Jagdeo-Ramotar administrations was rampant corruption which even lower-level PPP members had conceded. Naturally, what is now perceived as "ethnic cleansing" is a studied response to "ethnic dirtiness" in the first place. The current campaign of forensic audits is intended to gather evidence of corruption and it has already revealed a few culprits who happen to be Indians, like that guy at GPL who had transferred $27 million from the PetroCaribe Fund to his own bankbook.

what's your point?

All I can say, and in good faith, don't make the same mistake the old PNC did by assuming, actions taken in good faith, are ok regardless of what others think.  Doing the wrong thing is just as bad of doing the right thing when many many believe its the wrong thing.  Both the PNC and the PPP made this monumental error.

dude u are engaging in logical nonsense and masturbation here

doing nothing is not an option

what exactly are your recommendations in the existing, real-world context?

what's your point?

Never said it was, clown!!

what's your point?

Never said it was, clown!!

well . . .?

?. The bulk of the people fired so far are Indians, this is a fact.

So name all the blacks who headed corporations, commissions, etc., who havent been fired.

For a long time I have been asking about who were the blacks in those positions and got no answers.  My research indicate that there were two blacks in those positions.

So if it was almost exclusively Indians in leadership why your screams that they have been the ones selected?

I was there in Guyana when Jagan made it clear that there will be no revenge and no recriminations.

What Cheddi said and what he actually did was a whole other issue.  In fact Adam (cannot remember his last name) at Kaieteur News itemized a whole list of blacks who Jagan fired.  He just was subtle and got rid of trhem silently, not even bothering to prove whether they were dishonest or incompetent.  Jagdeo did likewise and so we now have a situation where almost all the highest leadership are Indians.

OK so once again we see Indo Guyanese being considered more important than Afro Guyanese.  Under the PPP Africans were EXCLUDED, so why dont you consider their perspective, while you demand that others look at that of the Indo Guyanese?

I repeat. Those who spoke out against ethnic favoritism under the PPP, Freddie K being one of them, Chris Ram being another, can speak to this issue.  I will note that they WELL REGARDED Chris Ram was called all sorts of vulgar names by his fellow ethnics, when he addressed this issue, and on his program, tried to find some resolution.

I will look forward to Ram's views on this topic, as he has earned a right to speak on it. As an Indian he berated an Indo elite of being insensitive to Africans.  This shows that what he wants as equity for all. 

The screamers here were ALL not only indifferent to the treatment, and exclsuion of Africans, but called the Africans who spoke to this as Indo hating racists, and called the Indians as self hating.

I have no interest in what those who had nothing to say about PPP racism, or who condemned those who spoke on it, now that they bleat about Indian marginalization.