This weekend my husband’s cousin, Amit, will get married. Not on Saturday. This weekend. Guyanese weddings are a four-day event that starts with the maticore ceremony the night before the wedding. In their respective homes, the bride and groom are cleansed, blessed and celebrated in advance of the wedding ceremony.

On Thursday my family headed to Fresh Meadows where we joined a group of 100 people and a commanding tassa band to parade through the streets in a brilliant scene of joy and excitement.It was one of those many moments that reminded me why we moved back to New York City. Where else would you ever see such a sight? When I got married, my husband had a maticore but I, being, well, white, spent the night more quietly with a barbecue in a backyard that gave me the chance to spend some time with people who traveled  from out of town for the wedding. Two different experiences leading up to the same outcome. That defines so much about my marriage.

http://www.cynthiaramnarace.co...aring-for-a-wedding/

Cynthia has a nice site and blog. 

http://www.cynthiaramnarace.co...rld-call-me-bhougie/

I know some of the members in this VERY large family Cynthia mentioned in the blog post link above Freaky, I suppose you know them too as you once posted about the young baseball player.

Originally Posted by GT Stingaa:

This weekend my husband’s cousin, Amit, will get married. Not on Saturday. This weekend. Guyanese weddings are a four-day event that starts with the maticore ceremony the night before the wedding. In their respective homes, the bride and groom are cleansed, blessed and celebrated in advance of the wedding ceremony.

On Thursday my family headed to Fresh Meadows where we joined a group of 100 people and a commanding tassa band to parade through the streets in a brilliant scene of joy and excitement.It was one of those many moments that reminded me why we moved back to New York City. Where else would you ever see such a sight? When I got married, my husband had a maticore but I, being, well, white, spent the night more quietly with a barbecue in a backyard that gave me the chance to spend some time with people who traveled  from out of town for the wedding. Two different experiences leading up to the same outcome. That defines so much about my marriage.

Glad to haer yuh HUSBAND cousin getting married.

Why does Cynthia consider herself "white"?

When I got married, my husband had a maticorebut I, being, well, white, spent the night more quietly with a barbecue in a backyard that gave me the chance to spend some time with people who traveled  from out of town for the wedding.

* Hmmmmm! I guess being "white" is one of the highlights of Cynthia's life. Won't be surprised to learn she harbors a feeling of superiority when surrounded by all the "darkies" in her husband's family.

* That "white" comment says a lot of Cynthia.

* Didn't she also say somewhere else she was the only "white" at the wedding party ?

* Guess that made her feel special.

* Back in Guyana---guys used to go study in Ireland--and then return home with a white chick---and they would prance around GT like they hit some jackpot.

* What they didn't say was Irish women were a dime a dozen.

* Won't be surprised to learn Cynthia's husband rescued her from previous abusive relationships with white men.

* She ought not be prancing around talking about being WHITE.

* Back in Guyana---guys used to go study in Ireland--and then return home with a white chick---and they would prance around GT like they hit some jackpot.

* Won't be surprised to learn Cynthia's husband rescued her from previous abusive relationships with white men.

Rev,

What makes you think so? Not all white women who are married to Guyanese men were in a previous unhappy marriage or had a previous marriage. Cindy seems to feel that she being a white woman is superior when she is around Guyanese. I think she is an attention hog. Blame her husband for her attitude.

What makes you think so? Not all white women who are married to Guyanese men were in a previous unhappy marriage or had a previous marriage.

Skelly:

* I wasn't insinuating all white women married to Guyanese men were in previous abusive/unhappy relationships with white men.

* But what I did say was I won't be surprised to learn Cynthia was in previous unhealthy relationships before being rescued by her loving and caring "darkie."

* Anyway, you are 100% correct about this:

Cindy seems to feel that she being a white woman is superior when she is around Guyanese. I think she is an attention hog. Blame her husband for her attitude.

When I got married, my husband had a maticorebut I, being, well, white, spent the night more quietly with a barbecue in a backyard that gave me the chance to spend some time with people who traveled  from out of town for the wedding.

* Hmmmmm! I guess being "white" is one of the highlights of Cynthia's life. Won't be surprised to learn she harbors a feeling of superiority when surrounded by all the "darkies" in her husband's family.

* That "white" comment says a lot of Cynthia.

* Didn't she also say somewhere else she was the only "white" at the wedding party ?

* Guess that made her feel special.

I asked the question inappropriately. She obviously is of white ancestry and married into an Indian family. Good to see she took to it. I thought she was of Guyanese parentage claiming to be white. My apologies to the good lady. I have  cousins who are white from my grandfather side of the family.

Bhai, I din know yuh have so much contempt-Janet did yuh wrong. Did she?

Seigy:

* Cheddi was deeply enamored by his "foreign" wife.

* By the way, JANET WORE THE PANTS IN THAT MARRIAGE.

* Cheddi had big mouth with everybody---but not with Janet. That 'bowgee' was the boss.

* Listen! Coolie bais always treat their white wives with reverence.

* It would be nice if all East Indian men treat their "brown" wives the way Cheddi treated his "white" wife----with respect and reverence.

Seigy:

* Cheddi was deeply enamored by his "foreign" wife.

* By the way, JANET WORE THE PANTS IN THAT MARRIAGE.

* Cheddi had big mouth with everybody---but not with Janet

* Coolie bais always treat their white wives with reverence.

* It would be nice if all East Indian men treat their "brown" women the way Cheddi treated "white" Janet----with respect and reverence.

Rev,

All the Guyanese men that I know, that are married to white women do treat their wives with respect and reverence. I don't think the women would take the Guyanese crap. 

Rev,

All the Guyanese men that I know, that are married to white women do treat their wives with respect and reverence. I don't think the women would take the Guyanese crap. 

Skelly:

* It's the novelty of having a "white" wife that brings out the absolute best in Guyanese men.

* Guyanese men will take their "brown" wives for granted, but those very men will shower "white" wives with affection, attention and adoration.

* Ah well! All Rev know is No white woman can be as adventurous and enterprising as my brown "country bumpkin."haha

Rev,

Skelly:

* It's the novelty of having a "white" wife that brings out the absolute best in Guyanese men.

* Guyanese men will take their "brown" wives for granted, but those very men will shower "white" wives with affection, attention and adoration.

* Ah well! All Rev know is No white woman can be as adventurous and enterprising as my brown "country bumpkin."haha

Don't bet on it Rev.

* Don't bet on what ?

* I am telling you that no white woman can be as adventurous and enterprising as my brown woman.

* No smileys---I mean that and I know that.

Don't bet on it Rev.

* Don't bet on what ?

* I am telling you that no white woman can be as adventurous and enterprising as my brown woman.

* No smileys---I mean that and I know that.

Well, you speak from experience.

* And that's what matters----EXPERIENCE.

BOTTOM LINE:

* Forget COLORS and shapes and sizes------treat any woman with the respect she deserves---give her the attention she deserves---and that woman will be everything you dreamed to be in a woman.

* It's that simple.

Originally Posted by Miraver:

Cynthia has a nice site and blog. 

http://www.cynthiaramnarace.co...rld-call-me-bhougie/

I know some of the members in this VERY large family Cynthia mentioned in the blog post link above Freaky, I suppose you know them too as you once posted about the young baseball player.

MiraVer who was the young baseball player? i might have posted about him unknowingly, since i do not know this family

Originally Posted by TI:

Rev, yu live on Amerika?  There are white people all over the place��

Cynthia is not the only white woman to marry a Guyanese. She should forget about being unique in her experience. She is just clamoring for attention.

Originally Posted by TI:

Rev, yu live on Amerika?  There are white people all over the place��

* I don't know too many white people celebrating their whiteness.

* Maybe the folks in the KKK.

* Cynthia took great pride in being the only "white" among those Berbician darkies----she is the one who mentioned her "white presence."

* Maybe I was a tad unfair to Cynthia, but like Skeldon says "she is clamoring for attention."