While the culinary merits of Trinidad vs Guyana curry continue to be hot  topics for debate by their respective nationals, evidence is mounting in the  wider scientific community that the dish could convey significant health  benefits.

ADVERTISEMENT

Studies have already indicated that curcumin, one of the compounds in the  curry spice turmeric, could reduce inflammation in the body and have  cancer-fighting properties.

Previous studies have also found that the spice may be useful in the  treatment of heart disease and arthritis, as well as having an anti-depressant  effect and boosting brain repair in stroke and Alzheimer’s patients.

Now, a new study conducted by psychologists from the City University of New  York suggests that the spice could help erase bad memories.

Researchers found that curcumin not only prevented new fear memories being  stored in the brain, but also removed pre-existing fear memories.

Scientists hope that these findings will assist in the development of  treatments for people suffering with certain psychological disorders.

Read more: http://www.caribbean360.com/ne...orders#ixzz3QLAagTcZ

Originally Posted by TK:

Just look at how superior the Indian Nation is with our superior curry technology

I never hear about the medicinal benefits of edo and cassava

Bai eddo and cassava are top stuff. What's the matter with you.

Look hey, doan go traitorizing on us now

You're either you're with the Curry or you're against the Curry

Originally Posted by TK:

Just look at how superior the Indian Nation is with our superior curry technology

I never hear about the medicinal benefits of edo and cassava

Bai eddo and cassava are top stuff. What's the matter with you.

I got some lef over metagee I made on Monday, I wonder if dat thing still good. It is in the fridge. Guess I'll just have to check an see if any of dem itals growin beards then I know is penincillin wuking deh.

Today I should make something with curry to balance now that I've read Shaitaain's post. WHoa! A thought!  ( Oi Nehru, u ever had oneadem? ) I can chunkay the curry with onion I think dats the word "chunkay".... and throw it in with the metagee. Curry metagee in yo rass.

Is like the first time Iman make Hegg curry. I buss up three eggs an just throw it into the pot. Didn't give that one much thought. hehe. The relatives haven't stopped ribbing me on that one.

Another time I had a few friends over an stupidy me tek an throw beets into the metageee...hehehe. Red metagee anyone?

These is white people they din know the difference anyway, they loved it.

Today I should make something with curry to balance now that I've read Shaitaain's post. WHoa! A thought!  ( Oi Nehru, u ever had oneadem? ) I can chunkay the curry with onion I think dats the word "chunkay".... and throw it in with the metagee. Curry metagee in yo rass.

Is like the first time Iman make Hegg curry. I buss up three eggs an just throw it into the pot. Didn't give that one much thought. hehe. The relatives haven't stopped ribbing me on that one.

Another time I had a few friends over an stupidy me tek an throw beets into the metageee...hehehe. Red metagee anyone?

Bhai Cain, Curry egg is the best. Yuh first have to boil the egg then brown dem before yuh add the Masalla.

I know Carib Beer is gonna make me live to regret this post but you know bai...I doan know how to mek a curry yet and I'm a pretty decent cook

Also, my stomach can't really handle Indian food much.

I can make great American food. I can make great black Guyanese food. But no coolie food. My household doesn't even clap roti anymore. We always buy our weekly roti supply already cooked.

Tonight I intend to drive to my favorite rib shack for Southern ribs owned by a superbly talented black family who can make a pig into ambrosia.

I have to try hard to resist the delicious temptations of the pig feet.

Originally Posted by Django:

P.S.....I keep hearing this term "metemgee" but I confess I have no clue what this is. I suspect it's some one pot dish where you just throw a whole bunch of stuff and boil till mush.

african brothers dish

Ok I've googled it. I don't like it on account of it's lack of meat. I will eat almost anything as long as you put meat in it.

I know Carib Beer is gonna make me live to regret this post but you know bai...I doan know how to mek a curry yet and I'm a pretty decent cook

Also, my stomach can't really handle Indian food much.

I can make great American food. I can make great black Guyanese food. But no coolie food. My household doesn't even clap roti anymore. We always buy our weekly roti supply already cooked.

Tonight I intend to drive to my favorite rib shack for Southern ribs owned by a superbly talented black family who can make a pig into ambrosia.

I have to try hard to resist the delicious temptations of the pig feet.

hehehe, yep, Carib gonna stik it to yo rass with this..ohhh he'll love it.

P.S.....I keep hearing this term "metemgee" but I confess I have no clue what this is. I suspect it's some one pot dish where you just throw a whole bunch of stuff and boil till mush.

african brothers dish

Ok I've googled it. I don't like it on account of it's lack of meat. I will eat almost anything as long as you put meat in it.

Jus make the dam thing and throw a lamb leg inside then nuh man. If you know to make the dumplings with meat on the inside then you laughing.

My mom made it with either corned beef or minced meat, can't remember which.

african brothers dish

http://www.gotoguyana.org/food-recipes/metemgee/

here is this recipe with meat

african brothers dish

Jus make the dam thing and throw a lamb leg inside then nuh man. If you know to make the dumplings with meat on the inside then you laughing.

LOL. I will try it one day. Another softball to Carib Beer...I survived the Army's monotonous food choices by learning how to cook cookup by following the recipes of a blog written by a black Guyanese girl, so essentially my cookup (one of my favorite foods) and the only recipe I really like is some black family's recipe

african brothers dish

http://www.gotoguyana.org/food-recipes/metemgee/

here is this recipe with meat

looks pretty enticing there. thank you

Cain, Must try Curry Eddoes with fresh wata shrimp and hot Parata Roti. Nothing on this Planet beat dat Rass.

Having sexual intercourse does!

Well you gat a point there. But even if you have to bag the face????

dem bais juss bag yuh face?

I hear Dem Gi Joes in Afghanistan used to bag yuh face DESPITE giving you from the back.

Cain, Must try Curry Eddoes with fresh wata shrimp and hot Parata Roti. Nothing on this Planet beat dat Rass.

I hear Dem Gi Joes in Afghanistan used to bag yuh face DESPITE giving you from the back.

LMAO....ah couldn't pass up the opportunity

yu putagee rass really cant cook...you don't chunkay wid onions! You do it with  a few tea spoons of a high flashpoint oil, cumin seeds ( geera) and garlic!

LMAO....ah couldn't pass up the opportunity

Nah Bhai, Yuh walk right into Uncle Nehru upper cut.  Enjoy the super Bowl Bhai.  GO SEAHAWKS!!!!

african brothers dish

Portuguese use pig tail or salt fish in metagee...your mom got to be getting bad culinary advice from Terry's mom. Dem fulla put beef in anything!

yu putagee rass really cant cook...you don't chunkay wid onions! You do it with  a few tea spoons of a high flashpoint oil, cumin seeds ( geera) and garlic!

Yep, I also add those , this putagee guy can cook, so haul your ass.

Originally Posted by GT Stingaa:
ADVERTISEMENT

Studies have already indicated that curcumin, one of the compounds in the curry spice turmeric, could reduce inflammation in the body and have  cancer-fighting properties.

Previous studies have also found that the spice may be useful in the  treatment of heart disease and arthritis, as well as having an anti-depressant  effect and boosting brain repair in stroke and Alzheimer’s patients.

The effects and benefits of curcumin are well known and has been established for thousands of years in Indian.

These currently referenced studies by various groups in recent times are simply regurgitating issues well proven and know for ages.