CURRENT POLITICAL GRIDLOCK – a Guyanese problem, requiring a Guyanese solution …as British Govt. pledges continued assistance in holding General Elections
British High Commissioner Andrew Ayre

“THE reality is you have a Guyanese problem and ultimately it needs a Guyanese solution. The UK (United Kingdom) is not in a position and it’s not that it wants to enforce or impose some solution on Guyana.” 

British High Commissioner to Guyana, Andrew Ayre, as he addressed media operatives yesterday [Photo by Cullen Bess-Nelson)

British High Commissioner to Guyana, Andrew Ayre, as he addressed media operatives yesterday (Photo by Cullen Bess-Nelson)

This is the view held by British High Commissioner to Guyana, Andrew Ayre, who yesterday briefed the local media corps on his government’s position on the existing political gridlock in Guyana, which led to the Prorogation of Parliament in November last, along with its consequences.

Ayre said the announcement by President Donald Ramotar, that elections will be called this year, is a welcomed one and one that his government eagerly awaits.

“I’d like to see that commitment delivered…I would like to see an election date called, the end of this current impasse, local elections thereafter. The UK would like to see all of those things,” he told media operatives.

According to the Ambassador, the British government, as had been the case in recent years, will be assisting Guyana with its General and Regional Elections when called.

The British Government, he said, is ready to assist with the current political impasse that exists in Guyana.

“The UK would absolutely support elections nationally and locally in Guyana and looks forward to playing a full part in delivering peaceful, fair and free elections,” the Ambassador assured.

UK CONCERNS
Ayre was quick to point out that while Guyana is a sovereign nation, a concern of his government lies with the continued prorogation of Parliament, in light of the quantum of investment in Guyana over the years as well as those in the pipeline, by the United Kingdom (UK) and other European Countries.

The UK, he said, has invested significant sums in helping to promote a more developed Guyana, through for example, bilateral development assistance, both local and regional.

He spoke too of millions of Euros funneled through the European Union (EU) development programmes that assist countries such as Guyana, in meeting important objectives outlined in the Millennium Development Goals (MDG).

“The UK also has significant business interests here which benefit not just UK companies, but Guyanese people too…all of this is at risk, as is the notable progress made by Guyana in recent years,” said Ayre.

According to the British High Commissioner, the United Kingdom is increasingly concerned as to what the basis for the continued suspension of Parliament is and for how long.

CONSTRUCTIVE TALKS
He prefaced his comments by pointing to the fact that when President Ramotar Proclaimed that the Parliament be prorogued, it was with the intention of constructive talks with the majority Opposition (APNU and (AFC), but these did not happen.

When President Donald Ramotar announced in November last his decision to Prorogue Parliament, he stated explicitly: “I have taken this step with the hope that the time gained would be used for the benefit of our people. I wish to appeal to all for political maturity and the exercise of good judgment to put Guyana, our blessed nation, and its people first.”

Despite a number of invitations on the part of Office of the President, the Political Opposition has refused to hold any talks outside of Parliament, while at the same time saying whenever Parliament is resumed, the ‘Confidence’ motion would be the first order of the day.

Meanwhile, the British Ambassador, used the opportunity yesterday to remind that Guyana is currently “in clear breach” of the Commonwealth Charter and while not wanting to speculate on adverse consequences, pointed to the case of Fiji and Zimbabwe both of whom at different times were suspended from the Commonwealth Nation’s bloc.

He did point out that these countries were suspended as a result of significant breaches of the Commonwealth Charter.

In Guyana’s case, he did stress: “I hope it doesn’t come to that, let’s be clear; and we are not on the verge of that either.”

FRUITFUL GUYANA/UK RELATIONS
The Ambassador, despite being pressed on numerous occasions, refused to speculate as to hypothetical sanctions being laid against Guyana adding that “Guyana and the UK enjoy a fruitful and friendly relationship … because we are friends, and have been friends for a very long time, we are able to deliver some fairly tough messages to each other on occasion.”

In light of possible dangers that exist with the continued prorogation of Parliament, he urged, as did the British Foreign Minister, Tobias Ellwood recently, that there be an early end to the status quo, or to lay out a time line for its cessation.

Continued breaches of the Commonwealth Charter by Guyana could very well see the country being brought up before its ‘Ministerial Task Force’ or a ‘Critical Review’ by member countries.

The Ambassador noted too that every few months there are discussions about countries within the Commonwealth bloc whose actions would warrant cause for concern and based on the discussions taking place in London, Guyana is moving into that category.

UK LAUDS PRESIDENT RAMOTAR
The Ambassador pointed too that, no Parliament means no bills can be passed and this “includes ones that the Government rightly wants to see adopted into law.”

He was making reference to the amendments to the Anti-Money Laundering and Countering the Financing of Terrorism (AML/CFT) 2009 Act, “which is badly needed if the specialised units the UK is setting up with our Guyanese colleagues are to successfully prosecute those involved in serious organised crime.”

According to the Ambassador, in the past three decades, one of the things that all of the countries that have transitioned from developing to developed have, is a vibrant democracy.

“The UK applauds President Ramotar’s vision of turning Guyana into a developed country in his lifetime, and looks forward to assisting in that process …. this is achievable, as countries in Asia and elsewhere have shown,” said Ambassador Ayre. --- (By Gary Eleazar)

The gridlock has been created by Ramotar he is the one who suspended parliament because he is afraid of the people of Guyana through their representatives in parliament expressing themselves freely.

So in a lame attempt to suppress the expression of free speech in Guyana Ramotar suspended parliament to in effect disenfranchise voters and prevent them from sending his corrupt ***** home.

The Ambassador, despite being pressed on numerous occasions, refused to speculate as to hypothetical sanctions being laid against Guyana adding that “Guyana and the UK enjoy a fruitful and friendly relationship … because we are friends, and have been friends for a very long time, we are able to deliver some fairly tough messages to each other on occasion.”

CURRENT POLITICAL GRIDLOCK – a Guyanese problem, requiring a Guyanese solution … as British Govt. pledges continued assistance in holding General Elections, By Gary Eleazar, January 12, 2015, Source - Guyana Chronicle

Yes gridlock created by the PPP and ramotar to give them a free window to thief more........u still can't accept the reality eh? ow.....so sad.......you gonna say bye bye livin de lie......

The gridlock has been created by Ramotar he is the one who suspended parliament because he is afraid of the people of Guyana through their representatives in parliament expressing themselves freely.

So in a lame attempt to suppress the expression of free speech in Guyana Ramotar suspended parliament to in effect disenfranchise voters and prevent them from sending his corrupt ***** home.

What did Ramotar gain by proroguing  parliament, a few more months in office, because he plan to call election anyway, according to Burbkitt.

Oh me forget...they need time for shredders, working 24/7.

OP staff must be milking the OT.  

“THE reality is you have a Guyanese problem and ultimately it needs a Guyanese solution. The UK (United Kingdom) is not in a position and it’s not that it wants to enforce or impose some solution on Guyana.” 

CURRENT POLITICAL GRIDLOCK – a Guyanese problem, requiring a Guyanese solution … as British Govt. pledges continued assistance in holding General Elections,  By Gary Eleazar, January 12, 2015, Source - Guyana Chronicle

British High Commissioner to Guyana, Andrew Ayre, as he addressed media operatives yesterday [Photo by Cullen Bess-Nelson)

British High Commissioner to Guyana, Andrew Ayre, as he addressed media operatives yesterday (Photo by Cullen Bess-Nelson)

CURRENT POLITICAL GRIDLOCK – a Guyanese problem, requiring a Guyanese solution … as British Govt. pledges continued assistance in holding General Elections,  By Gary Eleazar, January 12, 2015, Source - Guyana Chronicle

the only guyanese problem we have is you ppp dogs is alive 

. . . the British Ambassador, used the opportunity yesterday to remind that Guyana is currently “in clear breach” of the Commonwealth Charter and while not wanting to speculate on adverse consequences, pointed to the case of Fiji and Zimbabwe both of whom at different times were suspended from the Commonwealth Nation’s bloc."

The UK applauds President Ramotar’s vision of turning Guyana into a developed country in his lifetime, and looks forward to assisting in that process …. this is achievable, as countries in Asia and elsewhere have shown,” said Ambassador Ayre. ---

You missed this part.

Reading is challenging for Redux. Here is what you also missed.

In Guyana’s case, he did stress: “I hope it doesn’t come to that, let’s be clear; and we are not on the verge of that either.”

The UK applauds President Ramotar’s vision of turning Guyana into a developed country in his lifetime, and looks forward to assisting in that process …. this is achievable, as countries in Asia and elsewhere have shown,” said Ambassador Ayre. ---

You missed this part.

"vision" hay is a [presidential] speechwriter's routine cleverness

doan confuse it with reality . . . arite drunkie?

You missed this part.

fool you want to see what a simple develop country look like  go to trinidad and you ask kamala how trinidad get so nice she will tell you collie bai i fired 13 minister in one yr  

Reading is challenging for Redux. Here is what you also missed.

ESL drunkie, what about the below are u having difficulty comprehending?:

" . . . the British Ambassador, used the opportunity yesterday to remind that Guyana is currently “in clear breach” of the Commonwealth Charter and while not wanting to speculate on adverse consequences, pointed to the case of Fiji and Zimbabwe both of whom at different times were suspended from the Commonwealth Nation’s bloc."

You missed this part.

DUMB ASS, Why dont you go get a bloody brain, you DUMMY.  You need to learn to read AND understand before you come here and expose your IGNORANCE, STUPIDITY and LACK Of INTELLIGENCE!!!

Last edited by Nehru

You missed this part.

fool you want to see what a simple develop country look like  go to trinidad and you ask kamala how trinidad get so nice she will tell you collie bai i fired 13 minister in one yr  

What an ASS. I always thought you were a ABC drop out now I have no doubt!!!!

You missed this part.

DUMB ASS, Why dont you go get a bloody brain, you DUMMY.  You need to learn to read AND understand before you come here and expose your IGNORANCE, STUPOIDITY and LACK Of INTELLIGENCE!!!

heh heh heh . . . sagiewan, aren't u supposed to be busying yourself researching Jamie Dimon's compensation for last year

remember . . . your US$240,000,000! fantasy

lol lol lol lol

You missed this part.

What an ASS. I always thought you were a ABC drop out now I have no doubt!!!!

oh wise one have patents with the poor peasant for i am not fortunate to be  a ppp thief

Current issues of proroguing parliament in Guyana are unrelated to the issues that were happening in Zimbabwe and Fiji.

well . . . the British ambassador certainly thinks so

no one cares what sour-smelling, diapered, low-information klowns like u think

Current issues of proroguing parliament in Guyana are unrelated to the issues that were happening in Zimbabwe and Fiji.

You must also be the writer for Rohee da Goat....same sorta mentality. IS abee time now. It doan wuk so. If dat British man tell yall backward rass to jump, yall rass would jump so friken high yall wouldn't mek it bak down.

Old fool, tell us why was Parliament porogued.

You must also be the writer for Rohee da Goat....same sorta mentality. IS abee time now. It doan wuk so. If dat British man tell yall backward rass to jump, yall rass would jump so friken high yall wouldn't mek it bak down.

Perhaps, that applies to your approach in life.

Dumb ass Guy, tell us what are the current issues for Ramotar to prorogue paraliament.