Looks like the afc/apnu is hapless as hitmen continue to ply their trade in a crime friendly environment created by the Granger administration.

Man shot at Agricola

…suspected execution attempt – Police

A Diwali lime at Agricola, Greater Georgetown, tuned bloody after a man was shot to the forehead in what appeared to be an execution attempt.
Jermaine Roberts, called “Blacka”, 22, of Agricola, was rushed to the Diamond Diagnostic Centre but was transferred to the Georgetown Public Hospital and is said to be in critical condition.
According to information received, Roberts was at an “after Diwali lime” and around 20:00h, a man rode up on a bike and shot him at close range to the forehead.
After the gunshot was heard, the crowd dispersed as persons scampered to safety. It was Roberts’ cousins who realised he was shot and picked him up and rushed him to the East Bank Demerara medical facility.
The Police have launched an investigation into the shooting incident, nothing that from all indications, the shooting appears to be an execution attempt. Hospital officials confirmed that Roberts’ chances of survival are slim.
The shooter made good his escape.

Wanted man killed…trigger man’s house torched in Bagotstown

NOVEMBER 12, 2015 | BY  | FILED UNDER NEWS 

A three-year-old feud over a woman, and other gang-related issues have left one Norton Street, Bagotstown family homeless and another in fear and mourning for a man wanted by police for murder.

Dead: Jermaine Roberts

Just after 12:15 hrs yesterday, 34 Norton Street, Bagotstown went up in flames. This incident occurred hours after one of its occupants, Anthony Trim, was identified as the trigger man who shot and killed Jermaine Roberts, 24, just outside the gate. The police identified the victim as Jermaine Simon called ‘Lapsy’ of Lot 41 Norton Street, Bagotstown, EBD.
He was wanted by the police as the killer of Ryan Sooklall on March 1, 2015, at Providence, EBD. According to reports, he and Sooklall had a falling out that saw Sooklall shooting up his home. The next day he visited Sooklall and killed him.
Roberts (Simon) and Anthony Trim/Amsterdam (Soulgee) were said to have been friends who became long time rivals over a woman.
At the time of the fire, Trim’s 39-year-old brother, Marlon, and two of his children were at home.
He lived in the top flat while his little brother Anthony lived in the bottom flat.  The distraught man recounted, “I went upstairs with my two daughters’ (aged 9 and 6). I was lying in my bed then I feel a heavy, heavy heat, and when I look through the door all I see was sheer black smoke.”
He said that he grabbed his children and ran to safety leaving all his earthly possessions behind. “All the things burn up as well as my children clothes.  Nothing (was) saved. The cabinet, TV, fridge, gas-stove, bed, wardrobe. I stranded right now,” the man who was burnt about his body just a month ago, said.
The man said that his little brother, Anthony, called Soulgee, in his late 20s, went on the run after being accused of shooting his rival hours earlier. The alleged perpetrator is still on the run.

What remains of Lot 34 Norton Street Bagotstown after the fire.

“Years ago they had problems over a girl and last night (Tuesday) they de lighting squib. Then I hear dem de hollering, ‘Ow God Soulgee, you kill me son; you kill me nephew.’  After things die down he runaway last night and me ain’t hear from he since.”
He believes that the fire was as a result of arson as he claims that persons were standing outside of his home claiming that it was his brother who was the triggerman.
“De crowd on the road de saying dem gon bun down Soulgee house since last night,” the bewildered Marlon Trim said.
The house was owned by their late mother, Barbara, and their uncle Michael Amsterdam of USA.
Compton Sparman, Guyana Fire Service Divisional Officer, said that the fire is most likely the result of arson. He said that the fire service was summoned at 12:25hrs and three vehicles were able to contain fire to the one wooden building.
Nicola Simon, 42, of 46 Norton Street, Bagotstown, the mother of the now dead Jermaine Roberts, of 24 Brutus Street, Agricola, was quick to refute allegations that her family was the perpetrator of arson.
Recounting events, the mother said that on Tuesday night, her son visited his grandmother’s home and spoke briefly then he left to find his grandmother at a shop in the street. “He was on a bicycle and his sister was behind him, walking, to go meet his grandmother in the shop. Anthony Soulgee, when he reach me son, he fire a shot to my son head and he fall off he bicycle.”
Joverna Simons, the dead man’s sister, said she stood over her brother and started hollering. “I see Soulgee with a gun in he hand and tell me get meh S@#*# from there and I run because he point the gun at me.”

Marlon Trim and his two daughters who lost everything in the fire.

The young woman who said she witnessed the shooting alleges, “When he done I see he on a phone with the gun in he hand saying that he just kill me brother.”
The gunman who has a broken leg allegedly fled the scene with the aid of a crutch.
The man was shot to the middle of his forehead and rushed to the Diamond Diagnostic Centre but was transferred to the Georgetown Public Hospital because of the severity of his injury. He died at about 3:30hrs yesterday.
Dubbing the death of her second child as a surprise, Simon admitted that Jermaine and Anthony were friends but fell out about three years ago after which they were okay again.
“Not we and no fire. Me son dead; we ain’t got time with that. He shoot me son and I want the police to get him cause I see he with me own eye.”
The angry woman said that her son “had to become a fugitive because Soulgee and he friends Francis David Degou, aka Cayenne, and Arif, called Abdool Browne, come threatening we up to (yesterday) morning. (My) son born and grow here and a crew always after me son.”
The killer is said to be related to Travis Rudder who was killed at Nandy Park earlier this year. Villagers noted that there is a gang that has been creating fear in the community on a regular basis. Soulgee is a member of that gang. “When dem come dem does come with the guns and dressed in black like if is police.”
“Dem is menace and got the village in fear,” the dead man’s relative also said.

This criminal will soon be free as Granger look to appease his supporters by amnesty for "petty crimes".  Killing and robbing Indians fall under this category.

Berbice resident remanded for knife-point robbery

NOVEMBER 12, 2015 | BY  | FILED UNDER COURT STORIESFEATURES / COLUMNISTSNEWS 

Forty three-year-old, Richard Bourne, of Stanleytown, New Amsterdam, Berbice, was yesterday arraigned before Chief Magistrate Ann McLennan, charged with robbery under-arms.
It is alleged that on November 9, at Georgetown, while being armed with a knife, he robbed Looknarine Shaw of a gold and diamond hand band, a silver chain and $47,000 cash.
Bourne pleaded not guilty to the charge in the Georgetown Magistrates’ Courts and was remanded to prison until December 14.
According to the prosecution, on the day in question, the complainant was about to enter his motor car, when he was confronted by the defendant. Bourne allegedly held the man at knifepoint and demanded that he hand over the articles mentioned in the charge. Shaw, being fearful for his life, complied and Bourne made good his escape with the items.
The incident was subsequently reported to the police and investigations led to the arrest and institution of the charge against the defendant.
The prosecution revealed that the defendant is known to the police, since he was charged before for simple larceny.

Granger gallivanting around the world wasting tax payers money while second class Indians citizens bear the brunt of retribution for 23 years of PPP rule and marginalization according to CaribJ.

9mm bandits attack remigrant family

NOVEMBER 12, 2015 | BY  | FILED UNDER NEWS 

Three bandits, all armed with 9mm pistols, have left a remigrant Guyanese family traumatized after invading their home on Diwali night (Tuesday) and robbing them of an undisclosed amount in cash jewellery and high end electronic equipment.
And to make matters worse, Motielall, called Sunil, and his family are livid at the slow and callous response to their plight by the police although the Alberttown Police Station is just about four blocks away from their Peter Rose and Lance Gibbs Streets residence.
Motielall who returned with his family from Florida, USA, about two years ago, recalled that he was attending to some diyas outside his house with one of his two sons when the bandits struck.
The bandits had arrived in a white car which they parked on Peter Rose Street and entered, Motielall’s yard from the side entrance.
“I heard my wife screaming and the next thing we saw were two guys with guns in the kitchen with my wife and my older son…I saw another guy coming up the front steps,” Motielall recalled.
He said that the guns the bandits were carrying all appeared to be 9mm pistols and they were fitted with extended magazines.
According to Motielall, the men began threatening to kill them, while forcefully demanding “De gold and US (currency)”
“These guys don’t look like more than 26 years but all had 9mm,” Motielall said.
He stated that they gave the men everything they had. However, his son scuffled with one of the bandits when they tried to take his cellular phone.
“That’s when they struck me in my head with a gun,” the re-migrant stated.
In addition to the cash and jewellery, the bandits made off with five cell phones, one Ipad and a laptop computer.
Kaieteur News understands that even as the robbery was taking place, neighbours were alerted to what was taking place and they tried to contact the police on the 911 hotline but were unsuccessful.
“They (police) came about half hour later,” Motielall said.
According to an eyewitness the police gave a ridiculous excuse for not responding to the 911 call.
“They say people does call and make them fools (and) that is why they don’t respond,” the eyewitness explained.
He told this newspaper that the ordeal was especially traumatic for his children.
“They are not taking it too well. But we are thankful they did not shoot us,” he added.
No one has so far been arrested but the Police say they are investigating.

Looks like hard times under the afc/apnu driving people to kill themselves.

Seven students allegedly attempt suicide in Bartica

In what resembles a “suicide pact”, seven students in one of the dormitories of the Bartica Secondary School attempted suicide on Wednesday.
Guyana Times was informed that the students were in a dreadful state when discovered by a teacher.
According to information received, the students are currently at the Bartica Hospital undergoing medical treatment. This newspaper understands that a medical team from Georgetown will be arriving in Bartica today to meet with the local authorities there to address the matter.
There was no indication yet what prompted the students to attempt to take their lives. An investigation has since been launched into the incident.

Its "Birth of a Nation" all over again as 911 operators under the afc/apnu sport and skylark as victims suffer and operators refuse to answer the phone.

Call 911? Maybe not… Gunmen rip door apart, terrorize family during robbery

NOVEMBER 13, 2015 | BY  | FILED UNDER NEWS 

In an age when phones dominate, calling 911 might not always be the best way to report an emergency.
One man in Tucville, Georgetown, said he was on his phone calling 911 while looking at four armed men as they tried, for more than 20 minutes, to gain entry into his neighbour’s home a little after 04:00 hrs on Wednesday.
The man said he stayed on the phone even as the gunmen successfully ripped his neighbour, former Lieutenant Colonel Charles Hutson’s back door apart and shook on the grillwork until a part of it broke.
This reportedly transpired at Lot 27-912 Tucville where the former army official resides with his family. Yesterday, Roland Hutson, the son of Charles Hutson, said that he and his family were asleep when his wife, Taryn Hutson, heard a commotion in the yard and woke him.
“She heard a noise and when she peeped, she saw the four men at the back door. They jumped through the back fence by the alley way and come in the yard,” Hutson said.
He explained that just when his wife called out for him, he heard his father shouting in the bottom flat of the two-storey house.
“My mom and dad stay downstairs and me, my wife and three children live upstairs,” Hutson said, adding that when he ran downstairs and into the kitchen, the men had already opened the door.
“Two of them were pointing the gun at me while they were shaking on the grill to open it.”
The father of three said that at that point there was nothing he could have done, since the men were pointing two guns at him.
“I tell my mother and father to lock their bedroom door and when they (gunmen) come in, they tried to put me to lie down and when I refused, one of them took the gun and hit me in my head,” Hutson recalled.
He further revealed that in mere minutes, the men packed a television, a laptop computer and his cellular phone in their bag, including $100,000 and escaped after terrorizing his family.
They did not spare Hutson’s 15-year-old daughter. When she failed to follow their orders, one of the gunmen slapped her.
“They even tried to get my parents’ bedroom door open but they couldn’t,” the father of three related.
He added that after the men made good their escape, they too tried to call 911, but no one answered. According to Hutson, he even visited the East La Penitence Police Outpost but there was a padlock on the gate.
“I called and called but no one answered,” the Tucville resident stressed.
Kaieteur News understands that half hour before the Hutson family was robbed and terrorized, the men broke and entered another home in the neighbourhood.

Another afc/apnu fund raising event as Indians pay the price for their lax attitude at the polls as they help usher in a government which instructs it citizens to take as much as they can from Indians as retribution of 23 years of marginalization. 

Bandit uses gunfire to escape after $2M Cambio heist

It was near pandemonium in the New Amsterdam market yesterday morning, as a lone gunman robbed the popular Hack’s Variety Stall, owned by Rashid Hack, and escaped with a bag of cash – not before firing shots in the air, which caused those in the market and its environs to run for cover.

Hack’s Variety Stall in the New Amsterdam market

According to reports, a variety of items are sold at the establishment, and the owner is a licenced Cambio dealer. The stall opened for business around 08:00 hrs and it was not too long after, that an individual dressed in a red shirt and black pants went to the premises under the pretext of conducting business.
The man suddenly whipped out a gun and held employee Alvin Mature at gunpoint, and demanded cash. Whilst using expletives the unmasked bandit pressed the gun to the man’s mouth threatening to shoot, if he didn’t hand over money. Two bags of money were then grabbed by the gunman.  The bandit, before leaving took another employee hostage and fired shots in the air. This caused other vendors and shoppers to scamper for cover. The man then ran out of the market with gun and bag in hand through heavy rain. He then ran towards New Street where an accomplice was awaiting on a motorcycle.  The men then rode up the one-way before turning into Lad Lane and disappearing in the vicinity of Angoy’s Avenue.
Speaking to the media, the stall owner stated that he was at home at the time of the robbery. He said that he received a telephone call about 08:30h informing him of the incident.
The businessman stated that he was out of the country for the past four weeks and only returned to the country on Tuesday.
He had left a large quantity of cash with his employees to conduct business, including making purchases.  He said the money included sales from this cambio business. He did not have a chance to go through the books and to do any banking. He had planned to do so yesterday. He stated that he lost over $2M. The man, who sells a variety of items including household and electrical items, stated that his business has been robbed over five times, including one occasion when an entire money chest was moved out.  He has been applying for a firearm licence for a long time, but was repeatedly denied.
An eyewitness stated that the thief was seen in the vicinity for some time before the stall opened and had told those around that he was waiting to do some business and “change some money with Hack.”
A witness stated that he gave chase, but aborted his pursuit since he realized that the man had a gun and was not shy to use it.

Just like deer hunting season in the US, there is Indian robbing season in Guyana, except it is an all year round activity.

Gunmen strike at La Penitence Market stall

Vendors of the La Penitence Market on Saffon Street are calling for more security during shopping hours. This call follows a daring daytime robbery committed by two gunmen yesterday on stallholder Mahabeer Chunilall.
The man and his wife Ranie were held up by the robbers while they were conducting business at their grocery stall.
Recounting events, Chunilall said at about 15:15 hrs two “young boys” came through the middle gate of the market and before they knew it, one placed a gun to his person.
“He pointed the gun to me and said don’t move, and the other one open the stall door, walked in and picked up the two boxes of money containing the day’s sales.”

The stall which the gunmen robbed

The owner points to the spot where the bullet struck

Most of the stalls were closed, and according to Chunilall, no constable was around at the time.
“Those constables were at the back of the market at the time and here at the market is a set of females stationed,” the stallholder for more than twenty years recounted.
The man’s wife was also in the shop. She said, “Dem youngsters fired one shot at me and missed, after I step away in the shop.” The bullet left a hole in the wall.
After the unmasked youngsters collected the money boxes they walked out of the market through the back gate and entered a white station wagon.
The stallholder said he had applied for a firearm since 1998 and is yet to get one.

The afc/apnu police should be there to protect, instead under this administration they are the thieves themselves. 

Wismar resident accuses cops of breaking into his home

Some ranks of the Guyana Police Force stationed in Linden are being accused by a Wismar resident of allegedly breaking and entering his home under the pretext of searching for guns and ammunition.
According to Nigel Sommersall of 67 ‘C’ Wismar Housing Scheme, he was not at home on October 5, 2015, when ranks visited his home and broke into it. “I was in de bush and they go by me house and break it and go in. They carry away money, household things, motorcycle and other things.”
Sommersall claims that the ranks removed $350,000 in cash, two DVD players, one 42-inch Flat screen TV, one equalizer, one amplifier, one cross over, one motorcycle and one Stihl 51 Chain Saw – a total value of $1.25 million.
Sommersall noted that the motorcycle was returned to him, but he is yet to receive the remainder of his belongings. He also noted that all the ranks were transferred from Linden, except one who was removed from the CID Department and is now in uniform. Sommersall claimed he saw the rank wearing his sunglasses. “I see he with me shades on”.
Sommersall claimed that as he was standing in the courtyard the rank spoke with him and begged him to “go light”. “You ain’t see that police who de talking to me just now? He had on me shades and now he begging me. He tell me it could cost him his job, so I must go easy.
“But I want back me things. They say they come fuh search fuh guns and ammunition. How they could go in me house and me ain’t deh home and carry away me things?”
Sommersall said that all he wants is for the police to return his things.

Even the afc/apnu supporters are not immune from crime as the party cannibalizes its own members to obtain 50% increase in lifestyle similar to their bosses in the cabinet.

Larceny offences continue to rock Wismar

As police in Linden, Region 10, work to curb the occurrence of a number of break and enter and larceny cases, there are presently complaints from more residents regarding stolen motorcycles.

One of the most recent cases involved the theft of a white Honda XR150L, valued $425,000 which was stolen from outside a home at Tank Street, Wisroc Housing Scheme, Wismar.

According to the owner of the motorcycle who spoke to this newspaper on the condition of anonymity, the motorcycle was removed from underneath the home sometime between 23:00h on Tuesday to 05:00h on Wednesday. He further related that he locked his motorcycle by way of securing it with the key and left it underneath the home at approximately 22:45h on Tuesday. Upon making checks the following morning the motorcycle was missing.

A report was made to the Wisroc Police Outpost and subsequently to the Wismar Police Station, where an investigation was launched.

When contacted by this newspaper on the issue of motorcycle thefts in the Linden community, E Division (Linden – Kwakwani) Commander Calvin Brutus confirmed two other cases which occurred in recent months at Wismar.

Residents have also voiced concerns over the issue, noting there are several cases of attempted theft and “stripping” of motorcycles that may have eventually gone unreported. Additionally, this newspaper learnt that a bicycle and other items were also stolen from outside a home at Half Mile, Wismar between the same period as the XL150L.

Only recently Commander Brutus had disclosed there was a trend in the number of break and enter and larceny cases at Wismar and named the Wisroc ‘New Scheme’ as one of the affected areas.

He also urged residents to be “vigilant” and to report any suspected cases, stating that reports will be treated with strict confidentiality.

Rape seem to have escalated under this regime which promised to put an end to all such crime. So far they have achieved zero.

Essequibo woman brutally raped

BY INDRAWATTIE NATRAM

An Essequibo woman was on Friday last brutally raped at Henrietta Village, Essequibo Coast, Region Two (Pomeroon-Supenaam).

Guyana Times understands that victim was approached by two men, who reportedly knocked her unconscious before raping her.

According to reports reaching this newspaper, the woman related to Police that during the ordeal, she was in and out of consciousness. This publication also understands that the men violated the woman sexually with foreign objects during the ordeal.

Following the incident, a report was made to the Anna Regina Police Station and a medical examination was conducted on the woman.

Guyana Times was told by Police sources that the men reportedly videoed the rape and allegedly circulated the video. The Police have since intercepted a copy of the video and two persons have been arrested.

On Thursday, the two suspects were charged and placed before the Suddie Magistrate’s Court.

Zocan Albert, 36; and 21-year-old-year Recardo Force, both of Henrietta Village, Essequibo Coast were charged for the rape. The men were not required to plea to the charge when they appeared before Magistrate Sunil Scarce.

It is alleged that on November 6 at Henrietta, they had sexual intercourse with the victim (name withheld) without her consent. Albert is a salesman, while Forde is self-employed.

Police Prosecutor Ramsahoye Rambajue told the court that the men had brutally raped the woman, and as such, they should be remanded to prison. He added that in addition to committing the heinous act, they filmed the act and circulated it.

As such, the men were remanded to prison. The case will continue on December 9.

Good ting PPP lost though because this never would have occured under their watch, heh

On Thursday, the two suspects were charged and placed before the Suddie Magistrate’s Court.

As such, the men were remanded to prison. The case will continue on December 9.

This is the response from the Crime Chief, there is no crime. hahahah

Crime not spiraling out of control, says Blanhum

NOVEMBER 14, 2015 | BY  | FILED UNDER NEWS 

– slams ‘absurd’ media comparisons to ‘crime wave’ era

‘Absurd’ was the way that Crime Chief Wendell Blanhum yesterday described some media reports which suggested that Guyana’s crime rate is out of control and that is reminiscent of the bloody 2002 period of brazen killings and kidnappings.
Blanhum produced figures to show that the crime rate has fallen from nine percent to eight percent during his tenure. He expressed optimism that serious crimes could drop further.
The Crime Chief made these observations yesterday at the Officers’ Training Centre, Camp Road, Eve Leary, while unveiling the Force’s security plans for the Christmas season.
Noticeably absent was Commissioner of Police Seelall Persaud, who is overseas. Only a few members of the private sector attended.
Figures released by Blanhum for the period 2006 to 2015 show that there were 135 murders in 2006; 99 murders in 2007; 135 the following year; 97 in 2009; 115 in 2010; 108 in 2013; 121 in 2014; and 126 for the year.
He noted that there have been 477 fewer serious crimes this year than in 2006.
“During 2015, in June, when I took over as Crime Chief, we had a 13 percent  increase in serious crimes…and despite being bombarded by some sections of the media, we have still managed to bring the figures down from 13 percent to eight percent,” Blanhum said.
“And hadn’t we done anything, as some persons are trying to portray, we would have been by now at a 20 percent increase in serious crimes.
“So we had the figures hovering between eight and 13 per cent, and we have managed to bring it down to eight percent. We envisage that by the end of this period, with the Christmas policing initiatives, we should bring it down to at least a minus one percent increase.”
“All those headlines that we are bombarded with that crime is spiraling out of control, and nothing is being done, and that we lack the capacity to effectively deal with serious offences, is nothing short of absurd.”
The Crime Chief also noted that serious crimes tended to increase in election years. This was the case in 2006, 2011, and 2015.
But he noted that in 2013, there was also an increase in serious crimes.
“But then we have persons who are trying to equate our current period with the 2002 crime wave period. If you look at the period 2015 that we are in, and compare that with 2006, we didn’t go back to 2002 when we had the crime wave, when there was rampant murder and shooting incidents and kidnappings.
“We did a comparison with 2006 and at this period we have 477 fewer serious crimes.  So the question is how do we reconcile these reports that crime is spiraling out of control with the statistics before us?
The only possible and logical conclusion is that crime is not spiraling out of control, and we are not in those dark days.”
But Blanhum acknowledged that there was concern about the number of execution-style murders, with nine so far for the year, a figure that he said was on par with those in 2012.
There have also been six more murders than last year.
The Crime Chief also expressed concern about the spate of attacks on drivers and minibus passengers, particularly on East Bank Demerara.
He revealed that taxi drivers, particularly those working private hire, were relieved of their valuables and vehicles after unwittingly picking up criminal elements.
“So this is an area of concern and we have started to address this. When we deploy roadblocks at strategic locations we are asking members of the public to bear with us.”
Other issues of concern Blanhum raised included the lax security precautions taken by members of the business community, including when transporting large sums of cash.
Other challenges were the lack of DNA facilities, and police corruption. There have also been some 133 more break and enter and larceny incidents, due to the development of new housing schemes.
Some successes included the seizure of 98 illegal firearms.
He said that the majority of illegal firearms were coming from Brazil. Others were coming from the USA and from Europe.

Kaitieur's response to the crime chief's evaluation of the crime situation:

Bandits hit short time place fuh nutten

NOVEMBER 14, 2015 | BY  | FILED UNDER DEM BOYS SEHFEATURES / COLUMNISTSNEWS 

Thiefing get so rampant that these days people don’t care wheh dem rob and who dem rob. De bandits don’t care who see dem. Dem boys suspect this since de group rob dem money changer in America Street. To this day de police ain’t sure if dem hold de right people.
De other night a group of dem go to a soldier house. De man house got grill. De bandits force open de door and when dem meet up wid de grill, dem rock it till it fall apart. Firemen does talk bout how house so heavily grilled that dem can’t enter. From, now dem should employ bandits.
Well dem bandits tek things to a new level. Dem got people who does get away fuh some cozy time. Some of dem men got wives and some of de women got husbands.
Dem boys know de story of de husband who going to meeting and de wife who going either to she mother or she friend. Well some gunmen threaten even that li’l cozy corner pun de East Coast. This place got branch at Agricola. De bandits walk in and one stand up by de door. Up comes two people and de one by de door chase dem away.
De people get vex and dem tell de police who tun up and ketch all de bandits. But wha people didn’t know was that some policemen been in de place too having a nice time.
Dem boys seh that if was a robbery dem woulda clear out a long time ago but all of dem had interest in de activities in de place. Some of dem ask fuh de keys fuh de room and set up a peep show. In fact, de story was so nice that when de police arrest one of dem he tell de policeman to wait because he coming just now.
De Crime Chief seh that crime gone down, that it ain’t so bad but from wha dem boys seeing, things bad. Every day is a robbery and de victims often don’t got nutten.
People know that dem bandits want money fuh Christmas. All of dem coulda get a job to ketch dem hand instead of robbing people and spending Christmas in jail.
Talk half and watch how you visiting de short time place.

Its a sad day when those tasked with protecting the citizens are the criminals. This is reminiscent of the PNC days when citizens had no rights and police and government officials were the thugs. 

Georgetown businessman beaten by City Constables

Popular city businessman Paul James, owner of Fix-it Hardware located at Main and Holmes Streets, was on Tuesday logobeaten by members of the City Constabulary of the Mayor and City Council (M&CC).
According to information reaching this newspaper, James was severally beaten while some of his personal property was damaged during the ordeal.
Guyana Times understands that the issue stemmed from the removal of some building materials, which James had at his business entity on Main and Holmes Streets. Reports are that the City Constabulary Officers went to the businessman’s property and removed a quantity of steel and decking. This prompted the businessman to enquire the reason for the removal of the items. However, he was met with a hostile response, following which he was punched to the face and about the body.
This newspaper understands that the businessman’s cellular phone was smashed during the ordeal and other personal valuables were taken away.
From all indications, the attack is a clear instance of bullyism and thuggery on the part of the City Constabulary Officers.

Lawlessness continues under this government and citizens are left to fend for themselves with primitive weapons. Cutlass vs shotgun.

Bandit chopped in clash with cutlass-wielding businessman

NOVEMBER 15, 2015 | BY  | FILED UNDER NEWS 

…accomplices drop shotgun and flee
The police are on the hunt for two bandits who fled and left their injured cohort behind after he was cornered and chopped by the owner of the business premises they had broken into.

Injured businessman, Nicholas Harrinandan

The three bandits had broken and entered the home of businessman, Nicholas Harrinandan, 38, of Tucber Park, New Amsterdam, Berbice. The thieves were armed with a shotgun and cutlass.
According to information, Harrinandan was at home alone with his wife when the three bandits entered into the house.
According to the source the businessman was reportedly on the verandah and armed himself with a cutlass and confronted the bandits when one of them who were armed with a cutlass chopped him on his head and face.
He in turn wounded the bandit who was trapped behind a wall divider. His wife was reportedly asleep when the bandits attacked her husband.  According to information the woman upon realizing what was happening went to her husband’s assistance and reportedly began throwing objects at the bandits while her husband battled with the injured one who was armed with the cutlass.
The two other bandits subsequently fled and in their haste leaving the shot gun behind. According to information when the bandit realized that he was cornered he began hollering for help after being wounded.
The police were contacted and responded. They searched the area for the other two thieves but were unsuccessful.
Despite heavy cleaning that was done during the day blood was still visible on the steps and the

Injured: The suspect at the New Amsterdam hospital yesterday.

yard when the media visited during the afternoon.
The bandits reportedly entered the house using the verandah. After the man reportedly heard the commotion and realized he was being attacked he armed himself with the cutlass and confronted the bandits.
It was also reported that after realizing that there were thieves around the man took off the light of the house. The two other bandits realizing that they were getting serious resistance aborted their mission and escaped by different routes.
The wounded bandit was later identified as Brian Dhanphat, 26, of Smythfield, New Amsterdam, Berbice.
Both the wounded Harrinandan and the injured bandit Dhanphat who was reportedly chopped about his body, and to the face, arms and legs were taken to the New Amsterdam Hospital. Harrinandan was subsequently transferred to the Georgetown Public Hospital for further treatment.  The thief was taken to the operating theatre in New Amsterdam for emergency surgery.
Dhanphat was being held under guard in the New Amsterdam hospital.
According to a release from the police, around 01:20h three men, one armed with a shotgun and another with cutlass, broke into the home of Nicholas Harrinandan. Harrinandan armed

The home where the attack took place.

The afc/apnu bandits strike again. Their leaders in parliament gave themselves 50% wage hike and the bandits reasoned that they too deserve 50% more proceeds from robberies. 

Bush Lot jeweller robbed at Rosignol Market

A Bush Lot, Berbice jeweller who has been plying his trade for the past 15 years at the Rosignol Market, in Region Five (Mahaica-Berbice) was on Saturday morning relieved of a quantity of gold jewellery.
Brandat Singh, also called “Rakesh Singh”, of Public Road, Bush Lot, West Coast Berbice, arrived at the market at about 06:30h and was about to display his jewellery in the glass case when a man came from behind and snatched several pairs of earrings and finger rings.
The man then escaped on foot but another man suspected to have been an accomplice to the robbery was arrested by Police in the vicinity of the market.
Speaking with Guyana Times, Singh explained that the two men were seen at the market earlier purchasing watermelons.
From all indications, the two men were waiting for Singh to arrive.
The distraught businessman explained that the perpetrator came up from behind him and pushed his hand into the glass case and pulled out a handful of jewellery before escaping.
“After he pulled out the jewellery, he run up the road but I couldn’t go behind him since it was me alone. I raised an alarm and then people come to my rescue,” he stated.
Upon checking, the businessman confirmed that the bandit escaped with more than 35 pennyweight of gold worth in excess of $260,000.
He immediately contacted the Blairmont Police Station, only to be told the there was only one Police rank on duty and he could not leave the station.
The businessman then drove to the Fort Wellington Police Station and made a report. He was accompanied by Police to the scene and it was at this time that the businessman noticed the accomplice. The man was arrested and is in Police custody assisting with investigation.

The lawlessness continues under this administration as even the drunk believe they have more power than police. Imagine a drunk man trying to disarm a police, where is the respect?

2 shot as drunken man attempts to disarm Policeman

A man and a woman are now nursing gunshot injuries after a Police rank’s service weapon accidently went off during an uproar at the R&B Sports Bar, Coverden, East Bank Demerara (EBD), on Saturday morning.
Injured are Linden Samuels, 33, of Soesdyke, EBD and Odessa Glasgow, 27, of Belle Alliance, Essequibo Coast.
According to reports, Police ranks responded to a report of disorderly behavior at the bar at about 01:30h. Information further revealed that when the ranks arrived at the bar, they observed a group of individuals behaving in an obscene manner, and as such, requested that they desist from doing so. Samuels was reportedly among the group that was threatening patrons.
Guyana Times was told that Samuels, who was highly intoxicated, reportedly approached the Police rank and attempted to remove his service weapon. As such, a scuffle ensued and it was during the scuffle, that the Police Officer’s weapon went off hitting the drunken man to his abdomen and the waitress to the right thigh.
Both Samuels and the waitress were taken to the Diamond Diagnostic Centre where they were treated and referred to the Georgetown Public Hospital for further medical attention.
Guyana Times understands that several patrons have since reported that Samuels is a nuisance in the neighbourhood, since he is int he habit of creating confrontations with persons whenever he is intoxicated.
This publication also understands that several eyewitnesses have given statements and corroborated the report given by the Police rank.
The Office of Professional Responsibility (OPR) and the Criminal Investigations Department (CID) have since launched an investigation into the incident.

Its a sad day when those tasked with protecting the citizens are the criminals. This is reminiscent of the PNC days when citizens had no rights and police and government officials were the thugs. 

Georgetown businessman beaten by City Constables

From all indications, the attack is a clear instance of bullyism and thuggery on the part of the City Constabulary Officers.

Welcome to the past, PNC hooliganism all over again!

Bandits invade former Crime Chief’s home

NOVEMBER 16, 2015 | BY  | FILED UNDER NEWS 

…Assistant Commissioner relieved of personal jewellery worth $400,000

(By Mondale Smith)

Less than six months after being replaced as Crime-Chief, Assistant Commissioner of Police Leslie James and his family were made to endure several minutes of terror when gun tooting bandits stormed his home early yesterday morning, making off with almost $400,000 in jewellery.
The ordeal that has left his two children traumatized, took place just about 3:00hrs yesterday at James’ lot 453 Hendy Street, Block X, Liliendaal, East Coast Demerara home, and lasted for 12 minutes.  The jewellery were taken from the former Crime Chief and his wife Jacqueline James, the Retail Sales Manager for Guyoil.
The attack will add to the perception that criminal elements are operating with impunity, despite the utterances by senior officials of the Guyana Police Force that security is being beefed up for the festive season.
The former Head of the Criminal Investigations Department told Kaieteur News that his family retired to bed in the top flat just around midnight on Saturday.
At about 3:00hrs yesterday he heard a noise in the bottom flat of his house and along with his wife, he decided to investigate.
“When we came out the bedroom, I saw about three men coming up the step. Clearly, one had a weapon and I immediately looked down and told them take what they want and they can go.”

The former Crime Chief points to the window through which the gunmen entered his home.

One of the men said “take their jewels”, which included James’ wedding ring and another ring as well as his wife’s engagement ring and wedding band.
“I didn’t look at them because I didn’t know if they had my family. I made sure that they did not see me trying to determine their identity for fear of myself and family being harmed.”
The men took the jewellery and they attempted to exit the house but the door was locked so they had to resort to shattering a window on the south western side of the house to make good their escape.
According to James, the men gained entry to his house by prying open a window in the bottom flat.
As the men were exiting, the Crime Chief daughter’s screams for help alerted neighbours and the men ran west along the road.
One neighbour who was heading home at the time said he was threatened by four men with guns who were making their getaway on foot.
James who is on Annual Vacation Leave said, “The safety for me and family was paramount. I hadn’t a clear assessment of how many were in the home so I didn’t react to anger the men.”
He however said that his neighbours have ideas of who the perpetrators might be.
James said his weapon was in his home but he opted to remain calm and urged his family to do likewise.
“Clearly they didn’t come to harm anyone because there was no talk of shooting anyone while they were in my house, so to me, it was clearly a robbery.”
The men also took a stereo system valued at about $140,000 but that system was dropped on the roadside.
A neighbour who identified himself as ‘Trini’ said he heard one of the robbers telling another robber, “bannaz is the Crime Chief house we just been in!”
According to the neighbour, that statement apparently resulted in the bandit who was carrying the music system, dropping it and running southwards.
“I grabbed a cutlass and run out when I heard the (former) Crime Chief daughter screaming but the men see me and one ah dem seh ‘leh we shoot he’, and I run inside. Then they went to ‘Strong Man’s’ (another neighbor) house and chase he back in he house. Then they run up the road to the blacka.”
Trini reiterated that the streets in Sophia need more lights.  “This place full of thieves who does walk in twos and threes.”
Two Police patrols were summoned and the area was searched. James said he communicated his ordeal to Commander of C Division Assistant Commissioner Marlon Chapman as well as his successor Crime Chief Wendell Blanhum and got the fullest cooperation and support.
On CRIME as a former Crime Chief
The former Crime Chief also took the opportunity to weigh in on the current crime situation.  James said that any increase in crime, even if it is one percent, is a cause for concern.
“I’m not sure if it was a random storming of my home, except to say that I’m a consummate professional who always execute my duties with professionalism.”
James noted too that the area is normally patrolled by police but “as with everything else, there is always need for improvements in security.”
The community recently formed a Community Development Council- James is one of the Executive members.
His opinion is that there appears to be significant amount of idle time among the youth population and according to him “from how some crimes are committed, they clearly have no respect for anyone.”
James who served as Crime Chief from April 8, 2014 to June 30, 2015, is advising the general citizenry that “should you experience any storming of home by criminal elements, it is always better to cooperate, as your life is more important than any material thing.”
“I’m concerned to know that despite my status as former Crime Chief that my home was stormed and I was robbed… so what of the ordinary person in communities? I commend the current initiatives in train, which I support, to address the crime situation and I commend the current initiatives for the Christmas policing strategies.”
He also expressed confidence that once what is on paper is put into effect, it should yield results.
Jail Time is waste time
James further stated that parents, guardians, community leaders and social workers need to be part of efforts to bring the youth into the understanding that crime is not the only way to a better life.
He also made a pitch in support of former Parliamentarian and attorney at Law James Bond’s 007 promotion initiative, stating that the promotion is a profound one because youths need to understand that jail time is waste time.

The crime wave continues as afc/apnu supporters cannibalize each other to gain their share of the pie, 50% increase in revenue. 

OMAI shopkeeper shot dead during robbery

NOVEMBER 17, 2015 | BY  | FILED UNDER NEWS 

Bandits escaped with over a million in cash and gold, after killing a shopkeeper in what can be described, as a robbery murder around 23:30 hours on Sunday.

A sheet covers the body of shopkeeper Errol Bowen

Reports coming from the interior location are that Errol Bowen had left to go and turn off a generator in the shop when he was attacked and reportedly shot. His attackers then ransacked the shop before escaping with $500,000 and just over two ounces of raw gold.
This newspaper was told that after he was shot, Bowen sought refuge at a nearby business where he was assisted by another shopkeeper, but later died.
Bowen’s body was transported to the city by the police who have since launched an investigation.
Divisional Commander Ravindradat Budhram confirmed yesterday that the police had received a report about the incident.
A police press release yesterday afternoon said that the body of Errol Bowen, 23, of Better Hope, East Coast Demerara, who is a shopkeeper at Bone Yard Backdam, Omai, was found with gunshot wounds to the back of his left ear.
The police said that it was subsequently discovered that the shop was ransacked and two ounces, six pennyweights of gold were missing from the shop.
Investigations are in progress.

It looks like the afc/apnu police can only catch Indian bandits. The Afros continue to walk free under Granger's liberal stance on crime.

Captured bandit claims he was kidnapped, forced to commit robbery

The police are continuing the hunt for two bandits who managed to escape a robbery scene, leaving their wounded cohort behind. The wounded bandit has begun to name his cohorts, who have been identified as Kevin Sandy and

Wounded suspect: Brian Dhanphat

Troyden Trellis. They remain at large.
The bandit was cornered in the home of a businessman whom, he and two other thieves had gone to rob around 01:20hrs on Thursday at Nursville, New Amsterdam, Berbice.
The bandits had invaded the home of businessman, Nicholas Harrinandan, 38, owner of JN Supermarket and his wife, Uwattie Harrinandan, a teacher of Lot22/23 Nurseville Housing Scheme, Tucber Park, New Amsterdam,.
The wounded thief who was identified as Brian Dhanphat, 26, is a known character of Smythfield, New Amsterdam, Berbice.  Apart from naming the other two known characters that were on the thieving mission with him. He also told those around that he was kidnapped and taken to rob the business premises.
Three bandits had broken and entered the home of the businessman. The thieves were armed with a shotgun and cutlass.
According to information, Harrinandan was lying on the ground in his living room, when he was awoken by an unusual sound. He was confronted by the three suspects who dealt him several chops about his head and

The New Amsterdam home that came under attack.

face..
The businessman, however, had reportedly armed himself with a cutlass and managed to chop Dhanphat to his head, face, hand and foot. The bandits who got trapped behind a wall divider fell to the ground screaming for help.
Harrinandan’s wife was reportedly asleep when the bandits attacked her husband.  The woman upon realizing what was happening went to her husband’s assistance and reportedly began throwing objects at the bandits while her husband battled with the injured one who was armed with the cutlass.
The two other bandits subsequently fled, in their haste leaving the shot gun behind. The bandits reportedly entered the house via the verandah. After the man reportedly heard the commotion and realized he was being attacked, he armed himself with the cutlass and confronted the bandits.
It was also reported that after realizing that there were thieves around the man took off the light of the house. The two other bandits realizing that they were getting serious resistance aborted their mission and escaped by different routes.
Both the wounded Harrinandan and the injured bandit Dhanphat were taken to the New Amsterdam Hospital. Harrinandan was subsequently transferred to the Georgetown Public Hospital for further treatment.
The couple was robbed of a cell phone. Whilst at the hospital the missing cell phone (was found in Dhanpat’s left pants pocket. The victim identified the said cellular phone.
Dhanphat remains under guard in the New Amsterdam hospital.

Frustration under the afc/apnu continues as people turn on each other like rabid dogs.

Man stabbed in neck with screw driver

A 22-year-old man was rushed to the Georgetown Public Hospital Corporation (GPHC) after he was stabbed in the neck with a screw driver.
It happened at King Edward and James Streets, Albouystown at around 23:40 hrs on Sunday.
The injured man has been identified as Jamal Nichols, of Lot 97 James Street, Albouystown.
According to information received, Nichols and two friends had an altercation after which he was stabbed to the neck by one of the men.
Police have arrested the suspect and are awaiting a statement from the wounded man.
Kaieteur News understands that the injured man underwent surgery early yesterday and is in the hospital’s recovery room.
He will be taken to the Intensive Care Unit.
His mother, Sharon Collins, said that she is unaware of what led to the stabbing of her son. The woman recalled that her son left home to attend a funeral in the village.
“I told him that I would join him later. Then a while later his friend come and tell me that he get stabbed, and they taking him to the hospital,” Collins revealed.
The woman said that when she rushed to her son, she saw that he was already in a car and was about to leave to go to the hospital.
“I see he had the screw driver in his neck,” the woman recounted.
Investigations are ongoing.

The Indians continue to pay the price at the hand of afc/apnu bandits as police have laid back attitude now that Granger in charge. 

Tuschen resident shot to head during attempted robbery

A Tuschen, East Bank Essequibo resident is now nursing a gunshot injury to his head following an attempted robbery on Sunday evening.

Ram Singh

Ram Singh

Ram Singh, 53, of Lot 1985 Light Street, was shot to his head by a lone gunman, while two accomplices were seen standing in front of the house.

According to information reaching this newspaper, Timothy Singh, the injured man’s son went to lock their gate when the gunman pounced on him.

This newspaper was told that a relative, who was in the yard, realise what was happening and raised an alarm. Singh reportedly went to his son’s rescue but instead was shot to the head by the gunman.

Reports are that after shooting Singh, the gunman dropped a haversack he was carrying made good his escape with two men who were waiting a short distance away.

Singh was picked up and rushed to the Leonora Cottage Hospital where he was treated and referred to the Georgetown Public Hospital for further medical attention.

The injured man’s son told his newspaper that at about 21:30h as he was locking the gate, the gunman walked up to him and placed the gun to his head.

The young Singh said the man was wearing a mask so he can not recognise him. He said by this time, a relative began screaming and his father rushed to his assistance.

“My father tell he, ‘shoot nah, shoot, me nah frighten all yuh’, and the bandit then pulled the trigger and shot him”, the son stated.

He noted that his father fell to the ground and family and other residents rushed to his assistance.

According to the son, after the bandit escaped, they checked his bag which he had left behind but it was empty.

This is the fourth time the family has been attacked. Two months ago, they found a man in the house as he was attempting to pack valuables but he ran away.

He was subsequently arrested and handed over to the police.

Another time, bandits escaped with a quantity of cash. One man was arrested but was never charged.
Meanwhile, the police have launched an investigation.

The Brazilians are learning the hard way, no protection from police is forthcoming under this administration.

Brazilians terrorised by gunmen in Puruni

Six armed men on Sunday carried out a brazen attack on a Brazilian mining camp at Puruni, Region Seven and

The injured Brazilians after the attack

terrorised the owner’s brother and several workers while demanding money and gold.
The injured man was identified as Raimundo Malhaeo. He was reportedly struck to his head by one of the men with a gun after he refused to hand over the gold. Other miners were also gun-butted in the hope of them handing over the precious mineral.
After beating the men, the gunmen threatened to kill them if they remained on the camp grounds and told them they would return. A few of the men reportedly left in a helicopter while the others did so by land.
Three of the men were subsequently identified by the miners as three well-known businessmen in Bartica.
It is believed that the attack stemmed from the double purchase of the mining block that the Brazilians were occupying for the past three years. The mining block was reportedly sold to the Brazilians by Marcus Debareu.
Speaking with Guyana Times, an official of the mining company stated that at the time of the attack, the owner, Nide Carneiro Malhao was not on site.
She explained that a few years ago, the businessman would have purchased four blocks for a total of $60 million, but was only given the paperwork for one. To date, the legal paperwork for the remaining three blocks has not been handed over to the Brazilian.
The woman stated that from all indications, the raid on the camp is intended to motivate the Brazilians to pack up and leave. Guyana Times was further told that based on information gathered, the block that the Brazilian was occupying was resold to another businessman.
Guyana Times further understands that one of the men who were spotted in the helicopter was recently in hot water after he defrauded a businessman millions of dollars while another was about to have operations at his camp halted by the Guyana Geology and Mines Commission (GGMC).
The Police have since launched an investigation into the attack and a report was made to the GGMC on the issue.

The afc/apnu supporters continue their rampage as their hero Granger is in office and will set the free if caught. There is no fear from police as criminals have a crime friendly government in power. 

Historian held at gunpoint, SUV hijacked

NOVEMBER 18, 2015 | BY  | FILED UNDER NEWS 

Two armed men on Monday night menacingly threatened well known historian and educator, Tota Mangar, at knife- and gun-point before escaping in his silver-grey Suzuki Escudo SUV (Sports Utility Vehicle) bearing registration PMM 6392.

Tota Mangar

Tota Mangar

The incident occurred around 20:45 hrs on Camp Street just as Mangar was preparing to go home after leaving a book launch at Moray House on Camp and Quamina Streets, Georgetown.
Yesterday, Mangar said that he was invited to the book launch and it was while he was leaving, he was robbed of his vehicle.
“I parked on Camp Street and when I reached to the vehicle, I put my phone inside and the two books I purchased from the book launch. Just as I sat and was about to start the car, the men appeared,” Mangar stressed.
He said that one of the men opened his back door and put a knife to his neck while another man jumped in the front seat and put a gun to his head.
According to Mangar, the men instructed that he give them the keys to his vehicle and then demanded that he walk away from the car.
“It happened so fast. There was nothing I could have done because one of them had a gun to my head and the other one had a knife to my neck. My chin got a little cut,” Mangar said. He said that the men appeared to be in their 30s.
Investigations are ongoing.

Drug smuggling in full swing under this government as we see for every one of these caught another 10 get through unscathed.  Collusion among the afc/apnu operatives at the airport makes the trafficking of drugs possible. One would ask how come this woman got past security if collusion was not in place?

Guyanese hairdresser busted at JFK with 105 cocaine pellets in stomach

A 26-year-old Guyanese hairdresser has possibly made history, at least locally, for swallowing a total of three pounds of cocaine pellets as a narcotics mule out of Guyana. As a consequence of her feat, she is now in US custody.

Shureen Giddings

Arrested on November 9, Shureen Giddings was intercepted shortly after arriving at the John F. Kennedy Airport, New York, on a flight from Guyana, and subsequently excreted 105 pellets. Sources close to Guyana’s Customs Anti-Narcotics Unit say she has “set a local record for swallowing such a large number of pellets”.
The Beauty Shop operator has been charged with knowingly and unlawfully importing cocaine into the United States and is currently being held at the Brooklyn Metro Detention Centre.
The mother of one, according to court documents, was the subject of a Customs and Border Protection examination and was arrested minutes after her arrival at JFK.
She was subject to a body search and her luggage was also searched for drugs after being questioned extensively. According to reports, the woman admitted that she had swallowed cocaine-filled pellets and initially excreted 17 after asking to use the restroom.
Those pellets tested positive for the presence of cocaine and US Law Enforcement agents subsequently escorted the woman to a medical facility situated at the airport for an x-ray examination where more pellets were seen in her stomach.
This resulted in her immediate arrest after which the Customs Anti-Narcotics Unit in Guyana was informed of the bust and is carrying out investigations locally.

Looks like police not under the influence of the afc/apnu are making progress.  Look for a good scolding from Ramjattan for these arrests as those arrested are "innocent" and their rights violated. 

Police smash major crime gang

– Wanted men found in Berbice hotel with teen girls

Police in Berbice have arrested six persons in a hotel including three wanted men and three teenage girls, in what can be described as the smashing of a major crime ring.  The arrests followed two recent high profile robberies that occurred in New Amsterdam. Two of the men are wanted for a robbery last Saturday morning while another is wanted for a heist at the N/A market last Thursday.
On Monday evening after making certain observations and gathering valuable information the cops swooped down on a popular hotel in New Amsterdam.
The known characters, including a deportee, were found inside the hotel along with three teenage girls. The girls aged 16, 17 and 19 years were found in separate rooms with the men.
On Thursday last, around 08:30 hrs, a lone gunman described as a ‘red skin man’ wearing a red shirt and black pants had robbed the popular Hack’s Variety Stall of approximately $2M. He fired a shot before escaping out of the market and joined an accomplice on a motorcycle and fled the scene.
A number of persons were arrested and subsequently released as the police investigation gathered momentum.
Meanwhile, on Saturday morning  around 01:20 hrs, three bandits  armed with guns and cutlasses invaded the home of 38-year-old businessman Nicholas Harrinandan, owner of JN Supermarket, and his wife, Uwattie Harrinandan, a teacher, at Lot 22/23 Nurseville Housing Scheme, Tucber Park, New Amsterdam. .
During the home invasion, the bandits dealt Harrinandan several chops about his head and face. The victim in return armed himself with a chopper and dealt 26-year-old Brian Dhanphat – a known character of Smythfield, New Amsterdam, Berbice – chop wounds to his head, face, hand and foot. The bandit who got trapped behind a wall divider fell to the ground screaming for help.
Dhanphat who was arrested in the businessman’s house was taken to the New Amsterdam hospital for emergency treatment. At the hospital he stated that his two cohorts were Kevin Sandy and Troyden Trellis.  He had also told those present that he was kidnapped and taken to rob the business premises.
Dhanphat was discharged from the New Amsterdam Hospital on Tuesday. Realizing that his first set of “tunes” were not gelling, the career bandit changed his tune, and began singing that he was in the  businessman’s house because of a drug deal which did not work out when he was caught in the fracas.
The other man found in the hotel, fits the description of the man who robbed the stall in the New Amsterdam market.
A motor cycle used by the men was also seized.  It was found at an abandoned gas station opposite the hotel.
According to a source, the capture of the men represents a significant headway into the smashing of a major criminal gang that was creating havoc in and around New Amsterdam, Corentyne and West Berbice.
The men are suspected to be involved in the A. Ally and Sons robbery which occurred on July 14, where over $3.7M  and US$2300  was taken as the business entity was about to deposit the money in a bank in New Amsterdam.
The men are also suspected to be associated with the discharging of a loaded firearm outside of a New Amsterdam night club recently.

The afc/apnu bandits are ramping up their fundraising efforts for Christmas sporting. 

Bandits beat Sophia man for three hours during robbery

Armed bandits in the Sophia area continue their merciless rampage, this time beating self-employed farmer Deryck Halley before making off with his two Honda CG motorcycles, US and local currency among other items on Monday night.
For Halley, the ordeal, which lasted for close to three hours, will remain etched in his memory for life, especially since it was the second time in two years that he has suffered a similar fate.
And to make matters worse, the police showed up some two hours after the bandits left, with Halley claiming that he had tried to contact them at the Turkeyen and Sparendaam Police Stations as well as the Impact Headquarters at Brickdam shortly after the incident.
Recounting the ordeal yesterday, Halley who lives alone, told this newspaper that it was around 21:00 hours when he returned to his lot 14 North Sophia home and was confronted by the bandits.
“The place was very dark and I did not see them coming, but after I came off my bike and was about to open the gate, one of them placed a gun to my head and told me to open the gate,” Halley said.
But the men were impatient, as one of them lashed him to the head with a gun and grabbed the keys from his hand and opened the gate himself. The bandit even opened the door of the bottom flat of Halley’s house and dragged him inside.
Once in the house, they ordered him to remain silent and then began their merciless assault.
Halley said the men demanded cash.
“They want to know where the money was. ‘Wheh de money deh?’ they keep asking. I said I don’t know where the money deh. Then they say they gon kill me,” he recalled.
The men proceeded to rummage through a backpack he had on him at the time, grabbing his several bank cards and his New York City, Virginia State and local driver’s licences, along with other documents.
Halley said the men became frustrated at not finding any cash in the bottom flat, so they tried to drag him upstairs, but he held on to a rail for dear life, despite receiving a number of blows about his body.
“They keep telling me that they will kill me if they don’t get any money,” Halley recalled.
Eventually, one of the bandits went upstairs and after awhile, he came back with a bag containing valuables, all of which Halley cannot determine up to now.
The men continued to beat Halley while taking turns to go upstairs to search for more loot.
He said that eventually they found some cash—US$1500 and GY$2100. They also took away his two cellular phones.
Not satisfied, the men turned their attention to Halley’s two Honda CG motorcycles.
According to the victim, the men, who had already secured the key to the bike that Halley came home with, demanded the key to the other one that was parked in the yard.
He said that after grabbing that key, the men took him outside and ordered him to start the motorcycle.
Halley said he tried to be smart by turning off the bike’s gasoline supply in an attempt to stall them, hoping that someone would realize what was happening and call the police.
But eventually the men saw through his trick and after dealing him a few more blows, they started the motorcycle themselves and made good their escape.
Halley, meanwhile, went back into his home and tried to contact the police
“This thing went on till 12 o’clock. These men tie me up and although I tell them to take what they want, they kept beating me. The police was another story,” Halley lamented.
He said that the police eventually showed up at his home around 02:00 hours and took a brief statement from him.
“The police have not returned to examine my house properly…all the blood still left,” he said, indicating  at his blood-stained floor.

Another good effort by police, however unfortunately, this is just a show as the govt don't want to disrupt the livelihood of their supporters who depend on income from the drug trade to feed their families.

Men allegedly busted with cocaine in hotel remanded

Two men, who were found with a quantity of cocaine-filled pellets at an Alpha International Hotel, at Ogle East Bank Demerara, were yesterday remanded to prison after pleading not guilty to a conspiracy charge.
Herbert Smith, 44, of Lot 3464 North Ruimveldt Housing Scheme, Georgetown and Dwayne Adams, 35, of Lot 38 Wills Street, Golden Grove, were jointly charged with conspiring to traffic 848 grammes of cocaine. They were allegedly found with the drug on November 13, at the aforementioned hotel.
Smith and Adams were both remanded to prison by City Magistrate Judy Latchman, despite a compelling bail application made by their Attorney, Peter Hugh.
The defendants will return to court on December 7, when they will appear before the Chief Magistrate.
During the bail application, Hugh highlighted that Adams has since admitted to ownership of the narcotic, while Smith said he had nothing to do with the drug. The Attorney argued that the men are charged under the wrong section of the narcotic act. In explaining this, Hugh informed the court that his clients should have been charged for narcotic trafficking, instead of conspiracy to traffic a narcotic.
He affirmed that if Adams was charged for drug trafficking he would have pleaded guilty.
However, the lawyer’s bail application was opposed by the prosecution, led by Police Corporal Bharrat Mangru. He argued that the special reasons put forward by the Attorney were not sufficient for the court to consider bail. Mangru said that the police are in possession of a caution statement given by Adams.
Mangru pointed out that in the statement Adams admitted to having knowledge and ownership of the cocaine. The prosecutor also informed the court that Adams confessed to the police that he had swallowed 27 of the cocaine-laced pellets.
The court was told that the man was hospitalized at the Woodlands Hospital, where he excreted the pellets.
In concluding, Mangru added that the Director of Public Prosecutions (DPP) advised that the men be charged with conspiracy to traffic the drug.
Kaieteur News had earlier reported that the two men were busted at the hotel by ranks of the Customs Anti-Narcotics Unit(CANU) hours before they were scheduled to board a flight destined for New York’s JFK Airport.
It was reported that when CANU swooped down on the hotel, some of the guests who had gone there for their entertainment panicked. They thought that the hotel was being attacked by bandits.

Drug smuggling in full swing under this government as we see for every one of these caught another 10 get through unscathed.  Collusion among the afc/apnu operatives at the airport makes the trafficking of drugs possible. One would ask how come this woman got past security if collusion was not in place?

Ask your relatives dat question nuh. Actually, ask them how they went about it so I can pass it over to my family who has done numerous busts.
This way we can read about more being busted.

Ask your relatives dat question nuh. Actually, ask them how they went about it so I can pass it over to my family who has done numerous busts.
This way we can read about more being busted.

Cain, grow up, you were vocal about "ppp drug runnings" while they were in power. Now the shoes on the other foot you don't want to give jack his jacket and call the afc/apnu accountable. 

The killings continue, why are the afc/apnu not crying about phantoms these days?

Home > NEWS > Festival City man shot dead
‘KILLED’: 37-year-old Christopher Wharton

Festival City man shot dead

FESTIVAL City was plunged into mourning on Wednesday evening as a man who is described by many as a “loving father” was executed in cold blood by two gun-toting young men.37-year-old Christopher Wharton was sitting at home with his five-year-old son, Nashan Wharton, when two men approached his home and shouted for him.
Video footage acquired from the scene last evening show the two men approaching Wharton, and a scuffle ensuing between him and one of the gunmen.

The scuffle ended with the gunman being thrown to the yard after which he whipped out the firearm and began shooting.

The gunman fired several shots at Wharton while he was still on the steps. After Wharton fell off the stairs, the man stood over his body and continued to shoot.

From the video, it appears that Wharton was shot several times at close range.
After shooting Wharton, the gunmen then reportedly fired two more shots in the air to ward off onlookers before making their escape on a bicycle.

According to neighbours, they heard a burst of several shots after which they heard Wharton shouting for helping and saying “they shoot me.”

Reports indicate that the first bout of gunfire took place sometime around 17:00hrs and the second bout was less than 30 seconds later.

Neighbours responded immediately and assisted in taking the shot man to the Georgetown Public Hospital where he was admitted.

It is understood that the two men, whose names have been given, are known to persons in the community.

Persons at the scene late last evening described Wharton as a loving father who was all for his son.

They stated that the man took custody of his son some months ago and since then has been all for his son.

According to one man, even while assistance was being rendered to Wharton, he was asking about his son and whether he was injured or not.

The 37-year-old man was then taken to the hospital where he died while receiving treatment.

SON SHOT
The drama did not end there however, as a few hours after news of the man’s death spread, his son began to complain of a pain to his leg.

Investigation by his guardians led to the boy saying that he was shot. The lad was taken to the GPHC where he was admitted and is being treated.

The afc/apnu operatives in CANU let the big guns go and brag about busting small fries.

St. Lucian women busted with ‘coke in poke’

NOVEMBER 19, 2015 | BY  | FILED UNDER NEWS 

The Customs Anti-Narcotics Unit seems to be on top of cocaine smuggling out of Guyana. Over the past few weeks its officers have been nabbing just about everybody who attempts to smuggle cocaine.
Such has been the efficiency that some people are questioning the passage of hairdresser, 26-year-old Shureen Giddings on November 9, last. This woman had 105 cocaine pellets in her stomach weighing some three pounds.
Yesterday, CANU ranks busted two St Lucian women, age 38 and 44, with just over two pounds of cocaine between them.
The women were transporting the cocaine in their vaginas. The women had already checked in at the Cheddi Jagan International Airport en route to their native St. Lucia.
A source close to the bust said that the women were fingered just after CANU arrested two men in Alpha Hotel, Ogle, East Coast Demerara, with a quantity of cocaine.
They are in police custody and should be appearing in court today.
One CANU official said that his organization has the inside track on cocaine smuggling in Guyana.
“Nothing moves without CANU knowing,” he said.

Police continue to go after soft targets, like a teen aborted fetus rather than the killers and robbers of Indians.

Teen arrested after burying foetus in yard

Police yesterday discovered a five-month-old fetus buried in a yard at La Bonne Intention, East Coast Demerara (ECD).
The mother- a teenager has been arrested and is assisting with the investigation.

The hole the foetus was buried in.

The 17-year-old reportedly told police that she drank a pill to abort the fetus in August last, but she only passed the baby late last week at the Georgetown Public Hospital Corporation (GPHC).
The teen alleged that the hospital staff handed over the fetus to her and told her to bury it without giving her any documentation.
Police are still to check the GPHC to confirm the teenager’s story.
Meanwhile, a source from the hospital said that for the parents to be handed over an infant, it has to be fully developed.
Also, it is customary that a social worker be assigned to the case.
“I don’t know of anything like that… It would go through the mortuary and a social worker will have to work with the parents. There are certain paper works that has to be completed,” the source said.
The source stressed that no foetus was handed to anyone by the GPHC.
According to information received, the teenager lived with her mother at La Bonne Intention. The landlord reportedly gave the teen’s mother notice to move. When the woman refused to move from the property, the landlord moved to the courts to have her evicted.
Yesterday, this newspaper was told that when a bailiff and a police rank went to the location to ensure that the woman move from the property, neighbours informed the policeman that the teen was pregnant and they suspected that she buried the fetus in the yard since her “high” belly disappeared.
Upon further investigation, ranks discovered the foetus’ remains buried in the front of the yard.
The teen was subsequently taken into custody.
The 17-year-old could be charged with concealment of pregnancy if ranks cannot verify her story.

Knifeplay, shots fired during drinking session at Black Bush Polder

The police are investigating a shooting incident which occurred at Johanna, Black Bush Polder and involving a number of persons.
According to information around 19:30 hrs on Tuesday, three men were drinking when a misunderstanding arose over some inappropriate action by one of the men toward a female relative of another of the men.
The action led to an altercation and a subsequent shooting incident between some of the persons involved.
Information revealed that Toolsieram Rampersaud, 55, a rice farmer of Lot 82 South Black Bush Polder; Omadat Etwaroo, 32, a businessman of Lot 9 Corriverton, Corentyne, Berbice; and Komal Matthews, 23, a rice farmer of Lot 32 South Mibicuri, were drinking at a canteen at Johanna, Black Bush Polder.
About 19:00 hrs Rampersaud’s daughter, Tanuga Victor, 35, a housewife of Lot 74 Johanna, Black Bush Polder, and the man’s grandson, Doodnauth Victor, 17, a labourer of Lot 82 Johanna, Black Bush Polder came in search of him.
It is alleged that Etwaroo came behind the woman, held her hands and made a vulgar proposition.
Doodnauth upon seeing what went on whipped out a knife and cut Etwaroo’s right hand, partly severing his right thumb. He also stabbed the man to his left arm.
Rampersaud then left with his daughter and grandson for home. The two other men Matthews and Etwaroo then boarded a car and went to Rampersaud’s home, where they were greeted by gun fire from Rampersaud and Doodnauth who were armed with a shotgun and handgun. The men were forced to flee.
The police were informed and went to the scene where six empty cartridges were retrieved from Rampersaud’s yard. A pump action shotgun and a hand gun, 10 live cartridges, 44 live matching rounds along with firearm licences were collected by the police.
Rampersaud and Doodnauth Victor were arrested and placed in custody while Etwaroo was admitted as a patient at the Skeldon Hospital.
Investigations are continuing.

Event the gay afc/apnu supporters are not immune from the onslaught as afc/apnu operatives seek to improve their lives by robbing and killing. There bosses got 50% increase and told the underlings to fend for themselves.

Berbice gay rights activist robbed at gunpoint

…but crime not spiralling out of control – Crime Chief
Director of the Guyana Sex Work Coalition’s One Love Movement, Miriam Edwards was on Tuesday evening robbed in

President David Granger addressing the media on Wednesday

A traumatised Miriam Edwards

her home at gunpoint by a lone gunman, who escaped with a quantity of jewellery and other items.
According to information, the gunman entered the yard of Edwards’ home located at Lot 896 Fort Ordinance Housing Scheme, Berbice, about 20:15h.
At that time she was sitting on the veranda and thought he was a neighbour’s grandson and as such enquired what he wanted.
The bandit reportedly gave a faint response, but soon after whipped out a gun and ordered Edwards into the house where he instructed her to stay quiet.
The gunman then demanded that she hand over all her valuables and out of fear she handed over six gold rings, a gold chain along with her mobile phone.
At the time of the robbery, two of Edwards’s children were at home, but were unaware of what was happening. The young man then left and joined an accomplice, who was waiting on a pedal cycle. The Police were called in and an investigation was launched.
Speaking with Guyana Times on Wednesday, Edwards recounted that after taking what he wanted, the gunman, who appeared to be in his teens, calmly walked out of her yard, got on his accomplice’s pedal cycle and they rode off.
It was after they left, she alerted her children about what happened and contacted the Police. She said she did not raise an alarm right away because she was fearful that the gunman might have injured her children.
The traumatised woman was taken to the New Amsterdam Hospital where she was treated and sent away.
Edwards told this publication that the Police were quick to respond but expressed some concerns about the length of time she had to wait at the Central Police Station in New Amsterdam for the report to be taken.

Not spiralling out of control
This is another robbery that came on the heels of Police refuting claims that serious crimes was not spiralling out of control.
As a matter of fact, in a release issued on Wednesday, Head of the Criminal Investigations Department, Wendell Blanhum stated that based on statistics and other data, crime is not on the increase. He had stated that the serious crimes statistics indicated there was an eight per cent increase for the period January 1, 2015 to October 31, 2015, when compared to the same period in 2014; and for the same period in 2013, an increase of 0.2 per cent.
The Police stated that notwithstanding the eight per cent increase this year, there were significant efforts by law enforcement in the apprehension and prosecution of several high-profile criminal groups.
The Guyana Police Force also stated that in the recent instances when the Guyana Defence Force was called out in support of the Police, it was with the aim of giving reassurance to the members of the public and boosting their confidence, and not because the Police were overwhelmed by the crime situation.

Teen on attempted murder charge

– Screwdriver still stuck in victim’s neck – Prosecutor

A young mason was on Thursday remanded to prison by Magistrate Judy Latchman charged with attempted murder.

Akeem Dazzel, 18, of Lot 173 Campbell Street, Albouystown, Georgetown, was not required to plead to the indictable charge, which stated that on 15 November at James Street, Albouystown, he unlawfully and maliciously wounded Jamal Nicholas, with intent to commit murder.

The details surrounding the charge were not revealed in Court however, Defence Attorney Clive Forde alleged that on the day in question his client was attacked by a group of young men while walking home and acted in self-defence. He stated that Dazzel was injured on multiple parts of his body during the scuffle.

Police Prosecutor Kerry Bostvick revealed that the VC is still hospitalized, adding that the screwdriver is still lodged in his neck.

As such bail application was denied and the teen remanded.

The case will continue on December