I had done a thread when I had first replanted Conversation Tree, a little more than two years ago, after my dad died, but I cannot find it.  My dad had replaced the one that died, and I in turn have been upkeeping the tradition.

Here is the newspaper article today:

Gerhard Ramsaroop, with the permission of City Hall and the City Engineer, has replanted a tree at the Conversation Tree junction. Ramsaroop says he has used two Jacaranda, plaited together in the event that if one gets injured the other will survive. He said three reflectors were put up on each side, but one has already been removed. Nonetheless, he plans to replace it add additional ones on each side of the grill, which has been sprayed with a reflective spray. [Photo by Arian Browne)

Gerhard Ramsaroop, with the permission of City Hall and the City Engineer, has replanted a tree at the Conversation Tree junction. Ramsaroop says he has used two Jacaranda, plaited together in the event that if one gets injured the other will survive. He said three reflectors were put up on each side, but one has already been removed. Nonetheless, he plans to replace it add additional ones on each side of the grill, which has been sprayed with a reflective spray. (Photo by Arian Browne)

And here are some more pictures:

Wife was the background carpenter and picturetekkerouter

I will be doing some more work on it tomorrow, and will post those pics as well.

Here's the problem, the tree is too small. Nurture the tree until it is 6ft tall then plant. In the US they plant trees up to 20 ft tall. At 6ft the chances of survival will be much greater. Also did you take out the requisite permits to plant a tree on govt property or is this typical AFC civil disobedience?

Here is the newspaper article, as posted above:

Gerhard Ramsaroop, with the permission of City Hall and the City Engineer, has replanted a tree at the Conversation Tree junction. Ramsaroop says he has used two Jacaranda, plaited together in the event that if one gets injured the other will survive. He said three reflectors were put up on each side, but one has already been removed. Nonetheless, he plans to replace it add additional ones on each side of the grill, which has been sprayed with a reflective spray. (Photo by Arian Browne)

I had another larger tree set, but it was stolen, and so, in the interest of time, I planted this smaller one.  I am, however, setting them in stages at the farm so I can keep replacing them until one makes it.

Originally Posted by alena06:

How did the tree get it's name? 

Please see Ralph Ramkarran: http://conversationtree.gy/about-this-site/

The Conversation Tree has given its name to the road from which it originates at the intersection of the Rupert Craig Highway. It was reputedly first planted by Napleton William King in 1876 to celebrate the birth of his son Napleton Walter.

The late Ms. Dorothy ‘Bunny’ King suggested that the name may have come about as a result of the villagers practice of gathering there to chat from time to time.

Originally Posted by Gerhard Ramsaroop:
Originally Posted by alena06:

How did the tree get it's name? 

Please see Ralph Ramkarran: http://conversationtree.gy/about-this-site/

The Conversation Tree has given its name to the road from which it originates at the intersection of the Rupert Craig Highway. It was reputedly first planted by Napleton William King in 1876 to celebrate the birth of his son Napleton Walter.

The late Ms. Dorothy ‘Bunny’ King suggested that the name may have come about as a result of the villagers practice of gathering there to chat from time to time.

Good job Gerhard. You are a good man. We may disagree politically but we must also recognize a good deed. Planting a tree fits that category.

Here's the problem, the tree is too small. Nurture the tree until it is 6ft tall then plant. In the US they plant trees up to 20 ft tall. At 6ft the chances of survival will be much greater. Also did you take out the requisite permits to plant a tree on govt property or is this typical AFC civil disobedience?

Gerhard.....how Sparrow know Big Seed always wearing eee Poom Poom Shorts

xxxxxx

Originally Posted by Sunil:

Sorry to hear the tree keeps dying.I remember sheltering under the tree as a kid on my way to QC in the mornings.

It keeps getting knocked down by crazy drivers, Sunil. Unfortunately, in Guyana, for around US$250 pretty much anyone can buy an official drivers licence...

Boyo was an Electrical engineer.He should have taught you how to put up an an electrical fence

Originally Posted by Bash:
Originally Posted by Sunil:

Sorry to hear the tree keeps dying.I remember sheltering under the tree as a kid on my way to QC in the mornings.

It keeps getting knocked down by crazy drivers, Sunil. Unfortunately, in Guyana, for around US$250 pretty much anyone can buy an official drivers licence...

Boyo was an Electrical engineer.He should have taught you how to put up an an electrical fence

Putting metal was a last resort, as I am afraid of people hurting themselves, and that's why I had the wooden fence up for so long, constantly repairing it.  But that was not sustainable.  However, I have now put a wide concrete barrier a little distance from the grill, with embedded reflectors being installed later today or tomorrow, so that should greatly reduce the chance of a head on hit.  I'll post pics when it is all done.

In fact, a lot of you who are old enough will agree, the conversation tree was a bad omen for many persons. So it is suitable that an AFC supporter is perpetuating its evil memory. Many people met their death at this intersection as the tree would block the vision of motorists. Also it was a haven for bandits hiding to pounce on unsuspecting cyclists.  No good will come of this tree, it should be destroyed as it will forever be haunted by the souls who lost their lives there. 

For once, can't you just put aside the politics?  Conversation Tree was never a massive tree that bandits could have hidden behind - at least not in my memory spanning over 30 years - it was always thin and windswept because of the location.  Junctions, generally see the bulk of accidents, and given the size of the tree, I seriously doubt the tree itself was the source of the accidents.  If it is was such a bad thing, why has it been around for 136 years?  Or is it now only a problem because of your political differences with me?

Originally Posted by imo:

EVERYONE ONE CAN GO SCREW THEM SELF PACK OF LOOSERS, SCUM BAG, ANTI MAN

Dem Jagabat Homan like fight bhai......

Canary seh Dem like Dr B 3rd Hand Injection......

Bai Jalil it look like when u barn you come out a you moma behind, you are such a dumbo but u did barn from a alcoholic father so u was already intoxicated

A canary look like you patacake face yo antiman

EVERYONE ONE CAN GO SCREW THEM SELF PACK OF LOOSERS, SCUM BAG, ANTI MAN

Dem Jagabat Homan like fight bhai......

Canary seh Dem like Dr B 3rd Hand Injection......

Bai Jalil it look like when u barn you come out a you moma behind, you are such a dumbo but u did barn from a alcoholic father so u was already intoxicated

A canary look like you patacake face yo antiman

Jagabat Ladies dressup in poom poom shorts

Rev.....yuh right bhai...

Dis gon be a good fight,

Both dressed in Poom Poom Shorts,

Both love Dr B injection.

Lord Canary seh den fight hard....

and  love teking it with a smile.

Finally finished yesterday with the barrier and reflectors.  

The following comments are wife's accompanying the pictures on facebook - https://www.facebook.com/media...421706607&type=1

Jonathan doing quality control check.

"Dada, will Aja be happy with us?"

Thank you for the caption Roseann Collymore. "Daddy, why do we have to repair this so often?"

STOP!!!! Said the light behind us, so we stood there until it turned green.

Tender loving care...and a few words of encouragement...and it will surely grow to be a lovely tree!

Shade Cloth to protect the tree from the wind.

Look at dis insensitive Auntyman!

I don't believe it is good karma for a divisive political figure with blood on his hands(Linden) to be planting a tree on public property even if he gets a permit. I hope the tree dies given the history of deaths and robberies on this corner.  But I believe that Gerhard just use this planting as a photo op to further his own political fortunes. I would prefer an impartial person to plant the tree if it must be planted but really there should be no tree there as it is a traffic hazard. 

Originally Posted by Observer:

Gurd, Gerry and friends will pounce on you with their bloody hands.  

They just might, they have already made threats, but note how the man shamelessly put his son in the photograph. He should keep his family out of politics. 

Just look at dis cowdaag hey! Can't even restrain his inner chammar for a moment.