Originally Posted by Dondadda:
.. Give Jack their jacket.

Yes.  Gold, remittances, drugs and money laundering.

I assess the PPP by projects that they are involved in.  Amaila Falls.  Specialty Hospital.  Providence stadium. White elephant terminal building anticipating that EIGHT Caribbean Airlines planes will land at the same time   Then there is the Berbice Bridge, and the Skeldon factory and Marriott.

All filled with rampant stories of corruption and cronyism which would make Putin and his Russian oligarchs know that Jagdeo put his Russian training to good use.

I assess the PPP by projects that they are involved in.  Amaila Falls.  Specialty Hospital.  Providence stadium. White elephant terminal building anticipating that EIGHT Caribbean Airlines planes will land at the same time   Then there is the Berbice Bridge, and the Skeldon factory and Marriott.

All filled with rampant stories of corruption and cronyism which would make Putin and his Russian oligarchs know that Jagdeo put his Russian training to good use.

Yuh right bai. I can't believe that even after nearly 23 years Guyana look worse than it did when I left.

Originally Posted by ksazma:

Yuh right bai. I can't believe that even after nearly 23 years Guyana look worse than it did when I left.

Tell you what.  23 years later Guyana remains at the bottom if any index of socio economic development in the English speaking Caribbean.  How come if the PPP is so wonderful.  I mean aside from Trinidad and Jamaica, we are talking about coral reefs and volcanic peaks, with no real resources. 

Irrelevant what Guyana is doing in relation to other countries. Their circumstances aren't the same. It had to pull itself from the grave starting in 1992. It has developed although you don't care to acknowledge it. Some people in Guyana takes more vacations than some of us here. Vacations to places like New York. Some New Yorkers can't even afford to go to Orlando. Ask Nehru.
Irrelevant what Guyana is doing in relation to other countries. Their circumstances aren't the same. It had to pull itself from the grave starting in 1992. It has developed although you don't care to acknowledge it. Some people in Guyana takes more vacations than some of us here. Vacations to places like New York. Some New Yorkers can't even affor
Bhai, Carib Beer has one , and that is to live to see an Indian not being Ptresident of Guyana.
But seriously I have relatives coming twice per year, their working Children once per year to AMERICA for Vacation.  I cant afford to go to Guyana with my Family. Subway Fare gone up dis marnin, I had to beg meh neighba fuh lend me wan babb  to get the train.
Irrelevant what Guyana is doing in relation to other countries. Their circumstances aren't the same. It had to pull itself from the grave starting in 1992. It has developed although you don't care to acknowledge it. Some people in Guyana takes more vacations than some of us here. Vacations to places like New York. Some New Yorkers can't even afford to go to Orlando. Ask Nehru.

Some countries have had to shut down their main industries.  Guyana hasn't. Despite that they still remain better off, and thousands of Guyanese fleeing to those islands is proof.   So yes it is true that circumstances differ. 

Name the island.  Trinidad, Grenada, St Vincent, Barbados, St Lucia, Antigua, St Kitts Nevis.  What do they all have in common.  THOUSANDS of Guyanese living within the borders and with the highest numbers arriving AFTER 2000.  

The Guyana population FELL between 2002 and 2012.  The US embassy says migration to the USA DECLINED in that period.  So obviously large numbers of Guyanese headed to those islands, and others like St Maarten and Tortola. EVEN to volcano plagued Montserrat.

Why are conditions in Nevis so  good to attract Guyanese?  How come Guyanese living on Leguan even HEARD of an island called Nevis?

Guyana comes last in CXC results when one looks at the AVERAGE performance.  The kids taking CXC were not even born during the PNC era.  The bulk of their education occurred long after the PPP was installed.  So what's your excuse?

Note that the best Guyanese teachers have been fleeing to other CARICOM nations, and this movement has continued since PPP rule.  NONE have returned.

Over 85% of the nurses recently FAILED their exams.  Low quality instruction, and poor primary and secondary education was blamed.  These are the products of the PPPs educational policy.  Instruction levels are poor because the best nurses are in Barbados, Trinidad and Antigua!  Some even flocking to Jamaica!

Quite using the Burnham jumbie for the FAILURES of the PPP.

Irrelevant what Guyana is doing in relation to other countries. Their circumstances aren't the same. It had to pull itself from the grave starting in 1992. It has developed although you don't care to acknowledge it. Some people in Guyana takes more vacations than some of us here. Vacations to places like New York. Some New Yorkers can't even affor
Bhai, Carib Beer has one , and that is to live to see an Indian not being Ptresident of Guyana.
But seriously I have relatives coming twice per year, their working Children once per year to AMERICA for Vacation.  I cant afford to go to Guyana with my Family. Subway Fare gone up dis marnin, I had to beg meh neighba fuh lend me wan babb  to get the train.

Guyanese people really wutliss. I heard that back in the 80's, Guyanese used to use babbs as subway tokens.

Some countries have had to shut down their main industries.  Guyana hasn't. Despite that they still remain better off, and thousands of Guyanese fleeing to those islands is proof.   So yes it is true that circumstances differ. 

Name the island.  Trinidad, Grenada, St Vincent, Barbados, St Lucia, Antigua, St Kitts Nevis.  What do they all have in common.  THOUSANDS of Guyanese living within the borders and with the highest numbers arriving AFTER 2000.  

The Guyana population FELL between 2002 and 2012.  The US embassy says migration to the USA DECLINED in that period.  So obviously large numbers of Guyanese headed to those islands, and others like St Maarten and Tortola. EVEN to volcano plagued Montserrat.

Why are conditions in Nevis so  good to attract Guyanese?  How come Guyanese living on Leguan even HEARD of an island called Nevis?

Guyana comes last in CXC results when one looks at the AVERAGE performance.  The kids taking CXC were not even born during the PNC era.  The bulk of their education occurred long after the PPP was installed.  So what's your excuse?

Note that the best Guyanese teachers have been fleeing to other CARICOM nations, and this movement has continued since PPP rule.  NONE have returned.

Over 85% of the nurses recently FAILED their exams.  Low quality instruction, and poor primary and secondary education was blamed.  These are the products of the PPPs educational policy.  Instruction levels are poor because the best nurses are in Barbados, Trinidad and Antigua!  Some even flocking to Jamaica!

Quite using the Burnham jumbie for the FAILURES of the PPP.

Yeah bai. Guyana comes last in CXC exams. Some of those middle teens passing over 20 subjects. When did you or I ever took anywhere near half of those subjects when we were middle teens. I worry about anyone who would buy your doom and gloom drumming.

You do know that in order to gauge how well an educational system is you don't look at how 20 kids do, many no doubt because of the thousands which their parents lavish on private lessons, but how the AVERAGE kid does.

Guyana AVERAGE CXC performance in English and Math is WAY BEHIND the performance of other nations which take that exam.  This isn't gloom and doom this is a FACT.  One which the NYC public schools are aware of when they see the deplorable state of many kids just arrived from Guyana.  Check with Una Clarke, a former city council person whose forte is education.

HAhahahahaha   HEHEHEHEHEHEHEHEH   GUYANA GONE FUH CHANNA

Originally Posted by Brian Teekah:
.  But Granger is no danger, he is the new DESMOND PERSAUD.

APNU will definitely not get its full turn out of Granger is the new  Desmond Persaud.

I know Guyanese live in isolated silos so do not have an appreciation of the facts but APNU AFC will need at least 80% of its votes from APNU.  APNU needs to approach the levels of votes which it got in 2001, because we all know that the PPP will try their best to commit fraud. 

If Granger is the new "Desi Persaud" many PNC supporters will simply not vote.  Note what happened in 2006 when they thought that Corbin was selling out to Indians (Jagdeo).  The PPP won 54%, even though their votes fell significantly.

The AFC Nagamootoo faction really need to emerge from their PPP cocoon and stop taking black people for granted.

APNU AFC will have to demonstrate that they will be FAIR to ALL Guyanese, without regard to race, religion, social class or geographic location.  If Granger is the new "Desi Persaud", or Nagamootoo is seen as "selling out to black man", and Amerindians think that they wil remain the "forgotten CHILDREN of the forest," the PPP wins.  Its that simple.

Do NOT make remarks like that again.

So who winning this time Carib?

Another thread you say PPP on their way down, now you think they gonna win because a man say something. Banna look yeh, APNU/AFC 53% the 47% split among the rest.

Did I say the PPP will win?   Or did I say that they would lose badly? 

IMHO it will be a very close election. Many who now cuss out the PPP will panic before they cast their ballot and will vote for the CUP, and cuss themselves for being so cowardly.  So the PPP is not going to lose badly.

But the fact that the PPP is resorting to ethnic panic will weaken their appeal in Amerindian areas, and also among other non Indians who have voted for them in the past.

Seriously no one knows what is going to happen.  This is not the usual Indian vs. African/mixed election.  This is a pro PPP vs. anti PPP election.  Guyana has not seen an election like this since 1953.

This is why Nagamootoo AFC supporters cannot run around and say things like Granger is Desi Persaud.  If they do then those who fear that Nagamootoo got too much will think that Granger is weak and that he will be a sell out, so they will stay home...maybe a few giving Benschop some protest votes.

Similarly Nagamootoo has his own home work given alienated PPP supporters the confidence that he will not sell them out to the PNC.

So while many Guyanese are planning to vote based on their attitudes towards the PPP, underlying ethnic insecurity is still a factor.  So both the PNC extremists and the Nagamootoo AFC insensitive people can hand the election over to the PPP simply by saying the wrong thing.

So both the PNC extremists and the Nagamootoo AFC insensitive people can hand the election over to the PPP simply by saying the wrong thing

I noticed they both are tripping over themselves to say stupid upon stupid things.

I'm sure have leading PNC social media types praising the PNC for handing out houselots wid every coolie homan is not the best strategy for an already paranoid and shrinking ethnic population. Especially when that paranoia is quite justified.

So both the PNC extremists and the Nagamootoo AFC insensitive people can hand the election over to the PPP simply by saying the wrong thing

I noticed they both are tripping over themselves to say stupid upon stupid things.

I'm sure have leading PNC social media types praising the PNC for handing out houselots wid every coolie homan is not the best strategy for an already paranoid and shrinking ethnic population. Especially when that paranoia is quite justified.

Except that the particular comment which offends you is benign.  There are those who believe that if all Guyanese became mixed then we would solve our problems.  Well I have been to Brazil, venezuela and the DR and they have their problems, except that it is skin color, and not ethnic identity, which excludes.

An offensive African attitude will be one premised on the notion (which the PPP is trying to attribute to Crum Ewing) that the only "good" Indian is a dead one, so none of them (including Nagamootoo) can be trusted. 

This will be the equivalent of a "Granger Persaud" handing out all the goodies to Indians, and leaving the blacks excluded, which is what the term "Desmond Persaud" implied.

sick bastard!

where in gawd's name is the PNC "handing out houselots wid every coolie homan"??

why is reality never enuf for the febrile race cultists on this BB?

sick bastard!

where in gawd's name is the PNC "handing out houselots wid every coolie homan"??

The operative word is SOCIAL MEDIA TYPES, not the PNC as an organization. 

His reference isnt to the PNC leadership, but it is to a few of their rather naive supporters, who do not understand that ethnic identity among Indians is different than it is among blacks.  So such statements can be distorted and made to look like an advocacy for some sort of Indian Holocaust, which is actually the OPPOSITE of their intent.

sick bastard!

His reference isnt to the PNC leadership, but it is to a few of their rather naive supporters, who do not understand that ethnic identity among Indians is different than it is among blacks.  So such statements can be distorted and made to look like an advocacy for some sort of Indian Holocaust, which is actually the OPPOSITE of their intent.

I thought I was pretty clear and quite fair to the PNC for pointing out the source as PNC Social Media "Types" and not the PNC leadership. I did so for good reason. Thank you for your fairness.

Indians (even the most liberal Indians) are friggin appalled at the idea of us being douglarized out of existence. Talbot may mean it as some benign solution to Guyana's race issue as I'm sure it's a solution to every nation's race issue but Indians like any other relatively closed ethnic group hears extermination and genocide by other means as effective as mass murder without the pesky news reports. Saying this kind of nonsense to Indians is the surest way for us to go back on the PPP plantation because we like being Indian and we celebrate our heritage and want it preserved. Douglarizing us all doan do that.

sick bastard!

I thought I was pretty clear and quite fair to the PNC for pointing out the source as PNC Social Media "Types" and not the PNC leadership. I did so for good reason. Thank you for your fairness.

Indians (even the most liberal Indians) are friggin appalled at the idea of us being douglarized out of existence. Talbot may mean it as some benign solution to Guyana's race issue as I'm sure it's a solution to every nation's race issue but Indians like any other relatively closed ethnic group hears extermination and genocide by other means as effective as mass murder without the pesky news reports. Saying this kind of nonsense to Indians is the surest way for us to go back on the PPP plantation because we like being Indian and we celebrate our heritage and want it preserved. Douglarizing us all doan do that.

When we began our "debates" it was out of a realization that those who are culturally creole (embracing of people of ALL ethnicities who wish to be, inclusive of those with Indian ancestry) have a very different notion of nationhood than do those with a core "Indian" ancestry.

Once we get rid of the PPP and have a government of "National Unity" there will need to eb discourse on this topic.  Until there is there will be endless actions which lead to distrust and tension.  I fully expect that to emerge within the coalition, if it wins. Which is why this conversation will be necessary.

People with good intent will continue to make blunders like those who think that comparing Granger to Desmond "Persaud" doesnt offend, and likewise those who advocate a socially engineered form of "douglarization". Indeed Jay Bharrat called that suggestion "racist", but is now to afraid to explain why when I challeged him on it.

Now however is not the time for that debate as the focus nust be to rid Guyana of the PPP scourge!

You do know that in order to gauge how well an educational system is you don't look at how 20 kids do, many no doubt because of the thousands which their parents lavish on private lessons, but how the AVERAGE kid does.

Guyana AVERAGE CXC performance in English and Math is WAY BEHIND the performance of other nations which take that exam.  This isn't gloom and doom this is a FACT.  One which the NYC public schools are aware of when they see the deplorable state of many kids just arrived from Guyana.  Check with Una Clarke, a former city council person whose forte is education.

If 20 kids can do it, others can also. One can't buy learning. It comes from effort. Most who don't learn are mostly too lazy or irresponsible to do so. Just as one can't buy learning, they can't have it thrust on them so those who don't want to make the effort aren't going to get it. It is not like giving free food to lazy and irresponsible people. My cousin in Toronto just had her two cousins move from Guyana to go to college in Toronto. They were not rich in Guyana and even though they are not yet 17, they have already passed their CXC exams and have entered college in Toronto. So your nonsense is just that. Nonsense.

And I do not think that miscegenation solves anything. It is just a fact of life and folks should be left alone to marry within their group, or not to, as suits their own desires.

Brazil, the most miscegenated country in the world, is a deeply racist nation.  The tensions arent obvious, because of the fallacy that "we are all mixed".  But it is blatantly obvious that there is a heirarchy that places the darkest blacks and the "purest" Amerindians at the bottom, despite the lack of clear ethnic boundaries are identities.

In Guyana the conversation needs to be to examine the root causes of ethnic insecurity, and the development of solutions to mitigate these factors.  A "kumba ya" isnt necessary, but will be inevitable once people begin to feel less insecure.

If 20 kids can do it, others can also. One can't buy learning. It comes from effort. Most who don't learn are mostly too lazy or irresponsible to do so. Just as one can't buy learning, they can't have it thrust on them so those who don't want to make the effort aren't going to get it. It is not like giving free food to lazy and irresponsible people. My cousin in Toronto just had her two cousins move from Guyana to go to college in Toronto. They were not rich in Guyana and even though they are not yet 17, they have already passed their CXC exams and have entered college in Toronto. So your nonsense is just that. Nonsense.

.Are you suggesting that Guyanese kids are lazier than their Caribbean counterparts?  Or are you suggestion that the average Guyanese kid is less exposed to quality education than those in islands like Barbados, St Lucia and St Kitts, where results are much better than those of Guyana?

\

And it is NONSENSE about suing college bound kids as an indication.  There are those who are academically gifted to do well, regardless as to their circumstances, because they are more academicaly inclined.

There is no nation in the world where most people attend college, because most people do not have the academic gifts to do so.  So what do we do with the 70% who dont attend college in the USA, or the 90% who dont in Guyana?  They still need the basics to compete in the job market, and employers as well as UG complain that most of the kids leaving school are not prepared.

sick bastard!

u are a 'useful' idiot!

PNC "handing out houselots wid every coolie homan" is NOT REAL!! smart people tend to properly dispose of such utterings by con men in a garbage bag labeled 'provocation'

so, who are the "leading PNC social media types praising" what Shaitaan is presenting not as the reverie of Mr. Talbot [such as he even exists], but as a fact?

why is reading/comprehension for the allegedly educated this hard?

sick bastard!

u are a 'useful' idiot!

PNC "handing out houselots wid every coolie homan" is NOT REAL!! smart people tend to properly dispose of such utterings by con men in a garbage bag labeled 'provocation'

so, who are the "leading PNC social media types praising" what Shaitaan is presenting not as the reverie of Mr. Talbot [such as he even exists], but as a fact?

In case you didn't get it, the title I chose for the thread was largely in jest.

You are always "on."

I actually thought it was pretty funny. The whole idea. And also I thought I was quite clever in availing myself of the material

Shaitaan clarified his position, and it is as I expected.  So why dont you acknowledge this?

He isnt saying that the PNC plans do so.  He is saying that social engineering, to encourage "douglarization" is seen as threatening by many Indians. 

Clearly offering houselots to couples which include a black man and an Indian woman, is social engineering, and one can even wonder if a couple with an Indian man and a black woman would benefit.  That omission suggests to me that it was the normal "online banter", not to be taken seriously.

sick bastard!

u are a 'useful' idiot!

In case you didn't get it, the title I chose for the thread was largely in jest.

You are always "on."

I actually thought it was pretty funny. The whole idea. And also I thought I was quite clever in availing myself of the material

con man, i am fully aware that the title of the thread was in jest

i only jumped in when, like yugee dem, you concoct a race polemic based on the joke which in the matter of a coupla posts has mysteriously been re-garbed as deadly, existential fact!

this is the "bogus argumentation" that i despise; the sad part is . . . i don't think u can help yourself

Are you suggesting that Guyanese kids are lazier than their Caribbean counterparts?  Or are you suggestion that the average Guyanese kid is less exposed to quality education than those in islands like Barbados, St Lucia and St Kitts, where results are much better than those of Guyana?

I am saying that those who don't benefit from the same education as others who use it are mostly lazy and irresponsible. Can't blame lazy and irresponsible students' behaviors on the government.

And it is NONSENSE about suing college bound kids as an indication.  There are those who are academically gifted to do well, regardless as to their circumstances, because they are more academicaly inclined.

Exactly. Kids who are academically inclined do better than those who are lazy and irresponsible. Kids don't born academically inclined. They get there if they choose to dream big.

There is no nation in the world where most people attend college, because most people do not have the academic gifts to do so.  So what do we do with the 70% who dont attend college in the USA, or the 90% who dont in Guyana?  They still need the basics to compete in the job market, and employers as well as UG complain that most of the kids leaving school are not prepared.

They should pay some attention to their school work so that they can at least survive even if they don't get to go to college. The key in all three parts of your response is that lazy and irresponsible kids shouldn't count on someone else bailing them out of their predicament.

So why don't you say that Guyanese kids are the laziest kids in the Caribbean?

You will of course fail to note that among those teachers in the islands are some of Guyana's best, leaving the bottom of the barrel in Guyana.

In fact given that teachers are unimportant why don't you just hand the kids the books and have them study on their own?

So why don't you say that Guyanese kids are the laziest kids in the Caribbean?

Not all. The ones who are not lazy or irresponsible do well passing many more subjects than you and I ever dreamed of doing. No government can help make the lazy and irresponsible ones learn. Not even in the great USA. It is not the same as giving people free food.

You will of course fail to note that among those teachers in the islands are some of Guyana's best, leaving the bottom of the barrel in Guyana.

This has been happening since the 70's. My sister as a student of Central had to teach herself Bio, Phys and Chem for her O'Levels. And she passed all three with better than good grades. 

In fact given that teachers are unimportant why don't you just hand the kids the books and have them study on their own?

Just more excuses from the doom and gloom engineer. Bottom line is that lazy and irresponsible kids will not learn as those not lazy and irresponsible. Not even in the great USA with all its resources and stellar governance.

Results for CXC 2014.  Average Math performance 46%...Guyana 28%.  Average English performance 56%....Guyana 46%. 

MOST Guyanese FAIL English, and the math performance is a DISGRACE!

So just say that Guyanese kids are the laziest in the Caribbean.  Not that they are exposed to the lowest quality teaching.

I will also add that in the PPP heartland, Region 6, only 5% have had post secondary education, vs. 13% in Region 4 and 9% in Region 10. In Region 6  33% of the population have no more than primary school education, vs. 14% in region 10.

So according to you Corentyne kids are lazier than those in Linden!  And Guyanese are the laziest in the Caribbean.

Guyana was exhibiting growth rate of 5% and above when the PPP came to power in 92. It had done a complete U turn with an opening up of the society and a freeing up of money. The soviet union was dead, t he economy of the west had recovered and loans were easy. The US even developed a complete HIV recovery plan with wheat for flour.

Guyana still shows an average earning of 3500, among the lowest in the west. That is not a nation with lots of cash for fancy vacation. Amerindians and rural indians still earn 2 dollars a day. Ramotar new call centers left low cost Mexico to locate in Guyana and these facilities are the modern day replacement for the garment factory sweat shops. If they left Mexico for Guyana for labor do you think the are paying six dollars an hour? I am sure it is six per day!

You are a bean counter so you know what it means to have no producing assets, and already owes 100 percent of GDP, has no reserves and has to borrow to do anything and the loan sharks is China. We are hell bent on a road to economic serfdom to the Chinese. It is a complete illusion that we are on the fast track to prosperity. Add the penalty of corruption ( it is a tax) and mismanagement and you have a recipe for continued impoverishment.