Chateau Margot, other East Coast villages flooded after heavy rains

By

Several villages within the Better Hope/La Bonne Intention (LBI) Neighbourhood Democratic Council (NDC) were flooded as a result of heavy rainfall between Wednesday night and yesterday morning.

Students and a teacher with their footwear in their hands manoeuvre through the flooded school yard.

Sections of Chateau Margot, Success and Better Hope South were under water yesterday as a result of the substantial rainfall. When Stabroek News visited Chateau Margot yesterday, the area most affected was the front section of the village.

Students of the Chateau Margot Primary School suffered tremendously as the…to continu

Chateau Margot, other East Coast villages flooded after heavy rains

June 17,2016 Source

Several villages within the Better Hope/La Bonne Intention (LBI) Neighbourhood Democratic Council (NDC) were flooded as a result of heavy rainfall between Wednesday night and yesterday morning.

Sections of Chateau Margot, Success and Better Hope South were under water yesterday as a result of the substantial rainfall. When Stabroek News visited Chateau Margot yesterday, the area most affected was the front section of the village.

Students of the Chateau Margot Primary School suffered tremendously as the water in the school compound was almost knee high and they had to brave the conditions in order to sit the National Grade Four Assessment. After the exams, students and teachers had to remove their footwear and manoeuvre through the flooded yard until they met dry land.

A flooded yard

One resident’s yard was filled with water that was at least two inches in depth and he related that it had risen between yesterday morning and afternoon. The man, who asked not to be named, said that several items such as his generator were under water.

At the time, he was placing sandbags in front of his door to keep water from entering. He said due to the lack of drainage, the

A canal filled with vegetation

low-lying areas are quickly flooded.

Stabroek News also observed that some of the drains were clogged with vegetation.

Chairman of the NDC, Zaman Shaw and overseer Shevon Savory confirmed that they received reports of flooding in the villages and had begun works to clear the drains. The pump at Montrose, which is managed by the Guyana Sugar Corporation, was also pressed into operation.

According to Savory, workers from the Com-munities Infrastructure Improvement Project (CIIP) began working to clear the drains prior to the rains. She added that Asince the flooding, they have received assistance from the Region Four Regional Democratic Council to aid in drainage works.

Savoury highlighted that since she took office three months ago, this is the first time she has experienced a flood in the NDC.

Additionally, Shaw told Stabroek News that they are waiting on the NDC’s budget to be approved. He said they have budgeted to purchase a mini-excavator to assist the NDC in undertaking drainage and irrigation works in the community.

The chairman said the NDC would follow up on the status of the flooded areas and assess if there is a need for emergency works to be undertaken.

So if they have water flooded to their ankles and the current government is called clueless and incompetent, what was the PPP who gave them water to their necks?

It is indeed difficult if not impossible to explain simple things to you.

It's not my fault that your limited vocabulary does not permit you the opportunity to express yourself with even simple things. My sympathies.

So if they have water flooded to their ankles and the current government is called clueless and incompetent, what was the PPP who gave them water to their necks?

It's not my fault that your limited vocabulary does not permit you the opportunity to express yourself with even simple things. My sympathies.

Teaching at Kindergarten level is not my cup of tea. Any volunteers to help the brother???

Wow, I didn't realize it was so bad that you can't even express yourself at a lil ABC level. However, I do admire your frankness in admitting your deficiencies even though it was quite obvious to many of us. Once again my sympathies to not only you but to your entire family.

This is what happens when garbage is dumped into the drains. I have no sympathy for them. People who live in the flood plain should expect this at least twice a year.

Guyana needs a massive "mannerization" project.  People got no manners, they dumping here and there and don't give one shyte!!  Both Blackman and Coolie fully douglarize deh!!

Prince Juno posted:

Guyana is a land of many waters. Salt water, fresh water, black water, mud water, etc. What do you expect?

Cobra,you back with your old handle,suh you are no longer a snake for the time being.

If you are mistaken Prince for someone else, take it up with the administration. You don't know me and I don't know you.

Wow, I didn't realize it was so bad that you can't even express yourself at a lil ABC level. However, I do admire your frankness in admitting your deficiencies even though it was quite obvious to many of us. Once again my sympathies to not only you but to your entire family.

AHOLE, you DUMMY and FILTH(RAW SEWAGE) what my Family has to do with anything. You PUNK ASS  is a BRAINLESS DONKEY!!!!!!!!!!

My sympathies to anyone who has to deal with your handicap, including you.

Prince Juno posted:

Guyana is a land of many waters. Salt water, fresh water, black water, mud water, etc. What do you expect?

Cobra,you back with your old handle,suh you are no longer a snake for the time being.

If you are mistaken Prince for someone else, take it up with the administration. You don't know me and I don't know you.

ok boss wrong identity,sometimes we tend to misplace ID.

AHOLE, you DUMMY and FILTH(RAW SEWAGE) what my Family has to do with anything. You PUNK ASS  is a BRAINLESS DONKEY!!!!!!!!!!

I don't want to see Nehru banned. But I get banned for much more minor stuff. I am wondering what am I doing on GNI?

Did you state FACTS like I did or you were stating nontruths???

Tell YUh friend the wrath of Uncle Nehru is always available when you drag my Family here. Hope he learn his lesson BUt I am not sure he is capable of that.

I am wondering the same thing.

Remember your nursery rhymes from primary school? Try that and you will be safe.

Mr.T posted:

The PPP steal the money and sabotage the pumps so that they can drown a couple of villagers and then blame the government.

Ow me gad! You mean Nehru aunty and uncle from east coast will die by drowning.

ppp PROPA BAD !

Chief, do you remember during the PPP days, when there were floods your PNC buddies blame the PPP? How come the my PPP buddies cannot blame the PNC now? A case of early Dimentia?

Mr.T posted:

The PPP steal the money and sabotage the pumps so that they can drown a couple of villagers and then blame the government.

ppp PROPA BAD !

Chief, do you remember during the PPP days, when there were floods your PNC buddies blame the PPP? How come the my PPP buddies cannot blame the PNC now? A case of early Dimentia?

The two floods are not the same .

Under the PPP residents had to take a poop in their house and then throw it through their window.

PPP was real shitty.

Prince Juno posted:

Pajama pants aka Snake aka Queenie ( Juno is a queen)....who does not know you?

Mr.T posted:

ppp PROPA BAD !

Under the PPP residents had to take a poop in their house and then throw it through their window.

PPP was real shitty.

I realize they are not the same. However, if I am not mistaken, all floods are caused by excessive water. What makes you think people don't throw their shit out their window now and the PNC controlled press is not reporting it or it is being censured?

Danyael posted:
Prince Juno posted:

Pajama pants aka Snake aka Queenie ( Juno is a queen)....who does not know you?

HE GOT CAUGHT WITH HIS PANTS DOWN!

This is what happens when garbage is dumped into the drains. I have no sympathy for them. People who live in the flood plain should expect this at least twice a year.

This is not what you said prior to May 2015. You said it was the PPP fault. Even the 100 year flood was blamed on the PPP. Now take your dhall like a man and own up to the incompetency of your PNC masters. 

Mr.T posted:

ppp PROPA BAD !

PPP was real shitty.

The only thing I would have wished for is you walking under their window!  That would be fitting!