Clerk to advise Speaker on Ramjattan’s MPs bribe allegations

THE Speaker of the National Assembly, Mr. Raphael Trotman, disclosed, Thursday that he is awaiting the advice of the Clerk, Mr. Sherlock Isaacs, as it relates to a call for him to address controversial statements made by Alliance For Change (AFC) leader, Mr. Khemraj Ramjattan.Ramjattan, at a press conference in mid-September, had stated that his party was “reliably informed” that the PPP/C Government, against whom a No-Confidence Motion has been filed, has plans to “buy out” at least three parliamentarians at $30M each to vote against the motion when it comes up for debate next month.

The main Opposition, A Partnership for National Unity (APNU) has denied that this allegation concerns any of their MPs and the AFC holds the same position – a fact that has led to questions about the veracity of Ramjattan’s allegation.

Following the AFC Leader’s assertions, Presidential Adviser on Governance and Government Chief Whip in the National Assembly, Ms. Gail Teixeira, called on Trotman to request that Ramjattan produce evidence to support his allegation, retract his statement, or face the Parliamentary Privileges Committee.

“I was reminded by Ms. Teixeira of her request last evening (Wednesday evening) and I have forwarded the matter to the Clerk for his advice,” Trotman said.

MOVE TO PRIVILEGES COMMITTEE
In a letter to the Speaker, Teixeira stated that failure by Mr. Ramjattan to retract his comments or provide evidence in support of the allegations will result in a move by the Government MPs to call for his referral to the Parliamentary Privileges Committee for besmirching and denigrating the image and integrity of all MPs and the entire National Assembly.

Teixeira said, “I am therefore calling on you, sir, as Speaker, to call on MP (Member of Parliament), Mr. Ramjattan, to publicly retract his statement or provide proof of which Members of Parliament were offered bribes and by whom.”

“…these pronouncements by Mr. Ramjattan should not be treated solely in the realm of “political turf wars” of political parties, which the Government and the PPP are capable of handling, but more importantly, these accusations bring all Members of Parliament in Guyana into disrepute, and, in doing so, damages the image and integrity of the entire Guyanese Legislature, including you, as the Speaker.”

According to her, the Government and the PPP/C Members of Parliament are shocked and very disturbed by public pronouncements at an AFC press conference.

She said, “Mr. Ramjattan was quoted as saying that ‘we have gotten reliable information that the PPP’s answer to the no-confidence motion is not what is said, but at least by buying off three parliamentarians at $30M each to vote no rather than yes, and that’s the only way…and that’s the only option they have.’ He even went on further to say “… but, we can never know, probably the price can jump higher.”

“The Government and the PPP immediately and separately publicly disassociated themselves from these slanderous pronouncements by M.P. Mr. Ramjattan and called on the AFC to provide the evidence of this allegation.”
She pointed out that these comments have portrayed to the world, “in this world of rapid communications,” that Guyanese MPs are “corrupt and buyable” – an image that once created, in Guyana and globally can never be erased.

“It appears that in Mr. Ramjattan’s blind haste to besmirch the Government and the PPP he broadsided the entire Legislature and all Members of Parliament. This, l have no doubt, must have disturbed you as the Speaker of the National Assembly,” Ms. Teixeira said.
Attempts by the Guyana Chronicle to contact Mr. Ramjattan proved futile.

Source: Chronicle

Clerk to advise Speaker on Ramjattan’s MPs bribe allegations

THE Speaker of the National Assembly, Mr. Raphael Trotman, disclosed, Thursday that he is awaiting the advice of the Clerk, Mr. Sherlock Isaacs, as it relates to a call for him to address controversial statements made by Alliance For Change (AFC) leader, Mr. Khemraj Ramjattan.Ramjattan, at a press conference in mid-September, had stated that his party was “reliably informed” that the PPP/C Government, against whom a No-Confidence Motion has been filed, has plans to “buy out” at least three parliamentarians at $30M each to vote against the motion when it comes up for debate next month.

The main Opposition, A Partnership for National Unity (APNU) has denied that this allegation concerns any of their MPs and the AFC holds the same position – a fact that has led to questions about the veracity of Ramjattan’s allegation.

Following the AFC Leader’s assertions, Presidential Adviser on Governance and Government Chief Whip in the National Assembly, Ms. Gail Teixeira, called on Trotman to request that Ramjattan produce evidence to support his allegation, retract his statement, or face the Parliamentary Privileges Committee.

“I was reminded by Ms. Teixeira of her request last evening (Wednesday evening) and I have forwarded the matter to the Clerk for his advice,” Trotman said.

MOVE TO PRIVILEGES COMMITTEE
In a letter to the Speaker, Teixeira stated that failure by Mr. Ramjattan to retract his comments or provide evidence in support of the allegations will result in a move by the Government MPs to call for his referral to the Parliamentary Privileges Committee for besmirching and denigrating the image and integrity of all MPs and the entire National Assembly.

Teixeira said, “I am therefore calling on you, sir, as Speaker, to call on MP (Member of Parliament), Mr. Ramjattan, to publicly retract his statement or provide proof of which Members of Parliament were offered bribes and by whom.”

“…these pronouncements by Mr. Ramjattan should not be treated solely in the realm of “political turf wars” of political parties, which the Government and the PPP are capable of handling, but more importantly, these accusations bring all Members of Parliament in Guyana into disrepute, and, in doing so, damages the image and integrity of the entire Guyanese Legislature, including you, as the Speaker.”

According to her, the Government and the PPP/C Members of Parliament are shocked and very disturbed by public pronouncements at an AFC press conference.

She said, “Mr. Ramjattan was quoted as saying that ‘we have gotten reliable information that the PPP’s answer to the no-confidence motion is not what is said, but at least by buying off three parliamentarians at $30M each to vote no rather than yes, and that’s the only way…and that’s the only option they have.’ He even went on further to say “… but, we can never know, probably the price can jump higher.”

“The Government and the PPP immediately and separately publicly disassociated themselves from these slanderous pronouncements by M.P. Mr. Ramjattan and called on the AFC to provide the evidence of this allegation.”
She pointed out that these comments have portrayed to the world, “in this world of rapid communications,” that Guyanese MPs are “corrupt and buyable” – an image that once created, in Guyana and globally can never be erased.

“It appears that in Mr. Ramjattan’s blind haste to besmirch the Government and the PPP he broadsided the entire Legislature and all Members of Parliament. This, l have no doubt, must have disturbed you as the Speaker of the National Assembly,” Ms. Teixeira said.
Attempts by the Guyana Chronicle to contact Mr. Ramjattan proved futile.

Source: Chronicle

Come clean Gail, come clean about Anil. He did a hell of a lot more damage than what you have described here. Gail, from one putagee to another, go set yo rass down and stan quiet lil bit now. Is we the peoples turn now.

THE DAMAGE IS DONE

What was said in that article is no where close to the disgusting, filthy mouthed piece of shit for an AG and what he's done.

Cain Bhai, YUh only gat half brain??  The Courts is capable of handling more than one case. Most people except you can do more than one thing at a time. This Topic is dealing with Ramjhaaaaaaaaaaatan. Anil matter has been and is being discusses in detail. Why I am trying to explain to a half brain man.

What was said in that article is no where close to the disgusting, filthy mouthed piece of shit for an AG and what he's done.

Cain Bhai, YUh only gat half brain??  The Courts is capable of handling more than one case. Most people except you can do more than one thing at a time. This Topic is dealing with Ramjhaaaaaaaaaaatan. Anil matter has been and is being discusses in detail. Why I am trying to explain to a half brain man.

You implying that Cain has a twin brother/sister and he /she took the other half of Cain's brain? Is dat true bro?

Go easy on brother Cain, he aint stable.

Gail is a old clath, is time for her to go as well.

Who's her recommended replacement? Amna Ally or Cathy Huges?

Cain, Ramjattan and Nandlall are not my kids to punish them by who committed the bigger mischief. You're mixing fart and shit even though they came out from the same hole. I don't need more drama in my life, so let's stay with Ramjattan for now.

He (Ramjattan) is in a hurry to convene parliament and he will get his day in parliament. He either put up or shut up. That is the first order of business. You get my drift, Rasta?

Gail is a old clath, is time for her to go as well.

Leh Abee destroy Guyana and start ova. Laad Ah Mercy, where did such IDIOTS come from????????

The PPP and Minister Windseed is already doing a good job of destroying the country.

All yuh low breed too daft to recognize that.

Ramjattan has to explain which three of APNU MP's love silver? Granger don't like the sound of this a all.

Sperm Placement Minister loves silver. All yuh low breed worship dat kinda thiefman behavior though it is part of your DNA and culture.

Ramjattan has to explain which three of APNU MP's love silver? Granger don't like the sound of this a all.

Sperm Placement Minister loves silver. All yuh low breed worship dat kinda thiefman behavior though it is part of your DNA and culture.

You can put lines through all the statements in the world at the end of the day what many of you have to contend with is the fact that a high ranking government minister took tax payers money to place sperm into his wife.

That from any angle is immoral and illegal and as a result he must resign.

You can put lines through all the statements in the world at the end of the day what many of you have to contend with is the fact that a high ranking government minister took tax payers money to place sperm into his wife.

That from any angle is immoral and illegal and as a result he must resign.

Irrelevant. 

It is irrelevant that a ranking Minister of Legal affairs / Attorney general stole tax payers money to pay for sperm placement?

That serpent piss you are distributing must have made its way back into your system.

It is irrelevant that a ranking Minister of Legal affairs / Attorney general stole tax payers money to pay for sperm placement?

That serpent piss you are distributing must have made its way back into your system.

Reread the topic heading.