Clerk insubordinate -Ramjattan

Posted By Staff Writer On October 31, 2014 @ 5:14 am In Local News | No Comments

Leader of the Alliance For Change (AFC), Khemraj Ramjattan has called the Clerk of the National Assembly’s refusal to convene Parliament as requested by the Speaker an act of insubordination.

Speaking to Stabroek News yesterday, Ramjattan said that “at this stage we did not anticipate this because we felt that the argument that the legislative branch is separate from the executive branch should not be compromised by any administrative arrangement by the Clerk.”

Opposition Leader David Granger could not be reached yesterday for comment on Isaacs’ decision.

Ramjattan told Stabroek News that he believed that the Head of the Presiden-tial Secretariat, Dr Roger Luncheon “had a lot to do with this,” in reference to the Clerk, Sherlock Isaacs’ decision to refuse to convene the National Assem-bly at the request of the Speaker of the House, Raphael Trotman.

The leader of the AFC stated that “I understand that they (government) were lobbying him (Isaacs) and they were trying to get at him and persuade him not to hold (the sitting) on (November 6th)”. He continued that there has been “unjustified interference in the legislature by senior executive ranking members.”

Ramjattan noted that “the Clerk in the hierarchy of the National Assembly comes below the Speaker who is the leader of the legislative branch and the Clerk’s position by nomenclature is clerical (and) to do the clerical matters to ensure that the legislative branch gets its operational matters in place.”

He said that the Speaker’s authority to set a date for Parliament under Standing Order 8(2) was affirmed by former Speaker of the House, Ralph Ramkarran as well as Trotman. “To not go and set this date … and (defying) the legal opinion of three speakers is in my book insubordination,” he said.

Khemraj Ramjattan

Ramjattan stated that the Clerk has the responsibility to work under the instruction of the Speaker. “The instruction by the Speaker, how would that be different than the Prime Minister would say to him to set the date? The Standing Order 8(2) is saying that the Speaker can set the date just like the Prime Minister could.”

He called the clerk’s decision irresponsible given the political climate. Ramjattan said that while going forward was a wait-and-see process the Speaker had options. He said that while the Clerk was not acting there was nothing preventing the Speaker from rallying ranks underneath the Clerk and requesting they execute his instructions.

“It could be the Speaker could get the deputy or staff members to execute ihis instruction by sending them to buy the airfare for MPs, out of town… because something has to be done,” the AFC leader stated.

When questioned on the Speaker’s decision to accept the Clerk’s interpretation although it differed from his own, Ramjattan stated that he did not wish to comment on that matter.

If Trotman circumvents the Clerk’s interpretation of the Standing Orders, observers say the government could move to the courts.

In a statement issued on Wednesday, Trotman stated that “the effect of the Clerk’s decision not to convene the sitting has the effect of crippling the ability of the Members of Parliament to meet” continuing that “this in itself brings the Constitution into derision and disregard and cannot be what the framers of our Constitution intended.”

Originally Posted by asj:

Dismiss him for insubordination, let him go drink PPP/C soup

Can we some more comedy from Trotman and Ramjatttan for forcing the clerk to convene parliament? The clerk is acting by constitution.

Bhai, The Speaker dont know what the hell is his duties nor responsibilities. One of the BEST Speaker on the Planet.

It is not the Clerks responsibilities or duty to interpret any constitution.

He is a "clerk" who reports to he head of Parliament the speaker. He is not elected he is selected.

clerk is a white-collar worker who conducts general office tasks, or a worker who performs similar sales-related tasks in a retail environment (a retail clerk). The responsibilities of clerical workers commonly include record keeping, filing, staffing service counters and other administrative tasks.[1]

Mr Horsie Man when you moving to guyanan to lead you rebellion?

Jalil called you a liar, Mitwah call you an ahole, Clarissa call you as grasshopper what next?

Sure wasn't you they were referring to

Sure it wasn't you there were referring to as well? nah you are just an old low breed drunk.

It is very clear to me that the Speaker is incompetent. He does not know his job. Under his Speakership, the National Assembly has degenerated into a House of Comedy full of lawlessness.  As a lawyer he does not know how the Constitution. He is as awkward as a cow on ice. He should resign.

Originally Posted by Dondadda:

It is very clear to me that the Speaker is incompetent. He does not know his job. Under his Speakership, the National Assembly has degenerated into a House of Comedy full of lawlessness.  As a lawyer he does not know how the Constitution. He is as awkward as a cow on ice. He should resign.

Talkin bout akward, you checked out your Prez JABBA DA HUT recently?

Originally Posted by Dondadda:

I do not know where he has been lacking. He is the first speaker in our history that had to manage a competitive house. All other speakers contended with the operations according to the majority government rules. No other speaker had to deal with a clerk not taking his orders as he should. This soup drinker is doing grunt duty for the corrupt PPP. Gail could get off her lazy behind and perform her duties as representative of the government a long time ago. The crisis here is artificial as a corrupt regime tries to do an edge run around a no confidence vote.

Mr Horsie_Man Redux how you sound so vex? 

Ask Clarissa and the Honorable Mr. Jalil, dem boys seh cat eatin yuh dinner in NYC true?