May 28, 2016  Source

The Mayor and City Council (M&CC) has announced that it will begin seizing properties for which owners owe millions of dollars in rates.

According to a press release issued by the M&CC yesterday, this will be done as it moves to intensify rate collections.

This comes at a time when there are reports that the council is heavily indebted and is facing difficulties paying staff and companies for providing services.

The campaign, which begins next week, will see Town Clerk Royston King using the assistance of the court to exercise parate execution to collect

outstanding sums owed by defaulting property owners.

“Parate execution is one such remedy that allows the council to seize and sell a property or properties for the rates due, this is articulated in the Municipal and District Councils Act,” the release said.

Recently, after the council was granted judgment in the court against over 14 property owners, a few of them approached the municipality with their lawyers to settle their accounts. However, there are others who have not contacted the council.

The release said that four properties in the city collectively owe the council in excess of $300 million.

It noted that the council has exercised patience with defaulters by granting three months of amnesty during 2015 and a special payment plan was drafted to assist property owners to pay off their debts, but some businesses ignored the plan and did not comply. “This can no longer continue,” the statement added, saying it would be unfair to those citizens who honour their civic obligation to the council in a very timely manner.

The action being taken by the M&CC is a result of property owners’ negligence and it is the only option left to solicit payment of rates, the release said. “The Town Clerk is left with no other alternative but to implement parate execution to collect outstanding sums owed,” it added.

Meanwhile, Public Relations Officer Debra Lewis told this publication that the M&CC is working to ensure that the staff and companies are paid. She confirmed that city council is facing some difficulties but stated that staff who receive wages have been paid and salaries should be paid by Monday.

Stabroek News had reported that the city owes Cevon’s Waste Manage-ment and Puran Brothers Dispoal Inc millions of dollars for services provided.

Trouble in camp they guh start take away people property.

Property owners have a duty by law to pay rates and taxes. Individual householders mostly comply. However, many businessmen who have the ability to pay are recalcitrant. If the City Council is going to seize properties of the non-paying businessmen, it must have the backing of the law/by-laws. I suspect that, with this announcement of impending seizures, the errant businessmen will rush to City Hall with their cheques.

Vote PNC fuh Backball and wine down low, for a Day then look for food in garbage can, get yuh Property taken away. I like a Party that treat its supporters so nice.

Nah pay hey see wha guh happen.

Property owners have a duty by law to pay rates and taxes. Individual householders mostly comply. However, many businessmen who have the ability to pay are recalcitrant. If the City Council is going to seize properties of the non-paying businessmen, it must have the backing of the law/by-laws. I suspect that, with this announcement of impending seizures, the errant businessmen will rush to City Hall with their cheques.

Gill,first they have put a lien on the property and when they don't pay up,property can be put up for sale to recover taxes owed.That's how it is done here plus you pay a hefty interest on the taxes owed.

Vote PNC fuh Backball and wine down low, for a Day then look for food in garbage can, get yuh Property taken away. I like a Party that treat its supporters so nice.

YUH SEEM LIKE A VERY INTELLIGENT CHAP, i HAVE A VERY SIMPLE QUESTION. WHY FOR 23 YEARS THEY DID NOT ENFORCE THIS LAW AND HOLD THE PPP GOVT AT RANSOM YEAR AFTER YEAR FOR BILLIONS IN BAILOUT. Let us keep it simple Bhai

Remember the Mayor during that period is now Chairman and received Guyana's highest award.

Zed posted:

Another question for Django - whose property taxes they wrote off?

Haad question i got no answer fuh duh wan,they had some wheelin and dealing haul them in,damn if he is a big wan then he fall in the "untouchables group"

YUH SEEM LIKE A VERY INTELLIGENT CHAP, i HAVE A VERY SIMPLE QUESTION. WHY FOR 23 YEARS THEY DID NOT ENFORCE THIS LAW AND HOLD THE PPP GOVT AT RANSOM YEAR AFTER YEAR FOR BILLIONS IN BAILOUT. Let us keep it simple Bhai

Remember the Mayor during that period is now Chairman and received Guyana's highest award.

Ok bhai like you forget their power got cut by an implant from the previous Gov't who knows what sort of wheeling and dealing was happening,added to that no LGE ,plus the common traits used by the political parties "DESTABILIZATION" suh tha country a run today "abhe time"and when the other gets in "abee pun tap" and the cycle continues,while the people are the pawns.

Thank you for your honesty, now you will get the GNI Shitheads after you.

You are welcome Bhai,by now most members should know my position with GY politics.

Django, President Granger met with the Mayor and Deputy Mayor less than two weeks ago for a serious talk. I understand that he told them that while central government is willing to help the City Council financially, they must also take responsibility and increase their rates and taxes revenues by more rigorous methods with which the law empowers them. The more rates and taxes collected, the less need for government handouts.

That's the way it should be,on the other hand an assessment should be made  on the economical conditions of the property owners,the rates should be affordable assessment of properties in Guyana may be different than how it is done  where i reside in US,properties are assessed at market value [assessment are done periodically within a few years] tax rate is 70% of assessed property value times mill rate, the mill rate is determined by how much income is needed to manage the town.Basically you have to afford to own a property in the town you choose to reside.That's Capitalism fuh you i like it.