Gas they smuggle in that organisation. They smuggle gold. They want break up we British law. They want give we Saudi style gov. See

====

Ombudsman hands over copies of Arjoon complaint report to Parliament

Posted By Staff Writer On November 23, 2014 @ 5:12 am In Local News | 

The findings of an investigation into a complaint made by former NBS manager Maurice Arjoon will be made public, according to Ombudsman Justice Winston Moore who on Friday delivered copies of the report to the Clerk of the National Assembly.

In a press release sent out on Friday Justice Moore said the copies were delivered for the purpose of laying them before the National Assembly. In an interview, he had informed this newspaper that the Clerk had indicated that he would have to lay over 100 copies of the report for Members of Parliament and the media. It is unclear if the required number of copies were delivered.

With respect to the publishing of the report in the interest of the public, the Ombudsman explained in his press release that “my decision to do so at this time is partly influenced by publication of erroneous statements made about findings supposedly made by me in said report.”

The release added that in taking this step he trusts that persons concerned as well as interested members of the public will “now read the report and see for themselves what I have written.”

Arjoon along with two managers were fired by NBS after they were implicated in the unauthorized withdrawal of $69 million from an account at the financial institution. In January, Arjoon lodged a complained with the Ombudsman and in keeping with his mandate, Justice Moore launched an investigation into a “multiplicity of wrongs done to him.” The Ombudsman’s focus was on persons who Arjoon had implicated.

Justice Moore who recently completed his investigations, stated in his report that he found among other things that the trio suffered a “grave injustice” and that there was insufficient evidence to suggest that the trio was guilty let alone to successfully prosecute them.

Arjoon in his complaint alleged that former president Bharrat Jagdeo, present Minister of Labour Nanda Gopaul, Finance Minister Dr Ashni Singh and Director of Public Prosecutions (DPP) Shalimar Ali-Hack all played a hand in the injustice he suffered and therefore Moore said that he had jurisdiction to probe the complaint.

In a copy of the report seen by Stabroek News, Justice Moore said that having taken into account the statement by Arjoon that he received a call from Dr Gopaul which he interpreted as a threat; the reference in the police file to an exhibit listed as ‘eleven pages of notes of Minister meeting;’ “the fact that this document was removed from the police file; the fact that I can find no credible evidence of wrongdoing by any of the senior managers; the matters contained in the statements of Ashley Legall and the fact that the prosecution proceeded after said statement which clearly identified the perpetrators of the fraud who were persons other than the senior managers, I am of opinion, and I so find, that Maurice Arjoon, Kent Vincent, Kissoon Baldeo and Amrita Prashad have all suffered injustice, notwithstanding the fact that they were all discharged by magistrates at the various preliminary inquiries.”

With respect to the missing document, the report said this suggests the intervention of a minister of government in the police investigation.

The Ombudsman had explained to this newspaper that he is required to submit a copy of his report to the persons who might be affected by anything said in the document. In this regard copies of the report were sent to President Donald Ramotar, Head of the Presidential Secretariat Dr Roger Luncheon, Singh, Gopaul, Attorney General Anil Nandlall, Director General at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs Elisabeth Harper, Ali-Hack, Commissioner of Police Seelall Persaud and Arjoon for them to make any comments.

Since then Persaud, Gopaul and Ali-Hack have taken to the media with the latter two attacking the findings as well as Justice Moore.

Gopaul in a press release rejected charges by Arjoon that his dismissal from the institution was instigated by Jagdeo over the question of financing for the Berbice Bridge.

Justice Moore in his report cited a statement in Arjoon’s complaint that he was warned by Gopaul that Jagdeo would “deal” with him as he had guided the board of NBS towards investing less in the bridge than the former president had wanted.

According to Gopaul, if Moore had done a “proper investigation” and persons who have been accused of certain wrong doings given an opportunity to be heard, it would have been revealed that all the accusations made by Arjoon are baseless. He said the fact that those persons were not given that opportunity, “violates the principles of natural justice and most basic requirements of fairness and due process.” He even challenged Justice Moore’s jurisdiction in dealing with this matter.

The DPP meanwhile has held fast to the position that there was “strong and compelling evidence” in the police file to institute charges against the trio.

Let's see....Nehru's couldn't meet your standard, and you're intrigued by the big guy Jalil. Ok....I'll mine something else....

Mr Nehru have big belly.

Let's see....Nehru's couldn't meet your standard, and you're intrigued by the big guy Jalil. Ok....I'll mine something else....

Mr Nehru have big belly.

jb, tELL DEM WHAT ELSE BIG FUH uNCLE nEHRU. rEMEMBER YUH DOES HEAR bAMG lANG bANG.

Quote JB "Gas they smuggle in that organisation. They smuggle gold. They want break up we British law. They want give we Saudi style gov. See"

Sis JB, Really I do think that you have your facts all wrong, The Central  Islamic Organization as far as I know, is a Charitable Organization of Guyana, they have been in existence for the past 35 years

This Organization was formed with a primary focus on helping the Poor and Needy and now irrespective of religion, race and creed (meaning that the organization has grown over the years that now it helps not only muslims but others of a needy nature.

This Organization is based in their Thomas Lands Headquarters, Woolford Avenue, Georgetown. CIOG as it is called, comprises of a President, Vice President, Secretary and Assistant Secretary, a Treasurer and an Asst Secty Treasurer. This organization is complemented by a handful of Executive members, and also there are Regional Vice Presidents of the ten Regions of Guyana.

As a Religious Organization they do collect contributions from generous members and organizations of the Public. Their Accounting is being done on a yearly basis, by Charter Accounting Organization, and a hand book is being prepared and distributed to anyone who is interested.

The CIOG is divided into several sub sections that manages the affairs of the Organization. Those sub sections are:

1) A General Secretariat Section:

2) A Zakaat Section

3) An Orphan Section

4) An Education Section

5) A Funeral Section

A Budget is allocated to each section in any given year, and their yearly income and expenditure is being audited by a Financial Accounting Organization in Guyana.

Sister JB in the Section of Zaakat and Orphans, I can tell you that the CIOG

ensures the Poor and Needy at the Various Masjids throughout the Country numbering some 138 in Berbice, Demerara, and Essequibo benefits from the CIOG's Charitable Payouts. 

Their last Financial Statements shows that approx G$8,000,000 (Eight Million Dollars were distributed every month to 354 Orphans and 1,222 Poor and Needy Person in Guyana, irrespective of Religious Orientation, meaning that persons of various religious background benefited, (Muslims, Hindus, Christians, Indos, Afros, others....all benefitted. 

For the two sub sections, that is Zakaat and Orphans, the CIOG have distributed (G$8,000,000 per month X 12 months) =G$96,000,000 just for two sub sections and CIOG boasts 5 Subsections, thanks goes out to the charitable folks in the USA, Canada, and the UK, without whose help this could not have happened.

Could elaborate and give you a workings of the other three subsections, but will not do so at this stage, no particular reason why.

So Sis JB I can assure you that the CIOG does not deals with Gas, (all the gas that CIOG purchased on a monthly basis is being paid for to Guyoil Stations, and those gas that are being paid for is used by CIOG Funeral Ambulances.

Ah! now we get to the thing that dazzles.........Gold! CIOG is not in the Gold Business, whereby they buys or sells or involved in any nefarious activities.

Yes the CIOG might Support the Government of the Day, but members of the CIOG are free to support whom they feels like.

Trust the the above makes a lil bit of sense, as I am not some one who is supposed to speak on the CIOG's behalf, but the little that I know, am just sharing.

One day will give a detailed explanation of the Funeral Section and the Education Section, believe me the benefits are passing to many Poor in Guyana despite of religion and race.

Hey JB maybe your Mamoo subscribe a lot to this organization.. (Just kidding with you)

Originally Posted by asj:

Quote JB "Gas they smuggle in that organisation. They smuggle gold. They want break up we British law. They want give we Saudi style gov. See"

Sis JB, Really I do think that you have your facts all wrong, The Central  Islamic Organization as far as I know, is a Charitable Organization of Guyana, they have been in existence for the past 35 years

This Organization was formed with a primary focus on helping the Poor and Needy and now irrespective of religion, race and creed (meaning that the organization has grown over the years that now it helps not only muslims but others of a needy nature.

This Organization is based in their Thomas Lands Headquarters, Woolford Avenue, Georgetown. CIOG as it is called, comprises of a President, Vice President, Secretary and Assistant Secretary, a Treasurer and an Asst Secty Treasurer. This organization is complemented by a handful of Executive members, and also there are Regional Vice Presidents of the ten Regions of Guyana.

As a Religious Organization they do collect contributions from generous members and organizations of the Public. Their Accounting is being done on a yearly basis, by Charter Accounting Organization, and a hand book is being prepared and distributed to anyone who is interested.

The CIOG is divided into several sub sections that manages the affairs of the Organization. Those sub sections are:

1) A General Secretariat Section:

2) A Zakaat Section

3) An Orphan Section

4) An Education Section

5) A Funeral Section

A Budget is allocated to each section in any given year, and their yearly income and expenditure is being audited by a Financial Accounting Organization in Guyana.

Sister JB in the Section of Zaakat and Orphans, I can tell you that the CIOG

ensures the Poor and Needy at the Various Masjids throughout the Country numbering some 138 in Berbice, Demerara, and Essequibo benefits from the CIOG's Charitable Payouts. 

Their last Financial Statements shows that approx G$8,000,000 (Eight Million Dollars were distributed every month to 354 Orphans and 1,222 Poor and Needy Person in Guyana, irrespective of Religious Orientation, meaning that persons of various religious background benefited, (Muslims, Hindus, Christians, Indos, Afros, others....all benefitted. 

For the two sub sections, that is Zakaat and Orphans, the CIOG have distributed (G$8,000,000 per month X 12 months) =G$96,000,000 just for two sub sections and CIOG boasts 5 Subsections, thanks goes out to the charitable folks in the USA, Canada, and the UK, without whose help this could not have happened.

Could elaborate and give you a workings of the other three subsections, but will not do so at this stage, no particular reason why.

So Sis JB I can assure you that the CIOG does not deals with Gas, (all the gas that CIOG purchased on a monthly basis is being paid for to Guyoil Stations, and those gas that are being paid for is used by CIOG Funeral Ambulances.

Ah! now we get to the thing that dazzles.........Gold! CIOG is not in the Gold Business, whereby they buys or sells or involved in any nefarious activities.

Yes the CIOG might Support the Government of the Day, but members of the CIOG are free to support whom they feels like.

Trust the the above makes a lil bit of sense, as I am not some one who is supposed to speak on the CIOG's behalf, but the little that I know, am just sharing.

One day will give a detailed explanation of the Funeral Section and the Education Section, believe me the benefits are passing to many Poor in Guyana despite of religion and race.

Hey JB maybe your Mamoo subscribe a lot to this organization.. (Just kidding with you)

Asj, I like this informative reply to JB. Other posters should take note of how to argue sensibly and responsibly without going ad hominem. Great job.

I've been wondering, asj, do you know if the CIOG condemned Ramotar/PPP for locking out the parliamentary representatives of 51.3 percent of Guyanese voters?

You and I have condemned Ramotar/PPP vehemently for that ignominious prorogation.

My Muslim wife's family often remind me that in Islam we must "enjoin what is right and forbid what is wrong."

What Ramotar did on November 10 is wrong.

Quote "

Asj, I like this informative reply to JB. Other posters should take note of how to argue sensibly and responsibly without going ad hominem. Great job.

I've been wondering, asj, do you know if the CIOG condemned Ramotar/PPP for locking out the parliamentary representatives of 51.3 percent of Guyanese voters?

You and I have condemned Ramotar/PPP vehemently for that ignominious prorogation.

My Muslim wife's family often remind me that in Islam we must "enjoin what is right and forbid what is wrong."

What Ramotar did on November 10 is wrong. unquote

Gilly I do not know or I cannot say if any Religious Organization/s has came out openly and condemn Ramotar, the Dictator, it will be news if it does. 

There is significant evidence out there that the CIOG and its leadership is engaged in much illegal and criminal activity in Guyana. 

The NBS Case is a classic well documented case of this that could have far reaching consequences.

There is need for an independent inquiry into the activities of the CIOG in Guyana. Their charitable and other pseudo religious activities is a cover.

Mr Jalil you is a member of this organisation?

Are you that interested in Jalil's member?

Mine you onwe buisness..

Kari, the last time I check this is a public forum, not anyone private conversation.

So why is this Nanadalal CAT, JB begging for privacy?

Like another CHAT TREE conversation JB want to start up?

LOL

There is significant evidence out there that the CIOG and its leadership is engaged in much illegal and criminal activity in Guyana. 

The NBS Case is a classic well documented case of this that could have far reaching consequences.

There is need for an independent inquiry into the activities of the CIOG in Guyana. Their charitable and other pseudo religious activities is a cover.

Quote HM_Redux "There is significant evidence out there that the CIOG and its leadership is engaged in much illegal and criminal activity in

Guyana."unquote

On this issue I respectfully beg to differ from you, seems like onlyyou know about this significant evidence/s out there where the CIOG and its leadership is engaged in much illegal and criminal activity in Guyana?

Bai, just produce those evidence (not dem sey or he sey or propaganda press articles), or do not embarass yourself by going there.

Quote HM_Redux "The NBS Case is a classic well documented case of this that could have far reaching consequences."unquote

What is the relations with the NBS Case and the CIOG? Did the DPP involvement in the case has anything to do with the CIOG? I would think not.

Again there are many things that I might have missed, please do keep us updated on this.

Quote HM_Redux "Their charitable and other pseudo religious activities is a cover. unquote

Again I respectfully differ, from your train of thought,  cover? cover for what? you guys seems to grasping at straws and then take it to be factual and then make your own assessment.

Again just to put the facts straight, I am not a spokeperson for The Central Islamic Organisation of Guyana. I just writes from the little bit that I know.

I have one question for you have you read justice Moore's report on the NBS case?

Don't come here with your holier than thou bullshit that only I seem to be aware of CIOG's involvement in criminality. The facts are out there. You are bringing your bullshit defending these criminals just like how you used to jump right here and defend the PPP.

The NBS take down of Maurice Arjoon was done at CIOG HQ which in itself is an illegal act to take private documents involving account holders outside of NBS to discuss. Know your facts before you come and talk dog shit here.

Go and read the report from Justice moore on the NBS case and then come here and talk trash until then shut yuh shunt. 

Jalil and I were having discussions about this on another thread not so long ago you should have come then and pipe up.

Quote "

Gilly I do not know or I cannot say if any Religious Organization/s has came out openly and condemn Ramotar, the Dictator, it will be news if it does. 

Thank you, asj.

Quote "

Thank you, asj.

Again what ever I have contributed to this Post, is from a layman point of view, I do not claim to know all the ongoings of the CIOG but what ever little that I know of is just an expression of my personal thought, and have no bearings as a spokeperson for the CIOG.

Quote "

Thank you, asj.

Again what ever I have contributed to this Post, is from a layman point of view, I do not claim to know all the ongoings of the CIOG but what ever little that I know of is just an expression of my personal thought, and have no bearings as a spokeperson for the CIOG.

The three replacements for the three managers who were framed and fired are active members of CIOG. The DPP who pursued the cases against the three managers, knowing full well they were being framed, is an active member of the CIOG. The strategy for this setup was formulated at the CIOG HQ.
So... I guess it's very hard to say the CIOG is involved.

NBS ‘alleged’ $69M fraud… DPP insists she was appointed to act and confirmed by Judicial Service Commission -not former President Jagdeo

THE Director of Public Prosections (DPP), Shalimar Ali-Hack has broken silence following a report from the Ombudsman’s Office seeking to implicate her in the ‘alleged victimisation’ of former New Building Society (NBS) Director, Maurice Arjoon. 

DPP Shalimar Ali-Hack

Ms. Hack, in a statement to the media, strongly condemned assertions by former NBS Director, Arjoon in an article “Case of $69M fraud NBS managers suffered ‘grave injustice’- Ombudsman” appearing in Stabroek News on November 13, 2014 where it was said that the DPP was quickly appointed by then President Bharrat Jagdeo after “the DPP wrongfully charged me [Arjoon] and the two managers…”
The DPP however denounced the statement saying she was “both appointed to act and subsequently confirmed as DPP by the Judicial Service Commission, not the President.” She stressed that her appointment was “the first DPP in Guyana to have been appointed as DPP by the Judicial Service Commission.”
The 2001 Constitutional amendments made provisions which removed the power of the President to appoint persons to the office of the Director of Public Prosecution. That responsibility, according to Article 203 (2) of the Constitution was given to the Judicial Services Commission, where the Commission can both place someone to act and confirm the appointment of that person to the position.
On another matter, the DPP responded to a similar claim that she had acted to make charges against Arjoon and his colleagues with “insufficient evidence” of their criminal involvement. A claim which the DPP responded to saying she “reviewed all statements in the police file and found that there was strong and compelling evidence to institute charges against the employees as advised.”
A stalling point for three and a half years, the case against Arjoon and others was dismissed since the victim, Bibi Shamila nee Safi Khan had migrated to Canada. The DPP made it clear that her office was not responsible “for the fact that the victim did not attend court to testify against these persons.”
“What the DPP did was to give legal advice, based on the evidence in the police file and the Laws of Guyana, which I am constitutionally bound to do,” the DPP’s statement read, adding: “No person can challenge this act of the DPP except a court of law and only where there is evidence that the DPP acted contrary to the Constitution or statute.”
Following the dismissal of the case, Maurice Arjoon filed against the DPP Shalimar Ali Hack in the High Court claiming that she had abused her office in administering charges to the defendants.
The DPP in her statement confirmed that this was so, “such a challenge was done and the High Court of Guyana via Justice Dawn Gregory did not find that the DPP acted contrary to the Constitution or statute by advising the Police to institute the charges, but rather acted in accordance with the law.”
The Office of the Ombudsman was filled earlier this year by attorney-at-law and former High Court Judge, Winston Moore. The office had not been filled for eight years prior to Moore’s appointment.
The Ombudsman under articles 191 through 196 of the Constitution is expected to investigate all matters relating to complaints by citizens against Government departments and their officials.
The DPP on this ground has challenged the intervention by the Ombudsman in a matter which did not involve a Government agency or official. “While the Ombudsman’s functions are expressly stated in Article 192 and 193 of the Constitution, Article 193,” she said, “specifically states the excluded matters of the Ombudsman.”
“Further, based on the newspapers’ writings, the Ombudsman used an incomplete file to make his report, yet, uncannily, he was able to pronounce that the persons have suffered grave injustice when they were charged,” the DPP questioned.

Will be interesting to see the outcome of this, I am of the belief that the Ombudsman may very well be looking for a job when all of this is done with.

That wouldn't surprise anyone. Three managers of NBS were looking for work for bucking the PPP.

The DPP is a totally useless woman. The language I would like to describe this woman is not even palatable. This woman is no muslim she is like ISIS when it comes to Guyana.

People like this hide behind religion to cover their dirty deeds. 

This woman is a scoundrel and her husband is just as dutty.

Originally Posted by Brian Teekah:

Mine you onwe buisness..

Kari, the last time I check this is a public forum, not anyone private conversation.

LOL

Mr Sing you is a canoe brahmin? 

Originally Posted by Brian Teekah:

Mine you onwe buisness..

LOL

Mr Sing you is a canoe brahmin? 

Oi Gyal JB, you hit dem an rite weh it hurt. Nah insult you bai too much. De man juss lass he jab. You sure de man is any kine ah brahmin or is de man a chammar?

some more interesting material pertaining to this case.

It is important to note that this same DPP Ms. Hack job was involved in many cases such as the treason case against the 2 soldiers and one of their wives where these people were locked up for an extensive amount of time on all trumped up bullshit charges.

These people were taken away from their children for years all for what?

Trumped up bullshit charges that this DPP was bringing. The same happened in the Swiss house case where the woman was charged she was found not guilty but she was pursued by this DPP why?

Because Farouk was a major contributor and collaborator with CIOG.

All of dat needs to be examined there should be an independent inquiry into the activities of this woman, she is a scoundrel hiding behind religion.

https://www.facebook.com/pages...-DPP/184046698331383

Mr Nehru have big belly.

jb, tELL DEM WHAT ELSE BIG FUH uNCLE nEHRU. rEMEMBER YUH DOES HEAR bAMG lANG bANG.

You brain tiny.