frontpage

CIOG representatives and government officials look on as the symbolic cutting of the ribbon to officially open the Masjid [Marceano Narine photo)

CIOG representatives and government officials look on as the symbolic cutting of the ribbon to officially open the Masjid (Marceano Narine photo)

The Central Islamic Organisation of Guyana (CIOG) on Sunday commissioned a newly-reconstructed Masjid and multi-complex at Meten-Meer-Zorg, West Coast Demerara.

The project was sponsored by the Zakat House of Kuwait, an international aid organisation which provided a whopping $90 million for the construction of the multi-complex. Zakat House was established in 2009 to support and work with new and growing charities to make the charity sector sustainable and efficient. This is done by offering affordable office space and office services and resources to support these charities.

The initiative at Meten-Meer-Zorg was undertaken to rebuild its Masjid after it was found that the previous structure could not accommodate the growing Muslim population in that community and its environs.

The facility will serve communities along the West Coast of Demerara and East Bank of Essequibo. It can accommodate approximately 500 worshippers. Additionally, it has facilities that can be used to host social and cultural events and offer training and other integral social services to the persons in those communities.

CIOG President Fazeel Ferouz said the building represents an integral step forward in community involvement. He said that “Masjid is a place for the community” as he extended gratitude to the Zakat House of Kuwait for its part in the construction of the Masjid.

CIOG Director of Education and advisor Sheikh Moen ul-Hack said that the project was more so possible through the support of the Foreign Affairs Ministry, which would have introduced the two Islamic bodies.

Unveiling of the dedication plaque at the Meten-Meer-Zorg Masjid. In photo are Foreign Affairs Minister Carolyn Rodrigues-Birkett, Housing Minister Irfaan Ali, CIOG President Fazeel Ferouz and CIOG Director of Education and advisor Sheikh Moen ul-Hack

He explained that the working relationship of CIOG and Zakat House commenced some years ago when the Kuwaiti organisation agreed to sponsor a programme for orphaned Muslim children in Guyana. Since then, he further elaborated, the organisation has been providing $700,000 on a monthly basis towards this programme. He underscored that it was important that the real message of Islam get out there and not what is being peddled by extremist groups such as a Boko Haram in Nigeria and Islamic State (IS) in Syria. He noted that seemingly theses forces infiltrated close to home, since there were reports of 50 Trinidad and Tobago nationals being involved with IS, noting that everything must be done to safeguard the minds of Guyana’s populace.

“We have a responsibility to educate the community of the true teaching of Islam; this is the only way we will be able to remove misunderstandings and misconceptions about Islam,” ul-Hack said.

Meanwhile, Guyana’s Foreign Affairs Minister Carolyn Rodrigues-Birkett noted that this country has an exceedingly high level of religious harmony. She contended, however, that at times this religious harmony is taken for granted.

Foreign Affairs Minister Carolyn Rodrigues-Birkett interacts with CIOG President Fazeel Ferouz

On a global scale, she said, there was need for more harmony to be fostered in the religious areas. Housing Minister Irfaan Ali said that the CIOG plays an integral role in society and should be given due recognition. He pointed out that most times the executives work in the shadows and they should be commended for the tremendous work that they have done for the Guyanese public.

A section of the gathering at the commissioning of the Masjid

After the commissioning ceremony, persons in attendance were treated to a meal. Many persons at the event expressed gratitude that the complex was rebuilt. One man explained to Guyana Times that he was particularly grateful that the site would now be more than a Masjid and offer extensive community service.

Housing Minister Irfaan Ali said that the CIOG plays an integral role in society and should be given due recognition.

Before the end of the day, who will say Irfaan is there to get PPP votes?  

Housing Minister Irfaan Ali said that the CIOG plays an integral role in society and should be given due recognition.

The Hon Minister is surly getting around, the other night he was lighting Diyas on Camp St.

And who said the man is the biggest thief in Guyana?

the man is not a thief his great great grandfather leave money for him

I cannot understand why the organizers of this event did not give the Foreign Affairs Minister a head covering.

Maybe because the Foreign Minister is not Muslim.

I cannot understand why the organizers of this event did not give the Foreign Affairs Minister a head covering.

It is customary for the masjids to provide a head covering for all females entering. This is a common practice across the world. I have seen this done at the main Masjid in Paris and also the Blue Mosque in Turkey both of which are heavy tourist attractions.

I remember seeing a picture where Queen Elizabeth donned a headscarf whilst visiting a Mosque.

As I said this has nothing to do with the Minister but with the organizers.

Last edited by Chief

It is customary for the masjids to provide a head covering for all females entering. This is a common practice across the world. I have seen this done at the main Masjid in Paris and also the Blue Mosque in Turkey both of which are heavy tourist attractions.

I remember seeing a picture where Queen Elizabeth donned a headscarf whilst visiting a Mosque.

Guyanese Muslims as far as I remember never required that.

I agree with you here Chief. Irfaan was supposed to put on a cap on too.

Cobra,

Please arrange a day for next week.

Thanks

Cobra,

Please arrange a day for next week.

Thanks

Ok, sound good. Will keep you update.

That is one beautiful Masjid.

I believe the one on Liberty and 127th Street will be beautiful as well when it finished.

If it finish. Dat place gat Nuff Jhan Jhat but I have faith in Ed Ahmad, he is one of the persons charged with the Project.

I believe the one on Liberty and 127th Street will be beautiful as well when it finished.

If it finish. Dat place gat Nuff Jhan Jhat but I have faith in Ed Ahmad, he is one of the persons charged with the Project.

Where is ed going to finish that from behind bars?

was wondering that myself

Bhai, Ed is around and doing fine. Stop wondering.

Almost everyone is wondering the same thing....and this is no joke.

Nehru has proven that he is a loyal comrade to Ed and I do admire that.

It's time we leave them fellas alone since they paid back society with time in confinement. Ed would do great in Guyana. The man wanted to build a whole city in EBD. 

They paid back society with time in confinement? Ed went to jail already? or you just with your usual serpent piss trying to wash away reality and stink up the place?

Almost everyone is wondering the same thing....and this is no joke.

Nehru has proven that he is a loyal comrade to Ed and I do admire that.

Nehru got a penchant for loyalty to sleazes (PPP/C), so no surprise here.

That does look like a nice building

Chief, what's all the good buddy?

Busy as usual.

I meant to call to ask you if you know any Guyanese actuary.

if yuh can wait 4 years, my older son should be one by then

This is the sort of shit that is one step from, : "I cannot understand" why they let un-Islamic principles be violated, meaning all sort of religious nonsense that others do not care about intervene in society.  She is there representing her office and in the capacity of her role as a woman of her beliefs not a believer in islam.

Shut your poke!!!

Must go meet the Queen in s jeans!!

One dress for the occasion, as simple as that.

Shut your poke!!!

The queen would not want to meet me or me her and that is fine with me. If the occasion arises that I must then I demand as much respect for my right to proper attire that is decent and fit as I see it.

Jeans might not be out of the question and the queen would have to do without my presence if it is a matter of priority for her. I seriously doubt she would be so picky as to tell me she does not like jeans. Actually the have dress up balls where jeans are the theme!

And that is not dress for the occasion. That is dress to meet religious edict as you determine it. Go and read your post again before making spurious analogies.

Exactly dress for the occasion. 

wHAT is spurious analogies? 

• Edict | Define Edict at Dictionary.com

<cite class="_Rm">dictionary.reference.com/browse/edict</cite>

Dictionary.com

a decree issued by a sovereign or other authority. Synonyms: dictum, pronouncement. 2. any authoritative proclamation or command. Origin Expand.
  • Edict - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

<cite class="_Rm">en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Edict</cite>

Wikipedia

An edict is an announcement of a law, often associated with monarchism. The Pope and various micronational leaders are currently the only persons who still ..

Shut your poke!!!

Chief, even in many high end night clubs there is a dress code posted outside the door. 

Ghandi insisted on a dhoti while in London visiting dignatories, including the Royal family I believe? Still the fist thing I though of when I saw the phot is how ill-prepared the Government of Guyana when it comes to following proper protocols.

The minister should have covered her head and dress appropriately for the occasion. I hope that she learns from her mistake.

yuji

Shut your poke!!!

Chief, even in many high end night clubs there is a dress code posted outside the door. 

So what if t hey do? If they are to be visited by a dignitary they would not ask them to don their green or penguin suit as it suits them

Exactly dress for the occasion. 

wHAT is spurious analogies? 

• Edict | Define Edict at Dictionary.com

<cite class="_Rm">dictionary.reference.com/browse/edict</cite>

Dictionary.com

a decree issued by a sovereign or other authority. Synonyms: dictum, pronouncement. 2. any authoritative proclamation or command. Origin Expand.
  • Edict - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

<cite class="_Rm">en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Edict</cite>

Wikipedia

An edict is an announcement of a law, often associated with monarchism. The Pope and various micronational leaders are currently the only persons who still ..

If it is not an edict then why complain? Is it disguised under the context of custom?

I remember an instance where a simple act of popular symbol of subservience reconstituted the Papacy and kept together the Catholic church.

Popo leo III was defeated, his trusty aides  brought the bedraggled,  Pope to an audience of the Frankish King. Charlemagne did not need him Leo needed him. Charlemagne could have taken the empire and declared himself Emperor on the spot. Instead, he was conned into supplicating before the pope to receive the title of emperor thus re establishing before the world  the supremacy of the church.

The lady is there on official business not God's business. She is not of the faith. If she is seen as bending to the faith, then she set the rule. I am glad she did not bend the knee.