Guyana Constitution - Excerpt

Articles 70 (1)

“The President may at any time by proclamation, prorogue the parliament”.

Article 106 (6) 

“The Cabinet including the President shall resign if the Government is defeated by the vote of a majority of all the elected members of the National Assembly on a vote of confidence.”

Article, 106 (7)

--- “notwithstanding its defeat the government shall remain in office and shall hold an election within three months or such longer period as the National Assembly shall by resolution supported by no less than two thirds of the members determine and shall resign after the President takes oath of office following elections.”

Articles 70 (1)

Article 106 (6) 

“The Cabinet including the President shall resign if the Government is defeated by the vote of a majority of all the elected members of the National Assembly on a vote of confidence.”

Article, 106 (7)

--- “notwithstanding its defeat the government shall remain in office and shall hold an election within three months or such longer period as the National Assembly shall by resolution supported by no less than two thirds of the members determine and shall resign after the President takes oath of office following elections.”

What else you need Mr T???

Seasons' Greetings, Nehru.

Season's Greetings, Merry Christmas and all the BEST in the New Year to you and yours. God BLess.

And here again the grasp of the English language is of importance. The government would have to remain in office, otherwise who is going to run the country? But remaining in office and carrying out projects that would otherwise require parliament to approve is a different matter. So passing expenditures, pay raises, etc. are outside the remit of the government.

Where the PPP and its bunch of legal advisers are stretching their wings is with their assumption that after parliament is prorogued, business can continue as usual without parliamentary approval. As it stands, that's not what the Constitution allows for.

. . . Furthermore the opposition seems quite happy with proroguing Parliament as it believes there IS a national emergency . . .

hmmm . . . dis tek the cake

head shrinkers could write a whole paper bout the projection neuroses of nervous ex?- PPPites like Kari

You really do take yourself seriously, do you?

You don't seem to understand sarcasm when it shows up, eh?

I agreed with all the arguments that say the proroguing of Parliament is not justified by saying an emergency exists, and yet I have not seen the APNU or AFC bring this point to he fore in a legal action to nullify it.

Yet you chose to exhibit a lack of understanding of the exchange between T and myself by putting in one sentence "the projection neuroses of nervous ex"; "PPPites like Kari"; and "head shrinkers could write a whole paper". ??????

indeed, not-so-smart dude, you did "agree" with the arguments that proroguing outside of an emergency is not justified . . . 

my problem is that u then decided to reach for 'cleverness' by claiming that APNU/AFC agrees that there "IS [your emphasis] a national emergency" based on the absence of a court challenge

here is David Granger on prorogation outside an emergency:

“The President did not seem to work out the implications of an angry population. There is no state of emergency to justify such behaviour…,” http://www.kaieteurnewsonline....performance-granger/

"sarcasm" collapses to ignoble intent with your lame, dispositive appeals to the [compromised] Guyana courts . . . even a cursory reader of Burnham's 1980 Constitution could figure why no serious case can be brought

banna, MY understanding of u is clear . . . however, there are many here who would be willing to deconstruct the below for free if u just ask:

"head shrinkers could write a whole paper bout the projection neuroses of nervous ex?- PPPites like Kari"

arite?

sarcasm" collapses to ignoble intent with your lame, dispositive appeals to the [compromised] Guyana courts . . . even a cursory reader of Burnham's 1980 Constitution could figure why no serious case can be brought

HAHAHA  Case closed!!!

I couldn't help noticing that the PPP machine has had to go into overdrive and read the Constitution a lot more carefully after I started to highlight some discrepancies in the interpretation that the PPP has been using in order to run the country illegally.

HAHAHA  Case closed!!!

drunken mental midget, u don't even have a clue bout what i am talking about, rite?

your compulsion to bray (to fake that u have skin in the game) overwhelms anyway . . . smfh

Articles 70 (1)

Article 106 (6) 

Article, 106 (7)

Oh Lord Mr Demerara_Boy look how Mr Burnham come to you rescue.

Articles 70 (1)

Article 106 (6) 

Article, 106 (7)

Oh Lord Mr Demerara_Boy look how Mr Burnham come to you rescue.

I would disagree with that assumption. The PPP is confusing the words "remaining in office" with "continue to carry out ministerial jobs as if nothing is wrong".

President Donald Ramotar and Cabinet Members are undertaking the business of the government exactly in accordance with the constitution for the specific condition that parliament is prorogued.

Mr Demerara-Boy look how you singing the glory to you old boss Mr Burnham.

There is no evidence to support that in any shape or form. What we are seeing is an attempt by the PPP to embezzle state's funds and try to buy votes with the country's revenue. So stop passing off fake information.

The salaries need parliamentary approval. The prorogue of parliament therefore means that the government is ruling under a state of emergency. Are the recent salary increases a result of a state of emergency payments? No they are not. They are purely rewards by the head of the police and army crime gangs to his fellow criminals.

Perhaps then ... e.g., ... salaries should cease immediately after the prorogation of parliament for the leaders of the opposition parties, their members and associated personnel.

Mr Demerara_Boy is that what you family Mr Shahabbadin put in you bossman Mr Burnham constitution? 

The constitution clearly outlines this item ...

[Quote:]

[Unquote:]

T, you seem to have the same level of understanding of the English language as this JB character.

I'm saying that having accepted all that you say, why is the opposition not taking legal action? Is it because they do not believe your clearly-stated arguments?

And please don't raise the level of JB's stupidity to one to be taken seriously. Yuh mek meh haan fall

The country does not have a credible judicial system.

The government is made up of bullies-vulgar individuals. They careless about dignity.

Even the judiciary is easily intimidated. 

Guyana is a LAWLESS country.

The Combined Opposition has no teeth-no fault on their own. They know, the public is spineless. 

That is why they cannot challenge the PPP in court. It is a waste of time.

However, I do have a suggestion. I follow the blogs of Guyanese commentators-namely RamKarran, Jeffrey and several others.

There is www.timehritoday.blogspot.com-the commentator's post on "Those who vote PPP." Maybe, a read would explain why the PPP feels they have Indo supporers in the bag, and once they have that perception, they are not obliged to honour respect towards the Opposition or the Laws of the country.

And truly, Does the country have any Laws? So far, the PPP operates as if there are none.  

Season's Greetings, Merry Christmas and all the BEST in the New Year to you and yours. God BLess.

Also all the best for the New Year, Nehru. 

For interest, today Dec 21/22 is the shortest day of the year here.  It is about 9 hours of day light ... about 9:00 am to 4:00 pm.

Originally Posted by Mr.T:

There is no evidence to support that in any shape or form. What we are seeing is an attempt by the PPP to embezzle state's funds and try to buy votes with the country's revenue. So stop passing off fake information.

The salaries need parliamentary approval. The prorogue of parliament therefore means that the government is ruling under a state of emergency. Are the recent salary increases a result of a state of emergency payments? No they are not. They are purely rewards by the head of the police and army crime gangs to his fellow criminals.

Exactly what we have been saying, those thieving bastards make their own rules. But all good things must come to an end and I want to be there to see the end. Pissing on their graves might be too easy.    

Also all the best for the New Year, Nehru. 

For interest, today Dec 21/22 is the shortest day of the year here.  It is about 9 hours of day light ... about 9:00 am to 4:00 pm.

Using regular engineering maths that would appear to be 7 hours.......

Ram is a FOOL AND A DUNCE!!!  The President is allowed 6 months of Emergency Rule!!

That is true Nehru. Under the Constitution the President can prorogue Parliament for 6 months in an Emergency. The question is what is the Emergency that caused the current proroguing? I don't see a natural disaster. I do not see rebels running amok and armed forces in the streets with a national curfew. What's this Emergency, Pavi?

Ever heard about a Constitutional Emergency???  Ramjhaaaaaaaaaatan CREATED an EMERGENCY by threatening the President and the PROGRESS of Guyana.  Did you expect the HONORABLE President Ramotar to roll over and NOT fight for the Guyanese People???

To the UNEDUCATED Group who are spewing HOT AIR, and we know who they are, keep on BRAYING.

Never heard nor saw a thing...then you step in....and spewed..then spewed some more.

Ram is a FOOL AND A DUNCE!!!  The President is allowed 6 months of Emergency Rule!!

That is true Nehru. Under the Constitution the President can prorogue Parliament for 6 months in an Emergency. The question is what is the Emergency that caused the current proroguing? I don't see a natural disaster. I do not see rebels running amok and armed forces in the streets with a national curfew. What's this Emergency, Pavi?

Ever heard about a Constitutional Emergency???  Ramjhaaaaaaaaaatan CREATED an EMERGENCY by threatening the President and the PROGRESS of Guyana.  Did you expect the HONORABLE President Ramotar to roll over and NOT fight for the Guyanese People???

To the UNEDUCATED Group who are spewing HOT AIR, and we know who they are, keep on BRAYING.

Never heard nor saw a thing...then you step in....and spewed..then spewed some more.

Cainsta, yuh prapa fish up de Padit deh....

Cain, Me friend is a Dacta he can stop yuh BRAYING.

Musbe a quack, he rass din aint able help you yet...and have yourself a whoppin Christmas Bro Nehru..behave yoself..again, screw it doan bother behave, is Chrismus.