Chris Ram challenges Ramotar’s continued presidency

December 20, 2014 | By | Filed Under News 

- says constitution reform is necessary

By Abena Rockcliffe

Attorney-at Law, Christopher Ram

Attorney-at-Law, Christopher Ram, is questioning the legality of President Donald Ramotar’s rule following his prorogation of the Parliament on November10. Ram, speaking on Thursday, last, at a symposium organized and hosted by the Working People’s Alliance at the National Library, said that much must be considered before coming to a conclusion that Ramotar’s prorogation of Parliament is indeed legal.  . Addressing approximately 150 people, Ram posited that if the prorogation is legal, then perhaps the illegality comes with Ramotar’s continued presidential leadership. President Ramotar issued a proclamation proroguing the Parliament under Article 70 (1) of the Constitution which states: “The President may at any time prorogue the Parliament”. Ram pointed out that Article 51 of the Constitution of Guyana defines Parliament as consisting of the President and the National Assembly. On such basis, Ram said that, in effect, not only is the National Assembly prorogued, but so too is the President. “Now, if the National Assembly or any of its committees is unable to act during the period of prorogation, it is not illogical to ask why the same prohibition does not apply to the President,” said Ram. Also, Ram told those who gathered in the conference room of the National library, that many articles of the constitution contradict each other. He said that the constitution is not harmonized and therefore needs to be revisited. To support that assessment, Ram said that if the President had not intervened and allowed the debate on the Alliance For Change (AFC) sponsored No-Confidence Motion and the vote to proceed, the government would have been defeated and forced to resign and hold elections within three months. He said that this action is powered by the constitution. This provision in Article 106 arose out of a 2000 amendment to the Constitution as part of the Herdmanston Constitutional Reform process. “Whether the action to prorogue by the President is legal or otherwise revolves around what appears to be a conflict between Article 106 and Article 70 of the Constitution,” said Ram. Ram queried whether Article 70 takes precedence over the amended Article 106, whether the president is supreme over the National Assembly and whether the power to prorogue exercised in the circumstances of a pending vote of no-confidence makes proper use of article 70. Ram pointed out that the constitution should be interpreted not in the strict formalistic approach, but more liberally, and should be read as a whole to resolve any “inconsistency or ambiguity.” He said it seems that carelessness may have caused the Constitutional Reform Commission and the National Assembly, when they inserted the amendment to Article 106 while leaving Article 70 intact. They appeared to have introduced an alteration with the clear intention that the National Assembly could bring a motion of no-confidence against the government while leaving intact a provision that allows the President to vitiate the motion by proroguing the Assembly. He said that the ambiguity needed to have been resolved particularly since by President Ramotar’s own admission, he prorogued Parliament because he knew his government would attract a negative vote. In consideration of whether the president is supreme over the National Assembly or not, Ram pointed out another contradiction. He quoted Article Nine of the Constitution which states, “Sovereignty belongs to the people, who exercise it through their representatives and the democratic organs established by or under this Constitution.” Ram said that while Article Nine claims that sovereignty belongs to the People, the very Constitution allows a person who is merely deemed to be elected as President, not only more powers than the people but also domination over their representatives. Ram pointed to the Preamble to the Constitution. “We, the Guyanese people”, it reads, yet the very constitution gives the President a wealth of powers that make him untouchable. Ram said that the President can ignore Bills passed even unanimously by the National Assembly, as Jagdeo did; by one interpretation he can prorogue the National Assembly; and he can dissolve the Assembly even if they seek to impeach him. There is also another Article that sets the President apart from the National Assembly and protects him from any sanction by the people, their representatives, or even the Courts, said Ram. His reference is to what is referred to as the Immunities Article 180. This Article provides that “the President is not answerable to any court of law for the performance of the functions of his office, or for any act done in the performance of those functions, and no proceedings whether criminal or civil, shall be instituted against him in his personal capacity in respect thereof either during his term of office or thereafter.” Addressing whether the power to prorogue exercised in the circumstances of a pending vote of no-confidence proper use of article 70, Ram said that, that needs ‘little response” as it is quite obvious.

Ram pointed out that Article 51 of the Constitution of Guyana defines Parliament as consisting of the President and the National Assembly. On such basis, Ram said that, in effect, not only is the National Assembly prorogued, but so too is the President. “Now, if the National Assembly or any of its committees is unable to act during the period of prorogation, it is not illogical to ask why the same prohibition does not apply to the President,” said Ram.

I have to disagree with some of the things that Ram concludes. I am busy reading the Constitution and the amendments with great interest. One thing mentioned above is that the president is not answerable in any court of law etc., The actual wording in the Constitution is quite clear, but Jagdeo somehow managed to bamboozle the Guyanese public into believing that the president is not answerable even after leaving office. What is actually stated is however not what is being peddled by the PPP regime. I'll be back one day to clarify what is overlooked.

Ram is a FOOL AND A DUNCE!!!  The President is allowed 6 months of Emergency Rule!!

Within which period he has to call an election to be taken place afterwards.

Ram is a FOOL AND A DUNCE!!!  The President is allowed 6 months of Emergency Rule!!

And you are a drunk in curry hill? knocking about? yes?

What knack-about stray dag ?

Originally Posted by Tola:

What wrong with a knack-about stray dag? It's people like you make knack-about stray dogs. Isn't a stray dog a creation of god(If you believe in god)? 

Knack about stray daag is the preferred pet of the low breed cabal............dat and a few kwame back rubbing tools.

Carry on with Kwamee Mr. Haas_man_Suq_Midiq

Get kwame to suck dat flacid ting yuh gat deh.

Viagra covered by your medicate plan? Obama helpin yuh out? if nat guh to GY let dem boys write yuh prescription from freedom house.

***** hole.

Originally Posted by Mr.T:

I have to disagree with some of the things that Ram concludes. I am busy reading the Constitution and the amendments with great interest. One thing mentioned above is that the president is not answerable in any court of law etc., The actual wording in the Constitution is quite clear, but Jagdeo somehow managed to bamboozle the Guyanese public into believing that the president is not answerable even after leaving office. What is actually stated is however not what is being peddled by the PPP regime. I'll be back one day to clarify what is overlooked.

T, do you agree that Parliament = the National Assembly + the President?

Do you then not agree that the act of proroguing Parliament means that the Presidency is prorogued?

Do you also not believe that a vote of no-confidence (guaranteed in the Constitution) should mean that the act of proroguing Parliament (in essence neutering the National Assembly) is not a valid one?

What are "some of the things that Ram concludes" that you disagree with? I'd be eager to learn of these.

That is true Nehru. Under the Constitution the President can prorogue Parliament for 6 months in an Emergency. The question is what is the Emergency that caused the current proroguing? I don't see a natural disaster. I do not see rebels running amok and armed forces in the streets with a national curfew. What's this Emergency, Pavi?

Tell dem deh Bhai!

No need for an echo chamber when what you are echoing is wrong, and you don't even have the intelligence to see it's wrong. Just be quiet and read what other educated folks have to say on the matter.

T, do you agree that Parliament = the National Assembly + the President?

Do you then not agree that the act of proroguing Parliament means that the Presidency is prorogued?

Do you also not believe that a vote of no-confidence (guaranteed in the Constitution) should mean that the act of proroguing Parliament (in essence neutering the National Assembly) is not a valid one?

What are "some of the things that Ram concludes" that you disagree with? I'd be eager to learn of these.

The president is not immune from prosecution as many have implied. What the constitution says is that the President is not answerable to any court of law for the performance of the functions of his office, or for any act done in the performance of those functions. In other words: he is only immune from prosecution are specifically related to whatever his job description requires him to do as president. The president has n blanket immunity from prosecution. This is one area that Jagdeo and Ramotar have abused at times, and which could land them in court eventually if the Constitution is applied correctly. Jagdeo's refusal to name the killers of Sawh is outside his immunity since his silence is in no way connected in the performance of his function in office.

In the case of the prorogue, it is currently being abused. According to the constitution the president can prorogue parliament for sex months. It does not say or imply that the government can use this period to continue to run the country and implement government programs. Therefore any acts committed by the government are illegal since they have not been approved by parliament. The prorogue is for national emergencies. The PPP has however used it to avoid a no confidence vote. That is not a national emergency. So again, the president is not immune from prosecution for this. He did not prorogue parliament in response to something that he was executing as president, but in response to something that would cause his party to be subject to a possible election call.

As it stands, only an army take over with emergency military rule whilst new elections are called can resolve this situation right now. Because technically and legally, the current government is running the country illegally.

Interesting...."not answerable to any court of law for the performance of the functions of his office, or for any act done in the performance of those functions". That being the case, then the opposition has not found anything outside Presidential performance in the capacity of the Presidency that it can bring to court. If one were to believe that  both Jagdeo and Ramotar have done stuff that can be brought to court then one would have to think the opposition is not doing its job. Furthermore the opposition seems quite happy with proroguing Parliament as it believes there IS a national emergency so Ramotar can act this way - or else it would have taken legal action. No?

And you point is?

Tell dem deh Bhai!

No need for an echo chamber when what you are echoing is wrong, and you don't even have the intelligence to see it's wrong. Just be quiet and read what other educated folks have to say on the matter.

Were you not an echo chamber for the PNC when you leeched of the people in Guyana? Did your PNC give you the right to judge people as educated or uneducated? If you believe that you are educated, then think again. You are just an egotisitc jackass.

And you point is?

You really want me to answer that?

And you point is?

Yes Mr Big Word! 

And you point is?

Whilst you ponder how to talk yourself out of your own position, let's now look at another issue raised by Ram, but not limited to just him.

It is the word AMENDMENT, or AMENDED. It appears that many Guyanese legal experts do not understand this simple English word. For explanation, it means to update or replace an existing item with a different one.

So where an amendment exists in the Constitution, the amendment replaces the previous constitutional law.

Where both the PPP and the opposition seems to be stuck with the use of the English language is that they are reading the old and the amended laws and arguing which one should be applied. That is obviously a gross disregards for the purpose of an amendment.

T, you seem to have the same level of understanding of the English language as this JB character.

I'm saying that having accepted all that you say, why is the opposition not taking legal action? Is it because they do not believe your clearly-stated arguments?

And please don't raise the level of JB's stupidity to one to be taken seriously. Yuh mek meh haan fall

And you point is?

Whilst you ponder how to talk yourself out of your own position, let's now look at another issue raised by Ram, but not limited to just him.

It is the word AMENDMENT, or AMENDED. It appears that many Guyanese legal experts do not understand this simple English word. For explanation, it means to update or replace an existing item with a different one.

So where an amendment exists in the Constitution, the amendment replaces the previous constitutional law.

Where both the PPP and the opposition seems to be stuck with the use of the English language is that they are reading the old and the amended laws and arguing which one should be applied. That is obviously a gross disregards for the purpose of an amendment.

Now to the rest of your response. I have not read the Guyana Constitution so I defer to waht you write,,,,,,,,,and I can see te sense in your "amendment" argument.

That is true Nehru. Under the Constitution the President can prorogue Parliament for 6 months in an Emergency. The question is what is the Emergency that caused the current proroguing? I don't see a natural disaster. I do not see rebels running amok and armed forces in the streets with a national curfew. What's this Emergency, Pavi?

Ever heard about a Constitutional Emergency???  Ramjhaaaaaaaaaatan CREATED an EMERGENCY by threatening the President and the PROGRESS of Guyana.  Did you expect the HONORABLE President Ramotar to roll over and NOT fight for the Guyanese People???

To the UNEDUCATED Group who are spewing HOT AIR, and we know who they are, keep on BRAYING.

The opposition intended to call for a vote of no confidence in the government, which they are entitled to under the Constitution. That is not a national emergency by all stretch of the imagination. What it is is an abuse of power outside of the constitution. So in effect Ramotar has carried out a coup. He has abused the constitution and suspended it in effect. That in turn means that he is no longer subject to immunity for his action. He can be put in front of a firing squad in due course for attempting to rule Guyana by force.Even Burnham did not dare to do that.

Attorney-at-Law, Christopher Ram, is questioning the legality of President Donald Ramotar’s rule following his prorogation of the Parliament on November10. Ram, speaking on Thursday, last, at a symposium organized and hosted by the Working People’s Alliance at the National Library, said that much must be considered before coming to a conclusion that Ramotar’s prorogation of Parliament is indeed legal.  . Addressing approximately 150 people, Ram posited that if the prorogation is legal, then perhaps the illegality comes with Ramotar’s continued presidential leadership. President Ramotar issued a proclamation proroguing the Parliament under Article 70 (1) of the Constitution which states: “The President may at any time prorogue the Parliament”. Ram pointed out that Article 51 of the Constitution of Guyana defines Parliament as consisting of the President and the National Assembly. On such basis, Ram said that, in effect, not only is the National Assembly prorogued, but so too is the President.

Chris Ram challenges Ramotar’s continued presidency, December 20, 2014 | By | Filed Under News - says constitution reform is necessary, By Abena Rockcliffe

While the learned attorney-at-Law, Christopher Ram, do have the right to debate issues, prorogation was done properly. The constitution indeed allows the President and Cabinet to remain in office.

An election, however, must be held within ninety days or at a later date that may be decided by a majority of about sixty six percent or more of the MPs.

. . . Furthermore the opposition seems quite happy with proroguing Parliament as it believes there IS a national emergency . . .

hmmm . . . dis tek the cake

head shrinkers could write a whole paper bout the projection neuroses of nervous ex?- PPPites like Kari

Attorney-at-Law, Christopher Ram, is questioning the legality of President Donald Ramotar’s rule following his prorogation of the Parliament on November10. Ram, speaking on Thursday, last, at a symposium organized and hosted by the Working People’s Alliance at the National Library, said that much must be considered before coming to a conclusion that Ramotar’s prorogation of Parliament is indeed legal.  . Addressing approximately 150 people, Ram posited that if the prorogation is legal, then perhaps the illegality comes with Ramotar’s continued presidential leadership. President Ramotar issued a proclamation proroguing the Parliament under Article 70 (1) of the Constitution which states: “The President may at any time prorogue the Parliament”. Ram pointed out that Article 51 of the Constitution of Guyana defines Parliament as consisting of the President and the National Assembly. On such basis, Ram said that, in effect, not only is the National Assembly prorogued, but so too is the President.

Chris Ram challenges Ramotar’s continued presidency, December 20, 2014 | By | Filed Under News - says constitution reform is necessary, By Abena Rockcliffe

While the learned attorney-at-Law, Christopher Ram, do have the right to debate issues, prorogation was done properly. The constitution indeed allows the President and Cabinet to remain in office.

An election, however, must be held within ninety days or at a later date that may be decided by a majority of about sixty six percent or more of the MPs.

That is true Mr Demerara_Boy. You old boss Mr Burnham give them law for that.

You mean the Constitution is clear about that???

It is.

the ppp can try hiding try running try hedging try praying its just a matter of time and  vengeance shall be mine say the lord

The Lord gave his life so that we can live. Hallelujah!!!  Praise the Loed.  In the eyes of the Loed all are equal. Gays and Straights.

Merry Christmas to all..Gays and Lesbians too. We are all god's creation.

good for u i like how u include your gender

Skelly, Listen to this lame FOOL.!!!

. . . Furthermore the opposition seems quite happy with proroguing Parliament as it believes there IS a national emergency . . .

hmmm . . . dis tek the cake

head shrinkers could write a whole paper bout the projection neuroses of nervous ex?- PPPites like Kari

You really do take yourself seriously, do you?

You don't seem to understand sarcasm when it shows up, eh?

I agreed with all the arguments that say the proroguing of Parliament is not justified by saying an emergency exists, and yet I have not seen the APNU or AFC bring this point to he fore in a legal action to nullify it.

Yet you chose to exhibit a lack of understanding of the exchange between T and myself by putting in one sentence "the projection neuroses of nervous ex"; "PPPites like Kari"; and "head shrinkers could write a whole paper". ??????

Anybody got a link where it says that after the president prorogue parliament the cabinet ca remain in office or what tasks the cabinet can continue to carry out? As it stands, parliament has to approve cabinet actions. So if there is no parliament in action, the cabinet cannot carry out its regular duties.