NICIL says has not received outstanding US$5M for GTT shares

Government holding company NICIL today said that it had not received the outstanding US$5M for government shares in GT&T.

The statement by NICIL would raise questions about a recent statement by Minister of Natural Resources Raphael Trotman who had said that Minister of State Joseph Harmon had retrieved documents from his trip to China which showed that the money had been paid before last year’s general elections.

The statement by Trotman raised eyebrows and led to calls for a quick verification given the ease with which such money transfers could be traced. Cynics had suggested that through Trotman’s statement, government was trying to deflect the negative spotlight on Harmon as a result of his controversial trip to China, around which many questions are still unanswered.

The NICIL press release follows:

Press Release on the Facts of the Agreement of Share Sale and Purchase of GT&T Shares

The National Industrial and Commercial Investments Limited (NICIL) has decided to issue a press release, in light of the controversy concerning the status of its attempts to secure the payment of the outstanding balance of US$5M, relating to the sale of its 20% shareholding in GT&T.

On the 24th August, 2012, NICIL and Hong Kong Golden Telecom Company Limited (HKGT) executed a Share Sale and Purchase Agreement (SSPA) for the sale of NICIL’s 20% shareholding in GT&T, as approved by the former Cabinet.

The SSPA provided for the Purchase Price of US$30M to be paid as follows: (i) US$25M to be paid on the closing date and (ii) the balance of US$5M to be paid on the completion date, which is defined as the second anniversary of the closing date or such other date as agreed to between the Vendor and the Purchaser.

To clarify conflicting reports regarding the identity of the contractual party to the SSPA: HKGT was the contractual party to the SSPA and is a subsidiary of Datang Telecom International Technology (Hong Kong) Company Limited, which is wholly owned by Datang Telecom International Technology Co., Ltd., PR China. Datang Telecom International Technology Co., Ltd. is listed as a second tier subsidiary in the Datang Group of Companies.

On the 8th November, 2012, US$25M was wired to NICIL’s US$ account held at Republic Bank (Guyana) Limited. The balance of US$5M became due and payable to NICIL on October 22, 2014 and, despite several written requests by NICIL, HKGT has still failed to pay the balance of the Purchase Price.

In an attempt to avoid costly and lengthy adjudication of the matter in the English Courts, NICIL requested the assistance of the Government of Guyana to encourage HKGT through diplomatic channels, to honour its contractual obligations.

Contrary to various media reports, NICIL has not received the outstanding US$5M and HKGT remains in default of the SSPA. To NICIL’s knowledge, neither HKGT nor its related companies have alleged that the balance of US$5M was paid. What was alleged by the Purchaser’s signatory to the agreement was that following a series of communications with the Former Guyana Ambassador to China (to be authenticated) HKGT was assured that they were not required to pay the balance of US$5M, because the HKGT had not been granted the same minority protection rights enjoyed by NICIL (i.e. two, instead of one, representatives on the GT&T Board of Directors) which HKGT alleged were promised to them. HKGT also alleged that the decision to waive the US$5M was contained in a side agreement.

NICIL has not been able to verify the veracity of HKGT’s claim of waiver and has requested the assistance of the Government of Guyana to verify the validity of HKGT’s assertion and the documents they produced to support same.

A further press release will be issued at the end of the verification process.

Maurice Odle (Dr.)

Chairman

Board of Directors, NICIL

Harmon will have to present the documents he have,if he doesn't he lied, then the Government tried to cover up the real purpose of the China trip,this is poor governance they people need some answers.

Notice how d2, caribj, mitwah, kari, gilly and others, who jumped for joy at the prospect of money embezzled by Brassington, are notably absent from this thread now that the truth is revealed that the Chinese or Harmon was lying.  

Harmon will have to present the documents he have,if he doesn't he lied, then the Government tried to cover up the real purpose of the China trip,this is poor governance they people need some answers.

So Harmon still hasn't released the documents to the public?

Notice how d2, caribj, mitwah, kari, gilly and others, who jumped for joy at the prospect of money embezzled by Brassington, are notably absent from this thread now that the truth is revealed that the Chinese or Harmon was lying.  

Walla, this 5 million turn out to be a big Godey like the one that is anchoring you down.

Now we hear "De Guyana Ambassador to China" agree to write off the 5 million. Walla we never hear any ambassador writing off Debt, If this is the case Dabadeen got Balls as Big as your Godey..... we know de Ambassador (Dr David Dabadeen) was involved with arranging a fake Doctorate for Jagdeo.....

Walla this makes De Godey more complicated...... Dabadeen could not write off this 5 Million without approval from Jagdeo...... Is there some connection between this "US 5 Million" and "Jagdeo Fake Doctorate".

Walla these are the things which make Jagdeo Scratch his Balls in front of Indians in the New York Indian Day Parade..... and seen on TV  and Internet by Millions all over the world.

Walla tell us more about "Dabadeen 5 million Dollar Godey" .... and "Jagdeo Fake Doctorate"

Vish M posted:

This due just cannot help himself.

His vocabulary in derived from the Gutter or De YARD.

His spin and web is always about Jagdeo.

Why?

Give the man a break....talk about ED or Nadir etc 

He belongs to the gutter and will forever reside there.

Harmonium Hamon is a bare faced liar.

Guyana is governed by a bunch of crooks.

Where is Mitwah, D2, Gil etc ?

No one, yes no one can stand up to Horman. Moses and Rumjhaat are scared of this man in so much that they hide in toilets when Horman is around.

This is what AFC Gave Guyanese:

images

• images

Contrary to various media reports, NICIL has not received the outstanding US$5M and HKGT remains in default of the SSPA. To NICIL’s knowledge, neither HKGT nor its related companies have alleged that the balance of US$5M was paid.

Jalil let your buddy Harmon show us the document that he went all the way to China to bring back,or did he write off the $5m on his trip to China after being entertained with free Food ,Booze, Girls and Free Plane ride. It looks like even Granger did not know of the trip.   QUESTION; Why are you so infatuated with Dr.Jagdeo's Balls, because on this forum you choose to mention this man balls over 100 times, maybe this is your way of showing affection for his BALLS.

Jalil posted:

Walla, this 5 million turn out to be a big Godey like the one that is anchoring you down.

Now we hear "De Guyana Ambassador to China" agree to write off the 5 million. Walla we never hear any ambassador writing off Debt, If this is the case Dabadeen got Balls as Big as your Godey..... we know de Ambassador (Dr David Dabadeen) was involved with arranging a fake Doctorate for Jagdeo.....

Walla this makes De Godey more complicated...... Dabadeen could not write off this 5 Million without approval from Jagdeo...... Is there some connection between this "US 5 Million" and "Jagdeo Fake Doctorate".

Walla these are the things which make Jagdeo Scratch his Balls in front of Indians in the New York Indian Day Parade..... and seen on TV  and Internet by Millions all over the world.

Walla tell us more about "Dabadeen 5 million Dollar Godey" .... and "Jagdeo Fake Doctorate"

This language is so crude that even if it made sense,which it did not, one has difficulty  getting thru reading it. 

Z
Vish M posted:

This due just cannot help himself.

His vocabulary in derived from the Gutter or De YARD.

His spin and web is always about Jagdeo.

Why?

Give the man a break....talk about ED or Nadir etc 

Funny Fella...... if the chineyman is claiming David Dabadeen write off the 5 million Dollar..... we must assume Jagdeo knew about this arrangement and Jagdeo approved the 5 million write off.

Now you want us to believe Ed Ahmad or Manzoor Nadir was running the country and Dabadieen got his instructions from Ed & Nadir.

"What was alleged by the Purchaser’s signatory to the agreement was that following a series of communications with the Former Guyana Ambassador to China (to be authenticated) HKGT was assured that they were not required to pay the balance of US$5M, because the HKGT had not been granted the same minority protection rights enjoyed by NICIL (i.e. two, instead of one, representatives on the GT&T Board of Directors) which HKGT alleged were promised to them. HKGT also alleged that the decision to waive the US$5M was contained in a side agreement."

What dis mean?

"What was alleged by the Purchaser’s signatory to the agreement was that following a series of communications with the Former Guyana Ambassador to China (to be authenticated) HKGT was assured that they were not required to pay the balance of US$5M, because the HKGT had not been granted the same minority protection rights enjoyed by NICIL (i.e. two, instead of one, representatives on the GT&T Board of Directors) which HKGT alleged were promised to them. HKGT also alleged that the decision to waive the US$5M was contained in a side agreement."

What dis mean?

And this dies not fit in to Harmon's statement that the P money was paid prior to them assuming office.

Z

Which is it, Harmon has a proof of payment of the 5M or NICIL has a separate agreement where the 5M was written off? This Coalition government desperately needs a PRO to hide their haplessness.

Which is it, Harmon has a proof of payment of the 5M or NICIL has a separate agreement where the 5M was written off? This Coalition government desperately needs aPRO to hide their haplessness.

They lacking in this area,me thinks Harmon tilting the boat hope they have a lot of calabash to bail it out.

What does Harmon care?   He is off to Florida to start up the bacchanal.  Big PNC party this weekend.  I hope he invite Jalil to dance up lil bit!

No different than when the PPP bhais visit Richman Hill,some used to enjoy the Henny and poke.

What does Harmon care?   He is off to Florida to start up the bacchanal.  Big PNC party this weekend.  I hope he invite Jalil to dance up lil bit!

No different than when the PPP bhais visit Richman Hill,some used to enjoy the Henny and poke.

Those gatherings were paid for by the Richman Hill PPP supporters.  Who is paying for Joe ShanLin party?

Coalition supporters,unless you may perceived they are poor.

The event this weekend in Ft. Lauderdale is being paid for by the South Florida Guyanese Association. It is a non-partisan organization. I was at a similar Independence celebration a few years ago in Orlando and PPP minister Jennifer Webster was in attendance. 

The are also a bunch of dunces to be constantly taken for a ride like a bunch of jackasses.

In the first place, Harmon has no reason to lie. I doubt he is has as low a threshold for truth as you do. Brazzington also has no credibility in the public domain either. In any event, this story also took another tact that the ambassador facilitated the write off to allay the Chinese complaint of having only one seat on GT&T board. If that is so then NICIL has to approve and Romatar lied. The Chinese claiming to pay means they are deceptive. I noted initially that you start with their statement and look for the evidence of it.

Contrary to various media reports, NICIL has not received the outstanding US$5M and HKGT remains in default of the SSPA. To NICIL’s knowledge, neither HKGT nor its related companies have alleged that the balance of US$5M was paid.

Jalil let your buddy Harmon show us the document that he went all the way to China to bring back,or did he write off the $5m on his trip to China after being entertained with free Food ,Booze, Girls and Free Plane ride. It looks like even Granger did not know of the trip.   QUESTION; Why are you so infatuated with Dr.Jagdeo's Balls, because on this forum you choose to mention this man balls over 100 times, maybe this is your way of showing affection for his BALLS.

the same media also said there was a write off in the deal facilitated by the Ambassador hence NICIL and its agents as well as the government knows what happened. The fact it is in this much of a confused mess is because of the manner in which the PPP did business. Nothing was ever above board and clear. There should not be as much secrecy with these deals.

You folks have a lot of nerve The PPP facilitated BaShanLin becoming the largest land owner in guyana plus their adventure into mining, home building, mall ownership and you have the nerve to suggest this administration is in collusion with this entity. You are such gargantuan scumbags that one cannot rely on any reasoned comment on anything from you. Tell us who got paid that this company is making such large sucking sounds as it pillage our state?

Danyael posted:
There should not be as much secrecy with these deals.

I agree Stormy. Harmon appears to be very secretive with the proof of payment which he received when he was in China.

The are also a bunch of dunces to be constantly taken for a ride like a bunch of jackasses.

Bhai supporters off the PPP top the list and the reasons are (1)support your kind (2)Black man baad them guh take advantage pun yuh.

Danyael posted:

In the first place, Harmon has no reason to lie. I doubt he is has as low a threshold for truth as you do. Brazzington also has no credibility in the public domain either. In any event, this story also took another tact that the ambassador facilitated the write off to allay the Chinese complaint of having only one seat on GT&T board. If that is so then NICIL has to approve and Romatar lied. The Chinese claiming to pay means they are deceptive. I noted initially that you start with their statement and look for the evidence of it.

He lied to deflect the criticism brought on by the photo in the plane, stop making excuses for him, you don't owe him anything. No need to be his friend and defender in the light of clear guilt.  Ambassador can not make write off without the authority of NICIL.