Originally Posted by Chameli:

Sir Gil, barahar was sold out (50GY ea)

i ate lots of fruits incl psydium, mamee n dunks and i believe i ate 8 buxon spice one sittin...

Barahar in high demand. Somebaddy should plant a barahar orchard. Sorry you couldn't get any.

Psydium and manee bung belly. 8 buxton spice counteract bung belly.

You had a bung-belly war in Guyana.

Glad you're back.

LOL@ all ayu

Chief Guyana is even more beautiful than i remembered (from 4 yrs ago) and my place of destination was lush with greenery; whitee and mangoes a fall pun u head...i drank sweet black water right out of the creek with my haan...

Happy that you had a good time. You had all these reservations and now you smiling.

Who de people voting for?

[]

gal went a backdam

gyal barn and grow a backdam...

far far from where u grow...btw, i walked 'cow dam' again this time...

i went to buy honey at the supermarket

new housing scheme going up where them old logies used to be 50 yrs ago

Yuh walk kankrete strip tuh?

ahhh...yes, i am glad to be alive...no one even attempted to have me 'taken out' lol...Chief, indeed i had reservation about going esp with all 3 of my children at the same time (as i told you, i am not the most loved when it comes a few insignificant folks) Anyway, i fulfilled what i promised my beloved...and even though i used to say i would never go to Mahaicony creek...i not only liked the place, i felt what he tried to explain when he returned in March last yr.  Imagine i crossed a trench with a fine old rickity bridge and sat in a canoe to cross the creek...pics coming later

Now about the people and their politics...99% of the people i know/spoke with or hear talking will vote PPP...they do not want to go back to PNC days

I was at the airport when 'consummation' of the 2 parties took place...it was funny to hear the comments/ of the folks

I don't believe yuh. No rickity bridge can staan yuh weight.

yah rass Ksaz

dem ppl gat new fangled names fo all kinda streets

i think the most nostalgic was to drive down the old mud dam (now paved) that i used to walk from the train at DeWillem to get to Zeeburg High

I don't know that dam. Just a lil bit of Leonora. My sister in law went to Zeeburg High though.

Thanks Dear Chami for the notes about Guyana.I do see a lot of good pictures of the Hotels there on the Guyanese Face Book pages.

Good to hear about the family contact that you had and that helped with you being able handling of the deep emotions. You always sound so good and natural,hence you never know we still will meet one day in Toronto, Gods willing. Our daughter Kenya has graduated and works and lives there, which is much better for her than to come back to work on St.Maarten simply because of her studies and they locally will not to pay her enough. She visits us next month for a week and can't wait to see her.

Thanks Ksazma for the kind words for Kenya.

Well with selling of our home in Prashad will not happen, simply because our late Dad had that home built since back in the 60,s will he was working for the Refinery in Curacao and all of us was born in Curacao during that time. The home is way too good to sell today, even though we are not living there .The money will not mean much in terms of it's real value on the Market today. also our Mom is still alive  and lives in Florida with one of our Sister.

Originally Posted by Kennys:

Thanks Ksazma for the kind words for Kenya.

Well with selling of our home in Prashad will not happen, simply because our late Dad had that home built since back in the 60,s will he was working for the Refinery in Curacao and all of us was born in Curacao during that time. The home is way too good to sell today, even though we are not living there .The money will not mean much in terms of it's real value on the Market today. also our Mom is still alive  and lives in Florida with one of our Sister.

I can relate to how you feel about the house in Prashad Nagar. We too loved our home which my dad used to say he saw every nail placed in it (not practically but he says it since he bought the empty land and had it built from scratch back in the 60's). We sold it in 1992 because it was not getting proper care but I do agree with you that the money from it was meaningless. I have absolutely no idea what happened with the money but I know none of us cared for it. Where in Florida does your folks live?

[]

Happy that you had a good time. You had all these reservations and now you smiling.

Now about the people and their politics...99% of the people i know/spoke with or hear talking will vote PPP...they do not want to go back to PNC days

I was at the airport when 'consummation' of the 2 parties took place...it was funny to hear the comments/ of the folks

I am  sad  for the people of Guyana.

PPP getting 99.5% of coolie votes.

Apaan Jhaat is alive and well on the  West Coast Of Demerara.

[]

Not necessarily bad Chief. While I am disappointed and appalled at the actions of the PPP, they have done a better job at managing the country than the PNC of past. I don't blame Indians for sticking with the PPP as opposed to supporting the PNC. In a political climate like Guyana, there will always be a sizeable segment of the population that will be unrepresented and I strongly doubt that all those promises are genuine, even from the PPP. No matter how we slice and dice it, that monstrous constitution that Burnham illegally placed into effect isn't going anywhere. Guyanese are not unselfish enough to all come together and destroy it no matter how whoever the opposition is may promise.  But I do agree with you that it is a sad situation for the people of Guyana. Thank you Burnham!!!! I never cared for that guy. Because of my singing abilities, I was picked to do play at the Cultural Center but refused to because I felt that I will be performing for him. Never went to any of his speech to the point that once while passing by the Cuffy monument, I saw this huge crowd and stopped to ask a police officer who was speaking and he replied, "that is the president". Didn't care to know him then and don't care for him now.

[]

Why are you NOT sad PNC getting 99.9999 percent of the Afro Vote, including the Police, Army and Civil Service????????????

Originally Posted by ksazma:
[]

Not necessarily bad Chief. While I am disappointed and appalled at the actions of the PPP, they have done a better job at managing the country than the PNC of past. I don't blame Indians for sticking with the PPP as opposed to supporting the PNC. In a political climate like Guyana, there will always be a sizeable segment of the population that will be unrepresented and I strongly doubt that all those promises are genuine, even from the PPP. No matter how we slice and dice it, that monstrous constitution that Burnham illegally placed into effect isn't going anywhere. Guyanese are not unselfish enough to all come together and destroy it no matter how whoever the opposition is may promise.  But I do agree with you that it is a sad situation for the people of Guyana. Thank you Burnham!!!! I never cared for that guy. Because of my singing abilities, I was picked to do play at the Cultural Center but refused to because I felt that I will be performing for him. Never went to any of his speech to the point that once while passing by the Cuffy monument, I saw this huge crowd and stopped to ask a police officer who was speaking and he replied, "that is the president". Didn't care to know him then and don't care for him now.

My take is that it is time to give the new alliance a chance. PPP been there for too long and has been doing a lot of nonsense.

tHIS RACE VOTING HAS TO STOP.

Why are you NOT sad PNC getting 99.9999 percent of the Afro Vote, including the Police, Army and Civil Service????????????

Every caribj post have one theme. Whatever is necessary to put the PNC back in powah. He is now loosing sleep because he feels that the AFC cannot get those Indian votes over to the PNC anymore now that they have all gotten into bed with the PNC for this big orgy. Then to add insult to injury, Benschop may run independently and take away some black/mixed votes. The man can't get any peace.

My take is that it is time to give the new alliance a chance. PPP been there for too long and has been doing a lot of nonsense.

tHIS RACE VOTING HAS TO STOP.

All good but change can't be just for the sake of change. Sure the PPP have issues but I have not seen anything from the Opposition that they will be any better. The 10th Parliament exposed them to be as vindictive as the PPP. Unfortunately my brother, I have to break it to you that race voting is not ready to go away because the two main races don't have that level of trust for each other. What may break the camel's back however is a new party headed by maybe a Portuguese with prominent Portuguese leaders. This may be something that Indians can trust thereby shifting Indian votes from a Indian Centric party to one that is more Anglo and since their population is small, they will have to pull from both of the main racial groups thereby facilitating the representation of all Guyanese. That is something that the Portuguese leaders of Guyana as well as Cainsta may want to explore.  This may actually work. Can't vouch for blacks but I feel Coolies like White folks.   I know I like the women because they don't hold out.