Election date not constitutionally valid-

Former CCJ Judge

• Saturday, 24 January 2015 08:31

Parliament Building

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. 

A University of Guyana (UG) Law Professor says that the May 11, 2015 date for general and regional elections is not constitutionally valid because President Donald Ramotar has not followed the required procedures.
Professor Justice Duke Pollard, in a letter to the privately-owned Stabroek News newspaper said that Article 61 of Guyana’s constitution requires the appointment of the election date by the President by proclamation- “that is an appropriate gazettable instrument in writing.”
Pollard, a former judge of the Caribbean Court of Justice (CCJ), said that Article 61 further requires that the appointment of an election date has to be made only after the dissolution of Parliament and not before nor during its prorogation.
The President and his learned Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs must be advised that, contrary to their delusionary understanding and the expressions of approbation by the political opposition and other well-wishers, a definitive determination of the election date within the meaning of Article 61 of the Guyana Constitution is yet to be made,” he said.
Attorney General, Anil Nandlall has confirmed that Parliament remains suspended (prorogued) as of November 10, 2014 and has to be dissolved three months before polling day.  Against that background, government has until February 9, 2015 the latest by which Parliament must be dissolved.
He has said that the Constitution does not provide for the President to dissolve Parliament before naming the election date.
Cabinet Secretary, Dr. Roger Luncheon ruled out a parliamentary sitting, including the tabling of the National Budget, before parliament is dissolved.

Parliament has to be dissolve three months prior to the election date. An election was requested by all opposition parties under a prorogued government, but if the opposition parties should protest the date for valid reason, then consideration is to be given. Other than that the date is legal, prepare to vote on the 11th. May 2015, I will.

Originally Posted by kp:

Parliament has to be dissolve three months prior to the election date. An election was requested by all opposition parties under a prorogued government, but if the opposition parties should protest the date for valid reason, then consideration is to be given. Other than that the date is legal, prepare to vote on the 11th. May 2015, I will.

The opposition wanted an election date and now they have it. Why complain?

Let's the opposition get with the program and stop complaining about their cold ice cream.

Originally Posted by sachin_05:
Originally Posted by kp:

Let's the opposition get with the program and stop complaining about their cold ice cream.

Why don't you pull yuh head yuh kakahole and read what the constitution states:" Article 61 requires that the appointment of an election date has to be made only after the dissolution of Parliament and not before nor during its prorogation".

Originally Posted by kp:

Your posts are becoming in the same vein as those of Nehru and yugi, you in good company...the Stupid gang.

Originally Posted by kp:

The Honorable Learned Judge

is Just pointing out these ***ers

who like to Quote the Constitution

do not know the law or what is legal

and the are a bunch of Dunces

who like Kwame

and believe yuh can slap lil Vaseline

and do their Dutty wuk & nastiness ......

and it legal.

Originally Posted by kp:

Cain look at this Buggerbatty...

according to Skeldon....

Berbicians should love Kwame

because he is no different from Jagdeo....

Skeldon..... Buggery

is not Cold Icecream

Quote Cain....Your posts are becoming in the same vein as those of Nehru and yugi, you in good company...the Stupid gang.

Cain.....

Nehru sometimes follow them Stupidly....

But I am not sure Nehru .....

Loves & Enjoy Buggery

Like Kwame & Yuji

Originally Posted by kp:

Skelly, there is something called the Rule of Law.

Civilized and democratic states abide by laws, principally their constitutions.

Ramotar erred in not following clear procedures stated in the constitution regarding the holding of general elections.

Ramotar has been getting one bad advice after another during his term of office by people whom he trusts but who take advantage of his shortcoming in legal, constitutional and other matters.

The opposition parties want elections, certainly, but they also want the President to do things the proper way.

Oi Gilly, he said as he ahem ahem...doffs his hat and bows with a slight incline" after reading your response to Skeldon guy,I went back and read the ones from jalil and I, I must say, they are rather different, hehehehe.

Banna, i don't have the time to do too much reasoning with these fellas, they turn a blind eye. Look, you just posted something that should open their eyes...will it? Nahhhhh, I got faith in dem guys to not choose the right path.

Originally Posted by kp:

I expected you to agree with an incompetent Govt

Quote Ray >...I expected you to agree with an incompetent Govt.

Ray wha kinda ah Admin & Moderator you are....

Yuh "F-ing" up dem PPP Bhai too much

Serious Now

Ray >....You will be suspended if I get another report about personal attacks!......Dem Complaining & Crying too much.

Hea Sponty Ejaculation ...

Wha ayu doing fa dem people in Berbice?

Dem rass mad at the PPP fa ignoring dem and stuffin dem pocket wid half ah project money.

Mutt and Jeff screw too many people in de name of de PPP.

Originally Posted by kp:

PPP rules now and after 11th May 2015, you guys can talk forever but cannot change the fact, majority victory.

Bhai as Ray say

F off & go wash yuh Batty....

PPP term End on 11th May 2015

Moses took

Clean Cut

Originally Posted by kp:

To me this is line with total incompetence...more the reason to not vote PPP

Originally Posted by kp:

shut up and go hunt wild cabbage with your gun you is a ppp criminal    

Originally Posted by Vish M:

I am not too bright but does this former Judge opinion matters

it matters to the extent that he is far and away more knowledgeable on these matters than abee chat3 warria AG advising the president

Originally Posted by Vish M:

I am not too bright but does this former Judge opinion matters

If you do not who the Judge is or his Credentials we will have to excuse you.

He is not a PPP or PNC appointed Judge or Magistrate like Baldeo or One of them from Liberty Avenue.

He is a Caribbean Court of Justice - Judge....

http://www.llrx.com/features/c...ancourtofjustice.htm

He was also Caricom Choice as judge of the International Criminal Court

http://iccnow.org/documents/Po...d_-_Note_Verbale.pdf