I like to think that some of the views expressed here or not reflective of the views of the majority of Guyanese. I travel around Guyana and I do not see or feel this animosity that some indicate here in the rural areas of Guyana. 

Maybe, I am not seeing it because I am not looking for it. My experience abroad has enlightened me to label myself as "black" in addition to being all the other labels - East Indian, Guyanese, father, husband, son, grandfather, etc. I am proud of all of these labels, revel in them and will defend always my right to be them. 

Z
FC posted:

You can answer the question by yourself by looking at who were the heads of boards and agencies under the PPP. Look at who were awarded contracts. That is a start. Blacks were awarded scraps. 

Blacks were awarded scrap because they are incompetent to run their own house... why give them contracts and secondly they did not have the resources. They are more efficient in labor and supervision. 

I agree with what you said. Reading GNI you would think there is a race war in progress. Guyanese of all stripes on a social basis get along with one another. It is the Guyanese way. But the question that you are posing is not racism at the street level but systemic marginalization by the government based on race in terms of who gets preferential treatment whether it be employment, awarding of contracts, development of communities etc. 

Imran posted:
FC posted:

You can answer the question by yourself by looking at who were the heads of boards and agencies under the PPP. Look at who were awarded contracts. That is a start. Blacks were awarded scraps. 

Blacks were awarded scrap because they are incompetent to run their own house... why give them contracts and secondly they did not have the resources. They are more efficient in labor and supervision. 

Yes they can't run a cake shop. Lol. You can't help yourself your racism just jumps out of you.

FC posted:
Imran posted:
FC posted:

Yes they can't run a cake shop. Lol. You can't help yourself your racism just jumps out of you.

You can say whatever you want...Black people needs to put their houses in order, don't wait and depend on another race to fix it . 

To begin with, they spend more than what they earn , so they have nothing to show... others save and build with their blood and sweat . There is no question, there are a few successful blacks, but examine their history... they have some roots to Indians or live among Indians....

Imran posted:
FC posted:

I would much prefer to give a contract to one who is efficient in labour and supervision rather than one who is the same colour as I without the knowledge..as in the dude with an office in a barber shop given a contract for his "road building experience" who never built a wooden bridge....Ramotar,s son Alexi and his "wire pulling experience"..etc.

Imran posted:
FC posted:

I would much prefer to give a contract to one who is efficient in labour and supervision rather than one who is the same colour as I without the knowledge..as in the dude with an office in a barber shop given a contract for his "road building experience" who never built a wooden bridge....Ramotar,s son Alexi and his "wire pulling experience"..etc.

Or like Volda Lawrence as Minister of Health.  Was she awarded this postion based on knowledge, experience, and competence? How are they doing with the shortage of basic medicine in Guyana?  Is it worth risking the healthcare of an entire country because of party favours?

Did this shotage of drugs just happen? This is ongoing in Guyana, no need to play dumb. The woman brought in the necessary drugs at a considerable cost due to irrigularities and cons who supply the drugs and for this she is being hounded by ignorant people.

Your turn to explain the "road builder" and the "wire puller"

What necessary drugs did she bring in?  The ones Granger is using for his personal treatment?  Stop your dirty lies!!!

Dam woman do I have to school you again? I went to East Ruimveldt Sec while you went to Saints..what happened? Anyway, why is The Health Minister being accused of purchasing drugs from one source" if she is not bringing in what is desperately needed?

There is a Indian contractor who had no experience was given huge contracts,today that fella is a multi-millionaire.Wan warf he built float away shortly after completed.

Wan to know what's the reason kick backs to the Minister.

Appointment of Raj Singh an expat party hack as head of Guysuco. No better than his predecessor Ramotar. Together they ran sugar into the ground. Really superior talent.

What necessary drugs did she bring in?  The ones Granger is using for his personal treatment?  Stop your dirty lies!!!

Dam woman do I have to school you again? I went to East Ruimveldt Sec while you went to Saints..what happened? Anyway, why is The Health Minister being accused of purchasing drugs from one source" if she is not bringing in what is desperately needed?

Cain,

The woman (Lawrence) is not only a hostile racist pig, she is thievin' and does a poor job as a minister.  She is making life harder for the poor who rely on government health services.  

Haha is that the SKOOL yo mama send you , no wonder we jr minister didn't know the difference between Phagwah and Diwali . 

Imran posted:
FC posted:

Or like Volda Lawrence as Minister of Health.  Was she awarded this postion based on knowledge, experience, and competence? How are they doing with the shortage of basic medicine in Guyana?  Is it worth risking the healthcare of an entire country because of party favours?

So it took two fk years for the current regime to know this , with all them investigation them do ... na bai 

Bibi Haniffa posted: Or like Volda Lawrence as Minister of Health.  Was she awarded this postion based on knowledge, experience, and competence? 

Unfair question. Reminder: In 1992 President Cheddi Jagan appointed Gail Teixeira as his Minister of Health. She had no medical qualification but that fact didn't disqualify her for the job.

Imran posted:
FC posted:

So it took two fk years for the current regime to know this , with all them investigation them do ... na bai 

Look how many years it took for yall find out your Dr leader wasnt a real man. Now that was a real con job....na bai.

Queens Atlantic Investment Inc. (QAII) is an investment company consisting of nine subsidiary companies, namely Global Printing and Graphics Inc.; Global Hardware Inc.; Global Textile (Guyana) Inc.; Global Packaging Inc., Health International Inc.; Healthcare Life Sciences Inc, TVG, and Guyana Times Newspaper.

Queens Atlantic Investment Inc. was incorporated in Guyana in 1999 and is run by a board of directors. The Company’s aim is to effectively develop by improving the standard of goods or services produced by each of these companies.

Today the company has a growing and evolving portfolio of companies. It is a privately owned Guyanese company with its headquarters located at Industrial Estate, Industrial Site, Ruimveldt, Georgetown, Guyana, South America.

Emphasis has always been placed on creating jobs for local individuals as well as to be less independent on foreign corporations for products such as drugs and other medicines, printed material and hardware items that can be produced locally to the same standards as those we currently import.

With our strong business ethics and integrity coupled with quality standard, consumers are assured of exemplary products and services. 

Why would an Indian be so stupid to put an office where the only thing people know is how to burn, loot, kill and push drugs?

Bibi Haniffa posted: Or like Volda Lawrence as Minister of Health.  Was she awarded this postion based on knowledge, experience, and competence? 

Unfair question. Reminder: In 1992 President Cheddi Jagan appointed Gail Teixeira as his Minister of Health. She had no medical qualification but that fact didn't disqualify her for the job.

I never said Cheddi Jagan was a bright man.  He also had a lot of square pegs in round holes.  And it didn't take too long for Burnham to outsmart him.  According to the words of John F. Kennedy, "Cheddi Jagan is a stupid man."

He was a good man. But he was not a bright man.

Jagdeo is not a racist.  And as FC pointed out, many Guyanese living in Guyana are not racist.  GNI has taken roots in racism.  It promotes racism and lies to undermine the credibility of many good people.

He can be credited for assisting majority his kind and a few blacks to enrich themselves form the Government coffers.

Jagdeo is not a racist.  And as FC pointed out, many Guyanese living in Guyana are not racist.  GNI has taken roots in racism.  It promotes racism and lies to undermine the credibility of many good people.

He can be credited for assisting majority his kind and a few blacks to enrich themselves form the Government coffers.

That is why plenty plenty blackman like him.

FC posted:

Other than your anecdotal evidence, what hard facts do you have on this. What is the ethnic composition of those re diving government contract. Present the hard evidence I do not accept "dem seh" as evidence.

Z
Imran posted:
FC posted:

Cain, does one have to know how to build a bridge if one bids to construct a bridge. I thought that many businessmen hire experts in the particular fields to carry out the technical work. 

Ramotar,s son was not employed by the government, as far as I understand. His failure is basically an indication of a mismatch between the requirements of the job and the knowledge he gained through his post secondary education.

Z
Zed posted:
FC posted:

Other than your anecdotal evidence, what hard facts do you have on this. What is the ethnic composition of those re diving government contract. Present the hard evidence I do not accept "dem seh" as evidence.

Don't be daft. Remove the cotton wool from your eyes. Sufficient factual examples have been provided on this thread of where Indians were provided positions not based on qualifications but race. 

Imran posted:
FC posted:

I agree with you. Most ministers in many countries are selected not on tge basis of competence, but on political affiliation. The technical work is usually done by the permanent admin staff who are expected to advise and carry out the decisions made by the minister. Unfortunately, in Guyana, we are dealing with a civil service which is generally incompetent and corrupt.

Z

Did this shotage of drugs just happen? This is ongoing in Guyana, no need to play dumb. The woman brought in the necessary drugs at a considerable cost due to irrigularities and cons who supply the drugs and for this she is being hounded by ignorant people.

Your turn to explain the "road builder" and the "wire puller"

Cain, the minister said that she expedited the order. Not she is saying that he was not involved. There was no board at that time. Some of the drugs and stuff Eg. Body bags purchased were not off immediate need. The company said that there was a competition and tender for those drugs before being awarded the contract. Turned out that this was false. The head of the tender board disclaim any prior knowledge and of attending any meeting. Additionally, there are specific regulations governing single sourcing and tgese were not followed.

Z

There is a Indian contractor who had no experience was given huge contracts,today that fella is a multi-millionaire.Wan warf he built float away shortly after completed.

Wan to know what's the reason kick backs to the Minister.

FC posted:

Django, please post the evidence that the minister received a kickback, if you can or is this unsubstantiated rumour. Also, who should be blamed? Is there not supposed to be a supervising engineer from the ministry who certifies the work? 

Z