Just yesterday I dropped my second phone line and also went back to basic tv, it's criminal what they're doing to us. They first say that we make our own packages but I only want one sport channel and I've got to put out the dollars for the whole sports package,....ripoff tarass.

Wifey just showed me a Primus ad but I know no one who used them.
Originally posted by cain:
Can Skype be used in Guyana? I use it to speak to my son in Calgary,free and I get the chance to see him while we talk.

Yes, I normally stay with frens at Ogle who use Skype all the time for their calls to Australia,UK,US, Canada, etc...
I often use Skype to Suddie, Essequibo from Canada,[computer to computer for free] but the wireless tel system is unreliable,which works on GPL.
I believe Skype can be used anywhere where the program is downloaded.
Originally posted by ksazma:
Originally posted by IGH:
I made an 85 minutes call to Guyana 2 weeks ago. I have to pay Time Warner(cable co here) $81.68...9.6cents per minute... hubby told me next time buy a calling card.

Yuh shure it didn't cost you 96 cents per minute?

Pretty sure... do your math, Mr. Accountant. Smile

Divide $81.60 by 85 minutes... then try the reverse ...
I made an 85 minutes call to Guyana 2 weeks ago. I have to pay Time Warner(cable co here) $81.68...9.6cents per minute... hubby told me next time buy a calling card.

Guyana is a high cost calling area, but 0.96c/minute is way too high. Some Canadian companies charge 0.39 cents/minute.

GT&T sell cards in GY which can be used overseas to call Guyana. Check into these or like your hubby said, get calling cards in the US.
Keep in mind, some overseas CC take away minutes for administrative use, once the card is activated.

That is what I thought. $81.60 divided by 85 minutes equal 96 cents per minute. But I could be wrong. Smile

Put my decimal in the wrong place in original post. Thanks Mr. Accountant.Smile
Originally posted by Rosita:
Anyone has a good phone/cable/internet package with any company other than Rogers/Bell. My bill just seems to be freaking high, it's almost a car payment a month Mad

And even though I pay a premium a month for lower long distance call, they still charge 49 cents a minute to Guyana.

Rosi, I'm not a Canadian as you know, but I'll still respond. Have you tried rebtel?
Look into Magic Jack and skype as well.