The Canadian Government is confident that the Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM) will deliver free and fair elections come May 11.

This is according to Canadian High Commissioner to Guyana, Dr Nicole Giles who was at the time addressing a gathering at the Easter Concert of the Clemsville Music Ensemble which was held in the Chancery of the High Commission of Canada on Tuesday evening.
Noting that during an election period emotions can easily supersede mutual respect, the High Commissioner said Canada is eagerly looking forward to seeing Guyana continue on its development path as she linked fair elections to development.
“Canada remains committed to the Americas and is working with its partners, including Guyana, to increase economic opportunity, strengthen security and institutions, and foster lasting relationships.  Our partnerships in Guyana are based on a shared vision of a prosperous, secure and democratic Guyana where diversity, including in the arts, is celebrated,” Dr Giles said.
She noted that music and democracy share similar traits as both require a structure, rhythm, teamwork, a conductor to provide leadership, and mutual respect for other players while stating that if any of these traits are ignored, the music ceases to be beautiful and democracy cannot thrive.
“This evening we have both of these elements at play. As Guyana prepares for elections, its democracy is working within a structure, developing a rhythm, building teams, selecting leaders, and building mutual respect. From the structural perspective, Canada has confidence in the Guyana Elections Commission ability to deliver free and fair elections,” the Canadian High Commissioner added.
The diplomat assured that her country and embassy will continue to work with all partners – the Government, all political parties, the private sector and civil society – to support free, fair and peaceful elections.
In closing she told the gathering that it was her hope that the spirit of Easter and the renewal that the season represents will help to guide Guyana through the upcoming electoral period.   “I hope that it will guide Guyana in renewing dialogue, focusing on issues that can bring Guyana together, and identifying policy solutions that advance Guyana’s prosperity, security and democracy.”

Source: Guyana Times March 27, 2015

Ii read the article several times but at no instance did I read that Canada is upbeat that GECOM will deliver free and fair elections. No mention was made of GECOM. What the Canadians said that they look forward to continued business with the regime.

Obama is satisfied that Guyana is a democratic  country and that the elections will be free and fair.  There are going to be observers from all over the world.

Blacks and Indians have a right to vote for whoever they want to.

Last edited by Ramakant-P
Originally Posted by Mr.T:

Ii read the article several times but at no instance did I read that Canada is upbeat that GECOM will deliver free and fair elections. No mention was made of GECOM. What the Canadians said that they look forward to continued business with the regime.

That's your problem, deal with it!!

The elections will free and fair.  Guyana is a democratic country.

Hindus, Muslims, Christians and the Amerinds will come together and return PPP to the glory days, where everyone is happy and satisfied. No long lines for food, freedom to walk the streets without getting raped, Jobs for everyone and you don't have to join the Governing party.

Long live the PPP.  

SINCE 1992, NO WHERE IN THE WORLD HAS THERE BEEN ELECTIONS MORE FAIR, OPEN AND VERIFIED THAN ELECTIONS IN GUYANA.  ASK PRESIDENT CARTER AND OTHER LEADING ORGANIZATIONS!!!  AL YUH PUT DAT IN AL YUH PIPE AND SMOKE IT!!!!

Hindus, Muslims, Christians and the Amerinds will come together and return PPP to the glory days, where everyone is happy and satisfied. No long lines for food, freedom to walk the streets without getting raped, Jobs for everyone and you don't have to join the Governing party.

Long live the PPP.  

bull crap only a few days ago 15 yr old was found

by the sea wall dead.

Originally Posted by Django:

Long live the PPP.  

by the sea wall dead.

AND YOUR POINT is????????????

Long live the PPP.  

by the sea wall dead.

happened under the government you support,for

you the are the best since slice bread.

Long live the PPP.  

by the sea wall dead.

That is happening under EVERY Govt on the Planet. So once again, what is your point????

Long live the PPP.  

by the sea wall dead.

That is happening under EVERY Govt on the Planet. So once again, what is your point???

Long live the PPP.  

by the sea wall dead.

smfh

Long live the PPP.  

If you were to remove your head out from that FAT ass you would be able to read much better.....try it.