Former Magistrate Fazil Azeez shot; AFC condemns attack

• Saturday, 25 April 2015 17:34
  • Written by  Denis Scott Chabrol

Former Magistrate Fazil Azeez shot; AFC condemns attack 

Former Magistrate and Radio Broadcaster Fazil Azeez was Saturday shot to his abdomen during an attempt to rob him, police said.

Azeez's condition is listed as stable.
Police said in a statement that Azeez, currently a practicing attorney, was admitted to a city hospital in a stable condition.
Police said in its statement that at about 1155 AM Saturday April 25, 2015, Azeez of Dowding Street, Kitty, was at Eccles, East Bank Demerara, when he was held up by a man armed with a firearm who demanded cash. 

"Azeez resisted and was shot to his abdomen by the armed man who escaped after persons in the area came out upon hearing the discharge of the firearm," according to a police spokesman.
Meanwhile, the Alliance For Change+ A Partnership for National Unity (APNU+AFC) condemned the attack on Azeez and wished him a speedy recovery.

"The Coalition has received credible reports that Azeez was not robbed during the attack. Azeez is known for his principled stance against corruption, crime and poor governance," said the opposition grouping.

According to the political organisation, Azeez was a friend of APNU+AFC and is especially close to Prime Ministerial candidate Moses Nagamootoo. The two practiced together after studying and graduating from the Hugh Wooding Law School, University of West Indies in 2002.

Azeez served as General Manager of the now defunct Guyana Broadcasting Corporation while Nagamootoo served as Minister of Information.

Nagamootoo visited Azeez in hospital after his surgery. Nagamootoo also visited FyuseHoosein, a businessman who was also shot in Georgetown on Friday.

Azeez was also one of the Muslim leaders who met with Presidential Candidate David Granger and Prime Ministerial Candidate Nagamootoo on Thursday last.

"The Coalition appeals to the Muslim community of the West Coast and West Bank Demerara to stand firm in this difficult time."

Former magistrate Fazil Azeez shot

April 26, 2015 | By | Filed Under News 

Former Magistrate Fazil Azeez is listed in a stable condition at a city hospital after he was shot by a man who mysteriously fled leaving a bag of money behind. The incident occurred yesterday around 11:00 hours at the Eccles Housing Scheme, East Bank Demerara where Azeez is constructing a house. Azeez was shot one time in his stomach and underwent emergency surgery and up to last night he was resting comfortably. Kaieteur News understands that the shooter went to the construction site under the pretext of looking for a job. The contractor in charge of the worksite told this newspaper that he and Azeez had just returned to the site from purchasing materials when the man came up. He said that he was a bit suspicious of the man judging from his appearance but he did not pay too much emphasis on that especially since he had already told the man that he did not need more employees. The man then approached Azeez who was about to leave the premises and made the same request. “De boss (Azeez) call me and ask me if I need any more workerâ€ĶI tell he ‘no man, I full’, and I walk and go back inside and all I hear something like a squib and I turn back and see he (Azeez) lie down,” the contractor stated. Another worker stated that he was at the back of the site when he too heard the gunshot. “I hear, pai! And me suspect is a gunshot fire deh. Next thing i see people running down at de back hey saying, ‘Oh God, watch de man just shoot Mr. Fazil’. When me watch through deh me see a man runnin going up de road so, like he tie up he head,” the employee stated. Although the man fled without taking anything from Azeez, his employees are convinced that the man was there to commit a robbery but abandoned his mission after Azeez resisted and the workers threatened to confront him. “Ah de money he come fah yes, it gat to be. After he see is a set of workers and I rush outâ€Ķbut after I see Mr. Azeez lie down pon de ground, i back off,” the contractor told this newspaper. Azeez was picked up and rushed to the hospital where he was immediately admitted. The police were summoned and they recovered a spent shell, on which they will be carrying out ballistics tests. Azeez was a broadcaster at the Guyana Broadcasting Corporation before serving several years as the General Manager. He then pursued studies in law and later became a magistrate for a few years before returning to private practice.