this year ( DC/MD/VA area)  in single track  mountainbiking ( we ride in the woods). We are starting in the first week of march ( actually we ride any day there is dry weather. Our rides last for approx 2 hours from 10 to 16 miles depending on trails and start around 4 to 5pm on week days. Oo week ends we start at ten. We usually ride shaffer farms, black rock and cabin john during the week and where ever there is a mountain trail  we can get to on the week ends.

We will ride Shaffer Farms and cabin John in march so that any newbie can get acclimated to overcoming their fear of riding single tracks and because these trails are fairly obstacle free with few rollers and rock gardens so you can learn to mountain bike safely.

Erroll, I have extra bikes you can ride. You just have to show up. Let me know and off we go into a new experience. I already have a two trinis riding with us. We are a small group that that will be between 4 and 8 on any day. We also do road rides but on cyclocross or mountain-bikes and not road bikes since we like to jump off roads where road bikes cannot go.

We participate in a couple multi day adventure races (hiking, canoeing, mountain biking), and have at least 4 confirmed single tracking races  to date,  plus we do a number of charity rides (ie seagull century) and tours like bucks county covered bridges ride. We also go to Utah for a week in October. It is fun, after every ride we hang out at whatever local pub there is and eat and yammer like week end warriors do.

Drop me  a line in private with an email address and join mapmyride or meetup and you can meet the group.

Originally Posted by Freaky:
Mek sure yuh invite SupaMike He's got a Big Ben

He is most certainly welcome to come. However, he will have to leave his big ben at home. Otherwise he can bring big ben and a coffin so we can make sure he gets proper Muslim rites before sundown.

Can I use my Triumph?

Makes me remember a funny story.

A couple (friends of mine) went out to do some horseback riding and at one point as they came to a rocky area they were told to "walk the horse"

A minute or so later the guide and her husband looked around to see her actually off the horse and walking with it.

Walking the horse meant to not trot or gallop, just let the horse walk.

Makes me remember a funny story.

A couple (friends of mine) went out to do some horseback riding and at one point as they came to a rocky area they were told to "walk the horse"

A minute or so later the guide and her husband looked around to see her actually off the horse and walking with it.

Walking the horse meant to not trot or gallop, just let the horse walk.

She possibly did the best thing. The horse is better able to navigate the rocks with no one on its back. Kudos to her even if she misinterpreted what her guides said.

Originally Posted by Errol:

I would love to join but I haven't ridden a bike in over 20 years - and that is over flat roads at that.  I don't think I will be in condition to keep up with you pros.

Do not worry. We have lots of newbies just starting out.  We will ride the dirt trails that have no technical difficulties so if you can ride you can go.  Further, each trail has work around when there is a technical section. Plus we are like the marines, leave no man behind. You can try it to see if you will like it. I am sure you will since it is pure fun and with lots of adrenaline to fuel it.

Originally Posted by ball:

satr off with a unicycle then work yu way to a bicycle and if that get to be too much fo yu then settle fo a tricycle

Easy bannas.  Ah still tryin to figure out this tricycle thingie!

Trikes are fun. My friend has a tadpole recombient trike like this one. It can go as fast as a road bike.

I want one.

I think OLE MAN ERROL scared he get a Karn pon he bamsie. HEHEHE

with the right gear he can ride all day and still feel as he was sitting on  a kings pillow. Biking gear are phenomenal. I ride at 20 below and the jacket i wear is 7 oz.

You have me sold on this.  As a novice what gear would I need?

I think OLE MAN ERROL scared he get a Karn pon he bamsie. HEHEHE

with the right gear he can ride all day and still feel as he was sitting on  a kings pillow. Biking gear are phenomenal. I ride at 20 below and the jacket i wear is 7 oz.

You have me sold on this.  As a novice what gear would I need?

You need mountain biking shorts, and shoes that you can walk with and later attach clips. Go for the cheapest shoes that are comfortable and shorts with gel pads. Try Nashbar.com online if  you know your size or go to a Performace bike shop. We have the helmets, gloves, camel backs and minimal body armor if you feel you need them.

We will ride trails with little technicals to start. If you want to join us, start walking at least a couple of miles a day to get into cardio shape or try a spinning class at the gym.

If you have an Iphone or an android phone, join mapmyride.com, download the app and track your walks. We use these apps plus gps maps to keep track of each other on the trails. We also have radios. We have others stuff like heart monitors to keep you in safe cardio range.

It is sheer fun plus you get to see the city as you never can otherwise.