Home > NEWS > Rastafarian Council not part of ‘Theocracy Party’ –reiterates support for legalisation of marijuana
Ras Simeon [right) in discussion, while Ras Ian (centre) listens attentively
Ras Simeon (right) in discussion, while Ras Ian (centre) listens attentively 

Rastafarian Council not part of ‘Theocracy Party’ –reiterates support for legalisation of marijuana

GENERAL Secretary of the Guyana Rastafarian Council, Ras Ian said the Council is not part of the Healing the Nation Theocracy Party formed by Ras Leon Saul, but is not against the setting up of any party representing Rastafarians.Speaking with the Guyana Chronicle, Ras Ian said he learned about the party through the media, and cannot say if the Council will give its support as it does not know what the party is about.

But he pointed out that Rastafarians are not “big” in getting into politics, but if they decide to form a party, it will have to be through consultations with the “brethrens” and “sistrens” throughout Guyana.
Consultations, he said, would not be enough, contending that consensus will be essential of who becomes the Presidential and Prime Ministerial candidates.
Until then, he said, they will support those who support their spiritual upliftment and economic freedom.
SACRAMENTAL VALUES
When asked what these entail, Ras Ian said it is essentially the legalisation of marijuana, noting that the ban is not only a deprivation of their economic means, but also their sacramental values.
Making a pitch for legalisation, he said some people need to stop being hypocritical.
At this point, Ras Simeon added: “Look at America… they consume the most ganja but yet they are advocating for banning it, and the jailing of the I for smoking it.”
Several states in the US have legalised the smoking of marijuana but for recreational purposes, but the Government of Guyana has said explicitly that it will not be supporting the legalisation of the illicit substance, fearing a multiplication of the social problems in society.
MEDICAL MARIJUANA
Caricom Governments in March last year established a commission to analyse the possibility of legalising marijuana, following discussion of a preliminary report that found decriminalising medical marijuana could help boost the region’s economy.
Ras Leon Saul parted ways with the United Republican Party (URP) following a disagreement with the party’s Presidential Candidate Vishnu Bandhu on the legalisation of the substance.
Bandhu had said that he cannot support the legalisation as it will cause serious social repercussions in society, but Saul disagreed, saying that it is part of Rastafarian culture.
Ras Ian said because marijuana is an integral part of their culture, the council will give its support to those in favour of legalising it.
He also said that Rastafarians are fully in support of the death penalty, contending that extremists have to be punished in order for the maintenance of a stable society.
The General Secretary of the Guyana Rastafarian Council said the council does not view gays as extremists, and are not against them, but are strongly against their behaviour.
On that point, Ras Simeon interjected saying: “The Almighty takes care of people,” including “scoundrels” of the different kinds: thieves, murders, the whores and the whoremongers.

If I was eligible to Vote, this sis the Party that will get my Vote.

you are not aloud to vote you are mentally unsound 

Dat is right I aloud, you are so right.  Computa nah need a brain to operate.

Bai Warman, like me seh, you prappa smart fuh dem lil pickney.

HEHEHE And deh man seh me mentally unsound

1a. Mentally insane patient in a straight jacket: Misconceived notion ...

Look....Nehru wearing White Gloves

like Micheal Jackson

Nehru is a Star

its okay some day you will grow up

Bai, me gro up; me ah wait fuh you gro up now.

not because you piss strait that make you a big man

Nah, me ah piss straight an piss fraff too. You wan fuh come an watch?

Kwame might tek up de offer.....

Offer Accepted!

Can you tell him to contact me?

watch a grown man stoop down and piss i will pass

Offer Accepted!

Jalil, like part you key head break off. It also look like the key getting shorter. Those are not good signs. Poh Key!

Originally Posted by Dondadda:

Offer Accepted!

Jalil, like part you key head break off. It also look like the key getting shorter. Those are not good signs. Poh Key!

Bhai them thing na Important now....

we got real serious Issues to Deal with.....

We got a Big Oil Rig coming and

it might get Huff by Venezuela AGAIN.

A Venezuelan Coast Guard boat sits next to the 285-foot survey ship Teknik Perdana docked near the shore in Margarita Island, Venezuela, Sunday [AP Photo)

A Venezuelan Coast Guard boat sits next to the 285-foot survey ship Teknik Perdana

docked near the shore in Margarita Island, Venezuela, Sunday (AP Photo)

We got Nuff Rice on hand....

plus nuff More in 3 week....

and No Market...

Sugar...

well you know about

De White Elephant

we Build fuh US$200 Million...

We plugging a next US$200 million...

and de new Skeldon

State-of-de-Art Factory

is a Total Failure..

Mi na want talk