Burglars hit MMZ house; Leonora Police took hours to respond

July 26, 2015 7:22 am Category: latest news A+ / A-

By Fareeza Haniff

Part of the ransacked house.

[www.inewsguyana.com] – A Meten – Meer – Zorg (MMZ), West Coast Demerara family is now counting their losses after burglars broke into their house and carted off with approximately $2M in cash and other valuables on Saturday night, July 25.

The family was not at home at the time of the incident but upon their return to the Lot 7 Kastev, Meten Meer Zorg house, Geeta Nadiram noticed that the locks to her door were broken; as a matter of fact she believes that the burglars were still in the house when she and her Canadian based daughter returned home around midnight.

Nadiram told iNews that the burglars even locked her out of her own house by activating the lower bolt on the front door. With the help of neighbours, they managed to force opened the door with a crow bar.ransacked 2

Nadiram and her daughter, who is visiting Guyana for a family event, were greeted with a ransacked home; the perpetrators managed to cart of with approximately $600,000 including Canadian currency, four iPads and jewellery.

But what was even more shocking to the family is the fact that the Leonora Police Station, when contacted, revealed to the victims that there was no vehicle to transport officers to the crime scene.

One of the ransacked bedrooms.

The family then decided to send a vehicle for the policemen but upon arrival at the station, there were no ranks available; they were told that the Inspector [name provided] went home to sleep and that the patrol was on the road dealing with other issues.

It should be noted that the Leonora Police Station is located approximately 10 minutes from Meten – Meer – Zorg but the police arrived at the scene three and a half hours after being contacted.

Under investment by the PPP in the police force has left the bandits with more powerful weapons and faster cars. The Coalition government has to get that situation rectified ASAP. It is obvious that the police ranks are keen to catch the criminals under the new administration. But these ranks need the equipment fast.

But what was even more shocking to the family is the fact that the Leonora Police Station, when contacted, revealed to the victims that there was no vehicle to transport officers to the crime scene.

The family then decided to send a vehicle for the policemen but upon arrival at the station, there were no ranks available; they were told that the Inspector [name provided] went home to sleep and that the patrol was on the road dealing with other issues.

Originally Posted by asj:

so which was it . . . (i) there were no ranks available [out on "patrol"] or, (ii) ranks were available but had no transportation?

Now where is that clown Harmon? We can see that there is Police men that do not want to work, why this scumbag is keeping person on the job who do not want to work..............typically one would tell you that they are blackmen together, and they will not be touched.

Typical PNC holigans.

This is what the Coolies in Guyana will have to put up with. Courtesy of the United States, and Britian.

Guyanese look forward to protection, but sadly to say there is none in Guyana under the current APNU/AFC.

Another case where you have a lazy set of Police.

What is that fool Harmon Doing? Is he bring to these atrocities meted out to East Indian?

Now where is that clown Harmon? We can see that there is Police men that do not want to work, why this scumbag is keeping person on the job who do not want to work..............typically one would tell you that they are blackmen together, and they will not be touched.

Typical PNC holigans.

This is what the Coolies in Guyana will have to put up with. Courtesy of the United States, and Britian.

banna, what's this got to do with "blackmen" and "Coolies" and "the United States" and "Britain" and "Harmon"?

this last paragraph here is of a piece with your obscene ramblings about Auschwitz on the the other thread

your prior (inspiring) switch to support for political change in Guyana notwithstanding . . . this is bullshit!

unsubtle race nonsense of the worst kind

smfh

Guyanese look forward to protection, but sadly to say there is none in Guyana under the current APNU/AFC.

What is that fool Harmon Doing? Is he bring to these atrocities meted out to East Indian?

You can't deduct from this case that they are lazy. There were no ranks at the station. They were out on duty. These stations have only a handful of ranks. And they can be quite busy with loads of crimes taking place at night.

The inspector should be investigated however to see if he was supposed to be on duty, or if his shift had finished.

When you have the current politician telling its citizens that these kind of lawlessness by the Police will not be tolerated, and then they (APNU/AFC) closes their eyes.............then we have to remind them that the people put then in there to do a job not to **** around.

This nonsense of Police not being available, or vehicle/s not available is an excuse by APNU/AFC that can no longer be tolerated.

Originally Posted by Mr.T:

You can't deduct from this case that they are lazy. There were no ranks at the station. They were out on duty. These stations have only a handful of ranks. And they can be quite busy with loads of crimes taking place at night.

The inspector should be investigated however to see if he was supposed to be on duty, or if his shift had finished.

I personally don't think that any Insoector will be investigated, he will be given a tap on the shoulder for another coolie is being robbed.

Typical PNC holigans.

banna, what's this got to do with "blackmen" and "Coolies" and "the United States" and "Britain" and "Harmon"?

this last paragraph here is of a piece with your obscene ramblings about Auschwitz on the the other thread

your prior (inspiring) switch to support for political change in Guyana notwithstanding . . . this is bullshit!

smfh

Maybe you look at it as race nonsense, but Indo Guyanese do not look at is that way..............they look at it as being taken advantage of by APNU/AFC

When you have the current politician telling its citizens that these kind of lawlessness by the Police will not be tolerated, and then they (APNU/AFC) closes their eyes.............then we have to remind them that the people put then in there to do a job not to **** around.

This nonsense of Police not being available, or vehicle/s not available is an excuse by APNU/AFC that can no longer be tolerated.

i disagree with your analysis, but sympathize and have no problem with your critique here

however, the disturbing, agenda-driven stuff you posted earlier on this thread and elsewhere recently strips you of credibility and exposes something else

Like I said, if I see something which I think is wrong, I will call it, I did that agains't the PPP/C and I do not think that holding my peace will get the APNU/AFC to do their job.

We cannot and will not keep quiet, for a better society, we do have to bring these and other like these to the fore.

Typical PNC holigans.

smfh

Maybe you look at it as race nonsense, but Indo Guyanese do not look at is that way..............they look at it as being taken advantage of by APNU/AFC

the "race nonsense" i refer to are the content of your post(s)

what's this hiding behind "Indo Guyanese [may look at it] that way"?

Typical PNC holigans.

smfh

I feel that it is necessary to bring up the Race contents, where Indo Guyanese are having the shitty end of the stick on a daily basis.

Someone has to bring it up, and I do not feel bad about it.

Like I said, if I see something which I think is wrong, I will call it, I did that agains't the PPP/C and I do not think that holding my peace will get the APNU/AFC to do their job.

We cannot and will not keep quiet, for a better society, we do have to bring these and other like these to the fore.

no one is trying to keep you quiet or want you to hold your peace dude . . . that's a low cop out

if you insist on flinging out agenda-driven, racist provocations as i re-post below, then people like me will be constrained to call you out:

ASJ:"Now where is that clown Harmon? We can see that there is Police men that do not want to work, why this scumbag is keeping person on the job who do not want to work..............typically one would tell you that they are blackmen together, and they will not be touched.

Typical PNC holigans.

This is what the Coolies in Guyana will have to put up with. Courtesy of the United States, and Britain"

huh . . .???

If APNU/AFC do their job, then I would not have anything to critique about.

Thirty something Ministers instead of 16, and yet, they are doing poorly, or rather acting like they need another 18 Ministers to tell them what to do and how to do their jobs.

no one is trying to keep you quiet or want you to hold your peace dude . . . that's a low cop out

if you insist on flinging out agenda-driven, racist provocations as i re-post below, then people like me will call you out:

ASJ earlier on this thread:

"Now where is that clown Harmon? We can see that there is Police men that do not want to work, why this scumbag is keeping person on the job who do not want to work..............typically one would tell you that they are blackmen together, and they will not be touched.

Typical PNC holigans.

This is what the Coolies in Guyana will have to put up with. Courtesy of the United States, and Britain"

huh . . .???

I do not have any regrets saying that, as I feel that APNU/AFC were planted in Office just to get rid of the Corrupt PPP/C.

Maybe the majority of Guyanese feels this way, or over 50 percent.

Typical PNC holigans.

smfh

I feel that it is necessary to bring up the Race contents, where Indo Guyanese are having the shitty end of the stick on a daily basis.

Someone has to bring it up, and I do not feel bad about it.

the notion that, in 2 months of governance, the coalition is engaged in oppressing Indo-Guyanese is beyond bullshit!

further comment is a waste of everybody's time

Welcome back to "Old Jerusalem"!!

if you insist on flinging out agenda-driven, racist provocations as i re-post below, then people like me will call you out:

"Now where is that clown Harmon? We can see that there is Police men that do not want to work, why this scumbag is keeping person on the job who do not want to work..............typically one would tell you that they are blackmen together, and they will not be touched.

Typical PNC holigans.

huh . . .???

I do not have any regrets saying that, as I feel that APNU/AFC were planted in Office just to get rid of the Corrupt PPP/C.

dude, you are free to conclude any crazy shit . . . that is your right

no one here is interested in your "regrets" . . . that's your personal affair

i point to the deluge of posts from you of late force-feeding an odious race agenda having very little to do with a rational critique of coalition governance

Typical PNC holigans.

huh . . .???

i point to the deluge of posts from you of late force-feeding an odious race agenda having very little to do with a rational critique of coalition governance

You can only speak for yourself, do not bring that absurd reasoning to tell me that no one here is being interested, in critique the APNU/AFC, where people thought that they were voting for a change.........but regretfully they are the same PNC of yesteryear, or this is the impression that they are feeding the Indo Guyanese.

Typical PNC holigans.

huh . . .???

You can only speak for yourself, do not bring that absurd reasoning to tell me that no one here is being interested, in critique the APNU/AFC, where people thought that they were voting for a change.........but regretfully they are the same PNC of yesteryear, or this is the impression that they are feeding the Indo Guyanese.

ASJ it now appears worse then the useless Rohee days. Kudos for speaking out.

Ramjattan must step aside and be moved to another portfolio.

APNU = PNC.  Some criticize me for referring to the Govt as PNC and not APNU/AFC.  Ok, let's call a spade a spade.

One opinion I heard last night was this new Govt seems intellectually/talent shallow and almost bankrupt.  Many of the folks from GT I spoke to yesterday said they were surprised at the "drift-wood" PNC derelicts resurrected in this now Govt.

APNU = PNC.  Some criticize me for referring to the Govt as PNC and not APNU/AFC.  Ok, let's call a spade a spade.

One opinion I heard last night was this new Govt seems intellectually/talent shallow and almost bankrupt.  Many of the folks from GT I spoke to yesterday said they were surprised at the "drift-wood" PNC derelicts resurrected in this now Govt.

This is at the heart of the problems affecting APNU. Time for change in APNU. Their mantra should be applied to themselves.

Typical PNC holigans.

huh . . .???

indeed, i speak only for myself

please point to where i say (or imply) that no one here is interested in "[a] critique of APNU/AFC" . . . thanks

Critiquing the APNU/AFC if you want to call that whatever you will, then that is your dead, bury it.

"no one here is interested in your "regrets" . . . that's your personal affair"

I do not have the time to debate this issue, like I said, I call it as I see it.

Seems like you do have some problem with that. But I do not care to be a yes man to the APNU/AFC wrong doings, will call them out.

Take your last shot.

Critiquing the APNU/AFC if you want to call that whatever you will, then that is your dead, bury it.

"no one here is interested in your "regrets" . . . that's your personal affair"

??

aren't your "regrets" your personal affair?

I do not have the time to debate this issue, like I said, I call it as I see it.

Seems like you do have some problem with that. But I do not care to be a yes man to the APNU/AFC wrong doings, will call them out.

Take your last shot.

i have a problem with unsupported racial shit not rational criticism . . . u bloody well  know that

nice try with the cop out though . . . but even admin had occasion to warn u about your Auschwitz crap

Comments:

Why is this story...

So sad but this will con’t to happen. The police force got a whole lot of dunce playing house. And by now they lost count i am sure of how many they got in the call of duty. The Police force have so many police, half of them does nothing when the day come but keep drawing a pay. Why the hell up to now the government can’t come up with a decision to put patrols back on the street from all the stations across Georgetown, where is seem crime is raising more and more to work from 11 pm-7 am every night. At least 2 van load with no less than 5 per van. Let them work for their money. Hold the dam officer in charge if a crime happens and they are no where to be seem or get there late. Something have to be done.

This area is where Joe Harmon needs to look at and maybe use his chopper.

But he would not, why? we all knows the reason.

bullshit!

you care nothing about "security" . . . Harmon's portfolio is not Home Affairs

this is all about your race politics . . . not one peep out of u about Seelall Persaud

g'wan dahside with yuh ignoble, race-vomiting self

bullshit!

this is all about your race politics . . . not one peep out of u about Seelall Persaud

Seelall friken dem guh put wan negro junior police as he bass. Juss like ole times. 

bullshit!

Seelall friken dem guh put wan negro junior police as he bass. Juss like ole times. 

alyuh sheeple getting more pathetic by the minute now

yaaaaawwwwn

bullshit!

yaaaaawwwwn

Reality is a foreign word to you. Maybe we should not associate Redux with reality.

bullshit!

yaaaaawwwwn

Reality is a foreign word to you. Maybe we should not associate Redux with reality.

at what grade level did an adult infant like u actually terminate your formal education, eh?