SO WHEN IS THE LAST TIME YOU FOLKS ENJOYED A MOUTH WATERING BUNJAL DUCK CURRY ?

* I was visiting a friend in Queens, NY last weekend and he said he'll treat me to the best bunjal duck curry in New York.

* I said that sounds good---I didn't eat duck curry in over a year.

* Make a long story short---there is a restaurant/bar on 134th street on Liberty Avenue in Richmond hill Queens. It's called THE RANCH.

* We drove there and picked up a few containers of bunjal duck curry---it's $15 a container.

* My friend's wife cooked the dhall and rice and dhall puri.

* Lemme say this folks! My friend was right. That bunjal duck curry from the Ranch restaurant/bar on Liberty Avenue is the best in New York.

* IT WAS MOUTH WATERING.

* The cook at the Ranch is from Berbice---Port Maurant.

* Listen! Berbice people can cook a good curry.

* In my next life I may have to hook up with a Berbice woman.hahaha

* Anyway, If any of you folks live in Queens, NY or if you visit Queens---check out the bunjal duck curry at the Ranch at 134th street on the famous Liberty Avenue.

* Lemme know what you think----the Rev is a man of exquisite and impeccable taste---if I say it's good---it's good----a lot of the duck curry I've had in the past from Guyanese and Trinidadian restaurants have been the long water type---but this bunjal duck curry I feasted on and thoroughly enjoyed was different---it was the best I've had from a restaurant.

QUESTION:

* What's the best duck curry you ever had ?

Originally Posted by Observer:

Just made bunjal lamb, dhall and rice. Best meal I've had in a long time. I'll bet it's tastier than your duck!  

ha ha ha ha  

* Who's the lucky man in your life Ms. Observer ?lol

* Show me a woman who loves to cook---and I'll show you a happy husband or lover.

* Anyway, now you have me longing for bunjal lamb----I'll have to find out if THE RANCH cooks lamb also----if they do---I'll drive up there next week.

* Glad you had a great home cooked meal today.

REv, Had it many times, it is indeed good but I usually eat better Duck Curry at home.

Nehru bhai:

* Glad to have someone confirm that the bunjal at the Ranch is good---actually I believe it's excellent.

* So your duck curry at home is better, huh ? I can see why you have had a long and loving marriage.

* HOME COOKED FOOD IS BEST.

* By the way Nehru, you ever tried the bunjal pork at the Ranch ?

* Please don't tell me you have never eaten pork.hahahahaha

REv, Had it many times, it is indeed good but I usually eat better Duck Curry at home.

Nehru bhai:

* Glad to have someone confirm that the bunjal at the Ranch is good---actually I believe it's excellent.

* So your duck curry at home is better, huh ? I can see why you have had a long and loving marriage.

* HOME COOKED FOOD IS BEST.

* By the way Nehru, you ever tried the bunjal pork at the Ranch ?

* Please don't tell me you have never eaten pork.hahahahaha

I had them all. I used to visit there quite often.

I had duck curry this past weekend, sat and sun. went to two birthday party.

A sweet sixteen and a sweet fifteen (I guess for boys its sweet fifteen)

Any way my MIL cook the duck for saturday and that was the bomb.

Rev. I am sure the Ranch duck curry was good as you says, but I cannot find myself buying duck curry when I can cook it myself and mine is good too, well so my hubby says..

Originally Posted by Riya:

QUESTION:

My mom's......and yes, she's berbician

Riya, hurray for Berbicians!    My dad, siblings and our spouses miss my mom's cooking since she's been ill several years now.  When that lady bunjalled meats, everyone devoured it, especially her sons-in-law.   

BTW Rev, you erred above in the title.  Bunjal is cooked dry.  Curry has lots of water. 

* Lemme guess---Kittysian---I know she attended the same primary school on Barr street as the Rev---Dharmic Rama Krishna Primary.

Someone is currently doing research to write a book on this school.   I hope he sees this and contacts you 2.    I just realized you said the cook at the Ranch is from Port Morant.  Oh my, what have we here?         

Originally Posted by sita:

Rev. I am sure the Ranch duck curry was good as you says, but I cannot find myself buying duck curry when I can cook it myself and mine is good too, well so my hubby says..

Ram and Sita.

Sita:

* Is your husband named Ram ?

* So you are an excellent cook, huh ? By the way, are you Berbician ?

* In my next life I would like the same woman I have now---but just in case she's tired of me---I won't mind hooking up with a Berbician woman.lol

* But you are 100% right Sita! Home cooked curry is the best.

* I have never liked any of the duck curry I've had at Trini and Guyanese restaurant---but then I had the Bunjal duck from The Ranch recently and  really enjoyed it.

BTW Rev, you erred above in the title.  Bunjal is cooked dry.  Curry has lots of water. 

Observer:

* The duck we got from THE RANCH was dry--Bunjal.

* Ask Nehru---he says he has had it many times at the ranch.

* The duck they sell at other restaurants is the long water kind----I guess that's what they call DUCK CURRY.

I just realized you said the cook at the Ranch is from Port MorantOh my, what have we here?         

ha ha ha ha

* Are you really from Port Morant ?

* Lots of accomplished Guyanese were born in that little Berbician village or is it scheme ?

* Cheddi Jagan was from Port Morant. Rohan Kanhai, Alvin Kalicharran. Joe Solomon, Basil Butcher I believe. The chef at the Ranch restaurant. And, of course, Ms. Observer.lol

* Check with Riya--she says her Mom is Berbician--maybe she's also from Port Morant.

Nope, mom is not from Port Mourant.

PM is a beautiful village. I love visiting there, especially the market. One of the largest in Berbice.

Check this out Riya:---was that you in the blue jeans, black top and blue bag ?---anyway, nice music in that video.

Originally Posted by ksazma:
Looks like the Rev and I travelled some same paths. Rama Krishna and Prashad Nagar.

* Small world Ksazma.

* I saw in another thread Nehru lived in the same scheme(Courbane Park) as Chami's husband and brothers and knew them quite well---used to watch them play cricket.

* You know what's amazing about Guyanese----you meet any Guyanese and you are bound to know somebody in common.

PM is a beautiful village. I love visiting there, especially the market. One of the largest in Berbice.

Check this out Riya:---was that you in the blue jeans, black top and blue bag ?---anyway, nice music in that video.

oh scrap! that is me

That is a strong looking building. Not like the falling apart Kitty market. I wouldn't mess with any of those fish ladies though. Not with them having those cutlishes   Back in our days, you got 4 parcels shrimp for 1 dalla plus they would mek it up with an extra parcel. 

SO WHEN IS THE LAST TIME YOU FOLKS ENJOYED A MOUTH WATERING BUNJAL DUCK CURRY ?

* I was visiting a friend in Queens, NY last weekend and he said he'll treat me to the best bunjal duck curry in New York.

* I said that sounds good---I didn't eat duck curry in over a year.

* Make a long story short---there is a restaurant/bar on 134th street on Liberty Avenue in Richmond hill Queens. It's called THE RANCH.

* We drove there and picked up a few containers of bunjal duck curry---it's $15 a container.

* My friend's wife cooked the dhall and rice and dhall puri.

* Lemme say this folks! My friend was right. That bunjal duck curry from the Ranch restaurant/bar on Liberty Avenue is the best in New York.

* IT WAS MOUTH WATERING.

* The cook at the Ranch is from Berbice---Port Maurant.

* Listen! Berbice people can cook a good curry.

* In my next life I may have to hook up with a Berbice woman.hahaha

* Anyway, If any of you folks live in Queens, NY or if you visit Queens---check out the bunjal duck curry at the Ranch at 134th street on the famous Liberty Avenue.

* Lemme know what you think----the Rev is a man of exquisite and impeccable taste---if I say it's good---it's good----a lot of the duck curry I've had in the past from Guyanese and Trinidadian restaurants have been the long water type---but this bunjal duck curry I feasted on and thoroughly enjoyed was different---it was the best I've had from a restaurant.

QUESTION:

Do they serve rice and dhall or dhall puri or is this take out only?

Originally Posted by marty:

marty:

* I went to the Ranch just once with a friend to pick up Bunjal Duck----the dhall and rice and dhall puri was cooked by my friend's wife.

* You can call the owner Nick at 718-206-2333 with your questions.

* But I strongly recommend the Bunjal duck.

* Oh, by the way, I mentioned the Ranch to another friend---he went ordered the BUNJAL PORK from them---he said it was excellent.

Originally Posted by marty:

marty:

* I went to the Ranch just once with a friend to pick up Bunjal Duck----the dhall and rice and dhall puri was cooked by my friend's wife.

* You can call the owner Nick at 718-206-2333 with your questions.

* But I strongly recommend the Bunjal duck.

* Oh, by the way, I mentioned the Ranch to another friend---he went ordered the BUNJAL PORK from them---he said it was excellent.

Sorry - I should have checked the web before bothering you. They do have rice and dhal on the menu and it looks like a regular restaurant, not take out only.