AG to resign ...

Lalla tipped for job

Attorney General Anand Ramlogan is set to resign today and attorney Larry Lalla is expected to be sworn in. The Cabinet change will take place before Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar makes her much anticipated announcement at 4 pm.

According to the Constitution, Cabinet must be made up of the Prime Minister and the Attorney General, so once Ramlogan steps down, Lalla would have to be signed in immediately in order to uphold the Constitutional description of what constitutes a government.

The T&T Guardian understands that Ramlogan has not met with Persad-Bissessar but instead was allowed to send a statement to her following reports that Police Complaints Authority (PCA) Director David West made a complaint to police, accusing Ramlogan of attempting to “pervert the course of justice” by asking him to withdraw his witness statement in a civil matter filed by Ramlogan against Opposition Leader Dr Keith Rowley.

The T&T Guardian was informed that Ramlogan met with three lawyers on Thursday; his private lawyer Pamela Elder SC, Wayne Sturge and Gerald Ramdeen. While both Sturge and Ramdeen were spotted entering Ramlogan’s office on Thursday, Elder refused to comment on “anything concerning the AG”, when contacted yesterday. Key members of the Cabinet met at Persad-Bissessar’s home in Phillpine, South Trinidad up until 4 am Sunday morning, sources said, but Ramlogan was a no show. 

The T&T Guardian understands that he spent the past three days in his gated-community Palmiste home with his family, discussing his next step. The T&T Guardian was told that while Ramlogan appeared crest-fallen, he stands by his denial that he ever sought to bargain the PCA job as an inducement for West to withdraw his witness statement in the defamation case with Rowley.

“He has said that by the grace of God, he would prove this was a move driven by hate and vengeance,” the insider said. In a statement last Thursday, hours after West made his report, Ramlogan claimed the allegation was “part of a wider political conspiracy designed to damage the government as we draw closer to elections.”

National Security Minister Gary Griffith, who has been identified as a witness in West’s complaint, when he claimed that Ramlogan duped him into contacting West to follow up on whether the witness had withdrawn the witness statement as discussed. Griffith had claimed that he did not know the contents of the document he was asked to follow up on with West. 

Griffith said yesterday that has been cleared by investigators and was not a suspect in anyway while the provisions of PCA Act 2006 protects West. Lalla, the T&T Guardian learned has not yet been informed of the confirmation of the appointment but has signalled to close friends that once approached, he would accept. “He is not saying anything until the Prime Minister speaks because he does not want to jump the gun,” a close friend said.

Kamla ask for 3 Hours More...

As Pressure Builds on Trinidad Kamla Persaud Govt....

She is requesting 3 more hours to make her statement.

The PM will speak at 7.30p.m.

By Leah Sorias

Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar will today address the witness-tampering allegations made against Attorney General Anand Ramlogan. Persad-Bissessar will make her statement at 7.30p.m from the Diplomatic Centre.
The Prime Minister on Sunday had issued a release stating that she would address the nation at 430p.m. today. However, the Office of the Prime Minister has since revised the time, but given no reason.
It is alleged that six days before attorney David West was appointed Police Complaints Authority director, Ramlogan asked him to withdraw his witness statement in a defamation lawsuit relating to the failed extradition involving Section 34 applicants Steve Ferguson and Ishwar Galbaransingh, in exchange for his being selected for the job.
Ramlogan, who is now the subject of a criminal investigation, has denied the allegations.
Despite several calls for him to resign, he remained in his position up to last night.
Among the latest organisations to call for him to step down was Trinidad and Tobago Transparency Institute.
In a press release yesterday, Transparency said the unresolved allegations against Ramlogan may permanently tarnish the Office of the Attorney General.
Noting that the allegations are now the subject of a police investigation, Transparency emphasised that no conclusions as to culpability should be drawn at this time.
“Transparency notes that there is a presumption of innocence, and that all citizens are entitled to full benefit of due process prior to any censure or condemnation.”
The group added, though, that the allegations involve issues of “potential serious criminality” and that the highest moral rectitude is demanded of all holders of public office, who must be above any possible reproach at all times.
“This includes the Attorney General, whose Office is constitutionally enshrined, and who has responsibility for the administration of legal affairs in Trinidad and Tobago,” the statement continued.
“Under the Westminster system of government, which is espoused by Trinidad and Tobago, in circumstances where questions arise over the conduct of a holder of public office, propriety requires that the office-holder demit office pending the completion of investigations,” Transparency stated.

Arima Mayor George Hadeed also called for Ramlogan to resign.
In a press release on Friday, he said both Ramlogan and Speaker of the House of Representatives Wade Mark cannot remain in office without bringing their organisations into further disrepute.
“The only course open to both gentlemen is to resign their offices in an attempt to restore some dignity to our Parliament and our Executive and to bring a semblance of the dignity which the population demands from the holders of these high offices,” said Hadeed.

On Saturday, the Law Association of Trinidad and Tobago (LATT) expressed concern about the matter and called for Ramlogan to step down.
“It is the view of LATT that the police investigation into the conduct of the Attorney General has the ability to adversely affect and undermine the public perception of and confidence in the Office of the Attorney General,” said the Law Association in a news release.
“In the circumstances, it is LATT’s considered view that Mr Ramlogan SC must forthwith step down as Attorney General,” it added.

Ramlogan must go,

Speaker Wade Marks must go also

New Cabinet to be Announced

Elections soon

http://www.trinidadexpress.com...SED---290395461.html

He should resign.  He committed a very serious CRIMINAL Act.

Totally different from threatening to kill a journalist of course.

Who threatened to kill a Journalist??

I believe abbe chat-3 did just to a KN journalist pon tape. Did you miss that?

T&T AG and National Security Minister fired

+ Major Cabinet Shakeup

(Trinidad Express) PRIME Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar has asked that the President

revoke the appointments of

Attorney General Anand Ramlogan,

National Security Minister Gary Griffith,

and Director of the Police Complaints Authority (PCA) David West,

for their roles in witness-tampering investigation ordered by Acting Police Commissioner Stephen Williams.

Former High Commissioner

to the United Kingdom,

attorney Garvin Nicholas

will be the new Attorney General,

and retired Brigadier Carl Alfonso

is the National Security Minister.

The Prime Minister

has also removed

Senate President Timothy Hamel-Smith,

Sports Minister Rupert Griffith,

Ministry in the Works and Transport

Minister Stacy Roopnarine,

and Justice Minister Emmanuel George.

Persad Bissessar has given up the portfolio of Social Development and People Ministry.

Legal Affairs Minister

Prakash Ramadhar

will take on the Justice Ministry.

Former advisor

in the Office of the Prime Minister

Christine Nawal Hosein is the new

Minister of Social Development

and the People.

Soca Warrior footballer Brent Sancho

is the Sports Minister,

NJAC member Kwesu Motumba

is now a minister in the

Works and Infrastructure Ministry.

In an 18 minutes address

that began eight minutes later

than its planned 7.30p.m start,

Persad-Bissessar addressed the nation.

AG resigns, PM reshuffles

Published: 
Monday, February 2, 2015
Former Attorney General Anand Ramlogan

Following is the full statement delivered by Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar, announcing the resignation of Attorney General Anand Ramlogan after a police probe began into allegations of witness-tampering made by the Director of the Police Complaints Authority David West.

When this government assumed office I pledged that there would be no compromise on integrity in public office or performance.

I took an oath under the Constitution of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago that “I will bear true faith and allegiance to Trinidad and Tobago and will uphold the Constitution and the law, That I will conscientiously, impartially and to the best of my ability discharge my duties as Prime Minister, And do right to all manner of people without fear or favour, affection or ill-will.”

I have strived in every way to do so. Over the past four years, as I ensured that the public interest was paramount, sometimes changes in government were required to protect the public interest.

I have been criticized for removing too many office holders over the past four years as I was seeking to ensure the public interest was secured.

While it may have not served narrow political interests, I took the decisions necessary to serve the broader national interest, above and beyond everything else. I did so while ensuring all matters were fairly and reasonably considered and all parties were given an opportunity to be heard and evaluated.

Despite the fact that we are today on the cusp of a general election, I want to make it clear my considerations today will be no less driven by any other than that of what is best for the nation.

For me, my position as Prime Minister has always been a selfless task and one which I felt humbled to have been granted through the will of the people and the grace of God. 

There have been allegations being made by the current Director of the PCA, regarding the Attorney General.

The Director of the PCA has signed a statement in which he claims that the Attorney General had asked the Director of the PCA to withdraw his witness statement in a defamation matter against the Opposition Leader.

The Attorney General has vehemently denied the allegation.

The Trinidad and Tobago Police Service has confirmed that an investigation is being conducted into the matter.

More recently, the Minister of National Security has become embroiled in the matter. 

It is alleged that the Minister, upon the advice of the Attorney General, telephoned the Director of the PCA to query whether he had withdrawn a statement. That alleged incident also forms part of the police enquiry. 

The Minister has confirmed that he did in fact make such a call.

Upon placing that call the Minister did not consult with me nor make it known the details of his conversation with the Director of the PCA.

The Minister also did not report to me on the alleged request of the Attorney General either before or after his call to President of the PCA.

The question is whether the Minister was not under an obligation to inform me, as the Prime Minister, that he made such a call.

The situation today would have been very different had such a request not been made and this matter been brought to my earlier attention.

I have requested and received statements from Honourable Attorney General and the Honourable Minister of National Security.

I have perused both those statements as well as the reported statements of the Director of the PCA, and from my perusal of same I have discerned that the material facts contained therein are in conflict with each other. I cannot be judge and jury to determine the veracity of any or all.  

While I am not in a position to determine neither guilt nor innocence in this matter it is of grave enough consequence to warrant serious consideration and immediate action.

I cannot and will not sit idly by while the Office of the Attorney General and that of the Minister of National Security and the head of the Police Complaints Authority are being compromised and brought into disrepute by such allegations that have warranted a police enquiry.

Those office holders preside over the administration of justice, law and order and so cannot remain in those positions while these investigations into allegations are made.

I cast no aspersions on the capacity or performance of those that hold these positions but cannot have these offices be so embroiled in conflict and controversy eroding public confidence in the institutions which they lead.

Without prejudice to the outcome nor denial of any party to due process and a fair and just determination in the matter, I have asked for and received the resignation of both the Attorney General and the Minister of National Security.

What is also of equally grave concern to me, as it must be to the nation, is the compromised position of the Director of the PCA, arising out of this situation.

The question must arise as to why he did not make it known to me or to His Excellency President Anthony Carmona when the position of heading the PCA was offered to him in November.  

Further, why did he wait until now to make public this matter? 

If the Opposition Leader also knew of the issue at the time when he was consulted about the appointment by myself –we had discussions- and the President it would also have been obligatory upon him to have informed His Excellency. Failure by the Opposition Leader to do so at the time does create doubt to any independent observer as to why no mention was made at the time of appointment and why was there such a delay between November and when the appointment and now in making known the matter.

Given the political sensitivity and nature of the alleged incidents it would have been not just prudent but mandatory that both myself and His Excellency, the President be informed.

Withholding such information has seriously compromised the appointment of the Director of the PCA.

It is my view therefore, that the Director of the PCA should immediately resign and/ or his appointment be revoked.

The PCA is an independent institution and public confidence must remain strong if that body is to carry out its duties without fear or favour and be perceived by all to so do. Justice must only be done seen to be done.  

It would be impossible, given the present issue that the current head can continue to hold this position without the very institution he leads also being called into question. 

The head of the Police Complaints Authority has the responsibility to investigate complaints against police officers. He would find himself doing so now while he himself has filed a matter for investigation to the Commissioner of Police.

The threat of conflict of interest or perception thereof clearly emerges and compromises the role of the head of the PCA.

Further, questions also arise on the role of the Opposition Leader in the matter. Did the Opposition Leader not have a moral if not legal obligation to inform me as Prime Minister and His Excellency the President about the personal involvement of a witness in a defamatory statement involving himself, the Leader of the Opposition One has to be mindful that public office is not used for private gain.

Had there been a disclosure by the Opposition Leader of the personal interest in a legal matter involving himself and the Director of the PCA at the point of his nomination to be head of the PCA, the conflict of interest would have been declared.

Again the question arises and I want to say there are more questions than answers as to whether there was any deliberate attempt to hoodwink His Excellency and the Prime Minister in making the appointment by such nondisclosure.

I urge that an independent probe be conducted into these circumstances involving the Attorney General, the Minister of National Security, the head of the Police Complaints Authority and the Opposition Leader.

And so let the chips fall where they may.

I recognize that this cannot be an easy time for all individuals affected but know their duty to country first would bring to bear the burden of the action necessary to be taken.   

I would advise His Excellency the President

as follows To revoke the appointments of the following -

myself as Minister of the People and Social Development;

Senator Timothy Hamel Smith,

Senator Embau Mohini,

and Senator Emmanuel George,

the Minister of Sport, the Honourable Rupert Griffith,

Minister Stacy Roopnarine.

Minister Roopnarine has been transferred to the

Ministry of Gender, Youth and Child Development.

I wish to publicly thank these Honorable gentlemen

for their support and contribution in building Trinidad and Tobago.  

In light of this I wish to advise that

in accordance with the

Constitution of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago,

I have today advised

His Excellency the President to appoint the following:

1 - The Honourable Prakash Ramadhar

currently the Minister of Legal Affairs

to also serve as the Minister of Justice.  

2.  Ms. Christine Hosein,

as Minister of the People and Social Development

Ms. Newallo-Hosein is currently the

Advisor to the Prime Minister

at the Ministry of the People and Social Development.

She was previously the Advisor to Lands and Marine Resources

from August 2013 to August 2014.

She also held the position of Advisor to the Minister of Tourism

and Advisor to the Minister of Trade & Industry

from June 2012 to January 2013 and

August 2010 to June 2012 respectively.

Ms Newallo-Hosein is certificated in

basic German, Spanish and French and Communication studies.

She also served as a Director of YESTT,

a coordinator for the Caribbean Centre for Human Rights 

- Victim Support Unit.

In 2004, she was the recipient of a Mentor Award re:

the Prime Minister’s Award for innovation and Invention.

We welcome her on board  

3.  Mr Brent Sancho as Minister of Sport

Mr. Sancho is a prolific sportsman

having represented Trinidad and Tobago

in the field of football for several years.

He is a former National football player

for Trinidad and Tobago and

has toured various countries across the world

and represented many clubs at the local

and international levels.

Brent Sancho is the holder of

an Associate Degree in English

from Essex Community College in the USA,

and a Bachelor of Arts degree in Psychology

from St. John’s University in the USA.  

4.  Mr. Kwasi Mutema as

Minister in the Ministry of National Security

Mr. Kwasi Mutema,

Deputy Political leader of the National Joint Action Committee

holds a master’s degree in Business Administration

from the Heriot Watt University, Scotland. 

He is a former lecturer at the

Butler Institute of Lifelong Learning and

a coordinator of the Save-One Scholarship Programme

assisting students in underdeveloped areas

to develop themselves academically.  

Mr. Mutema resides in Barataria and

is currently the deputy chairman of the

Board of Governors of the University of Trinidad and Tobago.  

5. Brigadier General (retired) Carlton Alfred Alfonso

as Minister of National Security. 

Brigadier General Alfonso

has served this country as Aide de Camp to the President,

His Excellency Noor Hassanali.

He is a former Commanding Officer of the

Trinidad and Tobago Regiment,

and was the first enlisted man

to ascend to the position of Chief of the Defence Staff 

where he served from 1994 to 1999.  

Since retirement Brigadier General Alfonso

has served as Security Adviser and

Chief Security Officer at Petrotrin 2000-2005,

as Chairman of PLIPDECO 2010 – 2011,

Executive Director at Prime Minister’s Residence

and Diplomatic Centre and

currently as the Director General

of the National Security Training Academy.

Brigadier General Alfonso in 2012 was awarded

the Medal of Merit Gold for Community Service.  

6. Mr. Garvin Nicholas,

as Attorney General of Trinidad and Tobago.

Mr. Garvin Nicholas,

an attorney at law since 2002

is a former temporary senator,

local government councillor, 

press secretary to the Prime Minister and

High Commissioner to the Court of St. James’ and

Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary

to Denmark, Finland, Germany, Norway and Sweden.

I will continue to lead this nation with the same resolve

to maintain the inviolable principles of good governance.

You can rest assured that I have both

the courage and personal fortitude

to do what is right whenever it is necessary

to so do regardless of the consequences.

It is what you expected when you elected me to office

and I will never shirk this responsibility to you

and the office I am sworn to uphold. 

Gone are the days

when a government may feel it does not need

to give account for its actions or

would undermine public confidence bestowed on their officials.   

Some would have us return to these old ways

but that will not stand as long as I am your Prime Minister. 

The changes being wrought today

in ensuring accountability are of greater importance

now than ever before.

The old standards have changed and

given way to new demands and expectations.

The shift in conscience and consciousness

is not without its shock waves

as the public sees decisions being taken

that are unusually bold and strident in upholding

the ideals for which they voted so overwhelmingly.  

May God continue to guide my deliberations

on the nation's behalf

and may God bless us all.  

Kishan....... Bharat Jagdeo Business Partner.... Ossie Ross- who paid Jagdeo $120 Million for Pradoville 1 is caught in this Corruption net.

Guyana stands by TT’s Consul General embroiled in witness tampering scandal

February 5, 2015 | By | Filed Under News 

Guyana is standing by its Honorary Consul General to Trinidad, Ernie Ross, who was embroiled in a spat of

Guyana is standing by Ernie Ross, its Honorary Consul General in Trinidad who is embroiled in a witness tampering scandal.

words with recently sacked Minister of Natural Security, Gary Griffith. In one of her major shakeups of the Trinidad and Tobago’s Government ahead of elections, Trinidad’s Prime Minister, Kamla Persad-Bissessar, this week sacked her Attorney General, Anand Ramlogan; and Griffith. She has also called for the resignation of the Director of the Police Complaints Authority (PCA) David West, for their roles in the witness-tampering investigation ordered by Acting Police Commissioner Stephen Williams. Ross, Trinidad’s United National Congress (UNC) campaign and advertising manager, reportedly denied trying to influence Griffith to change his story in the ongoing probe into the West and Ramlogan saga. Speaking to the Express on Monday, Ross said it was not his place to influence Griffith’s decision to be a witness in West’s case, in which he (West) alleges that ex-attorney general Ramlogan had asked him to withdraw his statement in the defamation case against Opposition Leader Dr. Keith Rowley in exchange for the post of Police Complaints Authority (PCA) director. “You ask me if I had spoken to Mr Griffith and convinced him to change his story…Absolutely not, that is not my role,” Ross said emphatically in a Trinidad Express report. The Express report said that the number of players embroiled in the Ramlogan vs West saga is growing daily. It has descended into a very public spat between Minister of Communications Vasant Bharath and Griffith. In the latest twist, it is alleged a meeting took place between Griffith, his wife Nicole Dyer-Griffith, Bharath and Ross. Ross would neither confirm nor deny the meeting took place last Thursday at his St. Clair office. Instead, he said he has placed the matter in the hands of his Attorneys who are reviewing the matter and would be addressing it very soon. Yesterday, Guyana’s Ministry of Foreign Affairs said that Ross has provided a complete background to the situation and “the Ministry of Foreign Affairs reposes its confidence in the statement made by him and in his continued ability to responsibly carry out his duties on behalf of the Government of Guyana.” In addition to holding the unpaid position as Guyana’s Honorary Consul General to Trinidad and Tobago in Port of Spain, Ross is also head of the advertising firm, Ross Advertising, the Ministry said. “As Honorary Consul General, Mr. Ross is permitted to function in other capacities.” Ross is known in Guyana for reportedly buying the Pradoville One home of former President Bharrat Jagdeo for US$600,000. Ross has reportedly been hired in the past to do campaign advertising work for the ruling People’s Progressive Party/Civic.

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA!!!!!

My guess is you did the usual. You never read the article but still commented numerous times on it.