then you should not have had a problem when the PNC was ruling

* The PNC rigged elections to keep in power.

* The PPP doesn't have to rig to stay in power---they just have to PROROGUE.hahahaha

* Ramo has brilliantly used the Burnham constitution to outsmart and outfox you folks in the opposition.hahaha

Why is indian crookedness brilliant to you folks? This is an obscene abuse of power and there definitely will be repercussions.

* The PPP doesn't have to rig to stay in power---they just have to PROROGUE.hahahaha

* Ramo has brilliantly used the Burnham constitution to outsmart and outfox you folks in the opposition.hahaha

Why is indian crookedness brilliant to you folks? This is an obscene abuse of power and there definitely will be repercussions.

Stormy, How can it be ABUSE of Power if it is allowed CONSTITUTIONALLY? I would like a straight, direct and short answer, please.

Originally Posted by Vish M:
I am 100% with Kari on this point

Were the President to prorogue Parliament he might be motivated by the fact, as PPP Parliamentarian Bibi Shaddiq pointed out, that while the PPP got 6 more seats than the next opposition party it is not allowed to run the country by the constant APNU-AFC alliance in Parliament. It's analogous to the obstructionist Republican-controlled Congress and filibuster-enabled Senate that made Obama's Presidential life miserable. The only thing is that Obama cannot dissolve Congress, but he can take Executive action.

Kary is completely wrong with the analogy. The US  are a federal republic. Every state has carried out their business despite obama's problem with congress.

Stormy, How can it be ABUSE of Power if it is allowed CONSTITUTIONALLY? I would like a straight, direct and short answer, please.

Constitutionally it was created for national emergencies. Saving the PPP's ass from a no confidence vote is not a national emergency. Further, no new business was ever allowed. So the idea that the PPP can take the route of governing by extending their term in this manner is simply obscene.

He can only do it once. The PPP just ensure they will lose the next election.

* POPPYCOCK!

* The Burnham constitution allows Ramotar to reconvene parliament in 6 months and prorogue again if the opposition threatens No confidence.

Stormborn: The option does not exist to create a dictatorship. The ABC countries wont allow it and the opposition wont allow it. I am also  sure every NGO will be working with the help and funding of ABC nations to remove them from office. Their funding will begin to dry up

* The PPP becomes a dictatorship if they keep proroguing beyond the next scheduled elections which is in late 2016.

* Before 2016 and President Ramotar is constitutionally allowed to prorogue.

* Anyway, What we now know is the PPP will not be brought down by a no confidence vote.

* Duncy Moses and Khemraj did not read and comprehend the Burnham constitution----they knew the President could dissolve parliament---they forgot about proroguing.

I hope the Moderator/Admin is taking notice because you're not only anti-democratic and intolerant but also murderous.

* The Rev is free to express his opinion.

* I maintain that Guyana would be a more peaceful country if those 3 clowns were suffocated.

Bluntly, you're saying that people you strongly dislike should be murdered. That's your mindset.

You are free to express your opinion? Go to an American discussion forum and name three congressmen or senators that you want "suffocated" or "disemboweled." It would be a miracle if you remain free.

I hope the Moderator/Admin is taking notice because you're not only anti-democratic and intolerant but also murderous.

* The Rev is free to express his opinion.

* I maintain that Guyana would be a more peaceful country if those 3 clowns were suffocated.

Bluntly, you're saying that people you strongly dislike should be murdered. That's your mindset.

You are free to express your opinion? Go to an American discussion forum and name three congressmen or senators that you want "suffocated" or "disemboweled." It would be a miracle if you remain free.

De murderator doan see that.

* POPPYCOCK!

* The Burnham constitution allows Ramotar to reconvene parliament in 6 months and prorogue again if the opposition threatens No confidence.

Stormborn: The option does not exist to create a dictatorship. The ABC countries wont allow it and the opposition wont allow it. I am also  sure every NGO will be working with the help and funding of ABC nations to remove them from office. Their funding will begin to dry up

* The PPP becomes a dictatorship if they keep proroguing beyond the next scheduled elections which is in late 2016.

* Anyway, What we now know is the PPP will not be brought down by a no confidence vote.

* Duncy Moses and Khemraj did not read and comprehend the Burnham constitution----they knew the President could dissolve parliament---they forgot about proroguing.

They knew of both options. The constitution is not a monumental tome to grasp. The PPP unfortunately as with the budget process, believes they can use it in narrow readings to be the nation's dictator.

* You really expect an honest and intelligent answer to that excellent question from blabbermouth Stormy ?

You ever gat anything intelligent foh say? Keera daag...

Bluntly, you're saying that people you strongly dislike should be murdered.

gilbakka:

* That is your interpretation of what I said---you are entitled to your interpretation.

* Anyway, your hero Moses has been outfoxed and made to look like a fool by the esteemed President.LOL

* You have every reason to be depressed this morning gilbakka---you were all excited looking forward to action in parliament today. Now you are crying in your coffee.hahahaha

* Did you really believe Ramotar would have allowed the no confidence to go forward knowing he did not have the votes ?

gilbakka:

* That is your interpretation of what I said---you are entitled to your interpretation.

* Anyway, your hero Moses has been outfoxed and made to look like a fool by the esteemed President.LOL

* You have every reason to be depressed this morning gilbakka---you were all excited looking forward to action in parliament today. Now you are crying in your coffee.hahahaha

* Did you really believe Ramotar would have allowed the no confidence to go forward knowing he did not have the votes ?

True yuh can say so. That is why fools like Sase, Harse Man, Jalil and dem doan get. Dem gat nuff nuff big mout. Dem should know that de constitution gee de President nuff nuff powah. What you fool like Rev Al, Dr Dr Dr Dr Dr Jagdeo, Bobby, Ravi, Bisram, Vassan and dem doan realize every action gat reaction. Yuh laff now. But yuh na will laff soon. 

Originally Posted by albert:

I just hope and then the violence against indos starts ya'll doan blame the PPP as usual 

Of course we will blame the PPP because we know that you pay hooligans GY $5,000 per day to do this.  Sadly some Guyanese are so poor and bereft of morality that they will do this.

What ever his faults Granger isn't the type to sanction this.  The thug element of the PNC have now joined the PPP.  The House of Israel people who you all have with you are very experienced in creating mayhem.

Were the President to prorogue Parliament he might be motivated by the fact, as PPP Parliamentarian Bibi Shaddiq pointed out, that while the PPP got 6 more seats than the next opposition party it is not allowed to run the country by the constant APNU-AFC alliance in Parliament. It's analogous to the obstructionist Republican-controlled Congress and filibuster-enabled Senate that made Obama's Presidential life miserable. The only thing is that Obama cannot dissolve Congress, but he can take Executive action.

Here is the rub.  The USA has a different system of govt and the legislative branch is separated from the executive branch.  Not so in Guyana and this is why there is the problem.  In parliamentary systems post election alliances are allowed and one need go no further than Suriname and the UK to see this.

The PPP has no right to have childish tantrums because in most other countries they would have been banished to the opposition because the AFC and APNU would have definitely entered a post election alliance to remove them, and then of course starting to in fight between them.

YEAH BABY!!!  BRING IT ON!!!  PRESIDENT RAMOTAR IS THE ONLY ONE WITH BALLS IN GUYANA.  LET THE PEOPLE DECIDE.

Are you so stupid that it is precisely that the PPP does NOT want to have the people decide why the did this?

Contrary to what they and you think this action will confirm in the minds of most Guyanese how corrupt the PPP is, the lengths that they will go to maintain power, and their deep panic that the AFC might split the Indian vote, allowing APNU to squeak in with a few hundred more votes than them.

Well elections will have to happen, and the probability of the PPP losing because the AFC eats into their base is now grown stringer.  Even Guyanese who do not care about MONC, will now register how evil the PPP is.

The ball is in the court of the opposition, and how they react to this will be a test of their competence. Having protests with 100 people will do nothing.  Having huge meetings in PPP strongholds is what will terrify the PPP into fleeing into exile.  If the AFC thinks that they have strong support that is what they ought to do.

gilbakka:

Rev, you can gloat all you want about the killing of parliamentary democracy in Guyana. You call it outfox. Fine.

Be warned, when people don't enjoy parliamentary representation, they take extra-parliamentary action, as in Tunisia and Egypt.

If Ramotar were really confident who could have dissolved parliament and told the opposition that if they really wanted the people to have their say he wouldn't stop them.  He knowing that the AFC/APNU would look foolish when the PPP took bac parliament.

But Ramotar is afraid that the results will be different so he prorogues parliament to give him time (he thinks) to buy votes and corrupt the electoral process.

Well the PPP has now lost all moral authroty over the Burnham regime.

1.  They are equally undemocratic...the PNC rigged elections, the PPP simply refuses to host them.

2.  The PPP engages in the same extra legal violence against those who they don't like, and using the SAME characters who Burnham used.

3.  An AG, who is supposed to up hold the law, threatens the publisher of the most popular newspaper, then you scream about what Burnham did to the opposition media!

I don't want to hear any more bleating about "28" years.  The PPP has shown that they are no better.

The ball is in the court of the opposition, and how they react to this will be a test of their competence.

carib bai:

* That word "COMPETENCE" must never be used when referring to the opposition in Guyana.

* For months now those clowns, especially Duncy Moses Nagamootoo, have been boasting about bringing down the PPP government via a no confidence motion.

* Those fools never anticipated the President would use the proroguing tool the constitution affords him. The President has clearly outsmarted and out foxed Moses and the other morons in the opposition.

DEMERARA WAVES, NOV 10 --- President Donald Ramotar on Monday kept to his much anticipated promise and prorogued the Parliament but the 65-seat National Assembly could very well still meet later in the afternoon because the Speaker Raphael Trotman has not received a copy of the Official Gazette of the proclamation.

Trotman told Caribbean News Desk that he was not ruling out going ahead with a sitting of the House if he did not receive a copy of the gazette.  A spokeswoman for A Partnership for National Unity (APNU) said their 26 parliamentarians would still be going to the Assembly Monday afternoon at 2 PM.

In an address to the Nation, the President defended his decision to suspend Parliament for up to a maximum of six months.
"Some may ask why is it that my government has gone this Constitutional route and not go along with the debate.  The answer lies in the practical choice between an atmosphere of confrontation, as the no confidence motion debate would fuel, or that of possible accommodation, as a prorogued Parliament can facilitate, if there is a genuine intent on all sides."

Bearing the signature of the Head of the Presidential Secretariat, Dr. Roger Luncheon, the proclamation reads: "Whereas a session of the Tenth Parliament of Guyana was summoned by proclamation on dated 9th January, Two thousand and twelve 

And whereas it is provided by Article 70 (1) of the Constitution that the President may at any time prorogue Parliament; 

Now, therefore, in exercise of the power conferred upon me by Article 70(1) of the Constitution, I do hereby prorogue the Tenth Parliament of Guyana on 10th day of November, Two thousand and Fourteen.

Word of the suspension of the Parliament came just hours after the President consulted with the Chairman of the Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM), Dr Steve Surujbally. The meeting with Surujbally was aimed at getting an update on preparations by the election management body for General and Regional Elections before the end of January 2015 as well as progress towards the holding of Local Government Elections during the second quarter of 2015.

If Ramotar were really confident...

* You can postulate and hypothesize from now until thy kingdom come about Ramotar's confidence level and his fears. The fact remains the PPP government will not be brought down by a no confidence vote.

* By the way, The majority of Guyanese people are against the No confidence motion.

* When elections are eventually held there is a 99% probability the PPP will win by a majority.

* In the meantime the biggest PPP hater Moses Nagamootoo is feeling like a piece of shit today---Ramotar outsmarted that clown.

In an address to the Nation, the President defended his decision to suspend Parliament for up to a maximum of six months.

"Some may ask why is it that my government has gone this Constitutional route and not go along with the debate.  The answer lies in the practical choice between an atmosphere of confrontation, as the no confidence motion debate would fuel, or that of possible accommodation, as a prorogued Parliament can facilitate, if there is a genuine intent on all sides."

DEMERARA WAVES, NOV 10 ---

The public had long notice of the no-confidence motion by the AFC.

Hence, a very simple procedure ... prorogue parliament and proceed with an election.

The PPP have succeeded in doing what even Burnham failed to do disband parliament and invoke the dictatorship.

They capable of murder-and they will do it. They desperate. Ramotar must know he is heading to jail soon. Is about time these people know there are laws.

Siggy, whatever residue of respect I had for Donald Ramotar is gone today, completely. I will email and tell him that bluntly.

* POPPYCOCK!

WHy are they a dunce again? Who is it that had to take the nuclear option? They can only follow the process. While the no confidence vote was not allowed to be debated the world know the Ramotar government would have been brought down. Despite his craven cries about bring it on and we are ready he took the cowardly way to save his ass for at least six months.

PPP ignorance................

Dharamlall loved the country so much he was ready to use his office as a cudgel to hit Amerinds over their heads if the acted independently and spoke to the opposition. These creeps like to think their love is so much they can act as tyrants and others seeking to dethrone them are be bad guys. One of these days he will be asked to answer.

BTW democracy was not defended today. A dictatorship was created. He would be willing to defend that dictatorship not democracy if people go to the streets and voice dissent.

Rev, you can gloat all you want ...

* I am gloating and happy too.

* You stay vex weh yuh deh.hahahaha

Rev you are like a gloating chicken unaware that a cat is hiding in the bushes, just ready to jump on it.

The PPP made a serious mistake today. Unless they announce elections later today or tomorrow they will go down in history as being as undemocratic as Burnham was.  They have lost the last shreds of moral authority.  The fact remains that MONC was in the table. If the PPP is so confident they should have moved a motion to dissolve parliament, which would have forced elections within the next few months.

Instead they want to buy time because they fear for their futures.

The Jagdeo/Ramotar cabal is unworthy of governing the country. They are desperate and have descended into ugly arrogance, cuss-down and vulgar behavior and most unfortunate, and obscene language and death threats against the owner and staff of Kaieteur News. For the last three years, the majority Opposition has produced enough hot air in Parliament to start a global heat wave, and yet the unrighteous and loutish PPP cabal has never been under any obligation to make changes to the budget, legislation or any of their policies. The Freedom House gang has not changed their barefaced and rigid stance and will not yield anything to the opposition—a fact that must be understood by the AFC and APNU. So for the opposition to continue to have meetings with the president is a total waste of the taxpayers’ money and an act in futility.

* By the way, The majority of Guyanese people are against the No confidence motion.

Nagamootoo is even more confident than he was before that he will make some serious inroads into PPP strongholds.  Despite the screams of HM_Redux, he remains obsessed with the Indian vote, because he knows that snatching more of it will lead to the down fall of the PPP.

Unless the PPP calls for elections tomorrow then they will be revealed as being cowardly dictators, no more respectful of the democratic rights of the Guyanese people than Forbes Burnham was.