Some folks want a balanced army/police but they don't want to be honest as to why this isn't the case. 

Why this isn't the case?

Indians don't want to join.  Maybe they don't like taking orders from black people.

Its quite simple.  If mainly blacks join then the armed forces will be mainly black.  Folks will have to accept that fact.

You're a jackass. In almost every Guyanese Indian family in NY and the rest of the Diaspora, it is considered a great honor for your son or nephew or other relative to serve in the military. I don't know any Guyanese Indian family without a servicemember in the U.S. military. My uncle at the Pentagon is a GOD in my mom's family. All the rich family members bow to him.

And FYI, most Drill Sergeants and NCOs are Black. I had no problems with mine. You know why chap? Because they were tough but they were tough so that I could succeed and meet the standard not because they wanted me to drop out. My Drills "punished" me especially over other Soldiers not because they hated Indians but because they thought I had potential. And guess what? In 18 months after enlistment, a Pentagon Board selected 400 new officers to gazette from the ranks and I was on that list. So syar yuh rass dah side chap.

There is inherent anti-Indian bias in the GDF and GPF designed to make Indians drop out.

I wanna quote the great Afrocentric scholar Dr. Ivan Van Sertima "if it's not a such a big deal then why do you care so much?"

So Caribj, if the GDF isn't so important then why do you care so much to spend so much time and internet ink behind defending the status quo?

We're not all as schupid as you seem to think chap.

The PNC/GDF alliance will guarantee perpetual dominance over the Guyana political landscape.

I had several uncles in the police force all who were forced to leave after independence.  They wanted to join the fledgling GDF but never got the response.  One, a known PPP, was told to rot in Brickdam.  They migrated to the US and their kids served in the US military.  I met umteen Indo Guyanese many of whom have children in the US military.  So, I find it strange that Guyana seem to be the only country where the Indian is somehow "unfit" or don't want to join, for military duty.  It's not unfit, it's just "inconvenient" and "uncomfortable" for some.

Them bais think they smart, then again, they got the "mudheads" with them to gain access to keys to the kingdom.

Some folks want a balanced army/police but they don't want to be honest as to why this isn't the case. 

Why this isn't the case?

Indians don't want to join.  Maybe they don't like taking orders from black people.

Its quite simple.  If mainly blacks join then the armed forces will be mainly black.  Folks will have to accept that fact.

You're a jackass. In almost every Guyanese Indian family in NY and the rest of the Diaspora, it is considered a great honor for your son or nephew or other relative to serve in the military. I don't know any Guyanese Indian family without a servicemember in the U.S. military. My uncle at the Pentagon is a GOD in my mom's family. All the rich family members bow to him.

And FYI, most Drill Sergeants and NCOs are Black. I had no problems with mine. You know why chap? Because they were tough but they were tough so that I could succeed and meet the standard not because they wanted me to drop out. My Drills "punished" me especially over other Soldiers not because they hated Indians but because they thought I had potential. And guess what? In 18 months after enlistment, a Pentagon Board selected 400 new officers to gazette from the ranks and I was on that list. So syar yuh rass dah side chap.

There is inherent anti-Indian bias in the GDF and GPF designed to make Indians drop out.

I wanna quote the great Afrocentric scholar Dr. Ivan Van Sertima "if it's not a such a big deal then why do you care so much?"

So Caribj, if the GDF isn't so important then why do you care so much to spend so much time and internet ink behind defending the status quo?

We're not all as schupid as you seem to think chap.

The PNC/GDF alliance will guarantee perpetual dominance over the Guyana political landscape.

I had several uncles in the police force all who were forced to leave after independence.  They wanted to join the fledgling GDF but never got the response.  One, a known PPP, was told to rot in Brickdam.  They migrated to the US and their kids served in the US military.  I met umteen Indo Guyanese many of whom have children in the US military.  So, I find it strange that Guyana seem to be the only country where the Indian is somehow "unfit" or don't want to join, for military duty.  It's not unfit, it's just "inconvenient" and "uncomfortable" for some.

Them bais think they smart, then again, they got the "mudheads" with them to gain access to keys to the kingdom.

You sounding intelligent.  Ramjattan drop the jumbie lash on the PPP finally.

LOL

I had several uncles in the police force all who were forced to leave after independence. 

Ok so in 1966 you scream that Indos were chased out of the GDF.

Now what about 1992, 2002, and 2012?  Still applies?  You mean Jagdeo, the Commander in Chief, and Rohee, the Minister for Homa Affairs chased Indos out of the army/police?

But then you wanted PPP to win.   Such a bundle of confusion, and stupidity you reveal.

The fact that you reveal their eagerness to serve Uncle Sam reveals they desire to genuflect to those of the very pale hue.  If they are in the GDF and the sargeant hollas at them, next you will be blaming Burnham and swearing that Afros can be screamed at, but Indos should be treated with kid gloves. You know that "special people" thing that folks like you revel in!

I had several uncles in the police force all who were forced to leave after independence. 

Ok so in 1966 you scream that Indos were chased out of the GDF.

Now what about 1992, 2002, and 2012?  Still applies?  You mean Jagdeo, the Commander in Chief, and Rohee, the Minister for Homa Affairs chased Indos out of the army/police?

But then you wanted PPP to win.   Such a bundle of confusion, and stupidity you reveal.

The fact that you reveal their eagerness to serve Uncle Sam reveals they desire to genuflect to those of the very pale hue.  If they are in the GDF and the sargeant hollas at them, next you will be blaming Burnham and swearing that Afros can be screamed at, but Indos should be treated with kid gloves. You know that "special people" thing that folks like you revel in!

Not sure what you getting at, most of my relatives in the US military served under black commanders.  Never had an issue.

Regarding Indians wanting "kid-glove" treatment.  How you arrive at that?  Remember, for decades Indians were given the "steel knuckle" treatment in Guyana.  It was normal daily life.

Honestly, I believe BJ and his cohort did not seriously address the issue.

Why do Indians have to join the police force or army to feel that they are not marginalized? Why can't Indians who obviously feel more comfortable in other areas of industries where they think they are more effective, count on the black military and police force to treat them fairly. They shouldn't have to go into those uncomfortable situation so they create a balance with the black members?

Not sure what you getting at, most of my relatives in the US military served under black commanders.  Never had an issue.

Regarding Indians wanting "kid-glove" treatment.  How you arrive at that?  Remember, for decades Indians were given the "steel knuckle" treatment in Guyana.  It was normal daily life.

Honestly, I believe BJ and his cohort did not seriously address the issue.

Yes black commanders in a WHITE dominated army. 

How could BJ address the issue if Indians do not want to serve in Guyana?

First of all prove that Indians want to join, but are prevented,before you whine that they are under represented.  And please cease to babble about what happened FIFTY years ago.

Please discuss attempts by Indians to join and show how these attempts were being prevented.  New recruitment classes showed very few Indians.  So did Indians try to join and found themselves excluded.

Listen here is the deal.  Indians complain about the army, and want some other Indian to join.  Not them nor their kids, because they do not see what taking hardship and low pay in Guyana offers them.

BE HONEST about that. If there was a real interest on the part of Indians there would have been a surge after 1992.  Was there a surge.  NO.  At least not according to Cheddi who expressed disappointment that Indians were NOT responding to his attempts to get them interested.

Originally Posted by ksazma:

Why do Indians have to join the police force or army to feel that they are not marginalized? Why can't Indians who obviously feel more comfortable in other areas of industries where they think they are more effective, count on the black military and police force to treat them fairly. They shouldn't have to go into those uncomfortable situation so they create a balance with the black members?

That seems to be reasonable.

1.  If Indians are not joining because there is real or perceived bias against them, then this obviously must be dealt with.

2.  But if Indians do NOT want to join, then why should they be forced to join.  EVERY single Guyanese should demand fair treatment and protection from the armed forces, regardless of ethnicity, skin color, or social class.  If Indians, Amerindians, or poor African males feel unfairly treated then this must be investigated and dealt with.

Originally Posted by ksazma:

That seems to be reasonable.

1.  If Indians are not joining because there is real or perceived bias against them, then this obviously must be dealt with.

2.  But if Indians do NOT want to join, then why should they be forced to join.  EVERY single Guyanese should demand fair treatment and protection from the armed forces, regardless of ethnicity, skin color, or social class.  If Indians, Amerindians, or poor African males feel unfairly treated then this must be investigated and dealt with.

Guyanese Indians have never cared to be in the military or para-military. They prefer jobs like being teachers. During the Burnham days, the GDF and GPF were seen as Burnham's instruments to subdue Indians. But since Guyana has a government headed by a Unity government, Indians should not need to worry about being subdued and therefore should not feel obliged to join when they feel more comfortable elsewhere and can be more useful elsewhere. 

Originally Posted by Jay Bharrat:

PPP did not address this problem well.  They formed Community Policing Groups and should have used this to recruit people to the Military/Police.

I tell you something, I met someone from these groups in the 2000's and he and me are convinced, the PPP did not want to balance the ethnic mix.  I was baffled but could only conclude, the reasoning is the "boogie man" Black GDF to make the average Indian feel their best ethnic security option is a PPP Govt regardless of how corrupt and inept.

India done dump the PPP.

India to assist Guyana’s agriculture sector

By Staff Writer On May 29, 2015 @ 7:46 pm In Photos

Indian High Commissioner to Guyana, Venkatachalam Mahalingam today paid a courtesy call on Prime Minister Moses Nagamootoo. Nagamootoo took the opportunity to invite Minister of Agriculture Noel Holder to be present during the meeting with the High Commissioner, GINA said.

The PM said that the meeting was a “very fruitful exchange of views”, and focused on some of the existing arrangements between the Indian and Guyanese Governments.

Indian High Commissioner to Guyana, Venkatachalam Mahalingam [left); Prime Minister of Guyana Moses Nagamootoo (second from left), Minister of Agriculture Noel Holder (third from left), and an officer of the Indian High Commission to Guyana. (GINA photoIndian High Commissioner to Guyana, Venkatachalam Mahalingam (left); Prime Minister of Guyana Moses Nagamootoo (second from left), Minister of Agriculture Noel Holder (third from left), and an officer of the Indian High Commission to Guyana. (GINA photo

Article printed from Stabroek News: http://www.stabroeknews.com

URL to article: http://www.stabroeknews.com/20...-agriculture-sector/