Big and bad…

…Green honoured To say that some (older) eyes popped after Hamilton Green was awarded this nation’s second highest award – the Order of Roraima – would be the understatement of the year. But with the “youth cohort” demographic looming so large nowadays, they need to be informed as to who’s Hamilton Green. Besides converting Georgetown from the “Garden City of the Caribbean” to the “Garbage City of the Caribbean”. Hamilton Green first came to attention during the 1960s’ CIA-fostered ethnic riots. In the (in)famous September 11, 1963 report by the Supt of Police Paul Brittion, Assistant Commissioner of Crime on the PNC, it was stated: “I have investigated 19 reports of crimes which occurred between the 8th June, 1963 and 21st July, 1963 which include placing explosives to building, destroying building with explosives and arson. “I am of the opinion that there is evidence to support a charge of conspiracy, contrary to Section 34 of the Criminal Law (Offences) Ordinance, Chapter 10. The following persons are involved in the crime” (Hamilton Green was among those named). One detail of the report states: “May 1963: … and Green decide at meeting to use explosives on all government buildings; viz Georgetown Ferry Stelling, Government Produce Depot (GMC), and Rice Marketing Board.” We know there was an attempt to bomb the RMB but the sticks of dynamite under the wharf were discovered. Fast forward through the next two decades when Green became the official “enforcer” even while he was heading several Ministries and even became Prime Minister. He was the hatchet man who blocked Dr Walter Rodney’s appointment at UG and who later tried to explain away Fr Darke’s murder by an operative of the House of Israel. But even Burnham became worried about his ambitious “strongman” who began to strut around and act as if he were the Kabaka’s successor. In August 1984, Burnham removed him as First Vice President and Prime Minister – and replaced him with Desmond Hoyte. The latter, of course, became President after Burnham passed away the following year. He made Green PM but peripheralised him as he brought in new faces in an attempt to change the PNC’s thuggish image. Green violently apposed Hoyte relinquishing power after the 1992 elections and was expelled from the PNC. Whereupon he formed the GGG party, won the elections as Mayor of Georgetown – and proceeded to run down the City as he’s done to everything else he headed. And for all the foregoing, he received the Order of Roraima. Your Eyewitness understands several recipients of the award are planning on returning their medals.

…Minister follows the “Green Way” As recounted in the book, “Dangerous Times”, back in 1979 when Hamilton Green was Minister of Labour and Health, he was on a tour at a work place. He accosted the wife of Moses Bhagwan who was working there. Referring to the fire that destroyed Congress Place (blamed on the WPA) he told her supervisor, “She is a threat to this place. Get rid of her.” Fortunately the head of the company said that he was the administrator and the Minister couldn’t fire her. Well, with that sort of high-handed behaviour deemed worthy enough to earn an Order of Roraima, it’s already spawned imitators. It was reported that on Friday, the Head of the Child Care and Protection Agency (CC&PA) Ann Greene gave some advice to her new line Minister, Simona Broomes. The latter, of course, had launched a vigorous campaign against Trafficking in Persons (TIP), during which she’s evidently remarked snidely that “the nicest thing in CC&PA was the paintings on the walls”. Ms Greene suggested perhaps the new Minister should work “to build a relationship with the staff”, who might’ve been hurt by the comment. This, however, was interpreted as a “verbal altercation” and Ms Greene was sent home “on leave”!

So why does Granger think Green "fought for Independence" and thus, the high award?

Does not Rabbi Washington deserve an award too?  The man's plantain chips industry fed Guyana at a time when Burnham banned flour.

Originally Posted by Jay Bharrat:

So why does Granger think Green "fought for Independence" and thus, the high award?

Does not Rabbi Washington deserve an award too?  The man's plantain chips industry fed Guyana at a time when Burnham banned flour.

Well Janet freed Rabbi subsequently.

Originally Posted by TK:

Well Janet freed Rabbi subsequently.

Plantain chips "Fed Guyana"?  You too funny banna. 

You didn't enjoy plantain flour during Burnham's days, and plantain chips for lunch when you were at school?

My in law voted for Burnham every time because she said Burnham banned flour and her plantains sold well at Bourda Market.  Plantains made her rich.

You didn't enjoy plantain flour during Burnham's days, and plantain chips for lunch when you were at school?

My in law voted for Burnham every time because she said Burnham banned flour and her plantains sold well at Bourda Market.  Plantains made her rich.

Yeah, them people in Crabwood Creek voted for Bunam too.  He made some of them rich.  At the time, once you entered Carbwood Creek you could tell immediately who were traders by just looking at the houses.

So all the PNC era terrorists deserve honors like Green, as somehow they fought for "independence" as Green citation says.

Can somebody, anybody say how and when did Green play a part in fighting for Guyana's independence?

It's complex carbs. You're less likely to get diabetes from eating plantains. Burnham was inadvertently helping them to extend their lives.

jay, quit being so flippant about a serious subject such as this. Many people wonder if this an indication of what is to come.

Z
Originally Posted by Zed:

r.

jay, quit being so flippant about a serious subject such as this. Many people wonder if this an indication of what is to come.

It is.  Baseman was cussed out by PNC and Katahars for predicting this pre-May 11.  Baseman says again, this is the start of the re-establishment of the old racist order, a resurrection of PNC quasi "Apartheidism".

r.

It is.  Baseman was cussed out by PNC and Katahars for predicting this pre-May 11.  Baseman says again, this is the start of the re-establishment of the old racist order, a resurrection of PNC quasi "Apartheidism".

Give us some specific examples where you or your family was victimized in this 'apartheid.'

look, Granger pacified the PNC gerontocracy with a nod and a piece of tin to the old scoundrel before he croaks

people like Zed scrounging around with magnifying glass looking for PPP opportunity . . .

Originally Posted by TK:

r.

Give us some specific examples where you or your family was victimized in this 'apartheid.'

He will make up some story about an uncle or a cousin. Do you think anybody believes him and his stupid apartheid stories? Where was his voice when the PPP was executing institutionalized racism on Guyana?

Originally Posted by TK:

r.

Don't get micro and myopic.  I know, you openly claimed on this board you never saw/experienced anything negative under the PNC, well good for you.  So, you stay in your world, I stay in mine, they will never meet.  Wonder though, if life was so great under the PNC for you, how come you are in the US and not UG!

BTW, how is your "unity" Govt doing this far?  Just asking.

Originally Posted by VVP:

Yeah, them people in Crabwood Creek voted for Bunam too.  He made some of them rich.  At the time, once you entered Carbwood Creek you could tell immediately who were traders by just looking at the houses.

Like you bin ah CWC a lot! Did you not see the drug dealers and dope heads there too?

Look idiots. Maybe you people don't understand the purpose of national awards. It's to reward people who serve the incumbent political party.

That's what they always have been and what they will continue to be.

From the first time the King took his sword and bestowed the "Order of the Bath" on one of his retainers to Granger giving an OR to Hammie. It's all the same.

This is the King (Granger) simply throwing a shiny gong the way of his loyal stooge (Hammie) who helped Granger come from almost nowhere and capture control of the PNC. Granger was in such bad shape and in need of allies at the time of the leadership contest for the PNC that he ultimately had to resort to ballot stuffing.

I'm not worried about Hamilton Green getting the Order of Roraima. I mentioned before that less deserving people got national awards throughout the past 45 years. Green will cease to be Mayor after upcoming LGE, expected by early next year.

What would bother me is the coalition government appointing Green to a  substantive post.

Let him retire to admire his OR award in his yard.

As for Hamilton Green's role in the 1960s, the police reports will show that there were bomb makers and homemade gun makers in the PPP too. In my street alone, I saw four homemade guns with galvanized pipe barrels in 1963. They weren't for shooting birds.

Originally Posted by TK:

r.

Don't get micro and myopic.  I know, you openly claimed on this board you never saw/experienced anything negative under the PNC, well good for you.  So, you stay in your world, I stay in mine, they will never meet.  Wonder though, if life was so great under the PNC for you, how come you are in the US and not UG!

BTW, how is your "unity" Govt doing this far?  Just asking.

In general the unity govt is doing and saying the right things. They seem sincere on constitutional reform. We will continue to give them a hard time until they get it right. I have seen many negatives in PNC time, but I cannot pinpoint a personal victimization by a blackman or PNC. So, I ask you again what are some specific examples of victimization you experienced under PNC that requires this shitty label of apartheid?

I am getting reports of numerous verbal abuses by blacks on Indos. This is not a PNC or AFC directed policy. If they don't want to talk about it, we will make them!! Meanwhile, if you so love Jagdeo ask him to move towards constitutional reform and grow up.

Look idiots. Maybe you people don't understand the purpose of national awards. It's to reward people who serve the incumbent political party.

From the first time the King took his sword and bestowed the "Order of the Bath" on one of his retainers to Granger giving an OR to Hammie. It's all the same.

This is the King (Granger) simply throwing a shiny gong the way of his loyal stooge (Hammie) who helped Granger come from almost nowhere and capture control of the PNC. Granger was in such bad shape and in need of allies at the time of the leadership contest for the PNC that he ultimately had to resort to ballot stuffing.

So you reward a thug and possible murderer with a national honor?  Why not make him "Your highness PNC" or some shit like that?

I'm not worried about Hamilton Green getting the Order of Roraima. I mentioned before that less deserving people got national awards throughout the past 45 years. Green will cease to be Mayor after upcoming LGE, expected by early next year.

What would bother me is the coalition government appointing Green to a  substantive post.

As for Hamilton Green's role in the 1960s, the police reports will show that there were bomb makers and homemade gun makers in the PPP too. In my street alone, I saw four homemade guns with galvanized pipe barrels in 1963. They weren't for shooting birds.

We had one too. It was for hunting. It was also a deterrent. The afro neighbour across the street kept it in her mud oven. She got wild meat for her favour.

Why would you worry, a certified soup drinker, ass kisser like you will routinely deal with the devil!!!!!!!!!!!

So you reward a thug and possible murderer with a national honor?  Why not make him "Your highness PNC" or some shit like that?

Burnham will be awarded the Guyana saint award next.

We had one too. It was for hunting. It was also a deterrent. The afro neighbour across the street kept it in her mud oven. She got wild meat for her favour.

Bai, lemme be direct now, dem homemade guns was fo shoot blackman in Uitvlugt Casbah. Calculate: 4 in my street alone multiplied by 6 streets in Uitvlugt Pasture and yuh get de idea. Plus some real foreign guns.

My grandfather was the local PPP gunsmith for the Corentyne

His father had taught him how to make bullets when he was 6 years old. A skill the PPP would happily harness later on.

The PNC was an apartheid regime but we do not need to get into that now.

Let's focus on what the new Govt is doing and keep them honest. Granger knows people are upset at the sanitization of Green, and when Parliament opens, these things would come under more scrutiny and critiques. They would not be able to do as they like.  PPP, crooks as they are, got as many votes as 6 parties combined.  Granger needs to make a note of that.

Green has been neutered and a woman, Sooba, bossed him around and made his wife pay up her rates and taxes. Sooba deserves a medal of service for that.  She save GT millions by doing that.  Will Green's wife continue to pay her taxes?

Don't thin Mr. Granger, an honest man, will allow that.

Don't be a sanctimonious neophyte chap. Governments are not institutions of godly behavior.

The business of government is generally messy, amoral on a good day, immoral on a normal day.

Look at it this way. If Hammie Green did not help Granger become Leader of the PNC, then there would be no President Granger. It's that simple.

This may actually be an act of redemption for Green. He helped give Guyana a great President.

Why would you worry, a certified soup drinker, ass kisser like you will routinely deal with the devil!!!!!!!!!!!

I couldn't expect a better comment from you. I've seen you describe other posters similarly. I'm happy with my conscience.

FACTS BABY FACTS, DANGEROUS PEOPLE LIKE YOU ARE A DISGRACE TO HUMANITY!!!!!!!!!

Let's focus on what the new Govt is doing and keep them honest. Granger knows people are upset at the sanitization of Green, and when Parliament opens, these things would come under more scrutiny and critiques. They would not be able to do as they like.  PPP, crooks as they are, got as many votes as 6 parties combined.  Granger needs to make a note of that.

Green has been neutered and a woman, Sooba, bossed him around and made his wife pay up her rates and taxes. Sooba deserves a medal of service for that.  She save GT millions by doing that.  Will Green's wife continue to pay her taxes?

JB bai, You were the one boasting about Granger's honesty and intelligence pre election era. Wah happinin' now bai? You get white mouth(wapyaa) now?

I am not aware that Green helped Granger to be anything.

I thought Green did not hold a recent position in the PNC or had any influence.

Sharma/Norton claims Granger and company rigged the party elections.

Did Green do that? Or Corbin (master rigger under Hoyte)?

People are glad Granger rigged because he did so to sideline the militant wing of the PNC?

JB bai, You were the one boasting about Granger's honesty and intelligence pre election era. Wah happinin' now bai? You get white mouth(wapyaa) now?

All of the Snakeoil Salesmen are suddenly confused.  Well, the nature of the Snakeoil business is to be SHAMLESSLY DECEITFUL, SCAMPISH and THIEFING!!!!!!!!!

Don't be a sanctimonious neophyte chap. Governments are not institutions of godly behavior.

The business of government is generally messy, amoral on a good day, immoral on a normal day.

Look at it this way. If Hammie Green did not help Granger become Leader of the PNC, then there would be no President Granger. It's that simple.

This may actually be an act of redemption for Green. He helped give Guyana a great President.

You beginning to sound like Mr. Ramson, SC   Wha dem big words mean?  Well if Green is the only one that helped Granger then he did at least one good thing in his life, but he still going to hell.

His father had taught him how to make bullets when he was 6 years old. A skill the PPP would happily harness later on.

Right at Freedom House in the 1980s, some older comrades told me how they had got military training in Cuba in units supervised by Che Guevara and Juan Ameida. They learnt to make bombs, guns, bullets and grenades.

People are glad Granger rigged because he did so to sideline the militant wing of the PNC?

Yuh mean Shaitaan lying?

Right at Freedom House in the 1980s, some older comrades told me how they had got military training in Cuba in units supervised by Che Guevara and Juan Ameida. They learnt to make bombs, guns, bullets and grenades.

"Colonel Allen" was the Cuban officer seconded to the Corentyne PYO to do military drills at the backdam. My grandfather served under him. Nuff coolies used to have to get lil beating to keep it a secret.

Yea, the PPP had some balls back in the 60s.

Now they're a bunch of old Antiman.

Yuh mean Shaitaan lying?

Jay should have stopped when he said the first line.

Green only nominally left the PNC. He's still a honored member of the club. With enough juice to sway a leadership contest in the PNC for or against someone.

Obviously Green made the right choice. And Granger made the right choice in that alliance.

Why else do you think Green is being rewarded with OR? Because Granger wants a free black eye in social media and the letter columns? Because Granger like Hammie suh much?

Or because he had to in some way satisfy Green? Green must have been pissed that all he got for basically making a President was an OR.

Granger outsmart he rass good

Just asking for evidence/details.

We must keep all parties honest and accountable, and not curry favor the one we support.

We must be free to critique all decisions, not be scared to do so.  If not, that's how dictatorship emerges.  Jagdeo bought people out and then no one disagreed, leading to Jagdeo doing stupidness that brought their swift end.

I believe Ganger and Moses will do better, but I reserve the right to critique what they do as we go along. We can't be yes men to everything the Coalition does if they commit grave errors.