'Depoter In Chief': Obama Increases Deportation Dramatically.

By Tony Best

At least 70,000 immigrants have been deported to the Caribbean from the U.S. in the almost six years since President Barack Obama moved into the White House in 2009.

With immigration advocates, especially Hispanics from South and Central American countries excoriating the President as "deporter in chief" because of the record high rate of foreign born residents expelled from the U.S., an analysis of data compiled by the Department of Homeland Security showed that far from declining as he had pledge during his first presidential campaign, the number of deportees to the English, Spanish, Creole and Dutch-speaking countries of the region and to other areas has risen sharply by at least a third since he took office.

In all more than 3.5 million people have been deported to more than 200 nations and territories, more than half of them, 2.7 million to be exact were deported to Mexico after they had crossed America's borders with its next door neighbor. No other U.S. Administration has presided over more deportations than Obama but Republican critics in and out of Congress have been complaining that the White House should have deported many more. Indeed, in August conservative republicans pulled a bill from the roster of the House because it didn't satisfy their needs. They complained the bill hadn't gone far enough in expelling Central American minors from the country.

With comprehensive immigration reform bottled up in the Republican dominated House of Representatives after being passed by the Democratic-controlled Senate and President Obama unable to live up to his campaign promises to usher in an era of compassion for the 12 million people living, working or studying in the U.S. without permission from Washington, it seems unlikely that his administration would get the much cherished reforms through both houses of the Congress.

The figures compiled by the Department of Homeland Security showed:

• The Dominican Republic had to absorb 23, 212 deportees from the U.S., many of them sent back simply because they had overstayed their time in the U.S.
  • Cuba received 20, 20,503 in five years, compared with 22,811 during the last four years of the George Bush Administration.
  • Haiti accepted 8,823 of its nationals sent back home, almost 3,000 more than during the second term of President Bush.
  • Trinidad and Tobago, 2,866 since 2009, 1,000 more than during the previous administration.
  • Guyana, slightly less than 2,000 between 2009 and last year, up from 1,335 under Bush.
  • Belize, 1,653 deportees compared with 901.
  • The Bahamas, 1,440. During the latter half of the Bush year, 622 were deported.
  • The Cayman Islands, 515, Obama, but 358, Bush
  • Barbados 389; 250 Bush.
  • Lucia 313; 227.
  • Grenada 279 and 145.
  • Dominica 268; 205.
  • Antigua & Barbuda 259; 165.
  • Vincent & the Grenadines 245; and 128.
  • Suriname 100, Obama; 76, Bush.
  • Bermuda 100, Obama; 33 under Bush.

"This report reinforces the message that he has been the deporter-in-chief," said Marc R. Rosenblum, director of the United states Policy Institute, a research organization in Washington.

I have unfortunately lost all respect for Obama he is a loser.

I felt that Dr. West and  others were being way too critical of him but after reflecting on the debacle that is Iraq, his response to the Ukraine crisis, His response to the Ebola Crisis and after reading Jimmy Carter's criticism of the man as well as Leon Panetta and Gates.

It is very difficult to remain supportive of this fool. Now you read he has broken his promises on immigration surprise surprise. Is there anything this chap has done that has not gone horribly wrong?

I am not a group thinker and trust me I am no lemming either. Obama needs to go, the sooner the better.

I felt that Dr. West and  others were being way too critical of him but after reflecting on the debacle that is Iraq, his response to the Ukraine crisis, His response to the Ebola Crisis and after reading Jimmy Carter's criticism of the man as well as Leon Panetta and Gates.

It is very difficult to remain supportive of this fool. Now you read he has broken his promises on immigration surprise surprise. Is there anything this chap has done that has not gone horribly wrong?

I am not a group thinker and trust me I am no lemming either. Obama needs to go, the sooner the better.

So Obama has been reduced to a fool, eh?! The guy who sensibly stayed out of a sectarian war in both Syria and Iraq after the previous administration unleashed this sectarian Sunni/Shiite violence. The guy who stopped the bleeding of dollars and blood of Americans and hundreds of thousands of civilians. The guy ho smartly stayed out of the Ukraine where the fascist West Ukraine did its utmost to destroy the largely ethnic Russian-Ukrainian population in the East. The guy who rescued the US auto industry and gave hope for medical treatment, even with an initially flawed
Health Care Act (that's how great social bills are born). The guy who has restored American image abroad and turned the econjomy around after the worst assault on it by the turn-your-back on Wall St previous administration. Yes, that fool.

First of all, american liberal immigration policies has to change. A realistic look at it will tell you it has to be reformed in some way. The numbers above do not tell of the strategy of the Obama government to remove all of those convicted of serious crimes, are members of high profile gangs, and who are deportees who simply returned over the porous border. Returning these felons to the streets is not healthy. Subtract that number from what is the total and you will see the man simply taking proactive steps to do what he must do. His ban of returning dreamers and to go after normal people is to be commended. That meant he protected the majority of people here trying to make a good life from being returned.

I do not know who in Syria is to be trusted. Even now the US is having difficulty identifying a group receptive to the western democratic propositions and not influenced by fanaticism. Syrian Kurd are not Iraqi Kurd  and practically every group there is involved is some barbarism. Note every one says he did not help the "Syrian opposition" without identifying the group. You saw the difficulty with the border town of Kobane. The Turks were not keen on helping even thought hey had enough armor and men there to end the fighting in a day. The situation there is rife with confusing complexity.

Why is he responsible for the failings of the CDC? Note the 911 infusion of money to homeland security had the country doing gas mask drills. I am sure the best people had their hand in protocols for defense in biological and chemical weapons protocol. Many times various places were shut down and white coats people were everywhere testing and cleaning up. Everyone thought they had their strategy under control. That some ass backward people, the head of whom when asked what was the status said "ebola meet modern medicine" so they are in control. Meanwhile they did not take precautions of complete body cover so had two nurses infected as a result. That is not Obama's problem. I also think his response in not banning travel is also   in line with the nature of the disease as we know it and an unnecessary step. If anyone is to be blamed it is the republicans who refuse to give us a Surgeon General.

actually, Obama's responses to "ebola," "Iraq" and "Ukraine" are standout instances of measured, intelligent leadership in a complicated and dangerous international landscape as klowns bay [with an eye to the mid-terms] and scamps plot to coerce injudicious behavior useful to cynical foreign agendas but inimical to the interests of the USA . . . and i am not even a fan of this president

and btw, what does "Obama needs to go, the sooner the better" mean in the context of US politics . . . perhaps u think you are still is Guyana looking up at the loutish PPP

smfh

President Barack Obama damaged U.S. credibility by drawing a â€œred line” against Syria’s use of chemical weapons and then failing to back up the warning with military force, former Defense Secretary Leon Panetta told Yahoo News in an interview.

“It was damaging,” Panetta, who also served Obama as CIA director, told Yahoo Global News Anchor Katie Couric.

Another day, another defection from a high-profile Democrat on President Obama’s approach to combating the Islamic State of Iraq and Syria (ISIS).

And the latest apostasy must be particularly painful for the White House considering its source, Jimmy Carter, a former Democratic president who supported Obama over Hillary Clinton in the 2008 Democratic primary.

While Carter has been critical of the president’s foreign policy in the past, it has generally been from the left, on issues like drone strikes and the National Security Agency’s data snooping.

But in a wide-ranging interview with the Fort Worth Star-Telegram published Wednesday, the Democrat sounded like Obama’s Republican critics, saying the president has vacillated in responding to ISIS.

In a new memoir, former defense secretary Robert Gates unleashes harsh judgments about President Obama’s leadership and his commitment to the Afghanistan war, writing that by early 2010 he had concluded the president “doesn’t believe in his own strategy, and doesn’t consider the war to be his. For him, it’s all about getting out.”

Leveling one of the more serious charges that a defense secretary could make against a commander in chief sending forces into combat, Gates asserts that Obama had more than doubts about the course he had charted in Afghanistan. The president was “skeptical if not outright convinced it would fail,” Gates writes in “Duty: Memoirs of a Secretary at War.”

Obama, after months of contentious discussion with Gates and other top advisers, deployed 30,000 more troops in a final push to stabilize Afghanistan before a phased withdrawal beginning in mid-2011. “I never doubted Obama’s support for the troops, only his support for their mission,” Gates writes.

ISIS is a failure of a corrupt Shia regime in Baghdad not Obama.  Remember th Bush regime had Al Bagdadi in custody and let him go. No one knew Al Queda in Iraq would morph into ISIS with the Sunni help. They knew there may be some civil strife not the emergence of an anti Shia force that is as horrible to anything remotely associated with state formation and just government as this. Even the CIA under Panetta admits to this. It was his duty to see and advise not the President to anticipate.

That may be true Stromborn but do some more research the removal of troops from Iraq was largely an Obama move. The Administration could have been more forceful but they were not Obama basically said enough of this crew Iraq we are out. He did that against the advice of his own advisors - that is now a huge issue. Obama repeatedly goes against his advisors and if when he went against them he was successful it would be a different story. 

In all of those cases where he has gone against them they have turned out to be major disasters his own party is up in arms over this stuff and they are swinging at him for it.

@HM_Redux:

i suggest you cast your reading net in a bigger pond, start thinking (more) for yourself, stop watching FOX, take Bill Maher with a few grains of salt, and be more circumspect when parsing the 'memoirs' of political lifers like Leon Panetta

just off the top of my head . . .

The standards for being called a moron has sunk to Nehru and Rev levels. Nice company Redux!

you are the biggest moron and ahole on the planet!!!!

NOW WE HAVE A UNIFIED INTERNATIONAL STANDARD ALL CAN GO BY. USE THIS MORON PHOTO

This insult by Kari comparing me to a shunt like you is a very low and degenerate blow. (Noted).

The standards for being called a moron has sunk to Nehru and Rev levels. Nice company Redux!

NOW WE HAVE A UNIFIED INTERNATIONAL STANDARD ALL CAN GO BY. USE THIS MORON PHOTO

This insult by Kari comparing me to a shunt like you is a very low and degenerate blow. (Noted).

rEDUX THE jackass i AM TIRED INSULTING A slut LIKE YOU

Dat de best you got? you sound a bit liquored up!!

That may be true Stromborn but do some more research the removal of troops from Iraq was largely an Obama move. The Administration could have been more forceful but they were not Obama basically said enough of this crew Iraq we are out. He did that against the advice of his own advisors - that is now a huge issue. Obama repeatedly goes against his advisors and if when he went against them he was successful it would be a different story. 

In all of those cases where he has gone against them they have turned out to be major disasters his own party is up in arms over this stuff and they are swinging at him for it.

Indeed the possibility for a collapse of the Iraq was highly probable. Obama tried his best to convince Malaki to let some troops remain and further sought to ensure that the troops will be subject to  their commander and not to the Iraqi law. Malaki refused. I was not wise to let them remain he pulled out but give them the requisite arms to defend themselves and spent time building their army.

It all fell apart because of the Iraqis inability or rather the competing branches of Islam to see eye to eye. Fighting ISIS from the air is his strategy. If they develop the courage to fight for their own land then they will combine to do so. To this point they do not seem to care. My view, were the Kurd and other minority groups not be in the way would be to let them fight to the last man or into the  Neolithic era But there are innocents in the way and whether he like it or not may have to put some boots on the ground.

Obama is a good president. He will go down in history as a peaceful president. We have to allow him to achieve his executive amnesty for all the illegal immigrants and then vote in a Republican. The white house miss a Republican in the oval office. 

Executive Orders will grant all dem Illegals dem Green Card. Hip Hip Hooray for OBAMA.

Obama is a good president. He will go down in history as a peaceful president. We have to allow him to achieve his executive amnesty for all the illegal immigrants and then vote in a Republican. The white house miss a Republican in the oval office. 

Executive Orders will grant all dem Illegals dem Green Card. Hip Hip Hooray for OBAMA.

Moo business fuh me means moo rum and stale poke. 

Moo businesHEHEHE I dont like stale Poke, I like my Poke fresh.

That is not what Obama's closest advisers are claiming. Do you want me to believe that both Panetta and Gates are lying?

HM_R you have failed to respond to the positives I wrote about the Obama Presidency. Here is some history lessons. The Kurds are the only US ally in a fragmented region with sectarian scores being settled. ISIL is just a lot of ex-Baathist Saddam Hussein's army people who Maliki shoved to the curb. Assad in Syria is an Alawite who sides with heShiite Iran and who did notliberalize when the Arab Spring protests occurred. TheSunni majority then went on the offensive and hence the Jihadists and ISIL, Al Nusra and Korasan, etc. - all pieces of abroken Al Qaeda in Afghanistan and Iraq.

Obama has no ally in Syria and sensibly only intervene to protect genocide. He has a virtual no-fly zone in Syria. Heard any bombings by Assad from the air recently on the rag-yag Free Syrian Army. The Iraqis wanted no US soldirs in Iraq. It is a sovereign nation and the US cannot just put troops there without a treaty. It intervened under the auspices of NATO on the mountain and Mosul where te Yazidis were about to be slaughtered and where the Kurds were threatened. All the while there are two adversaries to Obama - the Shiite Iraqi government and the Assad.

So Bush's Gates and Clinton's Panetta can go spout many things about Obama. They are niot the President and have no legitimacy in matters of national security having been involved in the Iraqi mess with Bush (Gates) and the failure-to-stop-al Qaeda under Clinton (Panetta). They are not Gods of whom every word spoken is testimony t some imaginary failure by Obama. Red line in Syria my ass! See how Obama got Assad to get rid of his chemical stockpiles. Syria is a soverign country and Obama would have needed the UN Security Council to intervene. Remember russia - yes Russia blocked that. You're just an ass HM_R spouting nonsens like a copy cat. Use your own intelligence....wait check that.....that's missing from you.

You are wrong about Gates and Panetta. They are key advisors to the President and while the President at the end of the day is the decision maker Obama clearly ignored many or almost all of the advice coming from not only the Pentagon and the defense department but also he ignored advice from the State Department.

You can criticize Panetta and Gates all you want these men clearly have a ton of respect among the highest ranking democrats and Jimmy Carter has echoed the same sentiments.

You are entitled to be dismissive of them just like you are being dismissive of Obama's failures in the Ukraine and on the Ebola front.

You are wrong about Gates and Panetta. They are key advisors to the President and while the President at the end of the day is the decision maker Obama clearly ignored many or almost all of the advice coming from not only the Pentagon and the defense department but also he ignored advice from the State Department.

You can criticize Panetta and Gates all you want these men clearly have a ton of respect among the highest ranking democrats and Jimmy Carter has echoed the same sentiments.

You are entitled to be dismissive of them just like you are being dismissive of Obama's failures in the Ukraine and on the Ebola front.

No need to say more on Panetta and Gates as you seem to think they have divine certitude about their opinions in spite of their failures in their previous roles.

Jimmy Carter is respected but he is too removed from the internecine warfare in Iraq and Syria. He is not taken too seriously by most Americans.

Ukraine is not a failure nut a brilliant move - stay the heck out of a local take-back. If you want to have a nuclear war have a better reason.

The Ebola crisis is not Obama's creation. Heard Gov Perry of Texas mouthing off lately with all the cuts in medical spending to and refusal of Obama Care money....yeah his hospital's preparedness was fantastic. Yet Obama who tries to keep the country calm over political fear-mongering (elections are in a couple of weeks) is to be blamed.

Like I said use your own analysis and intellect to see what's what. I can give you a history lesson on the Ukraine and Syria and Iraq if you wish. I can also dig up faux pas by Carter, Gates and Panetyta - all paragons of knowledge about today's military and sectarian realities in the Middle East.

Madeline Albright weighing in also, let me guess she is a dummy as well. Only you are smart....

As Madeline Albright, President Bill Clinton's former secretary of state, said, "To put it mildly, the world is a mess." She might not agree that it's Obama's fault, but some part of the blame is the president's creation of a global leadership vacuum, allowing the would-be Russian czar, Vladimir Putin, to fill it. As it is so inelegantly put in Chicago, "Putin smells the meat a cookin."

And so a small portion of the blame for the 298 gruesome deaths from the downing of Malaysian flight MH17 must land in Obama's lap, as Putin's rolling up of Crimea and his arming of Ukrainian rebels with high-tech anti-aircraft weapons went virtually unchallenged.

Obama fails to recognize that America's traditional and justifiable role as the guarantor of the fundamental international right of freedom of the seas also applies to freedom of the skies. The MH17 war crime should serve as a bitter reminder of the isolationist folly now popular among some progressives, populists and libertarians.

Obama's problem is the absence of a clear strategy. To have one, you must clearly identify the enemies of world peace and American interests: Putin's unchecked craving for an empire and radical Islam. Without such recognition, no coherent, realistic plan for combating radical Islam and the kind of nationalist hunger that caused two world wars can be formulated.

Historically, American presidents have had identifiable foreign policies (e.g. the Truman and Kennedy doctrines). But Obama has no doctrine, no guiding principle, no clue. You can't even accuse him of being pragmatic.

Rack it up to a couple of factors: (1) He's the spawn of Chicago and Illinois politics, so governing wisely is a complete mystery to him, as it is to most pols here. He was little more than a lackluster, inattentive senator in the most incompetent lawmaking body in America, the Illinois General Assembly. (2) He has no executive or administrative experience beyond organizing a classroom syllabus, if that.

But there's this: Even if he were totally competent, he has been carrying out the inherently impractical, destructive and naive progressive policy agenda. Its failure is insured by a catechism that tolerates not even reasonable foreign involvement.

It all amounts to a deadly combination that ought to persuade Americans to try something else. In that, don't expect too much from Republicans, who, just three months short of the election, are offering little more than "we ain't Obama." Speaking of the absence of a coherent, workable and courageous policy, it's hard to top Obama, but Republicans seem quite capable of it.

More indigestion....

Editorial cartoon on Obama's foreign policy

An Agenda of Failure

The White House should accept the blame for its ineffective policies in Ukraine, Syria and elsewhere.

Editorial cartoon on Obama's foreign policy

By May 13, 2014 | 7:51 a.m. EDT+ More

The sign of a failed foreign policy is that it can be defended only by ridiculing its critics. This resort to name-calling demonstrates the absence of viable ideas with which to engage critics. So it is particularly telling that President Obama has increasingly resorted to this practice in response to criticism of his handling of foreign affairs. And yet any sober examination of his administration’s foreign policies leads inescapably to the conclusion that the White House is failing globally.

Take Ukraine. Since the start of the current crisis some six months ago, the president and assorted government officials have made stirring statements in support of Ukraine, only to follow them with relatively insignificant sanctions in response to Russian aggression. It has hardly been lost on Moscow that the U.S. appears to have ruled out the very measures (from more biting sanctions to the forward deployment of American forces) that could make a real impact in deterring further rogue behavior from Moscow. Which is why U.S. measures to date have served only to produce widespread derision in Russia, further military action by Moscow and the explosion of state-sponsored Russian chauvinism, replete with official anti-Semitism and Nazi-like propaganda portraying the president in the most offensive racial stereotypes.

[GALLERY: Cartoons on the Ukraine-Crimea Crisis]

But the failure of American policy goes far beyond Ukraine. In the Asia-Pacific, numerous officials have stated publicly that U.S. hegemony is slipping away, and that the administration cannot implement its Asia “pivot.” Administration inaction, cloaked in the mantra of “strategic patience,” has allowed North Korea to increase both the quality and quantity of its nuclear weapons, to the point where Pentagon planning documents frankly acknowledge that in the event of war we should expect to fight a nuclear North Korea.

The administration’s failures in the Middle East are by now well known. Dithering and indecision prevented us from aiding Syrian rebels with whom we could work at the outset of the conflict. That policy paralysis has persisted, and even the administration’s own limited objective – the destruction of Syria’s chemical arsenal – remains largely unfulfilled. Here, too, Russia has emerged as a spoiler, blocking further progress on disarmament and defending Syrian dictator Bashar Assad’s continuing use of chemical weapons. With regard to Israel, the White House has foolishly doubled down on a flawed framework for peace negotiations, ignoring systemic deformities on the part of the Palestinian Authority in the process. And in the case of Iran, the interim agreement hammered out last fall in Geneva has served as a lifeline for the Islamic Republic, allowing it to amass foreign capital and resume business with the international community. Indeed, Tehran is now close to concluding massive deals with both Moscow and Beijing that will effectively shatter for good the once-robust international sanctions regime levied against it.

[SEE: Cartoons on President Obama]

The list goes on. The administration’s failures are comprehensive, and damning. While Congress must accept a share of the responsibility, President Obama would do well to remember the famous dictum of his predecessor, Harry Truman, who announced that “the buck stops here.” It is, after all, President Obama that is both the creator and the leader of U.S. foreign policy. If he succeeds, he deserves the credit. But if he fails, blaming his critics will simply not suffice.