Barry Dataram and reputed wife caught in Suriname

Local Law Enforcement officers are preparing to head across to Suriname to bring the pair back to Guyana. Dataram was sentenced to five years in jail after being found guilty of a cocaine possession charge three weeks ago. His reputed wife, who was also charged, was found not guilty, but that not guilty verdict has since been appealed.

Barry Dataram and reputed wife caught in Suriname

Convicted and self-confessed drug lord, Barry Dataram and his reputed wife, Anjanie Boodnarine have been arrested in neighbouring Suriname, three weeks after they went on the run from local law enforcement.

Surinamese Police on Friday informed local police and the Customs Anti Narcotics Unit that they had nabbed the two hiding out in a house in Suriname.  The two went on the run just as their cocaine possession trial was nearing an end. They had been charged along with two others, after over 225 pounds of cocaine was found in Dataram’s Diamond house. They were both on $4 million bail each when they decided to bolt from Guyana.

In their absence, Dataram was found guilty and sentenced to five years in jail and fined $164 Million while Boodnarine was found not guilty.

Two other men who were charged along with the couple, were also found not guilty. CANU has already appealed the not guilty verdicts.

Head of CANU, James Singh, confirmed to News Source that the two have been caught in Suriname and he said efforts are being made to bring them back to Guyana before the end of the weekend.  Local Police and CANU agents are expected to travel across to Suriname to accompany the two back to Guyana.

Dataram is also wanted in the United States on drug trafficking charges. He is also a US Citizen.

http://newssourcegy.com/news/b...-caught-in-suriname/

Suriname hands over Dataram and wife to local Law Enforcement

Drug convict and self-confessed drug lord, Barry Dataram and his reputed wife, Anjanie Boodnarine were handed over to agents of the Customs Anti Narcotics Unit one day after he was arrested in neighbouring Suriname.

Suriname hands over Dataram and wife to local Law Enforcement

The man who went on national tv to declare that he was indeed a drug lord during his cocaine possession court case, was handed over to Guyanese law enforcement on Saturday at Moleson Creek, Corentyne along with his wife, after being on the run for three weeks.

Drug convict and self-confessed drug lord, Barry Dataram and his reputed wife, Anjanie Boodnarine were handed over to local Police one day after he was arrested in neighbouring Suriname.

The Surinamese Police on Friday informed local police and the Customs Anti Narcotics Unit that they had nabbed Dataram and his wife hiding out in a house in Suriname.

The two went on the run just as their cocaine possession trial was nearing an end. They had been charged along with two others, after over 225 pounds of cocaine was found in Dataram’s Diamond, East Bank Demerara house. They were both on $4 million bail each when they decided to bolt from Guyana.

In their absence, Dataram was found guilty and sentenced to five years in jail and fined $164 Million while Boodnarine was found not guilty.

Two other men who were charged along with the couple, were also found not guilty. The Customs Anti Narcotics Unit has already appealed the not guilty verdicts.

Head of CANU, James Singh, was among the CANU agents who traveled to Moleson Creek this morning for the handing over of the drug convict and his wife.

Barry Dataram is also wanted in the United States on drug trafficking charges. A few years ago he dodged a US extradition request by moving to the High Court.

He is also a US Citizen.

http://newssourcegy.com/news/s...cal-law-enforcement/

Dataram was using Guyana passport with false name that was issued in 2013

The passport was issued on April 15, 2013 and appeared to have been issued in Georgetown. It bears the passport number R0376916 and would have expired in 2018.

Dataram was using Guyana passport with false name that was issued in 2013

Convicted drug lord and recaptured fugitive Barry Dataram, was found in Suriname with a Guyana Passport that was issued to him in the name of David Persaud. The passport bears the image of Dataram but with the David Persaud name.

The passport was issued on April 15, 2013 and appeared to have been issued in Georgetown. It bears the passport number R0376916 and would have expired in 2018.

Just recently, the General Secretary of the opposition People’s Progressive Party and former Home Affairs Minister, Clement Rohee, broadsided the government over its drug fighting effort after Dataram was able to escape from Guyana while his drug possession case neared the end.

But it was Rohee who was in charge of the Home Affairs Ministry in 2013 when Dataram was issued the passport with the false name.  The Passport Office came under the Home Affairs Ministry’s portfolio.

It is suspected that Dataram may have used the passport with the false name to travel to Suriname via the backtrack route three weeks ago and was attempting to use a foreign passport to leave Suriname.

screen-shot-2016-10-15-at-11-06-21-am

He was arrested by Surinamese Police on Friday along with his wife. The two were found hiding out in a house in the neighbouring country.

They were both brought back to Guyana this morning by Surinamese Police and handed over to local Law Enforcement.

The two went on the run just as their cocaine possession trial was nearing an end. They had been charged along with two others, after over 225 pounds of cocaine was found in Dataram’s Diamond, East Bank Demerara house. They were both on $4 million bail each when they decided to bolt from Guyana.

Two other men who were charged along with the couple, were also found not guilty. The Customs Anti Narcotics Unit has already appealed the not guilty verdicts.

http://newssourcegy.com/news/d...-was-issued-in-2013/

"The passport was issued on April 15, 2013 and appeared to have been issued in Georgetown. It bears the passport number R0376916 and would have expired in 2018.

Just recently, the General Secretary of the opposition People’s Progressive Party and former Home Affairs Minister, Clement Rohee, broadsided the government over its drug fighting effort after Dataram was able to escape from Guyana while his drug possession case neared the end.

But it was Rohee who was in charge of the Home Affairs Ministry in 2013 when Dataram was issued the passport with the false name.  The Passport Office came under the Home Affairs Ministry’s portfolio."

Rotee got busted.

"The passport was issued on April 15, 2013 and appeared to have been issued in Georgetown. It bears the passport number R0376916 and would have expired in 2018.

But it was Rohee who was in charge of the Home Affairs Ministry in 2013 when Dataram was issued the passport with the false name.  The Passport Office came under the Home Affairs Ministry’s portfolio."

Rotee got busted.

Foolish observation. Rohee did not issue Barry a passport. The civil servant at the passport office issued him a passport. You know very well, when a large amount of money is injected into any transaction in Guyana, you can buy your way to heaven. People rent a hand gun for $25(US), commit a murder and get away with it. You can see it's not difficult to buy a passport for about $100.00(US). Not because you are in charge of a ministry, you control what everyone does.    

Rotee got busted.

Foolish observation. Rohee did not issue Barry a passport. The civil servant at the passport office issued him a passport. You know very well, when a large amount of money is injected into any transaction in Guyana, you can buy your way to heaven. People rent a hand gun for $25(US), commit a murder and get away with it. You can see it's not difficult to buy a passport for about $100.00(US). Not because you are in charge of a ministry, you control what everyone does.    

Things change when you want it to eh banna? So if this wasn't found to be during Rohee's time who would you be blaming it on? Hmmm let's see, could it be ..............Ramjattan?

Foolish observation. Rohee did not issue Barry a passport....Not because you are in charge of a ministry, you control what everyone does.    

Suh, Skelly, tell Gilly why yuh blaming Granger for what everyone does.

If you nah want blame, you shouldn't want fuh become president. The dictator has control of everything. Tell me something: If a negro man goes in to get a passport and he gets a "counterfeit" passport, should we blame that on the minister in charge of the passport office or should we investigate the individual issued the passport? Is that minister capable of looking over the shoulder of every civil servant at every minute? There have always been corrupted civil servants in Guyana. It's infested with varmints. We need to find them and jail them.  But Guyana has a culture of violence when you start weeding out bad apples.

Foolish observation. Rohee did not issue Barry a passport....Not because you are in charge of a ministry, you control what everyone does.    

Suh, Skelly, tell Gilly why yuh blaming Granger for what everyone does.

Because Granger and the PNC crew blamed Jagdeo for what everyone did.  Time to even that score.

Not really.  Skelly is much better looking than me.  But coming to think of it, we are both slightly ahead of the pack in the IQ department, so I can see the misunderstanding of us being one and the same.

Hmm never knew comparing better looking,mixing of the gender is norm.

You sure you a wan homan??

Not really.  Skelly is much better looking than me.  But coming to think of it, we are both slightly ahead of the pack in the IQ department, so I can see the misunderstanding of us being one and the same.

Jalil done say that he ain't.

Mr.T posted:

Jalil done say that he ain't.

Which doesn't count.  He is now voiceless!

Speaking of IQ........................!!!!!!!!!!!!!

... coming to think of it, we are both slightly ahead of the pack in the IQ department ....

Laang laaaangg time ago, me schoolteacha use to seh: "Self praise is no recommendation." And me think the same statement was in one textbook name "First Aid in English" or "The Student's Companion" --- one outa de two.