Home > TOP STORY > APNU+AFC preparing supporters for trouble -Jagdeo tells mammoth Essequibo rally
DSC_0423

APNU+AFC preparing supporters for trouble -Jagdeo tells mammoth Essequibo rally

THOUSANDS of persons at Damon Square, Anna Regina, screamed cheers as former President, Dr. Bharrat Jagdeo took the stage and told Essequibians that on May 11 the People’s Progressive Party / Civic (PPP/C) will be celebrating another victory. 

He cheerfully expressed, “the whole of Essequibo is here today and we didn’t bus the crowd from Georgetown, you are all Essequibians. I know now that you will continue to give us your support.” He continued to explain that persons have indicated that they were not feeling the vibes on the Essequibo Coast, “but today we have nothing to worry about, Essequibo is ready.”
“Let me say on May 11 the victory must be a decisive one.” Dr. Jagdeo explained that the APNU+AFC (A Partnership for National Unity and the Alliance For Change) are preparing their supporters for trouble and because of this, “the PPP/C needs a majority win so that they cannot contest us from any angle.” He made mention also that David Granger, after the many cycles of the claims and objections period by the Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM), “he is now questioning the list.” He related that they will try to use this issue with the list to create trouble, “so I again urge you come out and vote on May 11.
“We have to win this election to keep our country moving forward,” the former President explained, as he highlighted that the APNU+AFC members have been spreading falsehoods to a lot of rice farmers, “but one thing is sure, that [is] during the bad and good times we [PPP/C] have always been with the rice farmers… and we will continue to be with them in the future.”
On a more serious note, Dr. Jagdeo explained that “we took the oil money and funded the rice project and this is because the Government cares about the industry.” He alluded to his recent visit to Essequibo where the farmers spoke about the infestation of bugs and flooding. “I went to the President and explained this to him and he has agreed that we will look into helping in all aspects, we also have to work on farmers being paid on time, and we help with the bug infestation.”

“Some $54B was spent on drainage and irrigation all over this country,” he noted. “Presently we export almost 500,000 tonnes of rice and produce over 600,000 tonnes. Do not listen to Doerga and the others because they want to fool you.” He noted too that the Government is looking for new ways to diversify the economy and so they have embarked on a project to diversify the coconut industry. “We support the coconut industry from the Pomeroon.”
Dr. Jagdeo pointed out some of the developments that are visible to the eye on the Essequibo Coast: “You have your own immigration office here so you need not come to Georgetown.” He mentioned also that the Government wanted to do so much more, such as providing better communication and internet and distance education here in Essequibo, “but because for three years of stalled Government under the one-seat majority Opposition, they cut $80B from the budget. And now they are telling the people that we are not fulfilling our promises.”
“Nagamootoo is a waste, he always was a waste and will always be a waste…he has been diagnosed as a megalomaniac, who is someone obsessed with himself,” he said, adding that 60 per cent of what he says is about himself, while 90 per cent are lies.
He urged the residents to pay attention at the rallies and read the manifesto and be informed about the plans the Government has for all.
“I urge all of you to be vigilant for the next three weeks. Never allow a militaristic Government in Guyana,” the former President stressed.

By Rebecca Ganesh

This banna is still a major political force in Guyana.  The banna may be corrupt, but the masses love him.

Producing 600,000 tons of rice, on a per-capita basis, probably among the highest in the world.  Guyana moving forward with these guys, more to come, keep on trucking.

"Guyana moving forward with these guys, more to come, keep on trucking.

The only thing moving forward is the bank accounts of these guys' "Friends and Family."

"Every Race Punishing."

Originally Posted by Jay Bharrat:

"Guyana moving forward with these guys, more to come, keep on trucking.

The only thing moving forward is the bank accounts of these guys' "Friends and Family."

"Every Race Punishing."

Bai, nuff ordinary people getting 10 yr visa, coming and returning.  Tings seem sweet down deh, thanks to the GoG.

This banna is still a major political force in Guyana.  The banna may be corrupt, but the masses love him.

Producing 600,000 tons of rice, on a per-capita basis, probably among the highest in the world.  Guyana moving forward with these guys, more to come, keep on trucking.

the only reason guyanese producing rice is because they have nothing else to do for a living,every year they have to protest for payment 

He lied his ass off. Oil money is rice money.

the only reason guyanese producing rice is because they have nothing else to do for a living,every year they have to protest for payment 

Tell us what else.

He lied his ass off. Oil money is rice money.

Which part is a lie and why didn't the PNC jump on and and make it a political topic.