DEMERARA WAVES, FEB 1 --- Leader of the Alliance For Change (AFC), Khemraj Ramjattan says his party has been dealing with increasing calls by supporters to be given jobs following its victory at last year’s general and regional elections.

“I had to tell them that we just can’t be just knocking off people to go and fit them in,” he told Demerara Waves Online News.

The AFC+A Partnership for National Unity (APNU) clinched 33-seat victory at the May 11, 2015 general elections, leaving the People’s Progressive Party Civic (PPPC) occupying the 32 opposition seats in the National Assembly.

Ramjattan, who is a Vice President and Minister of Public Security, said many of them who are demanding government jobs were unqualified while others were unwilling to settle for low salaries. “I know of some of them who made the quarrel, they are not qualified for some of these positions and you have to be brutally frank and tell them and some who felt that they were qualified, when you indicate to them the salary scales paid by our public service they backed away and they say they didn’t know,” he said.

The AFC Leader held out hope that in another three years with increased revenue from gold and new earnings from oil, they would get higher paying government jobs. “Some of them still vex with me, as leader, but as a politician what do you do, you go to appreciate that you got challenges and you have to tell the people about the challenges,” he said.

Across at APNU, there have been rumblings among many persons, including young educated youths, who had campaigned hard for the APNU+AFC coalition that they have not received any jobs or they have been placed in areas in which their qualifications are not being properly utilized.

Rather, they have said, that the government is being stacked by many overseas-based ex members of the Guyana Defence Force (GDF).

Rather, they have said, that the government is being stacked by many overseas-based ex members of the Guyana Defence Force (GDF).      THIS IS MILITARY RULE , THE ARMY IN CONTROL. Statements from their own people.

Is there anymore Indians left to be fired? Or some who didn't vote for the coalition? Ramjattan should move the three Indians from Burnham International Airport and replace them with his people. End of story.

HAHAHA  Butler #2 should tell dem to haul Dem Rass. me ah Minista to hell wid Al Yuh now.  I gun see Al Yuh in 4 years Dummies.

It will be a class warfare against the coalition soon. 

Maybe Ramjattan is unaware that many of the jobs given to old PNC heads should have been given to the young people. Atleast dem would have seen hope.

Three years from now, the youths will be worst off. 

Education for positions, really. Guyana needs managerial skills, that comes with experience. 

This government will go down in history as the biggest freak show ever known to man.

Don't exaggerate and hyper-ventilate. The APNU+AFC is making errors and its supporters, including myself, are criticizing the coalition openly and rightfully, but your forecast will not materialize.

This government will go down in history as the biggest freak show ever known to man.

Don't exaggerate and hyper-ventilate. The APNU+AFC is making errors and its supporters, including myself, are criticizing the coalition openly and rightfully, but your forecast will not materialize.

Tell me which government in the history of Guyana was more incompetent than this one.  Even Burnham didn't bring back a whole cabinet of retirees to take the jobs of the young people.  These retirees are collecting pensions and salaries at the same time, while young qualified people are unemployed.  Think about that for a minute as this will be the premise for my forecast to materialize.

Bhai, Yuh really gat energy to waste.

I accept your point but I maintain that the coalition will NOT "go down in history as the biggest freak show ever known to man."

Nehru what going here,is Bibi a bhai or gal ???

Even the ex GDF brothers, yes they are all brothers, are losing their swagger in Guyana. They want to know where are all the loot that they were promised. They are forced to have their own SSI and handy capped funds remitted to them from America.

I accept your point but I maintain that the coalition will NOT "go down in history as the biggest freak show ever known to man."

Gilly, with all due respect I have to agree with Bibi Haniffa in telling you that the Coalition will "go down in history as the biggest freak show ever known to man". Having said that, Granger during the election camoaign did promise the electorate that he will bring back ex-Guyanese soldiers from Flat Bush and give them plum jobs. The unfortunate thing is that those complaining now are the very ones who believed and voted for him. Solja Bai now delivering on his promise and the freak show continues.

Nehru what going here,is Bibi a bhai or gal ???

Bibi is a gyal.  Wan nice cute sexy gyal!!!

ex members of the Guyana Defence Force (GDF).

Some people in Guyana are concerned about ex-soldiers in many high positions across the government and its agencies. 

Their feelings are that many past and current governments, in the world, that are stacked with ex-military people end up being dictatorships or failed states. 

I cannot argue whether that is true or not because I never gave that a thought and have not looked into it. 

Ramjattan is distracting the public's attention from the growing dissensions within his party over the dominance of the PNC in the coalition  gov't. and the failure of the AFC to stop the PNC from returning the country to Burnhamist rule. You have to read carefully between the lines and figure out why he made such statements when he was the one who told the Berbicians during the election campaign about using $20 billion that the PPP stole each year to create jobs and boost the economy. Where is the freaking $20 billion????????

Eh ehhh bhai, you know something?