Miner beaten to death over missing gold

A Corentyne miner was on Saturday found dead in a mining camp at Armu Falls Top, Cuyuni, Region Seven (Cuyuni-Mazaruni), with multiple marks of violence about his body.

The dead man has been identified as Phillip Cort, 56, of Queen Street, Courtland, Corentyne, Berbice.

Based on reports, the now dead man had an argument with another man over some missing gold. The argument quickly turned into an altercation during which Cort was severely beaten and left to die. The man’s body was found by colleagues who went to the mining camp to gather tools to commence a day’s work.

The main suspect, a 35-year-old man from the bauxite mining town of Linden, was subsequently arrested. He is assisting with investigations. Desiree Cort, a sister of the dead man, told Guyana Times that she received the devastating news on Sunday evening.

“I have a cousin who has a dredge nearby and she was in Georgetown, but her husband called her on Sunday and told her that Phillip was beaten to death,” the sister stated. She noted that after receiving the message, her cousin contacted family members at Fyrish Village in Corentyne.

Without hesitation, the man’s nieces and nephews travelled up to Bartica where they made arrangements for the body to be transported to Georgetown. The grieving sister said that the body was now at the Memorial Garden’s Mortuary and a post-mortem examination was planned for today. She explained that her brother lived in the interior and she last saw him about three years ago. Still in shock that he was no more, she reminisced on the good times the siblings shared. “Only five of us (13 siblings) are alive,” the woman said.

Her brother, she noted, did not have any children, but he was a loving individual who took care of his siblings’ children.

He is expected to be buried over the weekend in Fyrish.

http://guyanatimesgy.com/miner...h-over-missing-gold/

A Corentyne miner was on Saturday found dead in a mining camp at Armu Falls Top, Cuyuni, Region Seven (Cuyuni-Mazaruni), with multiple marks of violence about his body.

The dead man has been identified as Phillip Cort, 56, of Queen Street, Courtland, Corentyne, Berbice.

Based on reports, the now dead man had an argument with another man over some missing gold. The argument quickly turned into an altercation during which Cort was severely beaten and left to die. The man’s body was found by colleagues who went to the mining camp to gather tools to commence a day’s work.

The main suspect, a 35-year-old man from the bauxite mining town of Linden, was subsequently arrested. He is assisting with investigations. Desiree Cort, a sister of the dead man, told Guyana Times that she received the devastating news on Sunday evening.

“I have a cousin who has a dredge nearby and she was in Georgetown, but her husband called her on Sunday and told her that Phillip was beaten to death,” the sister stated. She noted that after receiving the message, her cousin contacted family members at Fyrish Village in Corentyne.

Without hesitation, the man’s nieces and nephews travelled up to Bartica where they made arrangements for the body to be transported to Georgetown. The grieving sister said that the body was now at the Memorial Garden’s Mortuary and a post-mortem examination was planned for today. She explained that her brother lived in the interior and she last saw him about three years ago. Still in shock that he was no more, she reminisced on the good times the siblings shared. “Only five of us (13 siblings) are alive,” the woman said.

Her brother, she noted, did not have any children, but he was a loving individual who took care of his siblings’ children.

Didn't some of you say "black people" all over Guyana love Jagdeo? This chap, the alleged perpetrator is from Linden. Might he not be one of Jagdeo's admirers?

I see you joined the jackass crew of pnc apologists. What does this have to do with Jagdeo? Was he robbed and beaten too? Stupidity seems to be contagious based on the company one keeps. 

It's called balance at GNI. AFC has the biggest crooks and conmen. 

Mr. T has to now defend.

Why do I have to defend the thieving and murders by the PPP? Is you that got to life off their crimes, now holed up with all those undeclared U$ drugs money.

Most people in the mining business have no morals or regard for human life when in pursuit of the treasured thing called gold.  It's hard to police every where in the society especially in the remote areas of Guyana. People have to take a stand when someone is treated unjustly and not just refrain from doing anything.  We first have to see each other as fellow human beings who deserve to be treated with dignity. It does not matter if it is Indian on Indian, Black on Black, or Buck on Buck. We must look at every dispute with unprejudiced eyes. The more we do this the better the society will get.  The more we show bias when there is a dispute the more we fuel bias thinking and actions.  

I hope the perpetrator of this crime gets his day in court and pay the price for his actions. 

I see you joined the jackass crew of pnc apologists. What does this have to do with Jagdeo? Was he robbed and beaten too? Stupidity seems to be contagious based on the company one keeps. 

I never said anything about Jagdeo himself being involved. The heading says "another PNC Murderer". So now we label people based on where they live? Earlier it was stated that people all over love Jagdeo. So if Linden might have some Afro Jagdeo supporters then why automatically this chap is PNC?  

I suppose Black criminals are automatically assumed to be of PNC origin. In fact during PPP time the PNC used crime as a weapon, supplying Black criminals with guns to rob and kill Indians.  Only the overseas based Guyanese like yourself were not aware of this or try to cover it up. Speak to the people in Guyana and you would know that PNC is associated with crime. 

Ok then. That was my only question. If you kept abreast of what I have written here, you'd see I wasn't apologizing for anyone. I suppose because I question what the PPP did during their time it's automatically assumed I am a PNC supporter. Oh ye of little mental aptitude.

If you have to ask what the PPP did then you are a novice and should do some research before wasting other people's time because you are too lazy to research yourself. 

Another PPP thief caught

Like This TopicFollow This Topic

Natural Resources Ministry orders probe into gold dealer’s transactions

Where is your comment on this post. You sound like a PNC DEFENDER.

Who's the apologist now?

I am not here to school you. If you don't have the requisite knowledge of politics in Guyana then maybe you should not be partaking in these discussions. Its like showing up to a debate and asking your opponent to make your points for you. 

Who's the apologist now?

I am not here to school you. If you don't have the requisite knowledge of politics in Guyana then maybe you should not be partaking in these discussions. Its like showing up to a debate and asking your opponent to make your points for you. 

Perfect Response.

QUESTIONS FOR yuji22: Re the headline of this thread. Why did you use the term 'PNC murderer' to describe the 35-year-old suspect from Linden? Why attach a political label when the tragedy stemmed from an argument over some missing gold? Give me a reason why I should not say yuh ruction.

Oh rant I just noticed kp say GTAngler is a PNC defender. Whatderass..I see carib calling GTA a new member of the Indian KKK brigade...so in my opinion its a wash..he's neither...like me.

You got to be joking, you are a PNC operative, no doubt. You cheered when they robbed the elections and you continued daily to support their incompetent behavior. Is only recently you ketching sense as we continue to hammer shame into your head. 

QUESTIONS FOR yuji22: Re the headline of this thread. Why did you use the term 'PNC murderer' to describe the 35-year-old suspect from Linden? Why attach a political label when the tragedy stemmed from an argument over some missing gold? Give me a reason why I should not say yuh ruction.

Gil,

My post is in direct response to this thread:

https://guyana.crowdstack.io/topic/another-ppp-thief-caught

You see, no one from the AFC/PNC GNI crew took offence to Mr. T labelling an Indo as a PPP Thief nor did they question his unfair and racist post.

Not one AFC/PNC poster had the decency to question his motives and the labelling of an Indo as a PPP thief in Mr. T's thread. This is the classic modern day AFC/PNC portrayal of Indos as thieves and drug dealers.

In politics, you fight fire with fire. If you take a careful read in my thread, you will  find AFC/PNC posters taking offence to the posting about an alleged PNC murderer arrested.

The intent of this thread was to expose the double standards of AFC/PNC posters and it sure did.

Fighting Fire with Fire is how politics works, none of this "turn the other cheek" works.

Yuji

Yugi u did not read the complete thread.

Druggie I cheered when the PPP LOST and still do do if that makes me a PNC operative in your mind why would I try to change that. As I said I am happy....(wait for it..its coming...its commmmiiinggg..soon now)

PPP LOST.

Maybe GT playing both sides of the fence AC/DC.

Excellent observation.

Both sides have lots of ignorant useless people who should never be in the poitions they are/were placed. When necessary we need to give shit when due and call a spade a spade and not a Hoe.

Gil,

My post is in direct response to this thread:

https://guyana.crowdstack.io/topic/another-ppp-thief-caught

You see, no one from the AFC/PNC GNI crew took offence to Mr. T labelling an Indo as a PPP Thief nor did they question his unfair and racist post.

Yuji

Your Excellency, you're so predictable like clockwork. I knew you'd say that. But, in that thread our educated poster Billy Ram Balgobin dealt firmly and eloquently with the issue. Gil is not in the duplication-replication-redundancy business.

Both sides have lots of ignorant useless people who should never be in the poitions they are/were placed. When necessary we need to give shit when due and call a spade a spade and not a Hoe.

I asked two specific questions yesterday. One, if GPH fell into demise within the last two years and whether the private hospitals cater to all walks of life. Still waiting on answers. I look out everyone not the prevailing elitists of the time. People are either plain stupid or deliberately blind. Maybe when I came on here they expected a mindless buffoon who would just follow blindly. There are enough here. I have a brain and will think rationally unlike quite a few here. It's not whether an idea is good or bad, it's whether it was proposed by the PPP or PNC and the support follows accordingly. Just plain stupid.

Who's the apologist now?

You could never school me. You lack the required prerequisites, a brain and the ability to think rationally.

Last edited by GTAngler

One, if GPH fell into demise within the last two years and whether the private hospitals cater to all walks of life. Still waiting on answers.

I don't know what answer you want. But private hospitals caters to everyone, but you pay, that's why they are called PRIVATE.

I did not see you commented when MR.T posted. "Another PPP Thief Caught". Why???

One, if GPH fell into demise within the last two years and whether the private hospitals cater to all walks of life. Still waiting on answers.

I don't know what answer you want. But private hospitals caters to everyone, but you pay, that's why they are called PRIVATE.

I did not see you commented when MR.T posted. "Another PPP Thief Caught". Why???

He is a racist so that's expected. And let me simplify my question. Hospitals were privatized and GPH was neglected. By cater to all I meant, can every one afford to pay? What about the poor who can't afford? Are you basically saying that they should get only what they can afford?

Who's the apologist now?

You could never school me. You lack the required prerequisites, a brain and the ability to think rationally.

Bhai,

They are called "Mouthar"usually the gray matter in their cranium don't function,so they are only fit for bashing.

Who's the apologist now?

Bhai,

They are called "Mouthar"usually the gray matter in their cranium don't function,so they are only fit for bashing.

I am seeing stupidity on whole new levels.

Valid question.

Yet GT lashed out and blames others.

The fact is that the PNC is on a mission to label Indos as thieves and drug dealers. Just like the PNC Part one, Part two is no different. 

GT proudly endorsed Mt. T racist and unfair post which labelled an Indo as a PPP thief. His silence on the racist post by Mr. T speaks volumes.

We have to guard against the attempt to label Indos as thieves and drug dealers while PNC ministers are stealing at will and are accountable to no one.

Who's the apologist now?

Apparently you are grammatically challenged.  I never stated that I schooled you, I requested not to school you as it is not my job. You need to catch up with your research of Guyana over the past 50 years before you come here to debate. 

Who's the apologist now?

Apparently you are grammatically challenged.  I never stated that I schooled you, I requested not to school you as it is not my job. You need to catch up with your research of Guyana over the past 50 years before you come here to debate. 

I am grammatically challenged? I said you could never, as in the future tense. I need to research because I don't agree with your mindless banter? Once again, I asked two specific questions. What does 50 years of Guyanese History have to do with those specific questions. Brush up on your reading comprehension. Don't get like that racist PNC fool.

If you want to make a point then make it and we will rebut if necessary. Don't run around asking questions if you already know the answer. Apparently you have taken a good dose of PNC koolaid and no longer can think rationally. Joining the ranks of Cain, T, D2, CaribJ, Gilly, Django and others.