50/50 Jubilee housing promotion by Govt cancelled – thousands of beneficiaries left disappointed

May 25, 2016 3:27 pm Category: Politics A+ /A-

Thousands of persons living in Guyana are now very frustrated and disappointed having learnt that the 50/50 Jubilee housing promotion announced by Minister within the Ministry of Communities, Valerie Sharpe- Patterson, in March month has been cancelled.

Reports are that the Board of the Central Housing and Planning Authority (CH&PA) which is currently being headed by former city Mayor Hamilton Green has cancelled this ‘special payment plan ’ this month for persons who are beneficiaries of government house lots in residential areas that are priced at $3M and lower.

Minister within the Ministry of Communities Valerie Sharpe-Patterson

Minister Valerie Sharpe-Patterson

Former Minister of Housing and Water Irfaan Ali

Initially, the deal would have allowed persons who had completed payment of at least 50 per cent of the cost of their house lots by May 1, to receive a 50 per cent discount on the remaining balance.

Minister Sharpe-Patterson had also explained that the balance should be paid off by the end of this month.

However, Green has announced that the CH&PA Board has now cancelled the deal stating that there were some “lapses” in the arrangement inclusive of the junior Minister ‘failing to consult’ with the Board before making such an announcement.

According to Green, the CH&PA Board is presently examining this deal and giving consideration to “all possible financial implications”.

Meanwhile, former Housing Minister and PPP Member of Parliament (MP) Irfaan Ali is calling on the government to honour its commitment and allow allottees the opportunity of benefiting from the deal.

Ali said the problem with the APNU+AFC administration is that it has continuous conflicting policy direction and therefore this does not bode well for the future of the country and its citizens.

CH&PA Chairman Hamilton Green

“If you have a minister appointed with responsibility with housing then that minister must have authority vested in her to work with policy that would improve the housing sector. The Ministry of Housing doesn’t have an executive chairman and he (Hamilton Green) is not supposed to be holding press conferences and making announcement on behalf of CH&PA…the government can’t appoint a rubber stamp as minister…the minister must have authority to make decisions on policy and programmes for housing policies…the minister has direct responsibility for that ministry and must be allowed to function and execute her task,” the former Housing Minister under the PPP/C  contended.

Ali, under whose tenure as Housing Minister saw a massive boom in the housing sector across Guyana,  argued that the government of the day should not and cannot back away from this public announcement/commitment especially since the lives of thousands of Guyanese and the future of many will be adversely affected.

“I know many persons who were saving over the last few months to cash in on this deal and the minister must have made an assessment of financial implications, management and administrative implications…you can’t make an announcement that is blank to achieve political mileage…The Chairman of the CH&PA is out of line because he is not an executive chairman…I am calling on the government to honour its commitment,” Ali added. (Kristen Macklingam)

i'd be careful calling anybady "dunce" on this BB, especially after your opportunistic, IDIOT shyte got blown up so spectacularly earlier today

alena06 . . . u know what i mean, rite?

ONLY IN GY THIS HAPPENS, DUNCE OR INCOMPETENT

"However, Green has announced that the CH&PA Board has now cancelled the deal stating that there were some “lapses” in the arrangement inclusive of the junior Minister ‘failing to consult’ with the Board before making such an announcement."

i'd be careful calling anybady "dunce" on this BB, especially after y'all opportunistic, IDIOT shyte got blown up so spectacularly earlier today

alena06 (& baseman) . . . u know what i mean, rite?

redux posted:

i'd be careful calling anybady "dunce" on this BB, especially after y'all opportunistic, IDIOT shyte got blown up so spectacularly earlier today

No, don't know what you mean!!

They will make missteps for sure, but hopefully they will get it right after some time. We have to understand that we got an "exchange"  so blunders will continue with this govt as they muddle their way through governance, the same as the PPP.   The questionable PPP's plans of grandeur were hijacked by the PNC.  But now the PNC have taken a conservative approach to development as they have a lot of burden on their heads coming down the pike from bills due from Skeldon, Mariott, Amelia stalled project and exhaustion of slush fund left by the PPP. Spending at such an alarming rate, exhausting the billions left by the PPP will only last so long. When the money runs out, the shyte will hit the fan. 

Fasten your seat belts!!

ba$eman posted:
redux posted:

it's a rhetorical question

look it up u dunce

redux posted:
ba$eman posted:
redux posted:

look it up u dunce

As usual, you seem to be stuck in rhetorics, I think you need a reset!!

ba$eman posted:
redux posted:
ba$eman posted:
redux posted:

look it up u dunce

why?

i happen to enjoy doing torchlight patrol in the crevices and holes of the low-minded PPP rearguard, and clapping heavy lash pan the backs of ignar racists like u

it's what i do

redux posted:
ba$eman posted:
redux posted:
ba$eman posted:
redux posted:

look it up u dunce

why?

i happen to enjoy doing torchlight patrol in the crevices and holes of the low-minded PPP rearguard, and clapping heavy lash pan the backs of ignar racists like u

it's what i do

Bai, goa tek a ress wid yuh dutty self.  And enjoy yuh company!!

ba$eman posted:
redux posted:
ba$eman posted:
redux posted:
ba$eman posted:
redux posted:

look it up u dunce

why?

it's what i do

Bai, goa tek a ress wid yuh dutty self.  And enjoy yuh company!!

more heavy lash and embarrassment in your future . . . it's only a matter of time

How did Green who was such a miserable failure as Georgetown Mayor end up as head of the CH&PA Board?

recycle trash...only thing is the recycled product in this case is just more trash

The FACT that a DUNCE and incompetent Bastard like Hammie can be Chairman of anything shows the level of IGNORANCE, ILLITERACY and STUPIDITY of the PNC Govt.  Uncle Tom the pre May 15 Big Mouth Parasite is as quiet as a lamb.  If there is another person on this Planet more despicable, shameless, arrogant, scampish and immoral than Uncle Tom I will be very surprise!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Vish M posted:

Is this thread about 

Dunce

Ignorance

Illiteracy

Redux,

As a senior member, you must refrain from such name calling exercise.

If there is a screw up then acknowledge and move on 

well lessee . . .

(senior member) alena06 starts a thread calling people "dunces"

(senior member) redux admonishes that people in glass houses (demonstrably) should not be pelting stones

(senior member) baseman promptly chimes in, echoing alena06, calling people "dunces"

(senior member) redux adds baseman to his earlier warning to alena06 re "glass houses" and, in turn, calls baseman a dunce

(senior member) nehru launches into a single paragraph tirade, attributing: INCOMPETENT BASTARD, IGNORANCE, ILLITERACY, STUPIDITY, UNCLE TOM, BIG MOUTH PARASITE, DESPICABLE, SHAMELESS, ARROGANT SCAMPISH and IMMORAL to PNC/Hammie and Moses/Khemraj

all good, so far . . . it's GNI after all

immediately following Nehru, Vish M chooses inexplicably?? to single redux out with this:

"Redux, as a senior member, you must refrain from such name calling exercise." . . . q u o t e  f r e a k i n  u n q u o t e !!!

huh?

Vish, you are either high or, more likely, u trying to set me up

i think i know which wan

smfh

redux posted:
Vish

immediately following Nehru, Vish M chooses inexplicably?? to single redux out with this:

"Redux, as a senior member, you must refrain from such name calling exercise." . . . q u o t e  f r e a k i n  u n q u o t e !!!

huh?

i think i know which wan

smfh

Par for the course.   These folks are very loyal to their own kind, so nothing new here.

redux posted:
Vish

huh?

i think i know which wan

smfh

Par for the course.   These folks are very loyal to their own kind, so nothing new here.

Look who is out for his kind.