Home > TOP STORY > PSC, Bar Associations, DDL Boss boycott ‘farcical’ civil society summit
PSC, Bar Associations, DDL Boss boycott ‘farcical’ civil society summit

IT is unclear whether the actions of the Private Sector Commission, Bar Associations and Demerara Distillers Limited (DDL) Chairman, Dr. Yesu Persaud were heeding the advice of the Office of the President to “dissociate themselves from this farcical event,” but clearly there was some consensus that the event was not worth the while. Representatives from Civil Society organisations were yesterday gathered at the Guyana International Conference Centre under the flag of the Guyana National Civil Society Council (GNCSC), but things appeared ‘iffy’ when keynote speaker, Dr. Yesu Persaud was called to give an address even though he was not in attendance.

Similar calls were made for representation from the legal fraternity, for which there was no response from the gathering. It was unclear whether the Guyana Bar Association was informed by invitation of the forum; but this could not be confirmed since efforts to contact the President of that body, Ronald Burch-Smith, were unsuccessful.
Similar efforts to contact DDL’s, Dr. Yesu Persaud and the PSC’s Chairman, Ramesh Persaud were unsuccessful.
During his weekly press briefing, Cabinet Secretary, Roger Luncheon had expressed the position of the Government which has dissociated itself from the forum and from association with organiser, Phillip Mozart Thomas.
“The administration, cognisant of the sensitivities involved and noting the reactions of many would-be fellow supporters, has made [the decision to dissociate] itself from this effort to organise civil society entities in Guyana.”
In an invited comment from this publication, Thomas expressed concern on the position taken by the Government.
In a statement seen by this publication, the Office of the President recently declared: “It has been brought to the attention of the Office of the President that the qualifications Mr. Thomas purports to possess are highly suspicious.”
At Wednesday’s summit, representatives from the Private Sector Commission were nowhere in sight; but this comes as no surprise, since the PSC too has distanced itself from the happenings.
Senior officials within that civil society body told this publication that while they are aware of the event being planned, as a major constituent representative of civil society, it has no knowledge of the organisation, nor do they know anything about its mandate.”
Following full page ads which appeared in major newspapers for more than two days, the question of where the funding for such an affair is coming was being asked. Thomas told the Chronicle that funding for the Summit comes from a number of organisations as well as businesses which are to be named at an upcoming event.
The Summit’s organising committee has come under fire for the nomination of prominent persons to its Advisory Council Board, as well as to the full Council. Explaining this process, Thomas said “Individuals out of the 400 groups … put up their own persons for nominations.” It is however unclear whether persons are aware of whom they were nominated by.
The Summit held at the Conference Centre continues until December 19 and members of the 10th Parliament have been requested to attend by invitation.

(By Derwayne Wills)

101 REASONS FOR NO CONFIDENCE

November 23, 2014 | By | Filed Under AFC Column, Features / Columnists 

By Moses V. Nagamootoo AFC Vice-Chairman

The Motion contained 10 words: “that this National Assembly has no confidence in the government”.

Moses Nagamootoo

It was on the Order Paper for debate, and passage, on November 10, 2014. But the minority PPP government, out of fear of those 10 tiny words, shut down Parliament by a Presidential Proclamation, styled “Prorogation”. Guyanese hardly knew that word before. But they are now seeing widespread condemnation of the PPP’s action, many seeing it as cowardly, as anti-democratic, as dictatorial. Even present “comrade” like Joey Jagan and former leader, Ralph Ramkarran and colleague Henry Jeffrey, have come out against the prorogation, and have joined the call for Parliament to be re-convened. The PPP, which under Ramotar lost its majority in the National Assembly in 2011, has now found itself almost totally isolated on this issue. The major Western partners have warned that Guyana is stepping out of the folds of democratic states. Caribbean press concluded that whilst the PPP government was elected, it has now lost legitimacy. This is not a good place in which a minority government should find itself. President Ramotar is buckling. He knows that he could lose two years of his term, in much the same way that Mrs. Janet Jagan lost hers, and was forced by pressure politics in 1999 to hand the country over to her worse nightmare – Jagdeo. He has indicated that he would limit the prorogation period and, also, he has summoned the Opposition Leader to talks. But all too late, as no decent Opposition would talk whilst their Parliament is shut down, or under political duress. The combined opposition has said: “no parliament; no talks”. They would raise the tempo: “No Parliament; No Government”. 10 COMMANDMENTS It is now timely to explain why those historic 10 words have been used as a commandment for the government to go. Basically, it captured and reproduced one of the Ten Commandments: “Thou shall not steal”. That was the immediate, underlining reason, for the no confidence motion which I first floated during July 2014 on my Facebook page as a rhetorical question. People responded that it was a good idea. At that time, we were confronted with a situation in which the Government spent $4.5 billion without the approval, in defiance of the opposition of the National Assembly, and in violation of Articles 217 to 220 of the Guyana Constitution, which prohibit unauthorized and illegal spending of public monies. The minority PPP Government had thrown down the gauntlet. It would not obey the National Assembly, nor be accountable to the House. It was declared that the PPP would disobey the Guyana Constitution that commands government to spend the people’s money only with parliamentary consent. Parliament is the keeper of the people’s purse. The AFC lodged a complaint with the Commissioner of Police that the Minister of Finance has violated the law, and that he has committed an unlawful act for which he ought to be prosecuted. Up to this time, no charges have been laid against the Finance Minister. A Partnership for National Unity by motion sent the Finance Minister before the Privileges Committee of Parliament for him to show cause why he should not lose his seat or be prosecuted. But, predictably, the PPP circled the wagons. It considered as an Untouchable the Finance Minister, just in the same way that it cuddled the Home Affairs Minister when three peaceful, unarmed, protesters were shot and killed in Linden and, more recently, vouched for the integrity of the cuss-bird, Chatree Attorney General, when he intimated that an independent, non-government newspaper would be attacked and innocent persons would be harmed. The prorogation shut down the tribunal, and the Minister remains at large, a free man. Unlike Watergate, when sanctions were finally imposed, All the President’s Men are out there – handing out state vouchers to needy parents, spewing silly excuses for the President’s uncouth behavior, and unleashing feral blasts against the opposition on state media, in what must be a pre-election jaunt. CONSTITUTIONAL PROTECTION The Guyana Constitution provides protection for the people against a rogue government that would violate the law and the Constitution itself with impunity. Article 106 (6) states: “The Cabinet including the President shall resign if the Government is defeated by the vote of a majority of all the elected members of the National Assembly on a vote of confidence.” New general elections should then be held within three months. But President Ramotar made a pre-emptive strike. He shut down the Parliament on the day he re-convened it. He ran from the No Confidence Motion. I was to use cricket parlance on that day when I said that the no confidence motion was like a bouncer. And Donald Ducked. It was my nephew, Mahendra Nagamootoo, a former national and West Indies bowler, who gave Ramotar’s action that spin. OTHER MAJOR VIOLATIONS But illegal spending was just the immediate cause. There must be 101 other reasons, many for constitutional violations, why this government must go.  ·    Denial of Local Government elections last held in 1994; ·    Refusal by the President to assent to opposition Bills; ·    Failure to set up Public Procurement Commission to check corruption; ·    Non-appointment of a Chairperson for the Integrity Commission to probe funds of public officials; ·    Diversion of billions in public funds to NICIL and retention/spending of same without parliamentary approval or scrutiny; ·    Giveaway of television and radio spectrum to cronies of the regime; ·    Misuse of state resources and media for partisan, PPP party propaganda purposes; ·    Use of confidential tax information to blackmail critics and to terrorise dissidents; ·    Complicity in plot to discredit and destroy the character of the Speaker of the National Assembly. Guyanese would add to this “Crime List” the lack of protection from widespread crime, joblessness, and despair leading to drugs abuse, suicide and migration. The PPP can no longer use prorogation as a fig leaf to cover its incompetence and misrule.

Home > TOP STORY > PSC, Bar Associations, DDL Boss boycott ‘farcical’ civil society summit

IT is unclear whether the actions of the Private Sector Commission, Bar Associations and Demerara Distillers Limited (DDL) Chairman, Dr. Yesu Persaud were heeding the advice of the Office of the President to “dissociate themselves from this farcical event,” but clearly there was some consensus that the event was not worth the while. Representatives from Civil Society organisations were yesterday gathered at the Guyana International Conference Centre under the flag of the Guyana National Civil Society Council (GNCSC), but things appeared ‘iffy’ when keynote speaker, Dr. Yesu Persaud was called to give an address even though he was not in attendance.

Similar calls were made for representation from the legal fraternity, for which there was no response from the gathering. It was unclear whether the Guyana Bar Association was informed by invitation of the forum; but this could not be confirmed since efforts to contact the President of that body, Ronald Burch-Smith, were unsuccessful.
Similar efforts to contact DDL’s, Dr. Yesu Persaud and the PSC’s Chairman, Ramesh Persaud were unsuccessful.
During his weekly press briefing, Cabinet Secretary, Roger Luncheon had expressed the position of the Government which has dissociated itself from the forum and from association with organiser, Phillip Mozart Thomas.
“The administration, cognisant of the sensitivities involved and noting the reactions of many would-be fellow supporters, has made [the decision to dissociate] itself from this effort to organise civil society entities in Guyana.”
In an invited comment from this publication, Thomas expressed concern on the position taken by the Government.
In a statement seen by this publication, the Office of the President recently declared: “It has been brought to the attention of the Office of the President that the qualifications Mr. Thomas purports to possess are highly suspicious.”
At Wednesday’s summit, representatives from the Private Sector Commission were nowhere in sight; but this comes as no surprise, since the PSC too has distanced itself from the happenings.
Senior officials within that civil society body told this publication that while they are aware of the event being planned, as a major constituent representative of civil society, it has no knowledge of the organisation, nor do they know anything about its mandate.”
Following full page ads which appeared in major newspapers for more than two days, the question of where the funding for such an affair is coming was being asked. Thomas told the Chronicle that funding for the Summit comes from a number of organisations as well as businesses which are to be named at an upcoming event.
The Summit’s organising committee has come under fire for the nomination of prominent persons to its Advisory Council Board, as well as to the full Council. Explaining this process, Thomas said “Individuals out of the 400 groups … put up their own persons for nominations.” It is however unclear whether persons are aware of whom they were nominated by.
The Summit held at the Conference Centre continues until December 19 and members of the 10th Parliament have been requested to attend by invitation.

(By Derwayne Wills)

Dumb fool, where is this said to be and AFC conference. This is a gentleman doing his own thing in trying to  organize to highlight deficiencies in the constitution. Unfortunately, the PPP saw that as dangerous information and so tried to sabotage it.

All the PPP did by placing impediments in the path of securing the venue was to make the people more determined. That t he gathering is representative of a cross section of the society ought to be alarming to the PPP. It is the society measuring them and finding them wanting.

Originally Posted by Brian Teekah:

Varshnie Join Opposition

while Yuji ....

varshnie

How could a person exchange this nice -nice gyal for Bobby?

SMFH!

Ask dem soldier boys and others about how good of a dinner that they had.

This  person is no angel but just pure evil.

Varshnie Join Opposition

while Yuji ....

varshnie

SMFH!

Ask dem soldier boys and others about how good of a dinner that they had.

Typical responses from the low breed unschooled gold teeth baboo who enjoys it when kwame is rubbin its back................

Varshnie Join Opposition

while Yuji ....

varshnie

SMFH!

Dem boys seh she was married to the man who looks like the devil.

And that devil made State House a hell of a matrimonial home from Week One.

yugi is killing time waiting for kwame to climb on his back

He is waiting..after kwamee has finished mounting you.

once again wild cabbage hunter i am not a ppp batty boy  

Come skin you battie infront of me. You will feel what hot lead feels like. You will experience what a real hunter can do.

exposing your dirty ppp habit i see, what can you expect from a low breed when corner they go back to their nateral habatat  

Same thing I said about your substandard education.

I man said many times: dem Skeldon folks have different ways of doing things. Is why you think they say in Skeldon so often "watch your back".

let me weigh the balance a man without a education or a man with a nasty habit and low esteem    

How about you weigh yourself as one without education, nasty habit, low esteem and homosexual tendencies? You fit right in heh?

as i say professor u no fun any more,u have no good come back you boring  you old old fool

I have to be truthful to you. You are an illiterate, hard mouth fool who thrives on degrading insults. I am embarrassed to know that an institution of learning took the time to mold you into who you are. I can empathise with the educators.

spoken like a true professor and ppp adviser but insulting you is so easy after all you dwell amount the sewage 

Yeah, you.

Yeah, you.

as i say boring,u can not come within the same county with me,i will take your wild cabbage gun and push it where only them ppp bais explore